DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21 – 40 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 26, 31, 36, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 13 (see mapping below) of U.S. Patent No. 11,200,181. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent require all the limitations of the claims of the instant application.
Instant Application
11,200,181
21
3
26
3
31
13
36
13
40
13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 21 – 24, 31 – 34, and 40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 7,174,411 (hereinafter Ngai) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0004920 (hereinafter Hubert), and further in view of US Patent No. 7,886,103 (hereinafter Nishtala).
As per claim 21, Ngai teaches a method of operation within an integrated circuit (IC) (Ngai; Col 8 Lines 10 – 13) having internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20A – 20P) and distinct first (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 30 – 16 lane interface which connects the SLOT1 PERIPH 30 to the lanes) and second data interfaces (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 32 – 8 lane interface which connects the SLOT2 PERIPH 32 to the lanes) to be coupled, respectively to first (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 30) and second (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 32) sockets, the first data interface being twice as wide as the second data interface (Ngai; Figure 5 – “16 LANES” and “8 LANES”), the method comprising: splitting connection of the internal data conductors between the first and second data interfaces in response to determining that the second socket is populated, including switchably coupling (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 40A – 40H) a first half of the internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20I – 20P) to the second data interface while a second half of the internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20A – 20H) remain coupled to the first data interface.
Ngai does not teach wherein the integrated circuit is a memory-control integrated circuit; the first and second sockets are memory module sockets; determining whether the second memory module socket is populated by a memory module having a nonvolatile storage component, including attempting to read configuration information from the nonvolatile memory component.
However, Hubert teaches a system in which a memory device (Hubert; Figure 7 Item 140) can be coupled to a PCIe bus through a socket (Hulbert; Figure 7, Paragraph [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Ngai to include the memory device because doing so is one of many different peripheral types which could be coupled to the system through the PCIe bus.
Ngai in combination with Hubert does not teach determining whether the second memory module socket is populated by a memory module having a nonvolatile storage component, including attempting to read configuration information from the nonvolatile memory component.
However, Nishtala teaches a system in which a presence of a memory module in a memory module socket is determined by reading configuration information from a nonvolatile memory component of the memory module (Nishtala; Col 2 Lines 48 – 60, Col 5 Line 63 – Col 6 Line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Ngai in combination with Hubert to include determining whether the socket is populated by reading the configuration information because doing so allows for determining peripheral capabilities (Nishtala; Col 5 Line 63 – Col 6 Line 6).
As per claims 22 and 32, Ngai also teaches wherein splitting connection of the internal data conductors between the first and second data interfaces further comprises switchably decoupling the first half the internal data conductors from the first data interface (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 40A – 40H).
As per claims 23 and 33, Ngai also teaches wherein a first portion of the internal data conductors are permanently coupled to the first data interface (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20A – 20H) and a second portion of the internal data conductors, including at least the first half of the internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20I – 20P) are coupled to switching circuitry (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 40A – 40H) within the memory-control IC, the switching circuitry enabling the first half of the internal data conductors to be switchably coupled exclusively to either the second data interface or the first data interface (Ngai; Figure 5).
As per claims 24 and 34, Ngai also teaches wherein the first portion of the internal data conductors constitute at least some of the internal data conductors within the second half of the internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20A – 20H).
As per claim 31, Ngai teaches an integrated-circuit (Ngai; Col 8 Lines 10 – 13) comprising: internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20A – 20P); a first data interface (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 30 – 16 lane interface which connects the SLOT1 PERIPH 30 to the lanes) to be coupled to a first socket (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 30); a second data interface (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 32 – 8 lane interface which connects the SLOT2 PERIPH 32 to the lanes), not more than half as wide as the first data interface (Ngai; Figure 5 – “16 LANES” and “8 LANES”), to be coupled to a second socket (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 32); and switching circuitry (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 40A – 40H) to split connection of the internal data conductors between the first and second data interfaces in response to determining that the second socket is populated, including circuitry to switchably couple (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 40A – 40H) a first half of the internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20I – 20P) to the second data interface while a second half of the internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20A – 20H) remain coupled to the first data interface.
Ngai does not teach wherein the integrated circuit is a memory control integrated circuit; the first and second sockets are memory module sockets; and control circuitry to determine whether the second memory module socket is populated by a memory module having a nonvolatile storage component at least in part by attempting to read configuration information from the nonvolatile memory component.
However, Hubert teaches a system in which a memory device (Hubert; Figure 7 Item 140) can be coupled to a PCIe bus through a socket (Hulbert; Figure 7, Paragraph [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Ngai to include the memory device because doing so is one of many different peripheral types which could be coupled to the system through the PCIe bus.
Ngai in combination with Hubert does not teach determining whether the second memory module socket is populated by a memory module having a nonvolatile storage component, including attempting to read configuration information from the nonvolatile memory component.
However, Nishtala teaches a system in which a presence of a memory module in a memory module socket is determined by reading configuration information from a nonvolatile memory component of the memory module (Nishtala; Col 2 Lines 48 – 60, Col 5 Line 63 – Col 6 Line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Ngai in combination with Hubert to include determining whether the socket is populated by reading the configuration information because doing so allows for determining peripheral capabilities (Nishtala; Col 5 Line 63 – Col 6 Line 6).
As per claim 40, Ngai teaches an integrated-circuit (Ngai; Col 8 Lines 10 – 13) comprising: internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20A – 20P); a first data interface (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 30 – 16 lane interface which connects the SLOT1 PERIPH 30 to the lanes) to be coupled to a first socket (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 30); a second data interface (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 32 – 8 lane interface which connects the SLOT2 PERIPH 32 to the lanes), not more than half as wide as the first data interface (Ngai; Figure 5 – “16 LANES” and “8 LANES”), to be coupled to a second socket (Ngai; Figure 5 Item 32); and means for: splitting connection of the internal data conductors between the first and second data interfaces in response to determining that the second socket is populated, including switchably coupling (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 40A – 40H) a first half of the internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20I – 20P) to the second data interface while a second half of the internal data conductors (Ngai; Figure 5 Items 20A – 20H) remain coupled to the first data interface.
Ngai does not teach wherein the integrated circuit is a memory-control integrated circuit; the first and second sockets are memory module sockets; determining whether the second memory module socket is populated by a memory module having a nonvolatile storage component, including means for attempting to read configuration information from the nonvolatile memory component.
However, Hubert teaches a system in which a memory device (Hubert; Figure 7 Item 140) can be coupled to a PCIe bus through a socket (Hulbert; Figure 7, Paragraph [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Ngai to include the memory device because doing so is one of many different peripheral types which could be coupled to the system through the PCIe bus.
Ngai in combination with Hubert does not teach determining whether the second memory module socket is populated by a memory module having a nonvolatile storage component, including attempting to read configuration information from the nonvolatile memory component.
However, Nishtala teaches a system in which a presence of a memory module in a memory module socket is determined by reading configuration information from a nonvolatile memory component of the memory module (Nishtala; Col 2 Lines 48 – 60, Col 5 Line 63 – Col 6 Line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Ngai in combination with Hubert to include determining whether the socket is populated by reading the configuration information because doing so allows for determining peripheral capabilities (Nishtala; Col 5 Line 63 – Col 6 Line 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25 – 30 and 35 – 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 25 and 35 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone or in combination programming memory ICs mounted to a memory module within the first memory module socket to have a collective data interface width that matches the width of the first data interface in response to determining that the second memory module socket is not populated by the memory module having the nonvolatile storage component, as required by dependent claims 25 and 35, in combination with the other claimed limitations (emphasis added). The prior art of record teaches switching the width of a data interface connected to a memory module socket, but does not teach the step of programming the memory ICs mounted to the memory module within the memory module socket as required by dependent claims 25 and 35.
Claims 26 – 30 and 36 – 39 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone or in combination programming memory ICs mounted to a memory module within the first memory module socket to have a collective data interface width half that of the first data interface in response to determining that the second memory module socket is populated by the memory module having the nonvolatile storage component, as required by dependent claims 26 and 36, in combination with the other claimed limitations (emphasis added). The prior art of record teaches switching the width of a data interface connected to a memory module socket, but does not teach the step of programming the memory ICs mounted to the memory module within the memory module socket as required by dependent claims 26 and 36.
Claims 27 – 30 and 37 – 39 would also be allowable because of their dependence, either directly or indirectly, upon one of allowable dependent claims 26 or 36.
Conclusion
/RICHARD B FRANKLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2181