DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This non-Final office action is in response to the CON application filled on 11/25/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Priority
Continuation of application No. 17/550,619, filed on Dec. 14, 2021 , now Pat. No. 12,190,275, which is a continuation of application No. 17/099,364, filed on Nov. 16, 2020, now Pat. No. 11 ,222,300. Provisional application No. 62/935,974, filed on Nov. 15, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of date of this action, IDS filled has been annotated and considered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3, “roof accesory” should be “roofing accessory” since claim previously mention roofing accessory. Claim 12 is objected likewise.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Computing module” in claim 1 and 12
“Landing member” in claim 3 and 14
Per submitted specification, computing module includes processor and memory, see at least [0006] of PGPub of submitted specification. Per submitted specification, landing member is a landing structure/zone, see at least [0082] of PGPUB of submitted specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claim 12), which recites “frame comprises at least one compartment that…is disposed between the at least one roofing accessory component and the structure” is not clear. The claim initially recites frame is part of the roofing accessory. Then the claim recites frame comprises a compartment. The compartment is between roofing accesory component and the structure. From the recited claim language and submitted specification, it is not clear how the compartment is between the roofing accessory component and the structure. Figure 1 of submitted drawing shows a compartment, 21 for computing module which is part of roofing accessory not in between the roofing accesory and the structure.
Dependent claim(s) 2-11 and 13-20 is/are also rejected because they do not resolve their parent deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, 10, 12-15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0198801 (“Carthew”).
Regarding Claim 12 (and similarly claim 1), as best understood in view of indefiniteness rejection explained above, Carthew discloses an integrated roofing accessory (see at least fig 2A, where a roofing accessory integrated into a roof of a home) comprising:
at least one roofing accesory component for installation on a roof of a structure (see at least fig 2A, where 106 is a roofing accessory integrated into a roof of a home); and
wherein the at least one roofing accesory component comprises at least one of:
a roofing cap,
a laminate roofing accessory, a roofing sheet,
a ridge cap,
a ridge vent,
a roofing frame (see at least fig 2B, where 106 is attached with roof via 135. Roofing frame is interpreted as a frame that is part of the roof or attached to the roof), or
a roofing shingle;
at least one frame defined at least partially by the at least one roof accessory component (see at least fig 2B, where 135 is part of roof accessor, 106);
wherein the at least one frame comprises at least one compartment that, when the integrated roofing accessory is installed on the roof, is disposed between the at least one roofing accessory component and the structure (see at least fig 2B, where 106 is installed on the roof. The house is interpreted as structure. 138 is between roofing accessory and the structure);
wherein the at least one frame holds at least one antenna and at least one computing module (see at least fig 2A, where 132 is antenna, 126 is a processor and 128 is memory. see also [0028]);
wherein the computing module is configured to communicate, via the at least one antenna, with at least one unmanned vehicle (see at least [0028], where “The package receiving station 106 and the UAV 102 communicate to confirm the package receiving station is located at the address of the package being delivered, and once confirmation is successful, the package receiving station 106 uses GPS antenna 132, the processors 126, and the memory 128 to receive GPS signals and compute a GPS correction signal…The UAV 102 positions itself over the package receiving platform 134 using GPS coordinates, and in some embodiments, computer vision processing. In embodiments using a computer vision processes”; see also [0017], [0022] and [0031]).
Regarding Claim 9, see citation on above on claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13 (and similarly claim 2), Carthew further discloses a system wherein at least one unmanned vehicle navigation instruction is configured to instruct the at least one unmanned vehicle to navigate to a landing location associated with the structure (see at least [0028]).
Regarding Claim 14 (and similarly claim 3), Carthew further discloses a system wherein the landing locations comprises a landing member in proximity to the structure (see at least fig 2B, where 134 is the package receiving platform. Package receiving platform is interpreted as landing location).
Regarding Claim 15 (and similarly claim 4), Carthew further discloses a system wherein the at least one antenna is embedded within a surface of the integrated roofing accessory (see at least fig 2A and [0028]).
Regarding Claim 18 (and similarly claim 7), Carthew further discloses a system wherein the at least one frame, comprising the at least one roofing accessory component, has a planar shape and is configured to be installed on a face of the roof (see at least fig 2A, where 106 is installed on a face of the roof).
Regarding Claim 20 (and similarly claim 10), Carthew further discloses a system wherein the at least one indicator is one of:
at least one radio frequency identification (RFID) tag,
at least one Near Field Communication (NFC) tag,
at least one barcode,
at least one Quick Response (QR) code (see at least [0017] and [0028),
at least one location identification marking, at least one electronic display device, or
any combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0198801 (“Carthew”), as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of US 2018/0237137 (“Tovey”), and further in view of US 10,049,589 (“Boyd”).
Regarding Claim 11, Carthew further discloses a system wherein receive, via the at least one antenna, at least one electronic response communication from the at least one unmanned vehicle in response to the at least one electronic communication (see at least [0042], where position correction is done by processor via antenna by connecting with the drone).
Carthew does not disclose the following limitations:
configured to cause the at least one unmanned vehicle to report, via the at least one electronic response communication, a parcel identifier associated with a parcel being carried by the at least one unmanned vehicle; and
track a location of the parcel based at least in part on a structure location associated with the structure and the at least one electronic communication with the at least one unmanned vehicle.
However, Tovey discloses a system wherein the at least one electronic communication is configured to cause the at least one unmanned vehicle to report, via the at least one electronic response communication, a parcel identifier associated with a parcel being carried by the at least one unmanned vehicle (see at least [0042], where “In response to verifying the identity of the physical object and the physical object is present at the location, the UAV 200 can provide an identifier to the user that the UAV 200 has guided the user to the correct physical object.”; UAV is identifying an object. So, UAV is identifying a parcel).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Carthew to incorporate the teachings of Tovey by including the above feature for avoiding any confusion and improving efficiency by verifying parcel before delivery.
Carthew in view of Tovey does not disclose the following limitation:
track a location of the parcel based at least in part on a structure location associated with the structure and the at least one electronic communication with the at least one unmanned vehicle.
However, Boyd discloses a system wherein track a location of the parcel based at least in part on a structure location associated with the structure and the at least one electronic communication with the at least one unmanned vehicle (see at least col 10, lines 42-46, where “The user or customer profile may identify potential landing zones in an associated delivery location 312, objects detected in certain landing zones such as tree 316, and nature and number of images, movies, or video streams captured by user 302 utilizing a user device.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Carthew in view of Tovey to incorporate the teachings of Boyd by including the above feature for avoiding lost or damaged parcel by monitoring the delivery location.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0198801 (“Carthew”), as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and in view of US 2021/0352502 (“Ginis”).
Regarding Claim 16 (and similarly claim 5), Carthew discloses a system wherein the computing module is configured to transmit, via the at least one antenna, at least one network communication with at least one , see citation above. Carthew does not disclose additional integrated roofing accessory to form a computer network.
However, Ginis discloses a system wherein a computer network is formed between various accessories, see at least fig 6.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Carthew to incorporate the teachings of Ginis by including the above feature for avoiding any confusion and improving efficiency by forming a network between plural accessories.
Regarding Claim 17 (and similarly claim 6), Ginis further discloses a system wherein the computer network comprises a distributed datacenter (see at least fig 6).
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0198801 (“Carthew”), as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and in view of US 7165363 (“Headrick”).
Regarding Claim 19 (and similarly claim 8), Carthew does not disclose claim 19. However, Headrick discloses a system wherein the at least one frame, comprising the at least one roofing accessory component, has a non-planar shape and is configured to be installed on a ridge of the roof (see at least fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Carthew with Headrick in order to substitute its planar shape for increasing the usages by adding non-planar shape for Carthew’s as a matter of design choice.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 12, 14-16 and 20 is/are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 10-12, 14, 15, 18 and 20 of US patent No. 12,190,275 (US Application No. 17/550,619).
This is a non-provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have in fact been patented. Table below shows the claim matching between the application and issued patent:
Application No.
claims
claims
claims
claims
claims
claims
claims
claims
18/958,753
1/12
10/20
9
4/15
5/16
18
19
3/14
12,190,275
1/11
2/12
1/11
4/14
5/15
9
10/18
20
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 12, 15, 16, 18 and 19 is/are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 12-14 and 26-28 of US patent No. 11,222,300 (US Application No. 17/099,364).
This is a non-provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have in fact been patented. Table below shows the claim matching between the application and issued patent:
Application No.
claims
claims
claims
claims
claims
18/958,753
1/12
4/15
5/16
7/18
8/19
11,222,300
1/14/28
6/21
7
12/26
13/27
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Conclusion
/SOHANA TANJU KHAYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657