DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-11, 14-17, 20-22, 25-39, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tao et al (US 9380691 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Tao et al discloses an alignment apparatus comprising: a light source (100) configured to: direct a first amplified light beam toward a target space (105) (target location) (col. 6, lines 53-col.7, line 9) such that an interaction between the first amplified light beam and a moving target in the target space forms a modified target; and direct a second amplified light (col. 2, lines 50-63 and col. 19, lines11-31) beam toward the target space such that an interaction between the second amplified light beam and the modified target in the target space generates plasma; and a light beam actuation system (155) (master controller) (col. 9, lines 21-30) configured to: adjust (steering system) a position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target to cause the first amplified light beam to overlap the target (col.9, lines 13-30) and after adjusting the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target to cause the first amplified light beam to overlap the target, adjust the position of the second amplified light beam relative to the first amplified light beam to cause the second amplified light beam to overlap the modified target (steering) (col. 9, lines 13-30).
Regarding claim 2, Tao et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system comprises a steering mechanism (col.9, lines 13-30) configured to steer or adjust a direction of the amplified light beam.
Regarding claim 3, Tao et al discloses further comprising a target metrology apparatus (124) configured to image (300) one or more of: the interaction between the first amplified light beam and the target; the interaction between the second amplified light beam and the modified target; the target; and the modified target (col. 9, lines 13-30 and 44-52).
Regarding claim 4, Tao et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target based on the imaging (col. 8, lines 41-60).
Regarding claim 5, Tao et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target based on an orientation of the modified target determined from imaging the modified target (col. 7, lines 10-22).
Regarding claim 6, Tao et al discloses wherein the target metrology is configured to determine when the second amplified light beam and the modified target overlap (i.e. metrology system 124 can include an optical element that samples or re-directs a subset of the light, optical element being made out of any material that can withstand the powers of the guide laser beam and the amplified light beam 110. A beam analysis system is formed from the metrology system 124 and the master controller 155 since the master controller 155 analyzes the sampled light from the guide laser 175 and uses this information to adjust components within the focus assembly 122 through the beam control system 158) (col. 9, lines 13-30).
Regarding claim 9, Tao et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the position of the second amplified light beam relative to the first amplified light beam to cause the second amplified light beam to overlap the modified target by adjusting the position of the second amplified light beam along a direction that is perpendicular to a direction at which the second amplified light beam travels (See Fig. 1 and (col. 4, lines 26-51).
Regarding claim 10, Tao et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the position of the second amplified light beam relative to the first amplified light beam to cause the second amplified light beam to overlap the modified target by adjusting a beam waist of the second amplified light beam along a direction at which the second amplified light beam travels (col. 4, lines 26-51).
Regarding claim 11, Tao et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the beam waist of the second amplified light beam along the direction at which the second amplified light beam travels by an amount that improves an amount of EUV light produced by the generated plasma (col. 4, lines 26-51).
Regarding claim 14, Tao et al discloses an alignment method comprising: directing a first amplified light beam toward a target space (105) (target location) (col. 6, lines 53-col.7, line 9) such that an interaction between the first amplified light beam and a moving target in the target space forms a modified target; directing a second amplified light beam toward the target space such that an interaction between the second amplified light beam (col. 2, lines 50-63 and col. 19, lines11-31) and the modified target in the target space generates plasma (See Abstract, col. 1, lines 52-62); adjusting a position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target to cause the first amplified light beam to overlap the target; (col.9, lines 13-30) and after adjusting the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target to cause the first amplified light beam to overlap the target, adjusting the position of the second amplified light beam relative to the first amplified light beam to cause the second amplified light beam to overlap the modified target (steering) (col. 9, lines 13-30).
Regarding claim 15, Tao et al discloses wherein adjusting the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target is based on an interaction between the first amplified light beam and the target (col. 9, lines 13-30 and 44-52).
Regarding claim 16, Tao et al discloses wherein adjusting the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target is based on imaging of the modified target (col. 8, lines 41-60).
Regarding claim 17, Tao et al discloses wherein adjusting the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target is based on an orientation of the modified target (col. 7, lines 10-22).
Regarding claim 20, Tao et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the position of the second amplified light beam relative to the first amplified light beam to cause the second amplified light beam to overlap the modified target by adjusting the position of the second amplified light beam along a direction that is perpendicular to a direction at which the second amplified light beam travels (See Fig. 1 and (col. 4, lines 26-51).
Regarding claim 21, Tao et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the position of the second amplified light beam relative to the first amplified light beam to cause the second amplified light beam to overlap the modified target by adjusting a beam waist of the second amplified light beam along a direction at which the second amplified light beam travels (col. 4, lines 26-51).
Regarding claim 22, Tao et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the beam waist of the second amplified light beam along the direction at which the second amplified light beam travels by an amount that improves an amount of EUV light produced by the generated plasma (col. 4, lines 26-51).
Regarding claim 25, Tao et al discloses wherein an alignment apparatus comprising: a light source (10) configured to direct a first amplified light beam toward a target space (105) (target location) (col. 6, lines 53-col.7, line 9) within a chamber (130) such that an interaction between the first amplified light beam and a moving target in the target space forms a modified target; a target metrology apparatus (124) configured to detect the interaction between the first amplified beam and the target (col. 9, lines 13-30 and 44-52); and a control system (155) (master controller) (col. 9, lines 21-30) in communication with the light source and the target metrology apparatus, the control system configured to: analyze the detected interaction output from the target metrology apparatus; and instruct the light source to adjust (steering system) a position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target to cause the first amplified light beam to overlap the target, the adjustment being based on the analysis of the detected interaction (col.9, lines 13-30).
Regarding claim 26, Tao et al discloses wherein the light source is configured to direct a second amplified light beam toward the target space such that an interaction between the second amplified light beam and the modified target in the target space generates plasma (Abstract, col. 1, lines 52-62 and col. 2, lines 50-63 and col. 19, lines11-31).
Regarding claim 27, Tao et al discloses wherein the target metrology apparatus comprises a camera arranged so that the target space is in the field of view of the camera (one or more target or droplet imagers) (col. 15, lines 55-col. 16, line 7).
Regarding claim 28, Tao et al discloses wherein the target metrology apparatus comprises two cameras arranged at different viewing angles and both arranged so that the target space is in their respective fields of view (one or more target or droplet imagers) (col. 15, lines 55-col. 16, line 7).
Regarding claim 29, Tao et al discloses wherein the control system is configured to activate the target metrology apparatus to thereby detect the interaction between the first amplified light beam and the target based on information regarding the first amplified light beam provided by the light source (col. 15, lines 55-col. 16, line 7).
Regarding claim 30, Tao et al discloses wherein the target metrology apparatus includes a dual droplet formation camera system that includes an illumination system and at least two cameras (one or more target or droplet imagers) (col. 15, lines 55-col. 16, line 7).
Regarding claim 31, Tao et al discloses wherein the at least two cameras (one or more target or droplet imagers) (col. 15, lines 55-col. 16, line 7) and the illumination system are mechanically referenced to a reference point in the chamber, wherein the reference point is a location within the target space, or a primary focus at which extreme ultraviolet light produced from the plasma is collected (col. 14, lines 60-col. 15, line 13).
Regarding claim 32, Tao et al discloses further comprising collecting extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light produced by the generated plasma at a primary focus and directing the EUV light to an intermediate focus (col. 6, lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 33, Tao et al discloses wherein the target metrology apparatus includes a dual droplet formation camera system including two cameras (one or more target or droplet imagers) (col. 15, lines 55-col. 16, line 7) and that are oriented such that the primary focus of the EUV light collector is in the field of view of each camera (col. 15, lines 55-col. 16, line 7).
Regarding claim 34, Tao et al discloses wherein the target metrology apparatus comprises a target steerer, the control system (155) (master controller) (col. 9, lines 21-30) is in communication with the target steerer and is configured to adjust the position of the target stream to thereby align the target stream to the primary focus of the EUV light collector (col.9, lines 13-30).
Regarding claim 35, Tao et al discloses wherein the control system is configured to instruct the light source to adjust (steering system) the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target to cause the first amplified light beam to overlap the target, the adjustment being based on the analysis of the detected interaction after the target stream has been aligned to the primary focus of the EUV light collector (col.9, lines 13-30).
Regarding claim 36, Tao et al discloses wherein an alignment method comprising: directing a first amplified light beam toward a target space within a chamber (130) such that an interaction between the first amplified light beam and a moving target in the target space (105) (target location) (col. 6, lines 53-col.7, line 9) forms a modified target; detecting the interaction between the first amplified beam and the target; analyzing the detected interaction; and adjusting (steering system) a position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target to cause the first amplified light beam to overlap the target, the adjustment being based on the analysis of the detected interaction (col.9, lines 13-30).
Regarding claim 37, Tao et al discloses wherein detecting the interaction between the first amplified light beam and the target comprises imaging the target at at least one image plane facing the target space (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 38, Tao et al discloses wherein detecting the interaction between the first amplified light beam and the target comprises imaging the target at two differently angled image planes, each facing the target space (target location) (130) (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 39, Tao et al discloses wherein detecting the interaction between the first amplified light beam and the target comprises detecting the interaction upon a trigger signal that is generated based on a time at which the first amplified light beam is generated (col. 16, lines 15-26).
Regarding claim 42, Tao et al discloses further comprising collecting extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light produced by the generated plasma at a primary focus and directing the EUV light to an intermediate focus (col. 6, lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 43, Tao et al discloses further comprising, prior to adjusting the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target to cause the first amplified light beam to overlap the target, adjusting a position of the target stream to thereby align the target stream to the primary focus (col.9, lines 13-30 and col. 14, lines 60-col. 15, line 13).
Regarding claim 44, Tao et al discloses further comprising, after adjusting (steering system) the position of the first amplified light beam relative to the target to cause the first amplified light beam to overlap the target, adjusting (steering system) a position of a second amplified light beam directed toward the target space relative to the modified target to cause the second amplified light beam to overlap the modified target (col. 9, lines 13-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 12-13, 18-19, 23-24, 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al (US 9380691 B2) in view of Senekerimyan et al (US 8000212 B2).
Regarding claims 7, 18, Tao et al discloses all of the limitations of parent claims 1 and 14, as stated supra however, Tao et al is silent with regards to moving beam to center the modified target as claimed. Senekerimyan et al discloses a metrology for EUV light source comprising: wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the position of the second amplified light beam relative to the first amplified light beam to cause the second amplified light beam to overlap the modified target by moving the second amplified light beam to center the modified target (col. 3, lines 54-line 67, col. 18, lines 60- col. 19, line 4). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Tao et al with the teaching of Senekerimyan et al, so as to yield predicable results ensuring maximum overlap.
Regarding claims 8, 19, Tao et al in view of Senekerimyan et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the position of the second amplified light beam relative to the first amplified light beam to cause the second amplified light beam to overlap the modified target by moving the second amplified light beam to maximize the overlap such that the second amplified light beam overlaps with a greater area of the modified target (col. 2, lines 40-45, col. 3, lines 54-line 67).
Regarding claims 12, 23, Tao et al in view of Senekerimyan et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to measure a position of the second amplified light beam relative to a position of the first amplified light beam (i.e. position of one or more components of optical component set adjusted based on one or more of the determined beam size and centroid (col. 3, lines 20-22).
Regarding claims 13, 24, Tao et al in view of Senekerimyan et al discloses wherein the light beam actuation system is configured to adjust the position of the second amplified light beam relative to the first amplified light beam based on the measured position of the second amplified light beam relative to the position of the first amplified light beam (col. 3, lines 54-67).
Regarding claim 40, Tao et al in view of Senekerimyan et al discloses wherein detecting the interaction between the first amplified light beam and the target comprises imaging, at a primary image plane, a backlit image of the target (col. 18, lines 4-12).
Regarding claim 41, Tao et al in view of Senekerimyan et al discloses wherein detecting the interaction between the first amplified light beam and the target comprises imaging, at a secondary image plane that is distinct from the primary image plane, a second backlit image of the target (col. 18, lines 4-12).
Conclusion
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884