DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 25-36, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) in view of Tolstikhin et al (WO2011069225A1).
As to claim 21, Wang et al disclose (fig. 53) an optical system comprising: a substrate (substrate) having a first surface (upper surface of 2-D array surface, monolithic surface) and a second surface (lower surface of 2-D array of surface, monolithic surface) opposite the first surface (upper surface of 2-D array of surface, monolithic), (paragraph [0375]); a plurality of light-detecting elements (5374) monolithically integrated (monolithically integrated) with the first surface (upper surface of 2-D array of surface, monolithic surface) of the substrate (substrate), wherein each light-detecting element (5374) comprises a plurality of detectors (5374); and a set of optical waveguides (5364), wherein each of the optical waveguides (5364) is configured to couple (coupled) light (multiple wavelengths, optical data) into a respective light- detecting element (5374) of the plurality of light-detecting elements (5374), (paragraph [0376]). Wang et al fail to disclose wherein each of the optical waveguides has a tapered shape and is configured to couple light into a respective light-detecting element of the plurality of light detecting elements. Tolstikhin et al disclose (fig. 5) wherein each of the optical waveguides (515, 525) has a tapered shape (lateral taper, vertical tapers) and is configured to couple light (optical signals, ASE light, wavelengths) into a respective light-detecting element (510, 520) of the plurality of light detecting elements (510, 520), (paragraphs [0070]-[0071]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to modify Wang et al to include wherein each of the optical waveguides has a tapered shape and is configured to couple light into a respective light-detecting element of the plurality of light detecting elements as taught by Tolstikhin et al in order to facilitate smooth and controllable light coupling for the guided optical signal resulting in increased light-receiving efficiency and acquiring the capability of operating at high speed.
As to claim 22, Wang et al disclose (fig. 53) the optical system wherein each optical waveguide (5364) extends vertically from the first surface (monolithic surface) of the substrate (substrate), (paragraph [0376]).
As to claim 25, Wang et al disclose (fig. 63A, fig. 63B) the optical system wherein each light-detecting element (6304, GE layer) comprises a dielectric stack (6310) over the light- detecting element (6304, GE layer), (paragraphs [0406]-[0411]).
As to claim 26, Wang et al disclose (fig. 53) the optical system wherein each light- detecting element (5374) of the plurality of light-detecting elements (5374), (paragraph [0376]). comprises a silicon photomultiplier (SiPM) device (silicon PDs, silicon APDs), (paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 27, Wang et al disclose (fig. 16) the optical system wherein each SiPM (MSPD, MSAPD, MS-PD, microstructure photodiode, microstructure avalanche photodiode) comprises a plurality of single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) (1630), (paragraph [0259]).
As to claim 28, Wang et al disclose (fig. 45) the optical system wherein the plurality of light-detecting elements (photodetectors, photosensitive regions) are arranged along the substrate (substrate 4508) in a hexagonal or square array (hexagonal, square), (paragraph [0340]).
As to claim 29, Wang et al disclose (fig. 48F) the optical system further comprising: an aperture array (4812) comprising a plurality of apertures (microstructure holes), wherein the plurality of light- detecting elements (4702, microstructure hole photodetectors) and the aperture array (4812) are aligned so as to define a plurality of receiver channels (microstructure holes), wherein each receiver channel (microstructure holes) comprises a respective light-detecting element (4702, microstructure hole photodetectors) of the plurality of light-detecting elements (4702, microstructure hole photodetectors) optically coupled to a respective aperture (microstructure holes) of the plurality of apertures (microstructure holes); and a baffle structure (M1, M2), wherein the baffle structure (M1, M2) comprises a plurality of openings (holes) in an optically opaque material (metal), wherein the baffle structure (M1, M2) is arranged between the aperture array (4812, microstructure holes) and the plurality of light-detecting elements (4702, microstructure hole photodetectors) such that each receiver channel (hole) comprises a respective light-detecting element (4702, microstructure hole photodetector) of the plurality of light- detecting elements (4702, microstructure hole photodetector) optically coupled to a respective aperture (microstructure holes) of the plurality of apertures (microstructure holes) via a respective opening (holes) in the baffle structure (M1, M2), (paragraph [0353]).
As to claim 30, Wang et al disclose (62B) the optical system further comprising a thick opaque plate (6205), wherein the thick opaque plate (6205) comprises a plurality of deep holes (6212), and wherein each deep hole (6212) aligns with a respective light-detecting element (microstructure photodetector, (paragraph [0400]).
As to claim 31, Wang et al disclose (62B) the optical system further comprising a plurality of electrical conductors (M1, M2), wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (M1, M2) are coupled to the plurality of light-detecting elements (microstructure photodetector) via at least one of: a through substrate (substrate) via (TSV) or a side routing arrangement (electrodes), (paragraph [0400]).
As to claim 32, Wang et al disclose (fig. 63A) the optical system further comprising at least one electrical conductor (AN) coupled to the second surface of the substrate (6306), (paragraph [0406]).
As to claim 33, Wang et al disclose (fig. 63A) the optical system further comprising at least one isolation trench (6312) in the substrate (6306), wherein the at least one isolation trench (6312) is arranged between neighboring light-detecting elements (6304, microstructure photodiodes), (paragraph [0406]).
As to claim 34, Wang et al disclose (fig. 63A) the optical system wherein the at least one isolation trench (6312) is at least partially filled with at least one of: a non-conductive material (6310), (paragraph [0406]).
As to claim 35, Wang et al disclose (fig. 63A) the optical system wherein the at least one isolation trench (6312) provides electrical isolation or optical isolation between the neighboring light-detecting elements (6304, Ge, microstructure photodiodes), (paragraph [0406]).
As to claim 36, Wang et al disclose (fig. 63B) the optical system further comprising a reflective grid (6302) patterned along a top surface of each light-detecting element (6304, Ge, microstructure photodiodes), wherein the reflective grid (6302) optically isolates the light- detecting element (6304, Ge, microstructure photodiodes) from neighboring light-detecting elements (6304, Ge, microstructure photodiodes), (paragraph [0407]).
As to claim 41, Wang et al disclose (fig. 53) the optical system wherein the optical waveguides (5364) extend vertically from the first surface of the substrate (substrate), (paragraph [0376]). Wang et al fail to disclose wherein the tapered shape of each of the optical waveguides is such that each of the optical waveguides becomes narrower. Tolstikhin et al disclose (fig. 5) wherein the tapered shape (lateral taper, vertical tapers) of each of the optical waveguides is such that each of the optical waveguides becomes narrower, (paragraphs [0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wang et al to include wherein the tapered shape of each of the optical waveguides is such that each of the optical waveguides becomes narrower as taught by Tolstikhin et al in order to facilitate smooth and controllable light coupling for the guided optical signal resulting in increased light-receiving efficiency and acquiring the capability of operating at high speed.
Claim(s) 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) in view of Wang et al (US20180102442A1).
As to claim 37, Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) disclose (fig. 19A) a device comprising: a series of optical substrates (array chip), wherein each optical substrate (array chip) comprises: a plurality of light- detecting elements (1630) monolithically integrated (monolithically integrated) with the optical substrate (silicon chip), wherein each light-detecting element (1630) fills a respective circular area on the optical substrate (silicon chip), wherein each light-detecting element (1630) comprises a plurality of detectors (1630), and wherein each light-detecting element (1630) is arranged in a hexagonal or square array (hexagonal, square) on the substrate (1910); and an isolation component (1916) configured to optically isolate or electrically isolate each light- detecting element (1630) from neighboring light-detecting elements (1630), (paragraph [0274]). Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) fail to disclose an isolation component configured to optically isolate or electrically isolate each light-detecting element from neighboring light-detecting element. Wang et al (US20180102442A1) disclose an isolation component (5860) configured to optically isolate or electrically isolate (optical and/or electrical isolation), (paragraph [0388]) each light-detecting element (Si photodiodes) from neighboring light-detecting element (Si photodiodes), (paragraph [0390]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) to include an isolation component configured to optically isolate or electrically isolate each light-detecting element from neighboring light-detecting element as taught by Wang et al (US20180102442A1) in order to avoid light interference and/or crosstalk between the light detecting elements.
As to claim 38, Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) disclose (fig. 66) the device wherein the isolation component (6660) comprises an at least one isolation trench (6660, trench) in the substrate (substrate), wherein the at least one isolation trench (6660, trench) is arranged between neighboring light- detecting elements (6650), (paragraph [0426]).
As to claim 39, Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) (fig. 53) the device wherein each optical substrate (substrate) further comprises a set of optical waveguides (5364), wherein each of the optical waveguides (5364) is configured to couple (coupled) light (multiple wavelengths) into a respective light-detecting element (5374) of the plurality of light-detecting elements (5374), (paragraph [0376]).
As to claim 40, Wang et al disclose (US2012/0223214A1) (fig. 48F) the optical system further comprising: an aperture array (4812) comprising a plurality of apertures (microstructure holes), wherein the plurality of light- detecting elements (4702, microstructure hole photodetectors) and the aperture array (4812) are aligned so as to define a plurality of receiver channels (microstructure holes), wherein each receiver channel (microstructure holes) comprises a respective light-detecting element (4702, microstructure hole photodetectors) of the plurality of light-detecting elements (4702, microstructure hole photodetectors) optically coupled to a respective aperture (microstructure holes) of the plurality of apertures (microstructure holes); and a baffle structure (M1, M2), wherein the baffle structure (M1, M2) comprises a plurality of openings (holes) in an optically opaque material (metal), wherein the baffle structure (M1, M2) is arranged between the aperture array (4812, microstructure holes) and the plurality of light-detecting elements (4702, microstructure hole photodetectors) such that each receiver channel (hole) comprises a respective light-detecting element (4702, microstructure hole photodetector) of the plurality of light- detecting elements (4702, microstructure hole photodetector) optically coupled to a respective aperture (microstructure holes) of the plurality of apertures (microstructure holes) via a respective opening (holes) in the baffle structure (M1, M2), (paragraph [0353]).
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) in view of Wang et al (US20180102442A1) and further in view of Tolstikhin et al (WO2011069225A1).
As to claim 42, Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) disclose (fig. 48F) the device wherein each of the optical waveguides (5364), (paragraph [0376]). Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) in view of Wang et al (US20180102442A1) fail to disclose wherein each of the optical waveguides has a tapered shape. Tolstikhin et al disclose (fig. 5) wherein each of the optical waveguides (515, 525) has a tapered shape (lateral taper, vertical tapers), (paragraphs [0070]-[0071]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to modify Wang et al (US2012/0223214A1) in view of Wang et al (US20180102442A1) to include wherein each of the optical waveguides has a tapered shape as taught by Tolstikhin et al in order to facilitate smooth and controllable light coupling for the guided optical signal resulting in increased light-receiving efficiency and acquiring the capability of operating at high speed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/03/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-22, 23-40 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. Claim 42 newly added.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DON J WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878