Remarks
Applicant elects Species I, Claims 1-6, 20 without traverse on 6/4/26.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Hefele et al. (2024/0356240).
Regarding Claim 1, Hefele et al. (2024/0356240) discloses an antenna, comprising:
a first resonator (21, 22, 27), a second resonator (25), and a reflection plate (13),
wherein the first resonator is located between the reflection plate (13) and the second resonator (25),
the first resonator (21, 22, 27) is coupled to the second resonator (25),
the first resonator is symmetric relative to a first plane (vertical plane in the middle of 27 which is between 21 and 22) of symmetry,
the first resonator comprises a plurality of portions (21, 22, 27), and
extension directions of the plurality of portions are different (the directions go different way) (fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Hefele discloses the antenna according to claim 1, wherein the first resonator comprises a first portion (27, fig. 10B), a second portion (21, fig. 2), and a third portion (22, fig. 2), the first portion (27) is mechanically connected between the second portion (21) and the third portion (22), the first portion (27) is symmetric relative to the first plane of symmetry, the second portion (22) is symmetric to the third portion (22) relative to the first plane of symmetry, and the second portion (21) extends from the first portion (27) away from the second resonator (25).
Regarding Claim 3, Hefele discloses the antenna according to claim 2, wherein an end of the second portion (21) away from the first portion (27) is an open end (24) of the first resonator (fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Hefele discloses the antenna according to claim 2, wherein the second portion (21) or the third portion (22) is: perpendicular to the first portion (27); or oblique to the first portion (fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 20, Hefele et al. (2024/0356240) discloses a communication device, comprising:
an antenna (1), wherein the antenna comprises
a first resonator (21, 22, 27), a second resonator (25), and a reflection plate (13),
wherein the first resonator (21, 22, 27) is located between the reflection plate (13) and the second resonator (25),
the first resonator (21, 22, 27) is coupled to the second resonator (25),
the first resonator (21, 22, 27) is symmetric relative to a first plane (vertical plane in the middle of 27 which is between 21 and 22) of symmetry,
the first resonator comprises a plurality of portions (21, 22, 27), and
extension directions of the plurality of portions are different (the directions go different way) (fig. 2).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hefele et al. (2024/0356240) in view of Mayer et al. (2016/0365641).
Regarding Claim 4, as discussed above, Hefele essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the antenna according to claim 2, wherein the first resonator further comprises a fourth portion and a fifth portion, the fourth portion is mechanically connected to an end of the second portion away from the first portion, the fifth portion is mechanically connected to an end of the third portion away from the first portion, and the fourth portion is symmetric to the fifth portion relative to the first plane of symmetry.
However, Mayer et al. (2016/0365641) discloses the first resonator further comprises a fourth portion (see below) and a fifth portion (see below), the fourth portion is mechanically connected to an end of the second portion away from the first portion (see below), the fifth portion is mechanically connected to an end of the third portion away from the first portion, and the fourth portion is symmetric to the fifth portion relative to the first plane of symmetry (see below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided fourth and fifth portions of Mayer in Hefele in order to provide accessibility or option to replace the resonator (25, or second resonator) of Hefele if it is malfunction without damaging the first resonator since the fourth and fifth portions of the first resonator would not be integrated with the second resonator.
Regarding Claim 5, Hefele in view of Mayer discloses the antenna according to claim 4, wherein the fourth portion extends from the second portion away from the third portion (See annotated figure 2 of Mayer).
Claim(s) 1-6, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al. (2016/0365641) in view of Tang et al. (2023/0110891).
Regarding Claim 1, Mayer et al. (2016/0365641) discloses an antenna, comprising:
a first resonator (7.1a, 7.1b, 17), a second resonator, and a reflection plate (3),
wherein the first resonator (7.1a, 7.1b, 17) is located between the reflection plate (3) and the second resonator,
the first resonator (7.1a, 7.1b, 17) is coupled to the second resonator,
the first resonator is symmetric relative to a first plane of symmetry,
the first resonator comprises a plurality of portions (annotated), and
extension directions of the plurality of portions are different (they extend in different directions).
As discussed above, Mayer essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose a second resonator located on top of the first resonator, which renders the first portion being located between the reflection plate (3) and the second resonator, the first resonator being coupled to the second resonator.
However, Tang et al. (2023/0110891) discloses a second resonator (See Fig. 1C) located on top of the first resonator (Figs. 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a second resonator located on top of the first resonator in Mayer which renders the first portion being located between the reflection plate (3) and the second resonator (fig. 1C of Tang), the first resonator being coupled to the second resonator, in order to expand a desired radiation coverage.
Regarding Claim 2, Mayer in view of Tang discloses the antenna according to claim 1, wherein the first resonator comprises a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the first portion is mechanically connected between the second portion and the third portion, the first portion is symmetric relative to the first plane of symmetry, the second portion is symmetric to the third portion relative to the first plane of symmetry, and the second portion extends from the first portion away from the second resonator (See annotated fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Mayer in view of Tang discloses the antenna according to claim 2, wherein an end of the second portion away from the first portion is an open end (connection between the fourth and first portions, or connection between fifth and third portions) of the first resonator (See annotated figure 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Mayer in view of Tang discloses the antenna according to claim 2, wherein the first resonator further comprises a fourth portion and a fifth portion, the fourth portion is mechanically connected to an end of the second portion away from the first portion, the fifth portion is mechanically connected to an end of the third portion away from the first portion, and the fourth portion is symmetric to the fifth portion relative to the first plane of symmetry (See annotated fig. 2 above).
Regarding Claim 5, Mayer in view of Tang discloses the antenna according to claim 4, wherein the fourth portion extends from the second portion away from the third portion (See annotated fig.2 above).
Regarding Claim 6, Mayer in view of Tang discloses the antenna according to claim 2, wherein the second portion or the third portion is: perpendicular to the first portion; or oblique to the first portion (See annotated fig. 2 above).
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845