Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species IV in the reply filed on 04/20/2026 and the interview conducted on 05/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention III, claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species V-VIII, claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species I, III, V, and VII, and claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species I-II, and V-VI, there being no allowable generic or linking claim, and thus claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 10-18 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto 20120274163.
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto teaches the invention as claimed: An assembly (see Figs. 1-3) for an aircraft powerplant (It is noted, “(statement of intended use in an apparatus claim did not distinguish over the prior art apparatus). To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”, MPEP 2111.02(II), in this case, limitation “for an aircraft powerplant” is for intended use, and per [0005], the assembly is for an internal combustion engine, which is capable to be used for an aircraft power plant, see Van Bavel 20210221526, para [0004] as exampled), comprising:
a gearbox (the gear change mechanism per [0024]);
a first electric machine (14) mounted to the gearbox (per [0005, 0023-0024], the gear change mechanism is located in the far-side of Fig. 1, and 14 is mounted to the gear change mechanism in order to provide power as a motor and to absorb power as a generator) at a first side (a side facing outward from Fig. 1 where 14 and 16 are mounted to the gear change mechanism) of the gearbox, the first electric machine (14) including a first machine rotor (the rotor of 14, [0025]), a first machine stator (the stator of 14, [0025]) and a first machine terminal (a 36 in holder 54 in Fig. 2 connected to 14 marked in annotated Fig. 1), the first machine rotor (the rotor of 14, [0025]) rotatable about a first machine axis (the axis of shaft 18, see Fig. 1 and [0024]), the first machine stator (the stator of 14, [0025]) next to the first machine rotor (the rotor of 14, [0025]), and the first machine terminal (the 36 in holder 54 in Fig. 2 connected to 14 marked in annotated Fig. 1) disposed at a first side (a side of 14 facing to space 30, see annotated Fig. 1) of the first electric machine (14);
a first electric cable (a first 22 connect to the 36 in holder 54 in Fig. 2) electrically coupled to the first machine stator (the stator of 14, [0025]) through the first machine terminal (the 36 in holder 54 in Fig. 2 connected to 14 marked in annotated Fig. 1);
a second electric machine (16) mounted to the gearbox (per [0005, 0023-0024], the gear change mechanism is located in the far-side of Fig. 1, and 16 is mounted to the gear change mechanism in order to provide power as a motor and to absorb power as a generator) at the first side (the side facing outward from Fig. 1 where 14 and 16 are mounted to the gear change mechanism) of the gearbox, the second electric machine (16) including a second machine rotor (the rotor of 16, [0025]), a second machine stator (the stator of 16, [0025]) and a second machine terminal (a 40 in holder 56 in Fig. 2 connected to 16 marked in annotated Fig. 1), the second machine rotor (the rotor of 16, [0025]) rotatable about a second machine axis (the axis of shaft 20, see Fig. 1 and [0024]), the second machine stator (the stator of 16, [0025]) next to the second machine rotor (the rotor of 16, [0025]), and the second machine terminal (the 40 in holder 56 in Fig. 2 connected to 16 marked in annotated Fig. 1) disposed at a second side (a side of 16 facing to space 30, see annotated Fig. 1) of the second electric machine (16) that faces the first side (the side of 14 facing to space 30, see annotated Fig. 1) of the first electric machine (14);
and a second electric cable (a second 22 connect to the 40 in holder 56 in Fig. 2) electrically coupled to the second machine stator (the stator of 16, [0025]) through the second machine terminal (the 40 in holder 56 in Fig. 2 connected to 16 marked in annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto further teaches wherein the second machine axis (the axis of shaft 20) is parallel with the first machine axis (the axis of shaft 18, per [0024], the gear change mechanism is a planetary gear and the shafts 20 and 18 are couple to the planetary gear as shown in Fig. 1, and thus, one of ordinary skill would understand the shafts 18 and 20 are parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto further teaches a conduit (44, Figs. 2-3); the first electric cable (the first 22 connect to the 36 in holder 54 in Fig. 2) extending longitudinally through the conduit (44, see Fig. 3) with a portion of the first electric cable (as exampled in annotated Fig. 2) projecting longitudinally out from an end (where 42 is in Fig. 2) of the conduit (44) to the first machine terminal (the 36 in holder 54 in Fig. 2 connected to 14 marked in annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1); and the second electric cable (the second 22 connect to the 40 in holder 56 in Fig. 2) extending longitudinally through the conduit (44, see Fig. 3) with a portion of the second electric cable (as exampled in annotated Fig. 2) projecting longitudinally out from the end (where 42 is) of the conduit (44) to the second machine terminal (the 40 in holder 56 in Fig. 2 connected to 16 marked in annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumoto further teaches wherein a gap (30, Figs. 1-2) extends laterally between and is formed by the first side (the side of 14 facing to space 30, see annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1) of the first electric machine (14) and the second side (the side of 16 facing to space 30, see annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1) of the second electric machine (16); the first electric cable (the first 22 connect to the 36 in holder 54 in Fig. 2) projects longitudinally (from where 42 is) into the gap (30) to the first machine terminal (the 36 in holder 54 in Fig. 2 connected to 14 marked in annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1); and the second electric cable (the second 22 connect to the 40 in holder 56 in Fig. 2) projects longitudinally (from where 42 is) into the gap (30) to the second machine terminal (the 40 in holder 56 in Fig. 2 connected to 16 marked in annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARVEY 20200124139 in view of Prabhakaran 20230348086 and Matsumoto 20120274163.
Regarding claim 1, HARVEY teaches the invention as claimed: An assembly (Figs. 2-4) for an aircraft powerplant (Fig. 1), comprising:
a gearbox (111);
a first electric machine (a first 117, annotated Fig. 2) mounted to the gearbox (111, see Fig. 1) at a first side (the side of 111 faces and connect to the first 117 and the second 117, see Figs. 1-3) of the gearbox (111), the first electric machine (the first 117, annotated Fig. 2) including a first machine rotor (the 304 of the first 117, see Fig. 3), a first machine stator (the 306 of the first 117, see Fig. 3) and a first machine terminal (per [0028], the first 117 is a motor-generator, which requires a first machine terminal for the first 117 to receive/provide electricity), the first machine rotor (the 304 of the first 117) rotatable about a first machine axis (a first machine axis align with a first shaft 307, see Fig. 3), the first machine stator (the 306 of the first 117) next to the first machine rotor (the 304 of the first 117, see Fig. 3), and the first machine terminal (the first machine terminal for the first 117 to receive/provide electricity) disposed at a first side (a side where the first machine terminal of the first 117 is located on the first 117) of the first electric machine (the first 117);
a second electric machine (a second 117, annotated Fig. 2) mounted to the gearbox (111) at the first side (the side of 111 faces to and connect to the first 117 and the second 117, see Figs. 1-3) of the gearbox (111), the second electric machine (the second 117, annotated Fig. 2) including a second machine rotor (the 304 of the second 117, see Fig. 3), a second machine stator (the 306 of the second 117, see Fig. 3) and a second machine terminal (per [0028], the second 117 is a motor-generator, which requires a second machine terminal for the second 117 to receive/provide electricity), the second machine rotor (the 304 of the second 117) rotatable about a second machine axis (a second machine axis align with a second shaft 307, see Fig. 3), the second machine stator (the 306 of the second 117) next to the second machine rotor (the 304 of the second 117, see Fig. 3), and the second machine terminal (the second machine terminal for the second 117 to receive/provide electricity) disposed at a second side (a side where the second machine terminal of the second 117 is located on the second 117) of the second electric machine (the second 117).
HARVEY does not teach a first electric cable electrically coupled to the first machine stator through the first machine terminal; and a second electric cable electrically coupled to the second machine stator through the second machine terminal.
However, Prabhakaran teaches a first electric cable (annotated Fig. 3) electrically coupled to the first machine stator (the stator of the generator 154) through the first machine terminal (annotated Fig. 3) in order to connect the first electric machine (154) to an electric bus (159) at a first converter (157), and a second electric cable (annotated Fig. 3) electrically coupled to the second machine stator (the stator of the generator 155) through the second machine terminal (annotated Fig. 3) in order to connect the second electric machine (155) to an electric bus (159) at a second converter (158), wherein the first convertor (157), the second converter (158), and the electric bus (159) are positioned in a fan casing (238, per [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide HARVEY with Prabhakaran’s first electric cable and second electric cable to respectively connect the first electric machine and the second electric machine to the electric bus positioned in the fan case, such that
a first electric cable electrically coupled to the first machine stator through the first machine terminal, and a second electric cable electrically coupled to the second machine stator through the second machine terminal
because positioning the electric bus in the fan case can shorten electric cable and minimize voltage transmission problem (Prabhakaran, [0067]).
HARVEY in view of Prabhakaran does not teach the second side of the second electric machine that faces the first side of the first electric machine.
However, Matsumoto teaches an assembly (see Figs. 1-3) comprising: the second machine terminal (the 40 in holder 56 in Fig. 2 connected to 16 marked in annotated Fig. 1) disposed at a second side (a side of 16 facing to space 30, see annotated Fig. 1) of the second electric machine (16) that faces the first side (the side of 14 facing to space 30, see annotated Fig. 1) of the first electric machine (14), wherein the first machine terminal (the 36 in holder 54 in Fig. 2 connected to 14 marked in annotated Fig. 1) disposed at the first side (a side of 14 facing to space 30, see annotated Fig. 1) of the first electric machine (14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed but non-depicted first machine terminal and second machine terminal of HARVEY in view of Prabhakaran to be the first machine terminal and second machine terminal as taught by Matsumoto, such that
a second side of the second electric machine that faces the first side of the first electric machine (the modification is to connect HARVEY’s first 117 and HARVEY’s second 117 to HARVEY’s power source via Prabhakaran’s first electric cable and HARVEY’s first machine terminal and Prabhakaran’s second electric cable and HARVEY’s second machine terminal using the structure as taught by Matsumoto, and thus, any component to form Matsumoto’s structure is inherited in the combination of HARVEY in view of Prabhakaran and Matsumoto, e.g., Matsumoto’s cover member 32)
in order to provide a simplified structure to connect the first and second electric machines to the power source without leakage (Matsumoto, [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, HARVEY further teaches the second machine axis (the second machine axis align with the second shaft 307, see Fig. 3) is parallel with the first machine axis (the first machine axis align with the first shaft 307, see Fig. 3; and per [0024] and Figs. 2-3, gearbox 111 is a planetary gear box and the first and second machine 117s are coupled to the planet gears 113s, and thus, the shafts 307 of the first and second machines 117s are parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 6, HARVEY in view of Prabhakaran and Matsumoto further teaches a gap (a gap between HARVEY’s first 117 and second 117 in HARVEY’s annotated Fig. 2, which is also Matsumoto’s 30 in Fig. 1) extends laterally between and is formed by the first side (HARVEY’s first machine terminal of HARVEY’s first 117 is located at Matsumoto’s first side in Matsumoto’s annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1) of the first electric machine (HARVEY’s first 117 in HARVEY’s annotated Fig. 2) and the second side (HARVEY’s second machine terminal of HARVEY’s second 117 at Matsumoto’s second side in Matsumoto’s annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1) of the second electric machine (HARVEY’s second 117 in HARVEY’s annotated Fig. 2);
the first electric cable (see Prabhakaran’s annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1, which is also Matsumoto’s first 22 that connects to Matsumoto’s first machine terminal in Matsumoto’s annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1) projects longitudinally (from Matsumoto’s cover 32, see Matsumoto’s Fig. 1) into the gap (the gap between HARVEY’s first 117 and second 117 in HARVEY’s annotated Fig. 2, which is also Matsumoto’s 30 in Fig. 1) to the first machine terminal (HARVEY’s first machine terminal of HARVEY’s first 117 to receive/provide electricity, which is also Matsumoto’s first machine terminal in Matsumoto’s annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1); and
the second electric cable (see Prabhakaran’s annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1, which is also Matsumoto’s second 22 that connects to Matsumoto’s second machine terminal in Matsumoto’s annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1) projects longitudinally (from Matsumoto’s cover 32, see Matsumoto’s Fig. 1) into the gap (the gap between HARVEY’s first 117 and second 117 in HARVEY’s annotated Fig. 2, which is also Matsumoto’s 30 in Fig. 1) to the second machine terminal (HARVEY’s second machine terminal of HARVEY’s second 117 to receive/provide electricity, which is also Matsumoto’s second machine terminal in Matsumoto’s annotated Fig. 1 in claim 1).
The motivation of the combination of HARVEY in view of Prabhakaran and Matsumoto is the same with the reason for applying Matsumoto to the rejection of claim 1 as explained above.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARVEY 20200124139 in view of Prabhakaran 20230348086 and Matsumoto 20120274163, and in further view of Alstad 12264623.
Regarding claim 3, HARVEY in view of Prabhakaran and Matsumoto does not teach wherein the second machine terminal is axially aligned with the first machine terminal along at least one of the first machine axis or the second machine axis.
However, Alstad teaches a first electric cable (a 202 at the right side of Fig. 15 in a circumferential direction of a rotational axis L of electrical machine 102, see Figs. 1 and 7 and annotated Fig. 15) electrically coupled to (in order to provide AC power to rectifier 204, col. 12, ll. 5-10 and 11-20) a machine stator (a stator of the electrical machine 102 having the rotational axis L as shown Figs. 1 and 7) through a first machine terminal (a 206 at the right side of Fig. 15 in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis L, see annotated Fig. 15), a second electric cable (a 202 at the left side of Fig. 15 in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis L of electrical machine 102, see Figs. 1 and 7 and annotated Fig. 15) electrically coupled to the machine stator (the stator of the electrical machine 102 having the rotational axis L as shown Figs. 1 and 7) through the second machine terminal (a 206 at the left side of Fig. 15 in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis L, see annotated Fig. 15),
wherein the first electric cable (a 202 at the right side of Fig. 15 in a circumferential direction of a rotational axis L of electrical machine 102, see Figs. 1 and 7 and annotated Fig. 15) and the second electric cable (a 202 at the left side of Fig. 15 in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis L of electrical machine 102, see Figs. 1 and 7 and annotated Fig. 15) having the same longitudinal length (see Fig. 15 and col. 12, ll. 12-29), such that the second machine terminal (the 206 at the left side of Fig. 15 in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis L, see annotated Fig. 15) is axially aligned with the first machine terminal (the 206 at the right side of Fig. 15 in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis L, see annotated Fig. 15) along the machine axis (the rotational axis L).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify HARVEY in view of Prabhakaran and Matsumoto with Alstad’s providing the first electric cable and the second electric cable with the same longitudinal length, such that
wherein the second machine terminal is axially aligned with the first machine terminal along at least one of the first machine axis or the second machine axis
in order to minimize temperature differences between the first and second electric cables and to reduce losses along the first and second electric cables (Alstad, col. 12, ll. 20-30).
Claims 1 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duong 20160169118 in view of Prabhakaran 20230348086 and Fitt 9478896.
Regarding claim 1, Duong teaches the invention as claimed: An assembly (Figs. 2-4) for an aircraft powerplant (Fig. 1), comprising:
a gearbox (60);
a first electric machine (98) mounted to the gearbox (60) at a first side (a side of 60 connected to 98 and 92) of the gearbox (60, see Figs. 3-4), the first electric machine (98) including a first machine rotor (per [0044], 98 is a generator, which requires to have a first machine rotor), a first machine stator (per [0044], 98 is a generator, which requires to have a first machine stator) and a first machine terminal (per [0044], 98 is a generator which requires to have a first machine terminal in order to provide electricity), the first machine rotor (the first machine rotor of generator 98) rotatable about a first machine axis (annotated Fig. 4), the first machine stator (the first machine stator of generator 98) next to the first machine rotor (the first machine rotor of generator 98), and the first machine terminal (the first machine terminal of generator 98 in order to provide electricity) disposed at a first side (a first side of generator 98 where the first machine terminal is positioned) of the first electric machine (98);
a second electric machine (92) mounted to the gearbox (60) at the first side (the side of 60 connected to 98 and 92) of the gearbox (60), the second electric machine (92) including a second machine rotor (per [0044], 92 is a generator, which requires to have a second machine rotor), a second machine stator (per [0044], 92 is a generator, which requires to have a second machine stator) and a second machine terminal (per [0044], 92 is a generator which requires to have a second machine terminal in order to provide electricity), the second machine rotor (the second machine rotor of generator 92) rotatable about a second machine axis (annotated Fig. 4), the second machine stator (the second machine stator of generator 92) next to the second machine rotor (the second machine rotor of generator 92), and the second machine terminal (the second machine terminal of generator 92 in order to provide electricity) disposed at a second side (a second side of generator 92 where the second machine terminal is positioned) of the second electric machine (92).
Duong does not teach a first electric cable electrically coupled to the first machine stator through the first machine terminal, and a second electric cable electrically coupled to the second machine stator through the second machine terminal.
However, Prabhakaran teaches a first electric cable (annotated Fig. 3) electrically coupled to the first machine stator (the stator of the generator 154) through the first machine terminal (annotated Fig. 3) in order to connect the first electric machine (154) to an electric bus (159) at a first converter (157), and a second electric cable (annotated Fig. 3) electrically coupled to the second machine stator (the stator of the generator 155) through the second machine terminal (annotated Fig. 3) in order to connect the second electric machine (155) to an electric bus (159) at a second converter (158), wherein the first convertor (157), the second converter (158), and the electric bus (159) are positioned in a fan casing (238, per [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide Duong with Prabhakaran’s first electric cable and second electric cable to respectively connect the first electric machine and the second electric machine to the electric bus positioned in the fan case, such that
a first electric cable electrically coupled to the first machine stator through the first machine terminal, and a second electric cable electrically coupled to the second machine stator through the second machine terminal
because positioning the electric bus in the fan case can shorten electric cable and minimize voltage transmission problem (Prabhakaran, [0067]).
Duong in view of Prabhakaran does not teach the second side of the second electric machine that faces the first side of the first electric machine.
However, Fitt teaches the second machine terminal (700 positioned at 200D located in core casing 28 in Fig. 8) disposed at the second side (a side of 200D that is facing to the 200G in Fig. 8, which is placed between and connecting the core casing 28 and fan casing 24) of the second electric component (200D in Fig. 8, wherein 200 is used for transmit/transfer electrical power) that faces the first side (a side of 200E that is facing to the 200G in Fig. 8, which is placed between and connecting the core casing 28 and fan casing 24) of the first electric component (200E in Fig. 8, wherein 200 is used for transmit/transfer electrical power), wherein the first machine terminal (700 positioned at 200E located in core casing 28 in Fig. 8) disposed at the first side (the side of 200E that is facing to the 200G in Fig. 8) of the first electric component (200E in Fig. 8, wherein 200 is used for transmit/transfer electrical power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed but non-depicted first side of the first electric machine and second side of the second electric machine of Duong in view of Prabhakaran to be the first side of the first electric component and second side of the second electric component as taught by Fitt, such that
the second machine terminal disposed at a second side of the second electric machine that faces the first side of the first electric machine
in order to provide a more compact electrical connect between the core casing and the fan casing (Fitt, col. 8, ll. 45-60.)
Regarding claim 13, Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt further teaches an engine case (Duong’s 36) extending axially along and circumferentially about a centerline axis (Duong’s axis X in Duong’s Fig. 1); the gearbox (Duong’s 60) disposed radially outboard of and mounted with the engine case (Prabhakaran’s [0053 and 0070] teaches the gearbox, which is Duong’s 60, maybe mounted within the engine case, which is Duong’s engine case 36), and the gearbox (Duong’s 60) extending axially along (because Duong’s gearbox 60 has an axial thickness formed by Duong’s axial length of Duong’s surfaces 82 and 80, see Duong’s Figs. 3-4) the centerline axis (Duong’s axis X in Duong’s Fig. 1) to the first side (Duong’s side of Duong’s 60 connects to Duong’s 98 and 92) of the gearbox (Duong’s 60).
The motivation of the combination of Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt is the same with the reason for applying Prabhakaran to the rejection of claim 1 as explained above.
Regarding claim 14, Duong further teaches the first machine axis (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) and the second machine axis (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) are parallel to the centerline axis (axial X, per [0043-0044], the tower shafts 68 and 70 extending radially from axial L and the 98 and 92 are mounted and arranged along with the engine axis X, also see Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 15, Duong further teaches a compressor section (24), a combustor section (26), a turbine section (28) and a flowpath (where core flow C passes through, see Fig. 1) extending through the compressor section (24), the combustor section (26) and the turbine section (28) from an inlet (where core flow C enters, see Fig. 1) into the flowpath to an exhaust (an exhaust downstream from 28) from the flowpath; and a first engine rotating structure (a high pressure rotating structure) comprising a first turbine rotor (54) disposed in the turbine section (28), the first engine rotating structure (the high pressure rotating structure) operatively coupled to (via tower shaft 70, see [0044]) the first machine rotor (the first machine rotor of generator 98) through the gearbox (60).
Regarding claim 16, Duong further teaches a second engine rotating structure (a low pressure rotating structure) comprising a second turbine rotor (46) disposed in the turbine section (28), the second engine rotating structure (the low pressure rotating structure) operatively coupled to (via tower shaft 68, see [0044]) the second machine rotor (the second machine rotor of generator 92) through the gearbox (60), and the second engine rotating structure (the low pressure rotating structure) rotationally independent of (via respective shafts 52 and 40, see Fig. 2) the first engine rotating structure (the high pressure rotating structure).
Regarding claim 17, Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt further teaches a first electric machine controller (Prabhakaran’s 141A and 157) electrically coupled to the first electric machine (Duong’s 98, which is also Prabhakaran’s 154) through the first electric cable (see Prabhakaran’s annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1); and a second electric machine controller (Prabhakaran’s 142A and 158) electrically coupled to the second electric machine (Duong’s 92, which is also Prabhakaran’s 155) through the second electric cable (see Prabhakaran’s annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1).
The motivation of the combination of Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt is the same with the reason for applying Prabhakaran to the rejection of claim 1 as explained above.
Regarding claim 18, Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt further teaches a fan case (Duong’s 15); and a core case (Duong’s 36) radially inboard of the fan case (Duong’s 15, see Duong’s Fig. 1); the gearbox (Duong’s 60) mounted with the core case (Prabhakaran’s [0053 and 0070] teaches the gearbox, which is Duong’s 60, maybe mounted within the engine case, which is Duong’s engine case 36); and the first electric machine controller (Prabhakaran’s 157 part) and the second electric machine controller (Prabhakaran’s 158 part) each mounted with the fan case (Prabhakaran’s [0053] teaches Prabhakaran’s 157 and 158 parts each mounted with the fan case, which is Duong’s 15).
The motivation of the combination of Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt is the same with the reason for applying Prabhakaran to the rejection of claim 1 as explained above.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duong 20160169118 in view of Prabhakaran 20230348086 and Fitt 9478896, and in further view of Rogner 20080218012.
Regarding claim 10, Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt further teaches the first electric machine (Duong’s 98) projects axially away from the first side (Duong’s side of Duong’s 60 connects to Duong’s 98 and 92) of the gearbox (Duong’s 60) to an axial distal end (see Duong’s annotated Fig. 4) of the first electric machine (Duong’s 98), and the first machine terminal (Duong’s first machine terminal of Duong’s 98 in order to provide electricity) is one of a plurality of first machine terminals (Duong’s generator 98 is an alternating current generator as taught by Prabhakaran’s [0056], wherein an alternating current generator comprising three terminals to provide an alternating current).
The motivation of the combination of Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt is the same with the reason for applying Prabhakaran to the rejection of claim 1 as explained above.
Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt does not teach the first machine terminal is positioned axially closer to the gearbox along the first machine axis than the axial distal end of the first electric machine.
However, Rogner teaches the first machine terminal (the 25 posited axially closer to bearing plate 50, Fig. 3) is one of a plurality of first machine terminals (a plurality of 25s, Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of first machine terminals (the plurality of 25s, Fig. 3) disposed at and arranged axially along (relative to a longitudinal direction 3) the first side (the side of 40 where 25s are disposed at) of the electrical machine (40), such that the first machine terminal (the 25 posited axially closer to bearing plate 50, Fig. 3) is positioned axially closer to the bearing plate (50) along the machine axis (the longitudinal direction 3) than the axial distal end (where 44 is) of the electric machine (40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed but non-depicted plurality of first machine terminal to be the plurality of first machine terminals disposed at and arranged axial along the first side of the electric machine as taught by Rogner, such that
the first machine terminal is positioned axially closer to the gearbox along the first machine axis than the axial distal end of the first electric machine
in order to provide easier accessibility for connecting external utility lines and reduce construction dimensions (Rogner, [0011 and 0013]).
Regarding claim 12, Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt further teaches the first machine terminal (Duong’s first machine terminal of Duong’s 98 in order to provide electricity) is one of a plurality of first machine terminals (Duong’s generator 98 is an alternating current generator as taught by Prabhakaran’s [0056], wherein an alternating current generator comprising three terminals to provide an alternating current), the first electric cable (Prabhakaran’s first electric cable in Prabhakaran’s annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1) is one of a plurality of first electric cables (because Duong’s generator 98 is an alternating current generator as taught by Prabhakaran’s [0056], wherein an alternating current generator comprising three terminals to provide an alternating current to the convertor 157 via three first electric cables), and each of the plurality of first electric cables is electrically coupled to the first machine stator through a respective one of the plurality of the first machine terminals (such claimed structure is known as the electrical connections between an alternating current generator and a convertor).
The motivation of the combination of Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt is the same with the reason for applying Prabhakaran to the rejection of claim 1 as explained above.
Duong in view of Prabhakaran and Fitt does not teach a plurality of first machine terminals disposed at and arranged axially along the first side of the first electric machine.
However, Rogner teaches a plurality of first machine terminals (a plurality of 25s, Fig. 3) disposed at and arranged axially along (relative to a longitudinal direction 3) the first side (the side of 40 where 25s are disposed at) of the electrical machine (40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed but non-depicted plurality of first machine terminal to be the plurality of first machine terminals disposed at and arranged axial along the first side of the electric machine as taught by Rogner in order to provide easier accessibility for connecting external utility lines and reduce construction dimensions (Rogner, [0011 and 0013]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Examiner further considered at least the references listed below.
HANRAHAN 20230374944 teaches an assembly for an aircraft powerplant, comprising: a gearbox; a first electric machine mounted to the gearbox at a first side of the gearbox, the first electric machine including a first machine rotor, a first machine stator and a first machine terminal, the first machine rotor rotatable about a first machine axis, the first machine stator next to the first machine rotor, and the first machine terminal disposed at a first side of the first electric machine; a first electric cable electrically coupled to the first machine stator through the first machine terminal; a second electric machine mounted to the gearbox at the first side of the gearbox, the second electric machine including a second machine rotor, a second machine stator and a second machine terminal, the second machine rotor rotatable about a second machine axis, the second machine stator next to the second machine rotor, and the second machine terminal disposed at a second side of the second electric machine; and a second electric cable electrically coupled to the second machine stator through the second machine terminal, wherein the gearbox comprising a plurality of gears configured to be sized, such that the rotational speed of the first electric machine is substantially the same with the rotational speed of the second electric machine.
Huang 20200157966 teaches an assembly for an aircraft powerplant, comprising: a gearbox; a first electric machine mounted to the gearbox at a first side of the gearbox, the first electric machine including a first machine rotor, a first machine stator and a first machine terminal, the first machine rotor rotatable about a first machine axis, the first machine stator next to the first machine rotor, and the first machine terminal disposed at a first side of the first electric machine; a first electric cable electrically coupled to the first machine stator through the first machine terminal; a second electric machine mounted to the gearbox at the first side of the gearbox, the second electric machine including a second machine rotor, a second machine stator and a second machine terminal, the second machine rotor rotatable about a second machine axis, the second machine stator next to the second machine rotor, and the second machine terminal disposed at a second side of the second electric machine; and a second electric cable electrically coupled to the second machine stator through the second machine terminal, wherein the dimension of the fan casing is determined by a combination of the dimension of the gearbox and the dimension of each of the first electric machine and the second electric machine.
Beutin 20060183593 teaches an assembly for an aircraft powerplant, comprising: a gearbox; a first electric machine mounted to the gearbox at a first side of the gearbox, the first electric machine including a first machine rotor, a first machine stator and a first machine terminal, the first machine rotor rotatable about a first machine axis, the first machine stator next to the first machine rotor, and the first machine terminal disposed at a first side of the first electric machine; a first electric cable electrically coupled to the first machine stator through the first machine terminal; a second electric machine mounted to the gearbox at the first side of the gearbox, the second electric machine including a second machine rotor, a second machine stator and a second machine terminal, the second machine rotor rotatable about a second machine axis, the second machine stator next to the second machine rotor, and the second machine terminal disposed at a second side of the second electric machine; and a second electric cable electrically coupled to the second machine stator through the second machine terminal, wherein the gearbox including a plurality of gears configured to be sized, such that the rotational speed of the second electrical machine is 4.35 times of the rotational speed of the LP shaft of the turbine engine.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the arts on the record themselves or in combination do not teach in combined with other limitations of claim 8, “wherein a lateral width of the gap is equal to or less than at least one of an axial length of the first electric machine or an axial length of the second electric machine”, which requires a lateral width of the gap that forms between the first side of the first electric machine and the second side of the second electric machine facing the first side having a lateral width that is equal to or less than an axial length of the first electric machine and/or an axial length of the second electric machine.
Regarding claim 11, the arts on the record themselves or in combination do not teach in combined with other limitations of claim 11, “… the axial distal end of the first electric machine is disposed a first axial distance from the gearbox, and the first machine terminal is disposed a second axial distance from the gearbox that is equal to or greater than ten percent of the first axial distance”, which requires the first machine terminal of the first electric machine is disposed a second axial distance from the gearbox along the first machine axis that is equal to or greater than 10% of the axial length of the first electric machine, wherein the first machine terminal is disposed on the first side of the first electric machine that faces to the second side of the second electric machine at where the second machine terminal is disposed.
Conclusion
/JINGCHEN LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 3741