DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (drawn to a jig) and species (i) (a first species, depicted din Figures 1-7) in the reply filed on December 5, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10 and 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 5, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
the adjustment screw that “passes through” the sleeve (and that is screw-coupled to the core), as set forth in claim 3 (noting that the adjustment screw 150 does not “pass through” the sleeve 130; see, for example, Figure 3, noting that while the adjustment screw 150 extends from outside the sleeve 130 to a location that is within the sleeve 130, the adjustment screw 150 does not “pass through” the sleeve 130, given that the adjustment screw 150 does not extend all the way through the sleeve 130).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, the claim sets forth that “the expansion pin defines a through-hole that receives the adjustment screw and has a snowman shape”. However, it is unclear as claimed what shape or shapes are encompassed by the limitation “snowman shape”, and it is unclear what shape or shapes are excluded by the limitation “snowman shape”. It is noted that paragraphs 0015-0017 of the specification as filed teach the following:
[0015] The expansion pin may have a through-hole through which the adjustment screw penetrates and is inserted, and the through-hole may be provided in a shape of a snowman.
[0016] The through-hole may have a shape in which a first hole having a diameter larger than the diameter of the threaded portion and a second hole having a diameter larger than the diameter of the body portion and smaller than the diameter of the threaded portion are interconnected.
[0017] The head portion may have a diameter larger than the diameter of the first hole.
Additionally, it is also noted that paragraph 0063 of the specification as filed indicates that the through-hole 141 “may be provided in the shape of a snowman (e.g., a closed curve shape in which two circular/elliptical shapes are connected)” and goes on to say “[F]or example, the through-hole 141 may have a shape in which the first hole portion 141a, which has a larger diameter than the threaded portion 155, and the second hole portion 141b, which has a larger diameter than the body portion 153 and a smaller diameter than the threaded portion 155, are interconnected” and “[A]dditionally, the head portion 151 may have a larger diameter than the first hole portion 141a” and “[U]ltimately, the size of the diameter may be provided in the following order: head portion 151>first hole portion 141a>threaded portion 155>second hole portion 141b>body portion 153”. However, it is noted that all of the discussion on various things that could potentially be considered to constitute a “snowman shape” are merely set forth as examples. There is no clear special definition of “snowman shape” that is provided, and even (one of) the examples is unclear as to whether the “/” in “circular/elliptical” is intended to mean “and”, “or”, or “and/or”, for example. Note that the discussion(s) of shapes that “may” be “e.g.” (i.e., for example) be considered to constitute “snowman shapes” is not sufficient to provide clarity as to the full scope of the claim term “snowman shape”, noting that snowmen can be artistically created in a wide variety of shapes that are not included/met by one of the examples, such as snowmen that are made from stacked cuboid shapes. Likewise, a snowman can be artistically created that is made from only a single sphere or circle, or with three stacked spheres or circles, rather than with two. That being said, it is unclear as claimed whether the term “snowman shape” requires two holes, and if so, it is unclear whether the two hole portions (such as in the examples) must be different sizes or not in order to be considered to be “snowman shaped”. In any event, it is unclear as claimed what shapes are included by the limitation “snowman shape” and what shapes are excluded by the limitation “snowman shape”.
In claim 11, the claim sets forth “wherein an inner diameter of the first tapered portion becomes smaller in a direction toward the locking head”. However, it is unclear as claimed from where the direction defining the becoming “smaller” of the first tapered portion begins, i.e., becomes smaller (presumably, as the inner diameter progresses) in a direction from what/where toward the locking head?
In claim 12, the claim sets forth “wherein an outer diameter of the second tapered portion becomes smaller in a direction of insertion of the expansion pin into the collet”. However, it is unclear as claimed whether “a direction of insertion of the expansion pin into the collet” is intended to be a direction along an unspecified (in the claim) axis, or whether such is merely intended to refer to some axis/direction along which the expansion pin extends (at a point in time when the expansion pin is located in the collet), particularly noting that the claims are not method claims, and also noting that no particular manner of assembly or insertion of the expansion pin into the collet was previously recited even in functional terms.
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
It is noted that claim 3 sets forth that “the adjustment screw” (set forth in claim 2 as being “configured to press the expansion pin to thereby insert the expansion pin into an inside of the collet”, and also as being screw-coupled with the claimed “core fixed to the inside of the collet”) “passes through the sleeve and is screw-coupled to the core”. However, the specification as filed does not clearly teach such in a manner so as to demonstrate possession thereof. It is noted that the disclosed adjustment screw 150 that is configured to press the expansion pin 140 to thereby insert the expansion pin 140 into an inside of the collet 110 is also disclosed as screw-coupled with the core 120. See Figures 3 and 5-7, for example, as well as at least paragraphs 0045, 0050-0052 of the specification as filed. However, the specification does not clearly teach that the adjustment screw 150 “passes through” the sleeve 130, as set forth in claim 3, particularly noting the configuration of the adjustment screw 150, core 120, sleeve 130, magnet 125, and collet 110, shown in Figure 3. Note that the adjustment screw 150 only extends partially through the sleeve 130, and does not pass “through” the sleeve 130 as set forth in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 11, and 12, any of which were rejected under 35 USC 112 above are as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0097463 to Laube et al. (hereinafter, “Laube”).
Laube teaches a jig “for” (i.e., capable of performing the claimed intended use/function) a reflection device (noting that the workpiece holder/collet is blind as to the workpiece it holds, but rather, by virtue of the gripping portion(s) thereof, is inherently capable of holding whatever element to be held with which the gripping portion(s) come into operative gripping contact, such as, for example, a device or element for reflecting something), comprising:
a collet (20) comprising (i) a skirt portion (which includes the cantilevered fingers or leaves 84 that are formed by slots 86; see paragraph 0024, as well as at least Figures 1-4, for example) having an outer diameter that is expandable (when the leaves 84 are radially outwardly displaced due to the cooperating tapers 64, 68, when the element 52 is moved towards the left re Figure 1; see Figures 1-4 and paragraphs 0024 and 0026, for example) and (ii) a locking head (72) disposed at an end (the left end re Figures 1 and 3) of the (aforedescribed) skirt portion (see Figures 1, 3, and at least paragraphs 0023, 0025, for example);
a sleeve (78) that receives the collet (20) (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 0023, 0025-0026, for example), wherein one side of the sleeve (78) is supported and “caught” by the locking head (72) (see Figure 1 and paragraph 0023 which teaches that element 72 is axially trapped between an end face of a radially extending flange 44 of body 44 and the sleeve 78); and
an expansion pin (52) configured to be inserted into the collet (20) and to expand the outer diameter of the (aforedescribed) skirt portion (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 0022, 0025-0026, for example).
Regarding claim 2, Laube teaches an adjustment screw (such as, for example, 50) configured to press the expansion pin (52) to thereby insert the expansion pin (52) into an inside of the collet (20) (see Figure 1, Figure 2, and paragraphs 0021-0022, 0025-0026, for example); and
a core (such as, for example, 40, which includes 42, 44, 46, or, alternatively, such as core 40+36) “fixed to” (insofar as such is the case in the present application) the inside of the collet (20) and screw-coupled with the adjustment screw (50) (see Figures 1-2 and particularly Figure 1, as well as at least paragraphs 0021-0023, 0025-0026, noting that screw 50 “fixes” the aforedescribed core “to” the inside of the collet 20 in the same manner that the adjustment screw 150 of the present application “fixes” the core “to” the inside of the collet 110, and noting that at least portion 46 of the aforedescribed core is inside of collet 20 of Laube).
Regarding claim 3 (as such is best understood given the above issues with respect to 35 USC 112), the adjustment screw (50) “passes through” the sleeve (78) and is screw-coupled to the (aforedescribed) core (40+36) (see Figure 1, Figure 2, and at least paragraph 0022 and 0025, for example).
Regarding claim 9, the core (40 or 40+36) and the sleeve (78) are bolted to (as broadly claimed) the collet (20) (via 80; see paragraphs 0023, 0025, and Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, the (aforedescribed) skirt portion (that includes the cantilevered fingers or leaves 84) comprises a first tapered portion (68) disposed at an inner surface of the skirt portion, and an inner diameter of the first tapered portion (68) “becomes smaller in a direction toward” the locking head (72). See, for example, Figures 1 and 3, as well as paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0026, noting that as the tapered portion (68) progresses from, for example, the right end of the collet (20) re Figures 1 and 3, towards the locking head (72), the inner diameter of the first tapered portion (68) gets smaller.
Regarding claim 12, the expansion pin (52) comprises a second tapered portion (64) disposed at an outer surface of the expansion pin (52), and an outer diameter of the second tapered portion (64) becomes smaller in a direction of insertion (such as a direction extending from right to left re Figure 1) of the expansion pin (52) into the collet (20). See Figure 1 and also paragraphs 0022, 0025-0026, for example.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Comment Regarding Non-Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
A thorough search has been conducted re the elected invention/claims. That being said, though no art rejections are considered to presently apply to claims 4-7, no indication regarding the allowability of the subject matter of elected claims 4-7 with respect to the prior art is being made at this time due to the rejection(s) thereof based on 35 USC 112(a), set forth above, particularly given that is unclear what changes to the claims might be necessary to overcome the above-described issues with respect to 35 USC 112(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ERICA E CADUGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
eec
March 16, 2026