DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6, filed 11/25/24, are currently pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification recites that the sliding sleeve comprises a retention post throughout (see paragraphs 7, 29 and 30), however it appears from figures 3 and 6 that the sliding rod insert is the structure that comprises the retention post.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the annular adapting groove is adapted to the sliding sleeve” however it is unclear what the “adapted to” language means here or if there is language missing.
Claim 4 recites “the sliding sleeve comprises a retention post” however it appears from figures 3 and 6 that the sliding rod insert is the structure that comprises the retention post.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (12,611,360).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 6 Zhang discloses a sliding rod nesting structure, comprising a sliding rod kit 70, a sliding rod insert 20, and a massage head 100, wherein the sliding rod insert is fixedly connected inside the sliding rod kit (Fig. 6), and the massage head is connected to the sliding rod insert (via threads 105 and 201a, see figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses that the massage head 100 is connected to the sliding rod insert 20 in a threaded manner (via threads 105 and 201a, see figures 4 and 5).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nan (2008/0228114).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 4 Nan discloses a sliding rod nesting structure, comprising a sliding rod kit (30, 16, 2, 3), a sliding rod insert 45, and a massage head 4, wherein the sliding rod insert is fixedly connected inside the sliding rod kit (Fig. 1), and the massage head is connected to the sliding rod insert (see fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Nan discloses that the sliding rod kit comprises a shock-absorbing sleeve (2, must absorb some amount of shock), a sliding sleeve 16, and a sliding rod holder 30, an annular adapting groove is provided in the shock-absorbing sleeve (annular groove in 2), the annular adapting groove is adapted to the sliding sleeve (allows for the sliding sleeve 16 to fit within 2), and the sliding sleeve 16 is sleeved on the sliding rod holder 30 (Fig. 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choung et al. (2025/0205111).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang is silent regarding that the sliding rod kit is made of metal. However, Choung teaches a sliding rod kit is made of metal (housing 180 and 110 are made of aluminum [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s sliding rod kit material with metal, as taught by Choung, for the purpose of providing an alternate material having the predictable results of housing a massage apparatus.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nan, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Williams et al. (2023/0329965).
Regarding claim 6, Nan is silent regarding that the sliding rod insert is made of plastic. However, Williams teaches a sliding rod insert is made of plastic (springs made of polyester/rubber blend [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nan’s sliding rod insert material with plastic, as taught by Williams, for the purpose of providing an alternate material having the predictable results of providing a spring.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu (2014/0221887) directed towards a massaging device and Siddhartha (2004/0193080) directed towards a vibrating device.
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785