DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Reference US 2015/0332132 A1 is a general background reference covering: A color prediction system includes: database storing absorption/scattering coefficients of each primary color ink; sections for: selecting a spot color ink as a combination of primary color inks that reproduce a colorimetric value of a color sample, reading absorption and scattering coefficients of the primary color inks of a reference spot color from the database, obtaining absorption and scattering coefficients of the spot color ink of a specified formulation ratio, and calculating a spectral reflectance of the spot color ink to be reproduced; obtaining a reproduced color from the spectral reflectance; obtaining a difference from the colorimetric value of the color sample and correcting the formulation ratio to calculate a formulation ratio with an allowable difference; and calculating a Neugebauer primary color of overprinted spot color inks from the absorption and scattering coefficients of the spot color inks calculated at formulation ratios determined by the formulation ratio determination section. (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-14, 18-22, 32-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Bernal et al. (Bernal) (US 2013/0148168 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Bernal discloses a method of securely rendering a security feature in an image printed with digital image data (e.g., embodiments are directed toward methods and systems for printing, reproducing or displaying images. More particularly, the teachings disclosed herein are applicable to methods and apparatuses wherein clustered-dot halftoning is implemented, paragraph 1), comprising:
printing the image with an ink-jet printer (e.g., Digital halftoning is an important step in printing or displaying digital images possessing contone color tones because most printing processes are operating in a binary mode. Examples of such marking processes are offset printing presses, xerography, and ink-jet printing, paragraph 2);
placing on a print sheet a plurality of drops (e.g., Seed locations (seed frequency) are determined based on presence or absence of the watermark and gray level of input image at given locations within the image. At 14, seeds are placed or positioned, paragraph 36, figure 1); and
printing with at least two drop sizes among the plurality of drops to embed information within an image comprising at least one of a stochastic halftone image or a frequency modulated (FM) halftone image (e.g., halftoning is performed with two threshold arrays, one for watermark areas and one for non-watermark areas, using the watermark as a switch. The two threshold arrays are generated using seeds and spot functions. One array is generated with seeds that are a superset of the seeds used to generate the other array. The array generated with the superset has a higher FM-to-AM transition threshold. There can be more than one way to generate the seeds. For instance, the seeds can be generated using a single stochastic (FM) screen. The seeds for the array with the lower FM-to-AM threshold are generated using pixels in the FM up to a certain gray level threshold. The seeds for the array with the higher FM-to-AM threshold are generated using pixels in the FM up to a gray level threshold that is higher, paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 9, Bernal discloses further comprising: rendering a part of the image with a first drop among the plurality of drops and a remaining portion of the image with a second drop among the plurality of drops, wherein the second drop is smaller in size than the first drop (e.g., the teachings herein apply particularly to any individual color separation of a digital image and resulting print, where that digital image or print can be composed of one or more separations. With the advent of computers, it is desirable for graphic artists and others to manipulate contone images and print them as halftone images. However, typical computer printers and typesetters are incapable of printing individual halftone dots in an infinite number of sizes. Instead, each halftone dot of a printed picture is in turn comprised of a collection of discrete, smaller "spots" or "pixels", which are generally the smallest marks a printer or typesetter can make, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 10, Bernal discloses further comprising: rendering the image using two states including a first state and a second state, wherein the first state among the two states utilizes larger sized drops as compared to the second state during a halftone rendering of the image; and controlling a contrast of the rendering of the image according to differences in a mixing ratio of larger drops with respect to smaller drops among the plurality of drops (e.g., a common halftone technique is called screening, which compares the required continuous color tone level of each pixel for each color separation with one or more predetermined threshold levels. The predetermined threshold levels are typically defined for halftone cells that are tiled to fill the plane of an image, thereby forming a halftone screen of threshold values. At a given pixel, if the required color tone level is greater than the halftone threshold level for that pixel, a "1" is generated in the halftone output, so that a colorant spot is printed at that specified pixel in the subsequent printing operation. If the required color tone at a given pixel is less than the halftone threshold level for that pixel, a "0" is generated in the halftone output, so that a colorant spot is not printed at that specified pixel in the subsequent printing operation. The output of the screening process is a binary pattern that controls the printing of multiple small spots or pixels that are printed. The printed spots can be grouped or "clustered" to form print structures that are relatively stable for a given printing process. These clusters are referred to as "clustered-dots" or "dots", and they are regularly spaced as determined by the size, shape, and tiling of the halftone cell, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 11, Bernal discloses further comprising: controlling by a contone image, a continuous modulation of the mixing of the varying drop sizes among the plurality of drops to embed the information within the stochastic halftone image or the FM halftone image (e.g., One area of development has been the so-called 2.sup.nd generation stochastic screens, where nuclei (seeds) are placed in a stochastic manner using frequency modulation (FM) up to a particular gray level, then grown in size using amplitude modulation (AM) above that level. This approach leads to a limit of the highest allowable seed frequency, which is uniquely determined by the gray level at which the transition from FM to AM occurs, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 12, Bernal discloses wherein the plurality of drops comprises more than two drops, wherein the more than two drops are used to create differentiations in the mixing (e.g., a computer-implemented method for generating a watermarked halftone image using 2.sup.nd generation stochastic halftoning to binarize pixels comprises receiving a contone input image and watermark image data, receiving a set of seeds at a first principal frequency, receiving a set of seeds at a second principal frequency, placing seeds from the first set in regions of watermark image data, placing seeds from the second set in regions of non-watermark image data and determining a tessellation for the resulting set of seeds, paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 13, Bernal discloses further comprising: detecting the embedded information by capturing an image of the embedded information; and processing the image to reveal a hidden security mark in the embedded information (e.g., providing a halftoning method that adapts the spatial distribution of 2.sup.nd gen halftone dot seeds for purposes of data embedding. The method adaptively determines an FM-to-AM transition threshold of a halftone screen based on the presence or absence of a watermark. The amount by which the threshold is varied determines whether the watermark is visible or not, paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 14, Bernal discloses further comprising: capturing video containing the embedded image; decoding the video of the embedded image in real time; and displaying on a display screen, a decoded image containing the embedded image on a display screen (e.g., FIGS. 3A-3D illustrate an example of an encoded halftoned image according to various aspects described herein. FIG. 3A shows an input contone image 50 with a watermark region 52 in which a watermark will be embedded. FIG. 3B illustrates the watermark image 60 that will be embedded into the watermark region 52 of the halftone image 50. The watermark image 60 of FIG. 3B is used like a mask to select between seed frequencies. FIGS. 3C and 3D show zoomed-in binary versions of the watermark region 52 resulting from embedding the watermark image 60 from FIG. 3B into the image from FIG. 3A according to the algorithm described herein, paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 18, Bernal discloses a system for securely rendering a security feature with image data to be printed (e.g., embodiments are directed toward methods and systems for printing, reproducing or displaying images. More particularly, the teachings disclosed herein are applicable to methods and apparatuses wherein clustered-dot halftoning is implemented, paragraph 1), comprising:
at least one processor and a memory, the memory storing instructions to cause the at least one processor to perform (e.g., a system that facilitates generating a watermarked halftone image using 2nd-generation stochastic halftoning to binarize pixels comprises a memory that persistently stores computer-executable instructions for execution by a processor, wherein the processor is configured to receive a contone input image and watermark image data, paragraph 16):
providing within the image data, data relating to a plurality of spots (e.g., execution by a processor, wherein the processor is configured to receive a contone input image and watermark image data. The processor is further configured to determine seed locations based on a gray level of the input image at given locations within the image and based on a presence or absence of a watermark at the locations within the image, paragraph 16); and within the image data, mixing spots of at least two spot sizes among the plurality of spots to embed information within an image comprising at least one of a stochastic halftone image or a frequency modulated (FM) halftone image (e.g., wherein watermark regions have a first FM-to-AM transition threshold and non-watermark regions have a second FM-to-AM transition threshold, and to determine a tessellation based on the seed locations. Additionally, the processor is configured to calculate a halftone spot function to determine a spot function value for each pixel in the input image based on the tessellation determined by the seed locations, compare an input pixel value to a co-located spot function value for each pixel in the input image to generate the watermarked halftone image, and output the watermarked halftone image to one or more of a printer that prints the watermarked halftone image and a graphical user interface (GUI) on which the watermarked halftone image is displayed, paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 19, Bernal discloses wherein the instructions are further configured for rendering a part of the image with a first spot among the plurality of spots and a remaining portion of the image with a second spot among the plurality of spots, wherein the second spot is smaller in size than the first spot (e.g., the teachings herein apply particularly to any individual color separation of a digital image and resulting print, where that digital image or print can be composed of one or more separations. With the advent of computers, it is desirable for graphic artists and others to manipulate contone images and print them as halftone images. However, typical computer printers and typesetters are incapable of printing individual halftone dots in an infinite number of sizes. Instead, each halftone dot of a printed picture is in turn comprised of a collection of discrete, smaller "spots" or "pixels", which are generally the smallest marks a printer or typesetter can make, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 20, Bernal discloses wherein the instructions are further configured for: rendering the image using two states including a first state and a second state, wherein the first state among the two states utilizes larger sized spots as compared to the second state during a halftone rendering of the image; and controlling a contrast of the rendering of the image according to differences in a mixing ratio of larger spots with respect to smaller spots among the plurality of spots (e.g., a common halftone technique is called screening, which compares the required continuous color tone level of each pixel for each color separation with one or more predetermined threshold levels. The predetermined threshold levels are typically defined for halftone cells that are tiled to fill the plane of an image, thereby forming a halftone screen of threshold values. At a given pixel, if the required color tone level is greater than the halftone threshold level for that pixel, a "1" is generated in the halftone output, so that a colorant spot is printed at that specified pixel in the subsequent printing operation. If the required color tone at a given pixel is less than the halftone threshold level for that pixel, a "0" is generated in the halftone output, so that a colorant spot is not printed at that specified pixel in the subsequent printing operation. The output of the screening process is a binary pattern that controls the printing of multiple small spots or pixels that are printed. The printed spots can be grouped or "clustered" to form print structures that are relatively stable for a given printing process. These clusters are referred to as "clustered-dots" or "dots", and they are regularly spaced as determined by the size, shape, and tiling of the halftone cell, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 21, Bernal discloses wherein the instructions are further configured for:
controlling by a contone image, a continuous modulation of the mixing of the varying spot sizes among the plurality of spots to embed the information within the stochastic halftone image or the FM halftone image (e.g., One area of development has been the so-called 2.sup.nd generation stochastic screens, where nuclei (seeds) are placed in a stochastic manner using frequency modulation (FM) up to a particular gray level, then grown in size using amplitude modulation (AM) above that level. This approach leads to a limit of the highest allowable seed frequency, which is uniquely determined by the gray level at which the transition from FM to AM occurs, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 22, Bernal discloses the plurality of spots comprises more than two spots, wherein the more than two spots are used to create differentiations in the mixing (e.g., a computer-implemented method for generating a watermarked halftone image using 2.sup.nd generation stochastic halftoning to binarize pixels comprises receiving a contone input image and watermark image data, receiving a set of seeds at a first principal frequency, receiving a set of seeds at a second principal frequency, placing seeds from the first set in regions of watermark image data, placing seeds from the second set in regions of non-watermark image data and determining a tessellation for the resulting set of seeds, paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 32, Bernal discloses a method of printing an image of a uniform patch, the uniform patch having an appearance of a uniform halftone, the uniform patch having at least a first region and a second region, wherein the first region comprises a first relative proportion of spots of a first size and spots of a second size, and the second region comprises a second relative proportion of spots of the first size and spots of the second size (e.g., a computer-implemented method for generating a watermarked halftone image using 2.sup.nd generation stochastic halftoning to binarize pixels comprises receiving a contone input image and watermark image data, receiving a set of seeds at a first principal frequency, receiving a set of seeds at a second principal frequency, placing seeds from the first set in regions of watermark image data, placing seeds from the second set in regions of non-watermark image data, paragraph 14), the method comprising: using switch data associated with a hidden image to distinguish between the first region and the second region; the switch data causing modulation of one of amplitude or frequency of spots in print data associated with at least one region (e.g., determining a tessellation for the resulting set of seeds. The method further comprises calculating a halftone spot function corresponding to the resulting tessellation. Additionally, the method comprises comparing pixel values with co-located halftone spot function values to generate binary pixel values, and outputting the watermarked halftone image, paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 33, Bernal discloses further comprising preparing the first region and the second region with different compositions of spots including small spots and large spots (e.g., the teachings herein apply particularly to any individual color separation of a digital image and resulting print, where that digital image or print can be composed of one or more separations. With the advent of computers, it is desirable for graphic artists and others to manipulate contone images and print them as halftone images. However, typical computer printers and typesetters are incapable of printing individual halftone dots in an infinite number of sizes. Instead, each halftone dot of a printed picture is in turn comprised of a collection of discrete, smaller "spots" or "pixels", which are generally the smallest marks a printer or typesetter can make, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 34, Bernal discloses further comprising using a hidden image to select the first region or the second region to print at least a part of the image (e.g., a common halftone technique is called screening, which compares the required continuous color tone level of each pixel for each color separation with one or more predetermined threshold levels. The predetermined threshold levels are typically defined for halftone cells that are tiled to fill the plane of an image, thereby forming a halftone screen of threshold values. At a given pixel, if the required color tone level is greater than the halftone threshold level for that pixel, a "1" is generated in the halftone output, so that a colorant spot is printed at that specified pixel in the subsequent printing operation. If the required color tone at a given pixel is less than the halftone threshold level for that pixel, a "0" is generated in the halftone output, so that a colorant spot is not printed at that specified pixel in the subsequent printing operation, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 35, Bernal discloses further comprising filtering and adjusting a density of the image to reveal the hidden image (e.g., a computer-implemented method for generating a watermarked halftone image using 2.sup.nd generation stochastic halftoning to binarize pixels comprises receiving a contone input image and watermark image data, and determining seed locations based on a gray level of the input image at given locations within the image and based on a presence or absence of a watermark at those locations, paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 36, Bernal discloses wherein filtering and adjusting a density of the image further involves bandpass filtering and subsequent smoothing of the image (e.g., At 12, seed frequency is determined for generating a halftone image. Seed locations (seed frequency) are determined based on presence or absence of the watermark and gray level of input image at given locations within the image, paragraph 36, figure 1).
Regarding claim 37, Bernal discloses further comprising forming the image as a final composite image for printing by combining portions rendered of the first region and the second region (e.g., a computer-implemented method for generating a watermarked halftone image using 2.sup.nd generation stochastic halftoning to binarize pixels comprises receiving a contone input image and watermark image data, receiving a set of seeds at a first principal frequency, receiving a set of seeds at a second principal frequency, placing seeds from the first set in regions of watermark image data, placing seeds from the second set in regions of non-watermark image data, paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 38, Bernal discloses further comprising embedding information with the image, wherein the image comprises at least one of a: stochastic halftone image or a frequency modulated halftone image (e.g., a halftoning method that adapts the spatial distribution of 2.sup.nd gen halftone dot seeds for purposes of data embedding. The method adaptively determines an FM-to-AM transition threshold of a halftone screen based on the presence or absence of a watermark. The amount by which the threshold is varied determines whether the watermark is visible or not, paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 39, Bernal discloses further comprising displaying a decoded image containing the embedded information in the image (e.g., paragraph 47).
Conclusion
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683