DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/09/2026 has been entered.
Claims 2-3 have been cancelled. Claims 12-16 have been added. Claims 1, 4-16 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 and 8 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Josefowicz et al. (US 2011/0188233) in view of Negandhi et al. (US 2013/0094207).
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Josefowicz et al. discloses a thermally conductive luminaire (100, see Fig. 1, Para. 0036) comprising: a housing (cast fixture housing, see Figs. 1-3 and 14, Para. 0038-0039, 0042); and a plurality of electrical (e.g., circuit boards 154 and LED power supplies (drivers), see Figs. 3 and 7, Para. 0046) components disposed in the housing. Josefowicz et al. further discloses the housing may be die cast aluminum including, for example, aluminum grades A380, A360, A383, A413, K-alloy etc. (see Para. 0039).
However, Josefowicz et al. does not explicitly disclose the housing is polymer housing and including at least one thermally conductive filler to configure the polymer housing as a thermally conductive polymer housing, and at least one filler distinct from the thermally conductive filler, the at least one filler comprising at least one of a tensile strength filler to improve tensile strength and an impact strength filler to improve impact strength.
Negandhi et al. teaches a luminaire (1, see Fig. 2, Para. 0052) including a first and/or second housing(s) (15, see Fig. 2, Para. 0052) are comprised of thermoplastic polymer (see Para. 0016-0017); and including at least one thermally conductive filler (e.g. primary thermally conductive filler) to configure the polymer housing as a thermally conductive polymer housing, and at least one filler distinct from the thermally conductive filler (e.g. secondary and tertiary thermally conductive filler, see Para. 0053, 0092 and claim 5), the at least one filler comprising at least one of a tensile strength filler to improve tensile strength and an impact strength filler to improve impact strength (see Table 11).
Therefore, in view of Negandhi et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Josefowicz et al. by forming it from a polymer housing and including a thermally conductive filler and another filler distinct from the thermally conductive filler as suggested by Negandhi et al. in order to enhance the housing’s strength, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). A skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the reliability and performance of the luminaire by providing a corrosion-resistant housing, both inside and outside, while also addressing the known issues associated with aluminum LED fixtures, including their high cost and substantial weight.
Regarding claim 9, Josefowicz et al. further discloses light fixture housing can operate properly within a much wider range of operating temperatures, furthermore the housing provides convection of the heat emitted from the LED engines (114a, 114b) to the atmosphere that keeps the LED junction temperature less than 40 °C above the ambient temperature furthermore (see Para. 0034, 0053).
Industrial luminaries listed by third-party agencies have an ambient rating — typically 25° C, 40° C, 55° C or 65° C
Regarding the claim limitation “an ambient temperature rating of the luminaire is at least about 55°C”, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Josefowicz et al.’s housing to satisfy the requirements of the Industrial luminaries and have an ambient rating 55°C with the device of Josefowicz et al. (as recited in claim 9), since satisfying the operational and/or regulatory requirements of a particular application would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Josefowicz et al. further discloses the plurality of electrical components (e.g., circuit boards 154 and LED power supplies (drivers), see Figs. 3 and 7, Para. 0046) includes a pair of electrical boards (circuit boards 154, see Figs. 2 and 14, Para. 0037) and a driver, the driver (LED power supplies (drivers), see Fig. 7, Para. 0040, 0043, and 0060) being mounted above and between the electrical boards.
Regarding claim 12. The teachings of Josefowicz et al. have been discussed above.
However, Josefowicz et al. is silent with respect to the impact strength filler comprises chopped carbon fiber, spherical nano-particles, or mixtures thereof.
Negandhi et al. further teaches the thermally conductive filler include carbon rich materials such as carbon fibers, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, diamond, natural and synthetic unexpanded graphite, natural and synthetic expanded graphite, and graphene (see Para. 0054, 0062).
Therefore, in view of Negandhi et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Josefowicz et al. by including a thermally conductive filler comprising chopped carbon fiber as suggested by Negandhi et al. in order to enhance the housing’s strength, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). A skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the reliability and performance of the luminaire by providing a corrosion-resistant housing, both inside and outside, while also addressing the known issues associated with aluminum LED fixtures, including their high cost and substantial weight.
Regarding claim 13. The teachings of Josefowicz et al. have been discussed above.
However, Josefowicz et al. is silent with respect to the tensile strength filler comprises carbon fibers, nano-, carbon nanotubes, or mixtures thereof.
Negandhi et al. further teaches the thermally conductive filler include carbon rich materials such as carbon fibers, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, diamond, natural and synthetic unexpanded graphite, natural and synthetic expanded graphite, and graphene (see Para. 0054, 0062).
Therefore, in view of Negandhi et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Josefowicz et al. by including a thermally conductive filler comprising chopped carbon fiber as suggested by Negandhi et al. in order to enhance the housing’s strength, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). A skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the reliability and performance of the luminaire by providing a corrosion-resistant housing, both inside and outside, while also addressing the known issues associated with aluminum LED fixtures, including their high cost and substantial weight.
Regarding claim 14. Josefowicz et al. further discloses a thermally conductive dielectric is used to promote maximum heat transfer away from the LED's to the aluminium base of the circuit board. Highest efficacy LED's are used for maximum light output (see Para. 0064).
However, Josefowicz et al. is silent with respect the polymer housing has a thermal conductivity of at least 0.5 W/mK.
Negandhi et al. further teaches as shown in tables 8 and 9 the total material properties includes a thermal conductivity of at least 0.5 W/mK.
Therefore, in view of Negandhi et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Josefowicz et al. by forming the polymer housing to have a thermal conductivity of at least 0.5 W/mK, as suggested by Negandhi et al. in order to enhance the housing’s thermal conductivity, since satisfying the operational and/or regulatory requirements of a particular application would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15. The teachings of Josefowicz et al. have been discussed above.
However, Josefowicz et al. is silent with respect to the polymer housing has an impact strength of at least 5 KJ/m2 to about 30 KJ/m2.
Negandhi et al. further teaches as shown in tables 8 and 9 the total material properties includes an impact strength (see tables 1-13).
Therefore, in view of Negandhi et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Josefowicz et al. by forming the polymer housing to have an impact strength within a desired range, as suggested by Negandhi et al. in order to enhance the housing, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2nd 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 16. The teachings of Josefowicz et al. have been discussed above.
However, Josefowicz et al. is silent with respect to the polymer housing has a tensile strength of at least 40 MPa.
Negandhi et al. further teaches the polymer housing has a tensile strength (see tables 1-13).
Therefore, in view of Negandhi et al., it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Josefowicz et al. by forming the polymer housing to have a tensile strength with at least tensile strength of at least 40 MPa., as claimed in order to enhance the housing, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2nd 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 4-7 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the claims are allowable based on Applicant’s amendments to independent claim 1, together with the persuasive argument by the applicant (Remarks/Arguments dated 03/09/2026, pgs. 5-8). Specifically, arguments regarding the difference between the prior arts and the limitation: “a first plurality of clips engaging a bottom of the electrical board (ii) a second plurality of clips engaging a top of the electrical board, and (iii) a reflector for redirecting the light emitted from the light source, the reflector mounted to the housing using the second plurality of clips, the second plurality of clips defining slots that receive mounting arms extending from the reflector to hold the reflector in place in the housing” These claimed structural and functional features are not taught nor suggested by the prior arts. Accordingly, as amended, independent claim 1 is allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 8 have been considered but are moot because a new basis of rejection is being applied in response to the applicant's amendment to the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875