DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Drawings
The examiner notes that drawings should not contain excessive text; however, reasonable text provided for clarity is permitted. Figures 2 provides a diagram and a flow chart with labeled steps which correspond in the specification to brief text elements that would be appropriate for such figures. While the submitted figures do conform to MPEP § 507, interpretation of the figures could be improved by including the text corresponding to each step. The examiner encourages the applicant to consider adding appropriate text to the stages depicted in Figures 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1- 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1 discloses “… a control system device…sending the device identifier to a control system device…”, correct the antecedent basis for “control system device”, Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-11, 14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Cregg (US20160134605A1).
Claim.1 Cregg discloses a method for connecting a device in the home to a home control system that includes a control system device in the home and one or more servers outside of the home (see at fig.2, least abstract, a cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key), comprising: discovering a device identifier of a device in a home configured to communicate wirelessly via one or more duplex wireless communication protocols using a first protocol of the one or more protocols using a mobile application of a mobile device when the mobile device is in the home (see at least fig.12, p153-154, event 2902, the user activates the new device 220NEW and the new device 220NEW periodically announces, broadcasts, or beacons information comprising at least its device key. At event 2904, the user places the intelligent device 110 in a learning mode and places the intelligent device 110 in proximity to the beaconing device 220NEW, at event 2906, the intelligent device 110 discovers the beaconing device 220NEW. The intelligent device 110 reads at least the device key from the information being broadcast from the new network device 220NEW. In an embodiment, events 2902 and 2906 take place over a first network between the new network device 220NEW and the intelligent device 110 that is different from the network 200. In an embodiment, the intelligent device 110 stores the device key, p14, the home-control network comprises a mesh network configured to propagate messages using powerline signaling and radio frequency (RF) signaling, p147, the new network device 220NEW receives the information using the corresponding one of the RF receiver, ultrasound receiver, IR receiver, optical sensor, and audio sensor); sending the device identifier to a control system device in the home through one or more servers in communication with the control system device using a wireless duplex server communication protocol and using the mobile application of the mobile device (see at least fig.12, p162, at event 2908, the intelligent device 110 sends at least the device key of the new device 220NEW to the connect server 130, where at event 2910, the connect server 130 stores at least the device key in its database 1906. In another embodiment, the device keys of the network devices 220 are stored in the database 1906 and the connect server 130 confirms that the received device key is a valid device key. At event 2912, the connect server 130 sends at least the device key of the new device 220NEW to the network controller 250, p188, the computer 230 comprises a personal computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, or the like, and interfaces with a user); and sending a control device identifier and an encryption key of the control system device to the device using the mobile application of the mobile device using the first protocol when the mobile device is in the home (see at least fig.10-12, p127-129, at event 3102, the intelligent device 110 requests the hub key for the network 200 from the connect server 130 over the communication channels. In an embodiment, the intelligent device is remote from the network 200, at event 3104, the connect server 130 sends the hub key to the intelligent device 110 via the communication channels of the communication network, at event 3106, the intelligent device 110 announces, broadcasts, or beacons information comprising at least the hub key over a third network that is different from the communication channels of the communication network and that is different from the network 200, p138, the unique key that is unique to the network controller 250 is referred to as the hub key, the hub key is included in messages sent between installed network devices 220 and between the installed network devices 220 and the network controller 250 that identifies the sender as belonging to the network 200).
Claim.2 Cregg discloses wherein sending a control device identifier and an encryption key of the control system device to the device allows the device to discover the control system device using the control device identifier and a second protocol of the one or more protocols (see at least fig.10-12, p135, at event 3110, the new device 220NEW announces itself to the existing network 220 using the hub key. The physically private process 3100 installs the new device 220NEW onto the network 200 without compromising the security of the network 200 as the hub key and any other sensitive network information are sent independently of the network 200 during the installation procedure , p241, An intelligent device, such as a smartphone, receives a notification, such as optical pulses, audible tones, short-range radio frequency signals, a watermark, or a barcode, from an uninstalled network device over a second network other than the home-control network), the device to establish an encrypted wireless communications channel with the control system device using the control device identifier, the encryption key, and the second protocol (see at least fig.13, abstract, A cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key, The network device sends its unique identifier over the home-control network to the network controller and the network controller passes the unique identifier over the communication channels to the cloud server. the cloud server retrieves a device key associated with the network device based on the unique identifier and transmits the device key to the network controller over the communication channels ,p176, the connect server 130 comprising the database 1906, the network controller 250 associated with the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW associated with the device key and the device identifier to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220), the device to send the device identifier to the control system device using the encrypted communication channel (see at least fig.8, 13, abstract, A cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key, The network device sends its unique identifier over the home-control network to the network controller and the network controller passes the unique identifier over the communication channels to the cloud server. the cloud server retrieves a device key associated with the network device based on the unique identifier and transmits the device key to the network controller over the communication channels, p179, at event 3010, the new network device 220NEW send an unencrypted message including the unique device identifier generated at the factory to the network controller 250 over the network 200. And at event 3012, the network controller 250 passes the message with the unique device identifier to the connect server 130 over the communication channels of the communication network), the control system device to identify the device from the device identifier received from both the mobile application of the mobile device and the device, and the control system device to control and monitor the device (see at least fig.12-13, p152, a data flow diagram 2900 showing the transfer of information between the intelligent device 110, the connect server 130, the network controller 250 comprising the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW comprising the device key to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220 via the intelligent device 110, p176, a data flow diagram 3000 showing the transfer of information between the intelligent device 110 running the installation application, the connect server 130 comprising the database 1906, the network controller 250 associated with the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW associated with the device key and the device identifier to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220).
Claim.3 Cregg discloses wherein sending a control device identifier and an encryption key of the control system device to the device further allows the control system device to allow the identified device to be controlled or monitored by one or more devices outside of the home through communication access the one or more devices have to the one or more servers in communication with the control system device (see at least fig.4,7,10-13, p58, a network installation system 100 comprising a messaging server 120, a connect server 130, and the intelligent device 110 to securely install a network controller, an intelligent controller or hub 250 onto a communication network 200, p66-67, the connect server 130 communicates with a plurality of network controllers 250, where each of the network controllers 250 is associated with a network 200. The connect server 130 communicates with the plurality of network controllers through channels where the channels comprise one or more global channels that allow communications with more than one network controller 250 and sets of individual channels that allow the control server 130 to communicate with one network controller).
Claim.6 Cregg discloses wherein the device comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system device (see at least p2, the various household devices are connected with each other to form a network and act as a “smart home”. However, hackers entering a smart home network might be able to turn off lights, reprogram HVAC systems, blow speakers, unlock doors, p60, the network devices 220 can comprise, for example, light switches, thermostats, motion sensors, and the like).
Claim.8 Cregg discloses wherein the encryption key comprises a symmetric encryption key (see at least p3, message encryption and unique device identifiers when sending and receiving messages over the network for security, p14, the network key comprises an encryption code unique to the home-control network. In a further embodiment, the device key comprises an encryption code unique to the network device, p15, the message comprising the received device key comprises an encrypted message, where the encryption is based on the device key. In a yet further embodiment, the messages comprising the network key comprise encrypted messages, where the encryption is based on the network key).
Claim.9 Cregg discloses a method for connecting to a home control system that includes a control system device in the home and one or more servers outside of the home (see at least fig.2, abstract, a cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key), comprising: receiving a control device identifier and an encryption key of a control system device in a home from a mobile application of a mobile device using a device in the home configured to communicate wirelessly via one or more duplex wireless communication protocols using a first protocol of the one or more protocols when the mobile device is in the home (see at least fig.10, p127-129, at event 3102, the intelligent device 110 requests the hub key for the network 200 from the connect server 130 over the communication channels. In an embodiment, the intelligent device is remote from the network 200, at event 3104, the connect server 130 sends the hub key to the intelligent device 110 via the communication channels of the communication network, at event 3106, the intelligent device 110 announces, broadcasts, or beacons information comprising at least the hub key over a third network that is different from the communication channels of the communication network and that is different from the network 200, at event 3108, the user activates the new device 220NEW and places the new device 220NEW in proximity to the beaconing intelligent device 110, where the new device 220NEW receives the at least the hub key broadcast from the intelligent device 110. In an embodiment, the user performs physical action to place the new device 220NEW and/or the intelligent device 110 in an enrollment mode or state, p138, the unique key that is unique to the network controller 250 is referred to as the hub key, the hub key is included in messages sent between installed network devices 220 and between the installed network devices 220 and the network controller 250 that identifies the sender as belonging to the network 200), wherein the mobile device discovers a device identifier of the device using the first protocol and sends the device identifier to the control system device through one or more servers in communication with the control system device using a wireless duplex server communication protocol (see at least fig.12, p153-154, event 2902, the user activates the new device 220NEW and the new device 220NEW periodically announces, broadcasts, or beacons information comprising at least its device key. At event 2904, the user places the intelligent device 110 in a learning mode and places the intelligent device 110 in proximity to the beaconing device 220NEW, at event 2906, the intelligent device 110 discovers the beaconing device 220NEW. The intelligent device 110 reads at least the device key from the information being broadcast from the new network device 220NEW. In an embodiment, events 2902 and 2906 take place over a first network between the new network device 220NEW and the intelligent device 110 that is different from the network 200. In an embodiment, the intelligent device 110 stores the device key, p14, the home-control network comprises a mesh network configured to propagate messages using powerline signaling and radio frequency (RF) signaling, p147, the new network device 220NEW receives the information using the corresponding one of the RF receiver, ultrasound receiver, IR receiver, optical sensor, and audio sensor, p162, at event 2908, the intelligent device 110 sends at least the device key of the new device 220NEW to the connect server 130, where at event 2910, the connect server 130 stores at least the device key in its database 1906. In another embodiment, the device keys of the network devices 220 are stored in the database 1906 and the connect server 130 confirms that the received device key is a valid device key. At event 2912, the connect server 130 sends at least the device key of the new device 220NEW to the network controller 250, p188, the computer 230 comprises a personal computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, or the like, and interfaces with a user); discovering the control system device using the control device identifier and a second protocol of the one or more protocols using the device; and establishing an encrypted wireless communication channel with the control system device using the control device identifier, the encryption key, and the second protocol using the device (fig.10,13, abstract, A cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key, The network device sends its unique identifier over the home-control network to the network controller and the network controller passes the unique identifier over the communication channels to the cloud server. the cloud server retrieves a device key associated with the network device based on the unique identifier and transmits the device key to the network controller over the communication channels ,p176, the connect server 130 comprising the database 1906, the network controller 250 associated with the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW associated with the device key and the device identifier to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220, p135, at event 3110, the new device 220NEW announces itself to the existing network 220 using the hub key. The physically private process 3100 installs the new device 220NEW onto the network 200 without compromising the security of the network 200 as the hub key and any other sensitive network information are sent independently of the network 200 during the installation procedure , p241, An intelligent device, such as a smartphone, receives a notification, such as optical pulses, audible tones, short-range radio frequency signals, a watermark, or a barcode, from an uninstalled network device over a second network other than the home-control network).
Claim.10 Cregg discloses wherein establishing an encrypted wireless communications channel with the control system device allows the device to send the device identifier to the control system device using the encrypted communication channel(see at least fig.8, 13, abstract, A cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key, The network device sends its unique identifier over the home-control network to the network controller and the network controller passes the unique identifier over the communication channels to the cloud server. the cloud server retrieves a device key associated with the network device based on the unique identifier and transmits the device key to the network controller over the communication channels, p179, at event 3010, the new network device 220NEW send an unencrypted message including the unique device identifier generated at the factory to the network controller 250 over the network 200. And at event 3012, the network controller 250 passes the message with the unique device identifier to the connect server 130 over the communication channels of the communication network), the control system device to identify the device from the device identifier received from both the mobile application of the mobile device and the device, and the control system device to control and monitor the device (see at least fig.12-13, p152, a data flow diagram 2900 showing the transfer of information between the intelligent device 110, the connect server 130, the network controller 250 comprising the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW comprising the device key to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220 via the intelligent device 110, p176, a data flow diagram 3000 showing the transfer of information between the intelligent device 110 running the installation application, the connect server 130 comprising the database 1906, the network controller 250 associated with the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW associated with the device key and the device identifier to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220).
Claim.11 Cregg discloses wherein establishing an encrypted wireless communications channel with the control system device further allows the control system device to allow the identified device to be controlled or monitored by one or more devices outside of the home through communication access the one or more devices have to the one or more servers in communication with the control system device (see at least fig.4,7,10-13, p58, a network installation system 100 comprising a messaging server 120, a connect server 130, and the intelligent device 110 to securely install a network controller, an intelligent controller or hub 250 onto a communication network 200, p66-67, the connect server 130 communicates with a plurality of network controllers 250, where each of the network controllers 250 is associated with a network 200. The connect server 130 communicates with the plurality of network controllers through channels where the channels comprise one or more global channels that allow communications with more than one network controller 250 and sets of individual channels that allow the control server 130 to communicate with one network controller).
Claim.14 Cregg discloses wherein the device comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system device(see at least p2, the various household devices are connected with each other to form a network and act as a “smart home”. However, hackers entering a smart home network might be able to turn off lights, reprogram HVAC systems, blow speakers, unlock doors, p60, the network devices 220 can comprise, for example, light switches, thermostats, motion sensors, and the like).
Claim.16 Cregg discloses wherein the encryption key comprises a symmetric encryption key (see at least p3, message encryption and unique device identifiers when sending and receiving messages over the network for security, p14, the network key comprises an encryption code unique to the home-control network. In a further embodiment, the device key comprises an encryption code unique to the network device, p15, the message comprising the received device key comprises an encrypted message, where the encryption is based on the device key. In a yet further embodiment, the messages comprising the network key comprise encrypted messages, where the encryption is based on the network key).
Claim.17 Cregg discloses a method for connecting to a device in a home (see at least fig.2, abstract, a cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key), comprising: receiving, using a control system device in a home, a first device identifier of a device in the home from a mobile application of a mobile device sent, using a wireless duplex server communication protocol, to the control system device through one or more servers in communication with the control system device (see at least fig.12, p162-164, at event 2908, the intelligent device 110 sends at least the device key of the new device 220NEW to the connect server 130, where at event 2910, the connect server 130 stores at least the device key in its database 1906. In another embodiment, the device keys of the network devices 220 are stored in the database 1906 and the connect server 130 confirms that the received device key is a valid device key. At event 2912, the connect server 130 sends at least the device key of the new device 220NEW to the network controller 250, p188, the computer 230 comprises a personal computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, or the like, and interfaces with a user, at event 2914, the network controller 250 adds at least the device key to its linked list of devices 220 on the network 200), wherein the device is configured to communicate wirelessly via one or more duplex wireless communication protocols (see at least fig.12, p153-154, event 2902, the user activates the new device 220NEW and the new device 220NEW periodically announces, broadcasts, or beacons information comprising at least its device key. At event 2904, the user places the intelligent device 110 in a learning mode and places the intelligent device 110 in proximity to the beaconing device 220NEW, at event 2906, the intelligent device 110 discovers the beaconing device 220NEW. The intelligent device 110 reads at least the device key from the information being broadcast from the new network device 220NEW. In an embodiment, events 2902 and 2906 take place over a first network between the new network device 220NEW and the intelligent device 110 that is different from the network 200. In an embodiment, the intelligent device 110 stores the device key, p14, the home-control network comprises a mesh network configured to propagate messages using powerline signaling and radio frequency (RF) signaling, p147, the new network device 220NEW receives the information using the corresponding one of the RF receiver, ultrasound receiver, IR receiver, optical sensor, and audio sensor), wherein, when the mobile device is in the home, the mobile application of the mobile device discovers the first device identifier using a first protocol of the one or more protocols and sends a control device identifier and an encryption key of the control system device to the device using the first protocol (see at least fig.10-12, p153-154, event 2902, the user activates the new device 220NEW and the new device 220NEW periodically announces, broadcasts, or beacons information comprising at least its device key. At event 2904, the user places the intelligent device 110 in a learning mode and places the intelligent device 110 in proximity to the beaconing device 220NEW, at event 2906, the intelligent device 110 discovers the beaconing device 220NEW. The intelligent device 110 reads at least the device key from the information being broadcast from the new network device 220NEW. In an embodiment, events 2902 and 2906 take place over a first network between the new network device 220NEW and the intelligent device 110 that is different from the network 200. In an embodiment, the intelligent device 110 stores the device key, p14, the home-control network comprises a mesh network configured to propagate messages using powerline signaling and radio frequency (RF) signaling, p147, the new network device 220NEW receives the information using the corresponding one of the RF receiver, ultrasound receiver, IR receiver, optical sensor, and audio sensor, p162, at event 2908, the intelligent device 110 sends at least the device key of the new device 220NEW to the connect server 130, where at event 2910, the connect server 130 stores at least the device key in its database 1906. In another embodiment, the device keys of the network devices 220 are stored in the database 1906 and the connect server 130 confirms that the received device key is a valid device key. At event 2912, the connect server 130 sends at least the device key of the new device 220NEW to the network controller 250, p188, the computer 230 comprises a personal computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, or the like, and interfaces with a user), and wherein the device discovers the control system device using the control device identifier and a second protocol of the one or more protocols and establishes an encrypted wireless communication channel with the control system device using the control device identifier, the encryption key, and the second protocol (see at least fig.10-13, p135, at event 3110, the new device 220NEW announces itself to the existing network 220 using the hub key. The physically private process 3100 installs the new device 220NEW onto the network 200 without compromising the security of the network 200 as the hub key and any other sensitive network information are sent independently of the network 200 during the installation procedure , p241, An intelligent device, such as a smartphone, receives a notification, such as optical pulses, audible tones, short-range radio frequency signals, a watermark, or a barcode, from an uninstalled network device over a second network other than the home-control network, abstract, A cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key, The network device sends its unique identifier over the home-control network to the network controller and the network controller passes the unique identifier over the communication channels to the cloud server. the cloud server retrieves a device key associated with the network device based on the unique identifier and transmits the device key to the network controller over the communication channels ,p176, the connect server 130 comprising the database 1906, the network controller 250 associated with the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW associated with the device key and the device identifier to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220, p152, a data flow diagram 2900 showing the transfer of information between the intelligent device 110, the connect server 130, the network controller 250 comprising the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW comprising the device key to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220 via the intelligent device 110); receiving a second device identifier of the device form the device using the encrypted communication channel using the control system device (see at least fig.8,13, abstract, A cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key, The network device sends its unique identifier over the home-control network to the network controller and the network controller passes the unique identifier over the communication channels to the cloud server. the cloud server retrieves a device key associated with the network device based on the unique identifier and transmits the device key to the network controller over the communication channels, p179, at event 3010, the new network device 220NEW send an unencrypted message including the unique device identifier generated at the factory to the network controller 250 over the network 200. And at event 3012, the network controller 250 passes the message with the unique device identifier to the connect server 130 over the communication channels of the communication network); and identifying the device from the first device identifier and the second device identifier (see at least fig.12-13, p152, a data flow diagram 2900 showing the transfer of information between the intelligent device 110, the connect server 130, the network controller 250 comprising the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW comprising the device key to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220 via the intelligent device 110, p176, a data flow diagram 3000 showing the transfer of information between the intelligent device 110 running the installation application, the connect server 130 comprising the database 1906, the network controller 250 associated with the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW associated with the device key and the device identifier to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220)).
Claim.18 Cregg discloses further comprising controlling and monitoring the device via the encrypted communication channel using the control system device (see at least fig.8, 13, abstract, A cloud server communicates with a network controller over communication channels of a communication network to securely install a new device having a unique identifier and a device key onto a home-control network associated with a network key, The network device sends its unique identifier over the home-control network to the network controller and the network controller passes the unique identifier over the communication channels to the cloud server. the cloud server retrieves a device key associated with the network device based on the unique identifier and transmits the device key to the network controller over the communication channels, p179, at event 3010, the new network device 220NEW send an unencrypted message including the unique device identifier generated at the factory to the network controller 250 over the network 200. And at event 3012, the network controller 250 passes the message with the unique device identifier to the connect server 130 over the communication channels of the communication network, p152, a data flow diagram 2900 showing the transfer of information between the intelligent device 110, the connect server 130, the network controller 250 comprising the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW comprising the device key to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220 via the intelligent device 110, p176, a data flow diagram 3000 showing the transfer of information between the intelligent device 110 running the installation application, the connect server 130 comprising the database 1906, the network controller 250 associated with the hub key, and the new network device 220NEW associated with the device key and the device identifier to securely install the new network device 220NEW on the network 220).
Claim.19 Cregg discloses further comprising allowing the device to be controlled or monitored by one or more devices outside of the home through communication access the one or more devices have to the one or more servers using the control system device (see at least fig.4,7,10-13, p58, a network installation system 100 comprising a messaging server 120, a connect server 130, and the intelligent device 110 to securely install a network controller, an intelligent controller or hub 250 onto a communication network 200, p66-67, the connect server 130 communicates with a plurality of network controllers 250, where each of the network controllers 250 is associated with a network 200. The connect server 130 communicates with the plurality of network controllers through channels where the channels comprise one or more global channels that allow communications with more than one network controller 250 and sets of individual channels that allow the control server 130 to communicate with one network controller).
Claim.20 Cregg discloses wherein the device comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system device (see at least p2, the various household devices are connected with each other to form a network and act as a “smart home”. However, hackers entering a smart home network might be able to turn off lights, reprogram HVAC systems, blow speakers, unlock doors, p60, the network devices 220 can comprise, for example, light switches, thermostats, motion sensors, and the like).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7, 12-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cregg (US20160134605A1) as applied to claims 1, and 9 above, and further in view of .
Claim.4 Cregg does not disclose wherein the first protocol comprises Bluetooth and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi.
However, Siminoff discloses wherein the first protocol comprises Bluetooth and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi (see at least fig.1-2,10, p162, the hub 1002 communication capability may also include links to any of a variety of wireless networks, including WAP (Wireless Application Protocol), GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), GSM (Global System for Mobile Communication), LTE, VoLTE, LoRaWAN, LPWAN, RPMA, LTE Cat-“X” (e.g. LTE Cat 1, LTE Cat 0, LTE CatM1, LTE Cat NB1), CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access), TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access), FDMA (Frequency Division Multiple Access), and/or OFDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access) cellular phone networks, GPS, CDPD (cellular digital packet data), RIM (Research in Motion, Limited) duplex paging network, Bluetooth radio, or an IEEE 802.11-based radio frequency network. The hub 1002 may use one or more communication protocols, including either or both of wired and wireless protocols, including but not limited to X10, Ethernet, RS-485, 6LoWPAN, Bluetooth LE (BLE), ZigBee, and Z-Wave).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Cregg to include wherein the first protocol comprises Bluetooth and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi by Siminoff in order to determine behavior within the video clips (see Siminoff’s abstract).
Claim.5 Cregg does not disclose wherein the first protocol comprises Wi-Fi and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi.
However, Siminoff discloses wherein the first protocol comprises Wi-Fi and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi (see at least fig.1-2,10, p162, the hub 1002 communication capability may also include links to any of a variety of wireless networks, including WAP (Wireless Application Protocol), GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), GSM (Global System for Mobile Communication), LTE, VoLTE, LoRaWAN, LPWAN, RPMA, LTE Cat-“X” (e.g. LTE Cat 1, LTE Cat 0, LTE CatM1, LTE Cat NB1), CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access), TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access), FDMA (Frequency Division Multiple Access), and/or OFDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access) cellular phone networks, GPS, CDPD (cellular digital packet data), RIM (Research in Motion, Limited) duplex paging network, Bluetooth radio, or an IEEE 802.11-based radio frequency network. The hub 1002 may use one or more communication protocols, including either or both of wired and wireless protocols, including but not limited to X10, Ethernet, RS-485, 6LoWPAN, Bluetooth LE (BLE), ZigBee, and Z-Wave).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Cregg to include wherein the first protocol comprises Wi-Fi and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi by Siminoff in order to determine behavior within the video clips (see Siminoff’s abstract).
Claim.7 Cregg discloses wherein the wireless duplex server communication protocol comprises a cellular network protocol.
However, Siminoff discloses wherein the wireless duplex server communication protocol comprises a cellular network protocol (see at least fig.1-2,10, p162, the hub 1002 communication capability may also include links to any of a variety of wireless networks, including WAP (Wireless Application Protocol), GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), GSM (Global System for Mobile Communication), LTE, VoLTE, LoRaWAN, LPWAN, RPMA, LTE Cat-“X” (e.g. LTE Cat 1, LTE Cat 0, LTE CatM1, LTE Cat NB1), CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access), TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access), FDMA (Frequency Division Multiple Access), and/or OFDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access) cellular phone networks, GPS, CDPD (cellular digital packet data), RIM (Research in Motion, Limited) duplex paging network, Bluetooth radio, or an IEEE 802.11-based radio frequency network. The hub 1002 may use one or more communication protocols, including either or both of wired and wireless protocols, including but not limited to X10, Ethernet, RS-485, 6LoWPAN, Bluetooth LE (BLE), ZigBee, and Z-Wave).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Cregg to include wherein the wireless duplex server communication protocol comprises a cellular network protocol by Siminoff in order to determine behavior within the video clips (see Siminoff’s abstract).
Claim.12 Cregg does not disclose wherein the first protocol comprises Bluetooth and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi.
However, Siminoff discloses wherein the first protocol comprises Bluetooth and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi (see at least fig.1-2,10, p162, the hub 1002 communication capability may also include links to any of a variety of wireless networks, including WAP (Wireless Application Protocol), GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), GSM (Global System for Mobile Communication), LTE, VoLTE, LoRaWAN, LPWAN, RPMA, LTE Cat-“X” (e.g. LTE Cat 1, LTE Cat 0, LTE CatM1, LTE Cat NB1), CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access), TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access), FDMA (Frequency Division Multiple Access), and/or OFDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access) cellular phone networks, GPS, CDPD (cellular digital packet data), RIM (Research in Motion, Limited) duplex paging network, Bluetooth radio, or an IEEE 802.11-based radio frequency network. The hub 1002 may use one or more communication protocols, including either or both of wired and wireless protocols, including but not limited to X10, Ethernet, RS-485, 6LoWPAN, Bluetooth LE (BLE), ZigBee, and Z-Wave).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Cregg to include wherein the first protocol comprises Bluetooth and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi by Siminoff in order to determine behavior within the video clips (see Siminoff’s abstract).
Claim.13 Cregg does not disclose wherein the first protocol comprises Wi-Fi and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi.
However, Siminoff discloses wherein the first protocol comprises Wi-Fi and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi (see at least fig.1-2,10, p162, the hub 1002 communication capability may also include links to any of a variety of wireless networks, including WAP (Wireless Application Protocol), GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), GSM (Global System for Mobile Communication), LTE, VoLTE, LoRaWAN, LPWAN, RPMA, LTE Cat-“X” (e.g. LTE Cat 1, LTE Cat 0, LTE CatM1, LTE Cat NB1), CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access), TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access), FDMA (Frequency Division Multiple Access), and/or OFDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access) cellular phone networks, GPS, CDPD (cellular digital packet data), RIM (Research in Motion, Limited) duplex paging network, Bluetooth radio, or an IEEE 802.11-based radio frequency network. The hub 1002 may use one or more communication protocols, including either or both of wired and wireless protocols, including but not limited to X10, Ethernet, RS-485, 6LoWPAN, Bluetooth LE (BLE), ZigBee, and Z-Wave).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Cregg to include wherein the first protocol comprises Wi-Fi and the second protocol comprises Wi-Fi by Siminoff in order to determine behavior within the video clips (see Siminoff’s abstract).
Claim.15 Cregg does not disclose wherein the wireless duplex server communication protocol comprises a cellular network protocol.
However, Siminoff discloses wherein the wireless duplex server communication protocol comprises a cellular network protocol (see at least fig.1-2,10, p162, the hub 1002 communication capability may also include links to any of a variety of wireless networks, including WAP (Wireless Application Protocol), GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), GSM (Global System for Mobile Communication), LTE, VoLTE, LoRaWAN, LPWAN, RPMA, LTE Cat-“X” (e.g. LTE Cat 1, LTE Cat 0, LTE CatM1, LTE Cat NB1), CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access), TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access), FDMA (Frequency Division Multiple Access), and/or OFDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access) cellular phone networks, GPS, CDPD (cellular digital packet data), RIM (Research in Motion, Limited) duplex paging network, Bluetooth radio, or an IEEE 802.11-based radio frequency network. The hub 1002 may use one or more communication protocols, including either or both of wired and wireless protocols, including but not limited to X10, Ethernet, RS-485, 6LoWPAN, Bluetooth LE (BLE), ZigBee, and Z-Wave).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Cregg to include wherein the wireless duplex server communication protocol comprises a cellular network protocol by Siminoff in order to determine behavior within the video clips (see Siminoff’s abstract).
Conclusion
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664