DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schlarb et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0062119).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 4, Schlarb discloses a laminated glass assembly comprising: a multilayer structure comprising an outer glass plate (1.2) that defines a first major surface and a second major surface, an inner ultra-thin glass plate (1.1) that defines a first major surface and a second major surface and an intermediate film layer (8, 4.1, 4.2) disposed between the outer glass plate and the inner ultra-thin glass plate; a layer of solder (9) defining a first side and a second side; a conductive medium (2.1) that is positioned between the second major surface of the outer glass plate and the second side of the layer of solder (Figure 4); and a flexible electrical assembly (comprising 11, 13, 2; Figure 2) comprising an insulating outer body (11, Figure 2) and an electrically conductive elongate ribbon (13, Figure 2) at least a portion of which is disposed within the insulating outer body, the flexible electrical assembly defining (a) a first portion that is secured to the conductive medium through the first side of the layer of solder (Figure 2) and (b) a second portion that is adhesively secured to the second major surface of the inner ultra-thin glass plate (Figure 2), wherein the cooperation between the flexible electrical assembly, the layer of solder, the conductive medium and the outer glass plate is such that upon the outer glass plate, inner ultra-thin glass plate and intermediate film layer being joined to one another to form the laminated glass assembly, direct contact between the solder and the first major surface of the inner ultra-thin glass plate is avoided (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 2, Schlarb discloses wherein the material of the outer glass plate is selected from soda lime glass, aluminosilicate glass, borosilicate glass, polymethyl methacrylate or polycarbonate, and the thickness of the outer glass plate is between 1.5 and 6 millimeters (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Schlarb discloses wherein the material of the inner ultra-thin glass plate is selected from at least one of a high-aluminum silicate glass, borosilicate glass and lithium aluminum silicate glass with a thickness of between 0.4 and 1.2 millimeters (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 4, Schlarb discloses wherein the thickness of the outer glass plate is between 1.5 and 6 millimeters (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, Schlarb discloses wherein the thickness of the inner ultra-thin glass plate is between 0.4 and 1.2 millimeters (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 6, Schlarb discloses wherein the thickness of the outer glass plate is between 1.5 and 6 millimeters and the thickness of the inner ultra-thin glass plate is between 0.4 and 1.2 millimeters (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 7, Schlarb discloses wherein the electrically conductive elongate ribbon comprises a metal ribbon (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 8, Schlarb discloses wherein the conductive medium is a metal wire or a transparent conductive film and the metal layer is selected from gold, gold alloy, silver, silver alloy, copper, copper alloy, aluminum, aluminum alloy, molybdenum or molybdenum alloy (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 9, Schlarb discloses wherein the conductive medium is copper wire, tungsten wire, aluminum wire or silver wire, and the conductive medium is used to perform at least one of heating, defrosting, anti-fogging, discoloration and receiving wireless signals (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 10, Schlarb discloses wherein the conductive medium is a transparent conductive film that includes a metal coating, a metal alloy layer or a metal oxide layer (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 11, Schlarb discloses wherein the transparent conductive film is a metal alloy layer comprising a silver or silver alloy (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 12, Schlarb discloses wherein the transparent conductive film is a metal oxide layer comprising an indium tin oxide layer, a fluorine-doped tin oxide layer, an antimony-doped tin oxide layer or aluminum-doped zinc oxide layer (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 13, Schlarb discloses wherein the multilayer structure is optically transparent (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 14, Schlarb discloses wherein the flexible electrical assembly further comprises a terminal that is electrically connected to the electrically conductive elongate ribbon at a substantial end of the second portion (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 15, Schlarb discloses wherein the layer of solder is disposed adjacent a substantial end of the first portion (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 16, Schlarb discloses wherein the terminal and the layer of solder define a substantially stacked position relative to one another when viewed along an axis that is substantially orthogonal to the first and second major surfaces of the outer glass plate and the inner ultra-thin glass plate (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 17, Schlarb discloses wherein the insulating outer body is between about 5.5 mm and 16 mm wide and the electrically conductive elongate ribbon is between about 0.2 and 1 mm thick and at least about 1.0 mm wide (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 18, Schlarb discloses wherein the second portion that is adhesively secured to the second major surface of the inner ultra-thin glass plate comprises a plurality of adhesives each disposed along the second portion (Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 19, Schlarb discloses wherein the conductive medium comprises electrical circuitry that comprises at least one of a conductive pattern, a conductive wire, printed conductive ink, a transparent conductive film, a pre-laid metal wire and a conductive trace (Figures 2 and 4).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847