DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how to establish the metes and bounds of substantially perpendicular. It is unclear at what measurement or term of degree Applicant regards a conductor is no longer substantially perpendicular and the claim fails to provide objective boundaries tied to measurement performance.
Claim 14:
The term “substantially” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how to establish the metes and bounds of substantially perpendicular. It is unclear at what measurement or term of degree Applicant regards a conductor is no longer substantially perpendicular and the claim fails to provide objective boundaries tied to measurement performance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-15, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodriguez, Jr. Jr. et al. (US 20170363661 A1).
Claim 14:
Rodriguez, Jr. discloses a tool (abstract) comprising
a first portion (29, 30) and a second portion (12, 14) at least partially surrounding the first portion (29, 30) (figs. 1-5, [0010], [0011]);
wherein the first portion (29, 30) is configured to receive a conductor (36) during installation of the tool (figs. 1-5, [0010], [0011]); and,
wherein the second portion (12, 14) comprises a plurality of coil holding fingers configured to releasably retain a measurement coil (20) during installation (figs. 1-5, [0010], [0011]);
wherein the measurement coil (20) held by the second portion at least partially surrounds the conductor (36) when installed with the conductor positioned proximate a center of the curved shape and substantially perpendicular to a plane of the curved shape (figs. 1-5, [0010], [0011]).
Claim 15:
Rodriguez, Jr. discloses the tool according to claim 14, wherein the measurement coil (20) is bent into a curved shape when held by the second portion (12, 14) of the tool (figs. 1-5, [0010], [0011]).
Claim 17:
Rodriguez, Jr. discloses the tool according to claim 15, wherein the conductor (Rodriguez, Jr., 36) is located in a proximity of a center of the curved shape, and the conductor (Rodriguez, Jr., 36) is perpendicular to a plane of the curved shape (figs. 1-5, [0010], [0011]).
Claim 22:
Rodriguez, Jr. discloses the tool according to claim 14, wherein the measurement coil (Rodriguez, Jr., 20) is a Rogowski measurement coil (Rodriguez, Jr., 20) (figs 2-8, col. 5, lines 22-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, Jr. et al. (US 8,336,494) in view of Fernandes et al. (US 4,635,055).
Claim 1:
Rodriguez, Jr. discloses an apparatus (abstract) comprising:
a tool comprising a first portion (29, 30) and a second portion (12, 14) at least partially surrounding the first portion (29, 30), wherein the first portion (29, 30) is configured to receive a conductor (36) during installation (figs. 1-5, [0010]); and wherein the second portion (12, 14) comprises a plurality of coil-holding fingers (12, 14) configured to releasably retain a measurement coil (20) during installation (figs. 1-5, [0010]) and
a holder to be employed to install the tool holding the measurement coil (20) onto a conductor (36) (figs. 1-5, [0011] – see also annotated reproduction below),
wherein the measurement coil (20) held by the second portion at least partially surrounds the conductor (36) when installed with the conductor positioned proximate a center of the curved shape and substantially perpendicular to a plane of the curved shape (figs. 1-5, [0011]).
Rodriguez, Jr. fails to disclose a holder configured to be detachably attached to the tool. Instead, Rodriguez, Jr. discloses a holder (see annotated reproduction above).
Fernandes discloses an apparatus (abstract) comprising:
a tool (40) comprising a first portion (182, 184, 185, 186, 22) and a second portion (76, 81) at least partially surrounding the first portion (182, 184, 185, 186, 22), wherein the first portion (182, 184, 185, 186, 22) is configured to receive a conductor (42) and the second portion (76, 81) is configured to hold a measurement coil (48, 50) (figs 2-8, col 2. lines 12-19; col. 5, lines 22-23; and col. 5, lines 41-50) and
a holder (70) configured to be detachably attached to the tool, and detachable from the tool after installation to install the tool holding the measurement coil (48, 50) onto a conductor (42) (figs 2-8, col. 4, lines 54-61),
wherein the first portion (182, 184, 185, 186, 22) is configured to fit onto the conductor (42) during installation, and the measurement coil (48, 50) at least partially surrounds the conductor (42) when installed (figs.2-8, col. 5, lines 41-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Rodriguez, Jr. by providing a holder as taught by Fernandes to allow installation using a hot stick and subsequent removal of the holder while leaving the tool installed, thereby improving usability and safety during live-line installation (Fernandes, col. 5, lines 37-41). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The results would have been predictable because both prior art references deal with live conductor installation; use measurement tools and holders; and Fernandes specifically resolves the temporary attachment problem.`
Claim 2:
Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the measurement coil (Rodriguez, Jr., 20) is bent into a curved shape when held by the second portion (Rodriguez, Jr., 12, 14) of the tool (Rodriguez, Jr., figs. 1-5, [0010]-[0011]).
Claim 4:
Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the conductor (Rodriguez, Jr., 36) is located in a proximity of a center of the curved shape, and the conductor (Rodriguez, Jr., 36) is perpendicular to a plane of the curved shape (Rodriguez, Jr., figs. 1-5, [0010]-[0011]).
Claim 5:
Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the curved shape is circular (Rodriguez, Jr., figs. 1-5, [0018]).
Claim 7:
Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; and Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes fails to disclose the first portion and the second portion form a one-piece structure of flexible material. Instead, Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes discloses portions of the apparatus comprising a flexible material (thermoplastic type of material) (Rodriguez, Jr., [0014]). MPEP 2144.04 Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rational instructs that “the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” See MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)). A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton. Therefore, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device taught by Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes to provide one-piece construction, without modification of the functionality of the device. Thus, Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious applicant’s claimed invention as recited by claim 7.
Claim 11:
Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the measurement coil (Rodriguez, Jr., 20) and the tool are integrated into a single unit (figs. 1-5, [0010 and [0011]).
Claim 13:
Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the measurement coil (Rodriguez, Jr., 20) is a Rogowski coil (figs. 1-5, [0010], [0011], [0001] and [0009]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tang et al. (US 2016/0116504 A1).
Claim 3:
Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; and Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes fails to disclose the measurement coil is implemented on a printed circuit board having a form factor of a curved shape arranged to be held by the second portion of the tool. Instead, Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes discloses a generic Rogowski coil.
Tang discloses a Rogowski coil (abstract) wherein the Rogowski coil is implemented on a printed circuit board (PCB), wherein the printed circuit board (PCB) has a form factor of a curved shape arranged to be held by the second portion of the tool (fig. 3, [0002] and [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have swapped the generic Rogowski coil of Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes for the PCB Rogowski coil of Tank since it was known that generic Rogowski coils and PCB Rogowski coils are analogues for use in current measuring devices (Tank, [0003]). See MPEP § 2143 B which describes the prima facie obviousness of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes by providing a PCB Rogowski coil as taught by Tang in order to overcome the disadvantages of traditional closed Rogowski coils. See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (Tank, [0014]).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, Jr. and Fernandes et al (US 4,635,055).
Claim 16:
Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes discloses the tool according to claim 14; and Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes fails to disclose the measurement coil is implemented on a printed circuit board having a form factor of a curved shape arranged to be held by the second portion of the tool. Instead, Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes discloses a generic Rogowski coil.
Tang discloses a Rogowski coil (abstract) wherein the Rogowski coil is implemented on a printed circuit board (PCB), wherein the printed circuit board (PCB) has a form factor of a curved shape arranged to be held by the second portion of the tool (fig. 3, [0002] and [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have swapped the generic Rogowski coil of Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes for the PCB Rogowski coil of Tank since it was known that generic Rogowski coils and PCB Rogowski coils are analogues for use in current measuring devices (Tank, [0003]). See MPEP § 2143 B which describes the prima facie obviousness of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes by providing a PCB Rogowski coil as taught by Tang in order to overcome the disadvantages of traditional closed Rogowski coils. See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (Tank, [0014]).
Claim 18:
Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 14; and Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes fails to disclose the first portion and the second portion form a one-piece structure of flexible material. Instead, Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes discloses portions of the apparatus comprising a flexible material (thermoplastic type of material) (Rodriguez, Jr., [0014]). MPEP 2144.04 Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rational instructs that “the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” See MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)). A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton. Therefore, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device taught by Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes to provide one-piece construction, without modification of the functionality of the device. Thus, Rodriguez, Jr. in view of Fernandes renders obvious applicant’s claimed invention as recited by claim 18.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,174,223. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-22 are anticipated by and/or rendered obvious over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,174,223.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 12 January 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rodriguez, Jr. (US 2017/0363661 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gris et al. (US 5,414,400) discloses a Rogowski coil comprising at least one printed circuit plate provided with a circular cutout.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726