DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 11, 13-15, 18 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISPLAY DEVICE REDUCING POWER CONSUMPTION BY DISABLING AMPLIFIERS OF GAMMA VOLTAGE GENERATOR AND DISPLAYING A SIMPLE DISPLAY REGION HAVING LIMITED COLORS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong (US 20170309219) in view of Kim (US 20200020268) in view of Choi (US 20160247437).
As per claim 1, Kong discloses a display device (Fig. 1, #1000; [0031]) comprising:
a display panel (#100) including a plurality of pixels (#PX; [0032]);
a scan driver (#400) connected to the plurality of pixels (#PX) and providing scan signals to the plurality of pixels ([0033]-[0035]);
a gamma voltage generator (#310) including a plurality of amplifiers (#SA) that output a plurality of gamma voltages ([0064]-[0067]);
a data driver (#300a) connected to the gamma voltage generator (#310), the data driver (#300) generating data voltages based on the plurality of gamma voltages, and providing the data voltages to the plurality of pixels ([0036]-[0038]; [0063]-[0069]); and
a controller (#200) connected to the scan driver (#400), the gamma voltage generator (#310) and the data driver (#300), the controller (#200) controlling the scan driver (#400), the gamma voltage generator (#310) and the data driver (#300; [0031]; [0035]-[0038]).
However, Kong does not teach the gamma voltage generator is configured to enable an amplifier to output an uppermost gamma voltage or a lowermost gamma voltage in response to the flag signal having the active level, and to disable at least a portion of the plurality of amplifiers not to output an intermediate gamma voltage between the uppermost gamma voltage and the lowermost gamma voltage in response to the flag signal having the active level.
Kim teaches the gamma voltage generator is configured to enable an amplifier (Fig. 2, #32) to output an uppermost gamma voltage or a lowermost gamma voltage in response to the flag signal having the active level, and to disable at least a portion of the plurality of amplifiers (#61-69) not to output an intermediate gamma voltage between the uppermost gamma voltage and the lowermost gamma voltage in response to the flag signal having the active level ([0045]-[0055]; where the flag signal is inherently present).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the gamma voltage generator of Kong configured according to Kim so as to provide outputting only the highest gamma voltage when display device operates in an AOD eight-color mode (Kim: [0055]).
However, the prior art of Kong and Kim do not teach dividing a display region of the display panel into a normal region and a simple display region having only predetermined colors, and generating a flag signal having an active level in a time period corresponding to the simple display region within a frame period.
Choi teaches dividing a display region of the display panel into a normal region (Fig. 5, #521) and a simple display region (#522) having only predetermined colors, and generating a flag signal having an active level in a time period corresponding to the simple display region within a frame period ([0053]; [0074]-[0075]; [0105]-[0107]; where a flag signal is inherently present).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have divided the display region of Kong in view of Kim according to Choi so as to provide a visual object indicating a normal mode and a visual object indicating a power saving mode (Choi: [0105]).
However, the prior art of Kong, Kim and Choi do not explicitly teach the portion of the plurality of amplifiers is disposed in a same gamma voltage generator as the amplifier outputting the uppermost gamma voltage or the lowermost gamma voltage. Official Notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have the portion of the plurality of amplifiers is disposed in a same gamma voltage generator as the amplifier outputting the uppermost gamma voltage or the lowermost gamma voltage since making separate parts integral and secured together as a single unit would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
As per claim 2, Kong in view of Kim in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of amplifiers (Kong: #SA) includes an uppermost amplifier (Kong: Fig. 7B, #B1) configured to output the uppermost gamma voltage among the plurality of gamma voltages, a lowermost amplifier (Kong: #B2) configured to output the lowermost gamma voltage among the plurality of gamma voltages, and intermediate amplifiers (Kong: #B3-B8) configured to output intermediate gamma voltages between the uppermost gamma voltage and the lowermost gamma voltage among the plurality of gamma voltages (Kong: [0092]-[0096]), and
wherein, in response to the flag signal having the active level, the gamma voltage generator maintains the uppermost amplifier and the lowermost amplifier in an enable state, and disables the intermediate amplifiers (Kong: [0098]-[0099]).
As per claim 3, Kong in view of Kim in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein, in response to the flag signal having the active level, the gamma voltage generator maintains 2M amplifiers among the plurality of amplifiers in an enable state, where M is an integer greater than 0, and disables remaining amplifiers except for the 2M amplifiers among the plurality of amplifiers (Kong: [0067]; [0082]; [0111]).
As per claim 4, Kong in view of Kim in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller receives simple display region position information indicating a position of the simple display region from a host processor, and divides the display region of the display panel into the normal region and the simple display region based on the simple display region position information (Kong: [0105]-[0106]).
As per claim 5, Kong in view of Kim in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller divides the display region of the display panel into the normal region and the simple display region by analyzing input image data for the display panel (Kong: [0105]-[0106]) .
As per claim 9, Kong in view of Kim in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller includes:
a simple display processing block configured to convert input image data for each of the plurality of pixels into maximum gray level data or minimum gray level data (Choi: [0105]-[0107]); and
a plurality of processing blocks located subsequent to the simple display processing block, and configured to perform data processing operations (Choi: [0105]-[0107]), and
wherein, in response to the flag signal having the active level, the controller enables the simple display processing block, and disables the plurality of processing blocks (Choi: [0105]-[0107]).
As per claim 20, Kong discloses a display device (Fig. 1, #1000; [0031]) comprising:
a display panel (#100) including a plurality of pixels (#PX; [0032]);
a scan driver (#400) connected to the plurality of pixels (#PX) and providing scan signals to the plurality of pixels ([0033]-[0035]);
a gamma voltage generator (#310a) including a plurality of amplifiers (#SA) that output a plurality of gamma voltages ([0064]-[0067]);
a data driver (#300) connected to the gamma voltage generator (#310), the data driver generating data voltages based on the plurality of gamma voltages, and providing the data voltages to the plurality of pixels ([0036]-[0038]; [0063]-[0069]); and
a controller (#200) connected to the scan driver (#400), the gamma voltage generator (#310) and the data driver (#300), the controller (#200) controlling the scan driver (#400), the gamma voltage generator (#310) and the data driver (#300; [0031]; [0035]-[0038]),
wherein the controller is further configured to disable a plurality of processing blocks of the controller in response to the flag signal having the active level ([0067]; [0076]; [0082]; [0111]).
However, Kong does not teach the gamma voltage generator is configured to enable an amplifier to output an uppermost gamma voltage or a lowermost gamma voltage in response to the flag signal having the active level, and to disable at least a portion of the plurality of amplifiers not to output an intermediate gamma voltage between the uppermost gamma voltage and the lowermost gamma voltage in response to the flag signal having the active level.
Kim teaches the gamma voltage generator is configured to enable an amplifier (Fig. 2, #32) to output an uppermost gamma voltage or a lowermost gamma voltage in response to the flag signal having the active level, and to disable at least a portion of the plurality of amplifiers (#61-69) not to output an intermediate gamma voltage between the uppermost gamma voltage and the lowermost gamma voltage in response to the flag signal having the active level ([0045]-[0055]; where the flag signal is inherently present).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the gamma voltage generator of Kong configured according to Kim so as to provide outputting only the highest gamma voltage when display device operates in an AOD eight-color mode (Kim: [0055]).
However, the prior art of Kong and Kim do not teach dividing a display region of the display panel into a normal region and a simple display region having only predetermined colors, and generating a flag signal having an active level in a time period corresponding to the simple display region within a frame period.
Choi teaches dividing a display region of the display panel into a normal region (Fig. 5, #521) and a simple display region (#522) having only predetermined colors, and generating a flag signal having an active level in a time period corresponding to the simple display region within a frame period ([0053]; [0074]-[0075]; [0105]-[0107]; where a flag signal is inherently present).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have divided the display region of Kong in view of Kim according to Choi so as to provide a visual object indicating a normal mode and a visual object indicating a power saving mode (Choi: [0105]).
However, the prior art of Kong, Kim and Choi do not explicitly teach the portion of the plurality of amplifiers is disposed in a same gamma voltage generator as the amplifier outputting the uppermost gamma voltage or the lowermost gamma voltage. Official Notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have the portion of the plurality of amplifiers is disposed in a same gamma voltage generator as the amplifier outputting the uppermost gamma voltage or the lowermost gamma voltage since making separate parts integral and secured together as a single unit would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Claims 14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Choi.
As per claim 14, Kong discloses a display device (Fig. 1, #1000; [0031]) comprising:
a display panel (#100) including a plurality of pixels (#PX; [0032]);
a scan driver (#400) connected to the plurality of pixels (#PX) and providing scan signals to the plurality of pixels ([0033]-[0035]);
a data driver (#300) connected to the plurality of pixels (#PX) and providing data voltages to the plurality of pixels ([0033]; [0036]);
a gamma voltage generator including a plurality of amplifiers (Kong: #SA) that output a plurality of gamma voltages (Kong: [0064]-[0067]); and
a controller (#200) connected to the scan driver (#400) and the data driver (#300), the controller controlling the scan driver and the data driver ([0031]; [0035]-[0036]), and disabling a plurality of processing blocks in response to the flag signal having the active level ([0048]; [0067]; [0076]; [0082]; [0086]; [0111]).
However, Kong does not teach dividing a display region of the display panel into a normal region and a simple display region having only predetermined colors, generating a flag signal having an active level in a time period corresponding to the simple display region within a frame period.
Choi teaches dividing a display region of the display panel into a normal region (Fig. 5, #521) and a simple display region (#522) having only predetermined colors, generating a flag signal having an active level in a time period corresponding to the simple display region within a frame period ([0053]; [0074]-[0075]; [0105]-[0107]; where a flag signal is inherently present).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have divided the display region of Kong according to Choi so as to provide a visual object indicating a normal mode and a visual object indicating a power saving mode (Choi: [0105]).
However, the prior art of Kong and Choi do not explicitly teach a plurality of processing blocks included in the controller. Official Notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have a plurality of processing blocks included in the controller since making separate parts integral and secured together as a single unit would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
As per claim 18, Kong in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the gamma voltage generator is configured to disable at least a portion of the plurality of amplifiers in response to the flag signal having the active level (Kong: [0067]; [0076]; [0082]; [0111]).
As per claim 19, Kong in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 18, wherein the plurality of amplifiers (Kong: #SA) includes an uppermost amplifier (Kong: Fig. 7B, #B1) configured to output the uppermost gamma voltage among the plurality of gamma voltages, a lowermost amplifier (Kong: #B2) configured to output a lowermost gamma voltage among the plurality of gamma voltages, and intermediate amplifiers (Kong: #B3-B8) configured to output intermediate gamma voltages between the uppermost gamma voltage and the lowermost gamma voltage among the plurality of gamma voltages (Kong: [0092]-[0096]), and
wherein, in response to the flag signal having the active level, the gamma voltage generator maintains the uppermost amplifier and the lowermost amplifier in an enable state, and disables the intermediate amplifiers (Kong: [0098]-[0099]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 10-13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of a display device comprising a controller controlling the scan driver, the gamma voltage generator and the data driver, dividing a display region of the display panel into a normal region and a simple display region having only predetermined colors, and generating a flag signal having an active level in a time period corresponding to the simple display region within a frame period does not teach or fairly suggest the controller divides the input image data for the display panel into a plurality of line data for a plurality of pixel rows of the display panel, and wherein, with respect to each line data of the plurality of line data, the controller determines whether each of a plurality of pixel data included in the line data represents one of the predetermined colors, determines that the line data is for the normal region when any one of the plurality of pixel data represents a color other than the predetermined colors, and determines that the line data is for the simple display region when all of the plurality of pixel data represent the predetermined colors, wherein, in response to the flag signal having the active level, the simple display processing block converts the input image data for each of the plurality of pixels into the maximum gray level data when a most significant bit of the input image data has a value of 1, and converts the input image data for each of the plurality of pixels into the minimum gray level data when the most significant bit of the input image data has a value of 0, wherein the controller further includes: a clock generator configured to provide a first internal clock signal to the simple display processing block and to provide a second internal clock signal to the plurality of processing blocks, and wherein, in response to the flag signal having the active level, the clock generator provides the first internal clock signal having an active level to the simple display processing block, and provides the second internal clock signal having an inactive level to the plurality of processing blocks, wherein the controller includes: a first simple display processing block configured to receive input image data for each of the plurality of pixels, and to output a most significant bit of the input image data for each of the plurality of pixels; a plurality of processing blocks located subsequent to the first simple display processing block, and configured to perform data processing operations; and a second simple processing display block located subsequent to the plurality of processing blocks, and configured to output maximum gray level data or minimum gray level data according to the most significant bit, and wherein, in response to the flag signal having the active level, the controller enables the first and second simple display processing blocks, and disables the plurality of processing blocks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14 and 20 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection as presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nelson Lam/Examiner, Art Unit 2627
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627