Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 - 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noschese (US 5511985), in view of Satou (US 20050170685), in further view of Reynolds (US 5685742).
Regarding claim 1, Noschese discloses a connection system comprising:
a first wiring board (the daughter printed circuit board PCB 18, Fig. 1) including a first base film (the substrate of the PCB 18), and a plurality of first electrodes (the contact pads 24), the first base film having a first main surface (bottom surface of the PCB 18) extending along a first direction (the direction along the surface of the PCB 18), the plurality of first electrodes being provided on the first main surface at a front end part (the end portion of the PCB 18 containing pads 24, Fig. 2) of the first base film along the first direction;
a second wiring board (the daughter printed circuit board PCB 20, Fig. 1) including a second base film (the substrate of the PCB 20), and a plurality of second electrodes (the contact pads 24), the second base film having a second main surface (bottom surface of the PCB 20) extending along a second direction (the direction along the surface of the PCB 20), the plurality of second electrodes being provided on the second main surface at a front end part (the end portion of the PCB 20 containing pads 24 similar to the PCB 18) of the second base film along the second direction; and
a board assembly (the first mother printed circuit board PCB 14) including a board body (the substrate of the PCB 14), a first connector (the left side connector 12), and a second connector (the right side connector 12), the board body having a third main surface (the top surface of the PCB 14) extending along a third direction (the direction along the top surface of the PCB 14), the first connector being provided at the third main surface and including a plurality of first conductors (the contact 36), the second connector being provided at the third main surface and including a plurality of second conductors (the contact 36 of the right side connector 12, the first connector (12) and the second connector (12) being arranged side by side in the third direction (Fig. 1),
wherein the first main surface (surface of PCB 18) faces the third main surface (top surface of PCB 14) and each of the plurality of first electrodes (24) is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of first conductors (36), when the first wiring board is coupled to the first connector (12, Fig. 1), and
wherein the second main surface (bottom surface of PCB 20) faces the third main surface (top surface of PCB 14) and each of the plurality of second electrodes (24) is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of second conductors (36), when the second wiring board (20) is coupled to the second connector (12, Fig. 1),
wherein the first wiring board (18) is configured to couple to the first connector (12) such that the first direction in which the first main surface (bottom surface of PCB 18) extends intersects the third direction (top surface of PCB 14) obliquely (Fig. 1),
wherein the second wiring board (20) is configured to couple to the second connector (12) such that the second direction in which the second main surface (bottom surface of PCB 20) extends intersects the third direction (top surface of PCB 20) obliquely (Fig. 1).
Noschese does not explicitly disclose the first and second circuit board are flexible; a plurality of first wires, the plurality of first wires being provided in or on the first base film; a plurality of second wires, the plurality of second wires being provided in or on the second base film; the plurality of first electrodes being each electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of first wires; the plurality of second electrodes being each electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of second wires.
Satou teaches the circuit board (30, Fig. 3) in this setting is a flexible circuit board.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide a flexibility to the circuit board as needed in order to fit all the circuit boards in the limited space of the electronic device.
Reynolds teaches the plurality of wires (tracks 36, Fig. 11) on the printed circuit board (PCB 28) connected to the electrodes (solder joint 30).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide wires in the printed circuit board in order to electrically connect the components together to form a functional printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 3, Noschese discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Noschese further discloses the first connector (12, Fig. 3) further includes a body portion (the two members 38 and 40 of the housing 34) and a fixation member (the guide projections 44) configured to fix the first flexible wiring board to the body portion in a state in which the first flexible wiring board is coupled to the first connector (the guide projections 44 hold the circuit board in place when the circuit board is inserted into the slot 50).
Regarding claim 4, Noschese discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3. Noschese further discloses the first connector further has a plurality of holding holes (holes 68 arranged in the rows 68a – 68d, Fig. 3) extending through the body portion (40) and into each of which a corresponding one of the plurality of first conductors (36) is inserted.
Regarding claim 5, Noschese discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Noschese further discloses the second connector (right side connector 12) is located between the first main surface (bottom surface of PCB 18) of the first base film of the first flexible wiring board (18) and the third main surface (top surface of PCB 14) of the board body of the board assembly, wherein the second connector further includes a first end portion (left side portion) and a second end portion (right side portion), the first end portion and the second end portion being arranged side by side in the third direction, wherein the second end portion is located on a side of the first end portion opposite to a side where the first connector (left side connector 12) is present, and wherein, at the first end portion, a distance between the first main surface (bottom surface of PCB 18) and the third main surface (top surface of PCB 14) is larger than or equal to a height of the second connector (right side connector 12).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou (US 20050170685), in further view of Reynolds (US 5685742).
Regarding claim 10, Satou discloses a flexible wiring board (flexible board 30, Fig.2 - 3) capable of being coupled to a board assembly (the flexible board connector 1) including a board body (the circuit board 40), the flexible wiring board comprising:
a base film (the substrate of the flexible board 30) having a main surface (bottom surface of 30) extending so as to obliquely intersect a direction in which the board body (40) extends (Fig. 3); and
a plurality of electrodes (the electrodes on the connecting portion 31, Fig. 1) provided at the main surface at a front end part (the portion at the location of connecting portion 31) of the base film in the direction in which the board body extends.
Satou does not explicitly disclose a plurality of wires provided in or on the base film; the plurality of electrodes being each electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of wires.
Reynolds teaches the plurality of wires (tracks 36, Fig. 11) on the printed circuit board (PCB 28) connected to the electrodes (solder joint 30).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide wires in the printed circuit board in order to electrically connect the components together to form a functional printed circuit board.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita (US 6717064), in further view of Karnezos (US 4813129).
Regarding claim 11, Kurita discloses a flexible wiring board comprising:
a base film (the substrate of the flexible printed circuit board 83; Fig. 6) having a main surface (bottom surface);
a plurality of wires (the metal wiring circuit 14, 14a – 14c; column 4, lines 44 - 45) provided in or on the base film; and
a plurality of electrodes (conductive bump 16) provided at the main surface at a front end part of the base film, the plurality of electrodes (16) being each electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of wires (14a).
Kurita does not explicitly disclose each of the plurality of electrodes has a surface located on a side opposite to a side where the base film is present, the surface being inclined with respect to the main surface.
Kurita suggests the top side surface of the conductive bump 16a, Fig. 6, to be round surface that appears to be inclined to the with respect to the bottom surface of the flexible circuit board 83.
Karnezos teaches the plurality of electrodes (buttons 16, Fig. 3) having a top surface being inclined with respect to the top surface of the circuit board 12.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the shape of the contact electrodes in order to accommodate to shapes, sizes and positions of the other components that comes into contact with the electrodes.
Claim(s) 12 - 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noschese (US 5511985), in view of Satou (US 20050170685).
Regarding claim 12, Noschese discloses a board assembly capable of being coupled to a plurality of wiring boards (circuit boards 18 and 20, Fig. 1) each including a base film (the substrate of the circuit board 18) and a plurality of electrodes (contact pads 24, Fig. 2), the base film having a first main surface (bottom surface), the plurality of electrodes (24) being provided at the first main surface, the board assembly comprising:
a board body (the substrate of the circuit board 14, Fig. 1) having a third main surface (top surface of the circuit board 14) extending along a direction obliquely intersecting the extending direction of the first main surface (Fig. 1); and
a plurality of connectors (connectors 12) arranged side by side in the extending direction of the third main surface at the third main surface and each including a plurality of conductors (electrical contacts 36 inside the connectors 12), wherein each of the plurality of conductors is configured to be electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of electrodes (24) when the connectors are coupled to the wiring boards (when the circuit board 18 inserted into the connector 12, the electrodes 24 make contact with the spring contact sections 62 of the contacts 36; column 4, lines 27 - 30).
Noschese does not explicitly disclose a plurality of wiring boards being flexible.
Satou teaches the circuit board (30, Fig. 3) in this setting is a flexible circuit board.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide a flexibility to the circuit board as needed in order to fit all the circuit boards in the limited space of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 13, Noschese discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12. Noschese further discloses the first connector (12, Fig. 3) further includes a body portion (the two members 38 and 40 of the housing 34) and a fixation member (the guide projections 44) configured to fix each flexible wiring board to the body portion in a state in which each flexible wiring board is coupled to the each connector (the guide projections 44 hold the circuit board in place when the circuit board is inserted into the slot 50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6 - 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that an inclination angle of the second flexible wiring board with respect to the third direction is smaller than an inclination angle of the first flexible wiring board with respect to the third direction. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that each of the plurality of first electrodes includes an electrode pad and a bump provided at the electrode pad, the electrode pad being electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of first wires. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lynch (US 6830470) discloses a circuit board 80, Fig. 3, having three connectors 10 with three circuit boards 70 inserted in oblique direction as respect to the surface of the circuit board 80.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847