DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations with the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to the Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Status of Application
The list of claims 1, 2 and 5-13 are pending in this application. The list of claims examined in this office action comprises the list included in the claim set filed 04/24/2026, in which:
Claim(s) 1 is/are the independent claim(s) observed in the application.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 has/have been cancelled.
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 has/have been amended.
Claim(s) 6-13 has/have been newly added.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 04/24/2026; the Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. The Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to the Title objection(s), the Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are found persuasive. Therefore the Title objection(s) has/have been withdrawn.
With respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1), the Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are found persuasive. Therefore the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) has/have been withdrawn.
Office Note: Due to applicant’s amendments, further claim rejections appear on the record as stated in the Final Office Action below.
Final Office Action
Claim Objections/Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 13 are objected to due to the following minor informalities due to minor grammatical errors as follows:
With respect to claim 1, the claim recites to following minor grammatical error: “the indicator including a plurality of lighting regions that is arranged,” which should instead recite: “the indicator including a plurality of lighting regions that are arranged.”
With respect to claim 8, the claim recites to following minor grammatical error: “upon receiving an instruction from an user to change,” which should instead recite: “upon receiving an instruction from a user to change...”
With respect to claim 13, the claim recites to following minor grammatical error: “such that the corresponding lighting regions are lit at a constant time intervals.,” which should instead recite: “such that the corresponding lighting regions are lit at constant time intervals.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8, 9, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 9 recite “the thresholds” after reciting both “a threshold of the current gear stage” and “a plurality of thresholds being provided for each of the lighting regions in different gear stages of the transmission” in claim 1, from which claims 8 and 9 depend. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in claims 8 and 9, such that the Examiner cannot clearly determine which thresholds are being referenced by the cited claim limitations.
Claim 11 is further rejected due to its dependency on rejected claim 8 and for failing to cure the deficiencies cited above.
Claims 10 recites the “the thresholds other than the threshold for lighting the center lighting region” after reciting both “a threshold of the current gear stage” and “a plurality of thresholds being provided for each of the lighting regions in different gear stages of the transmission” in claim 1, from which claim 10 depends (via claim 8). Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in claim 8, such that the Examiner cannot clearly determine which thresholds are being referenced by the cited claim limitations.
Claims 13, recites the “the thresholds other than the first thresholds and the thresholds at the shift timing based” after reciting both “a threshold of the current gear stage” and “a plurality of thresholds being provided for each of the lighting regions in different gear stages of the transmission” in claim 1, from which claim 13 depends (via claim 12). Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in claim 13, such that the Examiner cannot clearly determine which thresholds are being referenced by the cited claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Reference: “CARTEK MOTORSPORT - GEAR INDICATOR (OBD2) INSTALLATION GUIDE” in view of Sato et al. (United States Patent Publication 2014/0236441 A1) and Cho et al. (United States Patent Publication 2025/0060034 A1), referenced as CARTEK, Sato and Cho, respectively, moving forward.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner confirmed that the above reference was published as early as 09/25/2023 using Wayback Machine ®, which is prior to the Applicant’s effective filing data of 03/04/2024, and is therefore admissible as prior art. The Wayback Machine ® URL indicating the above publishing date is the following: https://web.archive.org/web/20230925142941/https://www.cartekmotorsport.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2023/08/GearIndicator-instructions-OBD2-Multi-protocol-for-web.pdf
With respect to claim 1, while CARTEK discloses:
“A display device comprising: a display configured to display an indicator of a shift timing at which a driver of a vehicle shifts a transmission, the indicator including a plurality of lighting regions that is arranged in a horizontal direction in a display region” [CARTEK; In at least the cited pages, the CARTEK document discloses an integrated LED display and Gear-Indicator configured to control the LED display to commence: "a display sequence that will commence at an engine speed prior to optimum and complete at precisely the optimum speed thereby giving the driver early indication to shift up before the rev limiter is reached or engine damage occurs" (Page 1). The CARTEK document further discloses that the user has the option to configure the specific "Shift-Light patterns" including at least two converging patterns (see Patterns 5 and 6 on Page 6), which respectively extend from the left and right side of the LED sequence and converge at a center area, by during which time all of the LEDs appear illuminated at the appropriate time to indicate the optimum shift timing.];
“and a processor configured to receive a current gear stage of the transmission from a shift position sensor of the vehicle, control the display to extend the indicator from a left end and a right end of the display region toward a center in a horizontal direction of the vehicle by lighting the lighting regions individually and sequentially from the left and right end toward the center as the shift timing approaches” [CARTEK; The CARTEK document further discloses that the user has the option to configure the specific "Shift-Light patterns" including at least two converging patterns (see Patterns 5 and 6 on Page 6), which respectively extend from the left and right side of the LED sequence and converge at a center area, by during which time all of the LEDs appear illuminated, individually and sequentially from the left and right end toward the center, at the appropriate time to indicate the optimum shift timing.];
CARTEK does not specifically state:
“and a processor configured to receive a current gear stage of the transmission from a shift position sensor of the vehicle,”
“wherein the processor is further configured to light a corresponding one of the lighting regions in response to the number of revolutions of an internal combustion engine of the vehicle increasing and reaching a threshold of the current gear stage, a plurality of thresholds being provided for each of the lighting regions in different gear stages of the transmission.”
Sato, which is in the same field of invention of systems/methods for controlling gear shift indicators in vehicles, teaches: “and a processor configured to receive a current gear stage of the transmission from a shift position sensor of the vehicle” [Sato; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Sato teaches a CPU (denoted 40 in Fig. 2) that receives a current selected gear of a manual transmission from a shift position sensor (denoted 50 in Fig. 2); Fig. 3; ¶: 0106-0112, 0128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle as disclosed by CARTEK to incorporate the teachings regarding prompting a driver to change gears using a shift timing indicator based on a comparison between a current rotational speed of the engine by sensing the current gear selected for the manual transmission as taught by Sato with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle that is more robust in its ability to “provide a gear shift indication device which enables further improvement in energy consumption rate in a vehicle capable of shifting gears in sequential shift mode” [Sato; ¶: 0015-0017].
Cho, which is in the same field of invention of systems/methods for controlling gear shift indicators in vehicles, teaches: “wherein the processor is further configured to light a corresponding one of the lighting regions in response to the number of revolutions of an internal combustion engine of the vehicle increasing and reaching a threshold of the current gear stage, a plurality of thresholds being provided for each of the lighting regions in different gear stages of the transmission” [Cho; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Cho teaches determining a current selected gear position for a vehicle operating in a manual shifting mode in which a plurality of light emitting elements (denoted 24 in Fig. 2) are configured to sequentially increase when a determined engine speed increases above a predetermined upward engine speed or decrease when the determined engine speed decreases below a predetermined downward engine speed corresponding to the determined current gear position, wherein the disclosed predetermined upward engine speeds and predetermined downward engine speeds corresponding to each of the plurality of the light emitting elements has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited: "plurality of thresholds being provided for each of the lighting regions in different gear stages of the transmission;" Fig. 2; ¶: 0041-0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle as disclosed by CARTEK to incorporate the teachings regarding sequentially illuminating each LED in a shift timing guidance system at a respective threshold RPM value for that particular LED as taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle that is more robust in its ability to better enable the driver to recognize the real-time driving status of the vehicle [Cho; ¶: 0003-0005, 0043].
With respect to claim 2, CARTEK discloses: “wherein the processor is configured to light all the lighting regions at the shift timing” [CARTEK; The CARTEK document further discloses that the user has the option to configure the specific "Shift-Light patterns" including at least two converging patterns (see Patterns 5 and 6 on Page 6), which respectively extend from the left and right side of the LED sequence by individually illuminating the 8 LEDs from the left side and from the right converge at a center area, as is consistent with the known definition of the term converge in the art, which is: "to tend or move toward one point or one another"(https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/converge). As disclosed on Page 1, “These 8 LEDs form a display sequence that will commence at an engine speed prior to optimum and complete at precisely the optimum speed;” therefore, it is reasonably to interpret that when implementing one of the two converging "Shift-Light patterns," all 8 of the LEDs appear illuminated at the appropriate time to indicate the optimum shift timing, as the Applicant similarly claims.].
Examiner’s Note: To further support the Examiner’s assertion that the disclosed converging "Shift-Light patterns" in the CARTEK reference specifically discloses that the LEDs are lit individually, converge in a center area and that all 8 LEDs are lit at the optimum shift timing, the Examiner references the below segment (including minutes 3:25-3:32 from a YouTube video by the MaxRPM user (https://youtu.be/KaECdljpECw?t=206 ), which shows the above disclosed CARTEK OBD2 Gear Indicator in operation. This segment is attached as an NPL document in the attached PTO-892, but the annotated images from the enclosed document have been additionally included below for clarity:
MaxRPM YouTube video screenshots - 3:25- 3:32
With respect to claim 5, CARTEK discloses: “wherein the processor is configured to control the display to start extending the indicator from the left end and the right end toward the center at a timing earlier by a predetermined period than the shift timing” [CARTEK; The CARTEK document further discloses that the user has the option to configure the device specifically for their vehicle by indicating the number of forward gears for their vehicle, and subsequently setting a Shift-Light Pattern START RPM and Shift-Light Pattern END RPM for a particular gear using the methods disclosed on pages 7 and 8 respectively using the rear pushbutton in conjunction with the flashing LEDs, representative of the respective RPM setting, wherein the Shift-Light Pattern START RPM for each gear has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "predetermined period" prior to the shift timing in which the display is triggered to begin "extending the indicator from the left end and the right end toward the center."].
With respect to claim 7, CARTEK does not specifically state: “wherein the processor is further configured to cause all the lighting regions to blink at the shift timing.”
Cho teaches: “wherein the processor is further configured to cause all the lighting regions to blink at the shift timing” [Cho; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Cho teaches that all of the light emitting elements (denoted 24 in Fig. 2) operate in a blinking mode just before the vehicle reaches RPM corresponding to the next gear as follows: "When the number of the targets to be turned on gradually increases and all the light emitting elements 24 are operated in the blinking mode, the shift indicator 22 may warn the driver that the virtual engine speed will reach the virtual speed limit within a short time period;" ¶: 0078; See also: Fig. 2; ¶: 0041-0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle as disclosed by CARTEK to incorporate the teachings regarding sequentially illuminating each LED in a shift timing guidance system at a respective threshold RPM value for that particular LED as taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle that is more robust in its ability to better enable the driver to recognize the real-time driving status of the vehicle [Cho; ¶: 0003-0005, 0043].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARTEK in view of Sato, Cho and Snarr et al. (United States Patent Publication 2014/0257654 A1), referenced as Snarr moving forward.
With respect to claim 6, CARTEK does not specifically state: “wherein the threshold for lighting a center lighting region of the lighting regions is different for each gear stage.”
Snarr, which is in the same field of invention of systems/methods for controlling gear shift indicators in vehicles, teaches: “wherein the threshold for lighting a center lighting region of the lighting regions is different for each gear stage” [Snarr; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Snarr teaches that a gear shift indicator may define a high-shift point corresponding to an engine RPM, for which a driver should up-shift, in which this high-shift point may be a different RPM value for each of the gears of the vehicles transmission, such as the disclosed 7200 RPM high-shift point for gear 1 and the 7400 RPM high-shift point for gear 2 presented in gear table 406 in Fig. 4; Fig. 4; ¶: 0025-0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle as disclosed by CARTEK to incorporate the teachings regarding displaying a different optimal shift point for each of a plurality of gears for a manual transmission as taught by Snarr with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle that is more robust in its ability to maximize efficiency and performance is by optimizing shifting points of a transmission to deliver maximum performance for each motor of a vehicle [Snarr; ¶: 0003-0005].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARTEK in view of Sato, Cho and NPL Reference: DSHIFT – Programmable Shift Light Webpage referenced as DSHIFT moving forward.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner confirmed that the above reference was published as early as 10/29/2023 using Wayback Machine ®, which is prior to the Applicant’s effective filing data of 03/04/2024, and is therefore admissible as prior art. The Wayback Machine ® URL indicating the above publishing date is the following: https://web.archive.org/web/20231029055415/https:/dauntlessdevices.com/product/d-shift-programmable-shift-light/.
With respect to claim 8, CARTEK does not specifically state: “wherein the processor is further configured to change the thresholds upon receiving an instruction from a user to change the threshold for lighting a center lighting region of the lighting regions.”
DSHIFT, which is in the same field of invention of systems/methods for controlling gear shift indicators in vehicles, teaches: “wherein the processor is further configured to change the thresholds upon receiving an instruction from a user to change the threshold for lighting a center lighting region of the lighting regions.” [DSHIFT; DSHIFT teaches an application for configuring a programmable sequential shift light that interfaces with a vehicle using the vehicles OBD to allow a user to select a target RPM corresponding to the end of a pattern indicating a desired shift point as well as RPM span coverage that allows the user to select the full range of RPMS the sequential shift light will illuminate the LEDs to display. The disclosed target RPM has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "the threshold for lighting a center lighting region of the lighting regions;" https://dauntlessdevices.com/product/d-shift-programmable-shift-light/].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle as disclosed by CARTEK to incorporate the teachings regarding configuring a target RPM as well as a range of RPMs to be indicated by a gear shift indicator using a mobile application as taught by DSHIFT with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a gear indicator for indicating a target shifting time to a driver of a vehicle that is more robust in its ability to “provide easy and more in-depth options to customize your shift light, view current settings and status, submit tech support data, apply firmware updates, and for advanced users or installers to specify their CAN decoding setup” [DSHIFT; https://dauntlessdevices.com/product/d-shift-programmable-shift-light/].
Prior Art (Not relied upon)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892.
NPL Reference: Screen captures MaxRPM YouTube discloses: A series of screenshots from a section of a YouTube video (3:25-3:32) from the MaxRPM user that demonstrates the CARTEK OBD2 Gear Indicator from the above primary reference in operation. The user uploaded this video on July 15, 2022, and therefore, it was publicly available before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention, which is March 04, 2024.
McMullen (United States Patent Publication 2007/0179694 A1) discloses: A method and apparatus for communicating an optimal gear shift time is disclosed. The apparatus includes an input circuit that obtains a plurality RPM readings over a selected interval of time, a processing module that determines an RPM acceleration based upon the plurality of RPM readings, the processing module also determines an appropriate shift time based upon the RPM acceleration and estimated shift reaction time, and a shift indicator that communicates the appropriate shift time. In certain embodiments, the appropriate shift time includes shifting within a range of maximum engine power. In some embodiments, the shift indicator comprises a shift indicator light or an audible signal generator.
Ahn (United States Patent Publication 2010/0312442 A1) discloses: An improper gear shift timing indicator system for a manual transmission vehicle. The system includes a gear position detector for detecting gear position information and a control unit in communication with the gear position detector. The control unit is configured to detect a gear shift event based on a change in the gear position information. The control unit measures elapsed time during the gear shift event and compares the elapsed time with a threshold value, which is based on various vehicle operating parameters and the given gear shift event. A signal system is in communication with the control unit and the control unit causes the signal system to provide a signal to a driver of the vehicle when the elapsed time of the gear shift event is less than the threshold value.
Johnson et al. (United States Patent Publication 2013/0144581 A1) discloses: Methods and devices for determining speed control management settings are provided. A vehicle configuration is obtained, specifying at least a transmission, including a number of gears present in the transmission. One or more speed control management modules, such as progressive shift and/or gear down protection modules, are selected by a customer. One or more default progressive shift limits and a default gear down protection limit are calculated, along with gears for which they are active. Performance of the vehicle using the default speed control management settings is simulated and compared to typical vehicle performance. The customer may alter the speed control management settings within dynamically determined valid ranges. The speed control management settings are used in the manufacture or other configuration of the vehicle for the customer.
Dietzel et al. (United States Patent Publication 2016/0146336 A1) discloses: A method and apparatus is disclosed for determining the available gears of a geared vehicle based on the ratios of vehicle speed to engine speed, together with a method and apparatus for determining the current gear in which a geared vehicle is being driven based on the current ratio of vehicle speed to engine speed.
Zhang (United States Patent Publication 2022/0118852 A1) discloses: A steering wheel indicating paddle for displaying a power rotating speed of an automobile. The paddle comprises an emitting panel connected with an OBD port of the automobile, a receiving panel mounted on an R paddle or an L paddle of the automobile, a first lamp panel mounted on another paddle and a second lamp panel integrated to the receiving panel. The emitting panel comprises an OBD signal access circuit, a first master control chip, a first power supply circuit and a wireless sending module. The receiving panel comprises a second master control chip, a second power supply circuit and a wireless sending module. According to the present invention, the OBD signal access circuit is connected with the OBD port of the automobile, so that it acquires a rotating speed condition of an engine.
Hill et al. (United States Patent Publication 2023/0394989 A1) discloses: A system is disclosed for communicating audio messages about a vehicle or equipment to a user or other person to improve performance. The vehicle could be a racecar and the user could be a racecar driver. The system can include a speaker to convey audio messages to the user, including real time messages for helping the user assess and improve physical performance. The messages may be generated based on various types of data, including sensor data. Sensor data may be collected by vehicle sensors of a vehicle or by systems external to the vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3666C
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666