DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 7/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 15, 16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/6/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the guide of claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (US 2020/0070436).
As to claim 1, Miller teaches A moulding tool for moulding a composite article preform, the composite article preform having a thickness that varies between different regions of the composite article preform, the moulding tool comprising [Abstract]: a first portion for moulding a corresponding first region of the composite article preform, the first portion of the moulding tool comprising a first material (42, 28, the caul body) [0034, 0035]; a second portion for moulding a corresponding second region of the composite article preform, the second portion of the moulding tool comprising a second material (the compliant plies/edge, 44) [0036-0038]; and a transition portion, between the first portion and the second portion, the transition portion comprising the first material and the second material (the examiner notes that considering the interface where the edges of 2 materials meet to be the transition area would divide a structure into a first region, 2nd region and transition region) [Fig 3, 5]; wherein the first material and the second material are different, and the first portion and the second portion have different stiffnesses (42, 28, the caul body) [0034, 0035].
The examiner notes the article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims, see MPEP 2115. Hence, the composite article preform having a variable thickness does not limit the apparatus and applicant is just describing an intended use of the apparatus. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
As to claim 2, Miller teaches that the thickness of the mold tool decreases from the first region to the 2nd region and thus conversely would supply a greater thickness to the article being formed in the 2nd region and therefore teaches at least one of a location or a spatial extent of the transition portion of the moulding tool is based upon a desired rate of change of thickness of the composite article preform [0035, 0046, Fig 3, 5]. However, The examiner notes the article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims, see MPEP 2115. Hence, the composite article preform having a variable thickness does not limit the apparatus and applicant is just describing an intended use of the apparatus. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
As to claims 3-5, Miller teaches the first material has a greater stiffness than the second material and is composed of Iron nickel alloy phrased as Invar [0034].
As to claim 6, Miller notes the second material comprises an elastomer [0037].
As to claim 7, Miller notes the elastomer is a silicone rubber [0034, 0037].
As to claim 8, Miller teaches that the thickness of the mold tool decreases from the first region to the 2nd region and thus conversely would supply a greater thickness to the article being formed in the 2nd region and therefore teaches the first region of the composite article preform is thinner than the second region of the composite article preform. However, The examiner notes the article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims, see MPEP 2115. Hence, the composite article preform having a variable thickness does limit the apparatus and applicant is just describing an intended use of the apparatus. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
As to claim 9, Miller notes the transition portion comprises a layered structure in which the first material (42a) is proximal to an outer surface of the composite article preform and the second material (44) overlays the first material [Fig 3].
As to claim 10, Miller notes a thickness of the first material in the layered structure of the transition portion decreases with distance from the first portion of the moulding tool [Fig 3, Fig 5].
As to claim 13, Miller teaches the first portion and the second portion are connected by an adhesive [0047].
As to claim 14, Miller teaches moulding tool comprises at least one guide, the at least one guide configured to enable movement of the moulding tool in a desired direction and to prevent movement of the moulding tool in an undesired direction [Fig 1]. As the guide may just be through hole [0109 of instant application] the annular configuration of the caul tool would have these features to the same extent as applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 2020/0070436) in view of Bendemra (Optimisation study of tapered scarf and stepped-lap joints In composite repair patches).
As to claim 11, Miller teaches thickness of the first material in the layered structure of the transition portion tapers to a substantially zero thickness [Fig 3, Fig 5]. However, the tapering is stepped and not continuous and does not disclose the taper is less than 20 degrees.
Bendemra teaches various joints in composite lap material [Abstract] and notes that tapered scarf joints are generally used and that the stepped joints tend to concentrate stress at the corners of the steps, however, the 2 are generally substituted for one another [Introduction, last paragraph of first page, first paragraph of 2nd page, Fig 1, Fig 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Miller and made joint between the 2 regions be continuous, as suggested by Bendemra, as this avoided the stress concentration of stepped joints. B
As to claim 12, Miller does not explicitly state a taper angle of the taper is less than 20 degrees.
Bendemra teaches various joints in composite lap material [Abstract] and utilizes taper angles of 3-12 degrees and notes that taper angle is a key determinant of stress [4.3 Effect of tape angle, 6. Discussion, Figs 6-8]. In other words, taper angle is a results effective variable. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case taper angle, is within the skill of one practicing art, see MPEP § 2144.05 II. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the taper angle to less than 20 degree, as suggested by Bendemra, in order to minimize stress and angles of 3-12 degrees were commonly used.
Conclusion
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759