Status of the claims
Applicant’s amendments filed 09/10/2025 is acknowledged and entered. Claims 1-12, 14-18, 21 and 23-26 are pending and claims 9-10 and 23 are withdrawn. See the office action of 07/10/2025 for the withdrawal of claims 9-10 and 23 as being directed to non-elected invention.
Therefore, claims 1-8, 11-12, 14-18, 21 and 24-26 are examined on merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 11-12, 14-18, 21 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein the first organelle is selected from the group consisting of……., and the second organelle is selected from the group consisting of …….." in lines 3-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Preceding lines of the claims do not recite “first organelle” and “second organelle” and thus it is unclear what organelles are intended to referred by the “the first organelle” and “the second organelle” in the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-8, 11-12 and 14-18, 21 and 24-26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over of Sood et al (US 2015/0099650A1) in view of Tom_Moy (US 2009/0142,775A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 4, Sood teaches method of probing and analyzing multiple targets in a biological sample using plurality of probes (Abstract). Sood teaches adhering (i.e. depositing) biological sample to membranes (i.e. solid support) and probed sequentially (paragraph [0141]). Sood teaches immobilization of biological targets on a solid support and subsequently detected (paragraph [0048]; [0053], [0034] and [0094]). Sood teaches providing biological sample containing multiple targets and binding a set of probes to the multiple targets, thereby forming complex, wherein two or more of the probes comprise independently a binder capable of specific binding to at least one target in the biological sample, a signal generator (SG), a linker which couples the SG to the binder, and a masking agent coupled to the SG which quenches the signal of the SG. Sood teaches detecting at least one signal from at least one signal generator from at least one signal generator from the set of probes. Subsequent to the step, Sood teaches contacting the sample comprising the bound probes with a chemical agent, electromagnetic radiation or a combination thereof and simultaneously deactivating the at least one signal generator by cleavage of a linker bound to the signal generator and activating at least one signal generator from the set of probes previously quenched by a masking agent and detecting at least one signal from the activation of the at least one newly activated signal generator (claim 1). Sood teaches that the signal generators are fluorescent dyes (claims 4-8).
Sood does not specifically mention forming complex with organelles on cell sample.
Tom-Moy teaches separating organelles using probe the specifically binds to different types of organelles (Abstract). Tom-Moy teaches affinity probe that selectively binds to specific type of organelles wherein the affinity probe is an antibody (para [0014] and claim 9).
Therefore, giving the teaching of Tom-Moy that antibody can be used as a probe to target different types of organelles (Tom-Moy) and given the fact that Sood is directed to probing multiple targets in biological sample and throughout the specification teaches that biological sample includes cell organelles (paragraph [0026]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to easily envisage providing antibody directed to organelles for probing and analyzing organelles with a reasonable expectation of success. Sood teaches that in some embodiments, a biological sample may include a tissue sample or section, or a whole cell, a cell constituent, e.g. a cell organelle (paragraph [0090]). Therefore, Sood clearly envisage organelles as target for probing in the sample. Therefore, immobilization of tissue sample and probing organelles of cell are obvious from the disclosure of Sood. Moreover, one of ordinary skilled in the art would also envisage probing of organelles inside cells or probing after lysis of the cells with antibody specific to organelles.
In regards to claims 2-3, Sood teaches the first and second fluorescent dyes are spectrally distinct (paragraph [0072]).
In regards to claims 5-8, Sood teaches various cleavable linkers and cleavable agents (Table 2) including photocleavable linkers (paragraph [0167] and Table 1) and having disulfide and hydrazone linkers (paragraphs [0170]-[0171]).
In regards to claim 11, Sood teaches biological sample include frozen tissue (paragraph [0900]) and tissue sample fixed and embedded in parffin (Paragraph [0137]).
In regards to claims 15-16 and 24-26, Sood teaches that a target may include a nucleic acid and the binder may include a complementary nucleic acid including nucleic acid outside of cells (paragraph [0026]) and thus detection of various targets of multiple targets including various process of detection of detectable label would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with a particular detection process.
In regards to claims 14 and 18, Sood teaches fluorescent morphological stains (and their target cells, subcellular compartments, or cellular components) may include fluorescein-phalloidin (para [0158]) for staining actin fibers, which also makes obvious of determining the morphology of cell.
In regards to claim 17, Sood teaches plurlality of sets of probes and teaches various binders as for example, antibody, small molecule binder, aptamer (paragraphs {0020], [0050], [0057],[0083],[107]) including conjugates of immunoglobulins (para [0021]). Therefore, since the basic concept has been provided by Sood for sequential detection of analytes, use of various types of binders including conjugates of antibody with oligonucleotide wherein oligonucleotide is replaced with detectable moiety fluorophoes in the conjugate, would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages of utilizing a particular binder.
In regards to claim 21, Sood teaches that a biological sample include a tissue sample or section, a whole cell, a cell constituent, e.g. a cell organelle, a cytospin or a cell smear (para [0090] and [0026]). Sood teaches detection of actin fibers (para [0158]) including fluorescent probe (fluorescein-phalloidin) for specific binding to actin fibers (para [0158]).Therefore, given the fact that Sood teaches the basic concept of detection of various macromolecules including various organelles utilizing first fluorescent probe and second fluorescent probe and since Sood discloses a specific fluorescent probe that targets actin fibers, various probes and detection of various organelles including endoplasmic reticulum would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Response to argument
Applicant's arguments filed 0910/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive to overcome obviousness double patenting rejection in view of filing of terminal disclaimer but however, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive to overcome the rejection under 35 USC 103.
In regards to arguments for rejection under 35 USC 103, the arguments have been rendered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. However, few of the arguments have been addressed below:
Applicant argued Applicants have eliminated the ambiguity by claiming specific subcellular structures. Applicant argued that the record provides multiple working embodiments showing organelle-targeted probes such as phalloidin conjugates for actin filaments, ER-Traker for endoplasmic reticulum and MitoTracker for mitochondrial. Applicant argued Sood does not teach detection of these organelles using the claimed probe system as its disclosure is directed to antibodies, aptamers, and other molecular binders coupled to fluorescent signal generator. Applicant argued that in Sood, every probe is cleavable and subject to masking and unmasking, and the system cannot function unless quenchers are included. The present claims, in contrast, require a first probe with a cleavable linker and a second probe with a covalent linker. Applicant argued that Applicant argued that a person of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to adapt Sood’ antibody-based quenching architecture to the direct detection of intracellular organelles. Applicant argued that the present invention addresses multiplex imaging of organelles, where stains such as phalloidin, MitoTracker, and ER-Tracker are used in situ and cycled through cleavable linker.
The above arguments have fully been considered but are not found persuasive. Applicant argued that the record provides multiple working embodiments showing organelle-targeted probes such as phalloidin conjugates for actin filaments, ER-Traker for endoplasmic reticulum and MitoTracker for mitochondrial. However, contrary to Applicant’s assertion, claims are not limited to any of the probe and the “comprising” term includes antibody fluorescent dye conjugates. The “comprising” term includes any additional steps, as for example, lysing the cells on the solid support and then contacting the lysed cell sample with first prove and the second probe and in the lysed cells, the organelles are not intracellular or subcellular as Applicant asserted of being complex by the probe.
According to MPEP 2145 “Consideration of Applicant's Rebuttal Arguments,” arguing limitations which are not claimed is improper:
“Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In reVan Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (Claims to a superconducting magnet which generates a “uniform magnetic field” were not limited to the degree of magnetic field uniformity required for Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) imaging. Although the specification disclosed that the claimed magnet may be used in an NMR apparatus, the claims were not so limited.); Constantv. Advanced Micro-Devices, Inc., 848 F.2d 1560, 1571-72, 7 USPQ2d 1057, 1064-1065 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 892 (1988) (Various limitations on which appellant relied were not stated in the claims; the specification did not provide evidence indicating these limitations must be read into the claims to give meaning to the disputed terms.); Ex parteMcCullough, 7 USPQ2d 1889, 1891 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (Claimed electrode was rejected as obvious despite assertions that electrode functions differently than would be expected when used in nonaqueous battery since “although the demonstrated results may be germane to the patentability of a battery containing appellant’s electrode, they are not germane to the patentability of the invention claimed on appeal.”).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that in Sood, every probe is cleavable and in contrast, present claim requires a first probe with a cleavable linker and a second probe with a covalent linker, it is noted that “second probe via a covalent linker” does not exclude that the second probe is not cleavable and claim does not recite so. Moreover, cleavable linkers include covalent linkages (see paragraph [0243] of the specification (i.e. can be considered as covalent linkers). Thus claim 1 encompass covalent linkers for both the first and second probe as recitation “covalent linker” does not exclude cleavable linker. Moreover, cleavage depends on the nature and cleaving conditions and thus without clear structure or specificity of cleaving chemistry, various covalent linkers are includes in the cleavable linker.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678