DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the application filed on 26 November 2024, having claims 1-25 and drawing figures 1-10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 10,637,632 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following rationale:
Claims 1, 5, 7, 12, 22, and 24 are anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 2 is anticipated by claim 2 of the Patent.
Claims 3-4 and 15 are anticipated by claim 3 of the Patent.
Claim 6 is anticipated by claim 4 of the Patent.
Claim 8 is anticipated by claim 5 of the Patent.
Clams 9 and 19 are anticipated by claim 6 of the Patent.
Claims 10 and 20 are anticipated by claim 7 of the Patent.
Claims 11 and 21 are anticipated by claim 8 of the Patent.
Claims 13 and 23 are anticipated by claim 9 of the Patent.
Claims 14 and 16-17 are anticipated by claim 10 of the Patent.
Claim 25 is anticipated by claim 26 of the Patent.
4. Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,489,649 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following rationale:
Claims 1-25 are anticipated by claims 1-25 of the Patent, respectively.
5. Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,460 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following rationale.
Claims 1-25 are anticipated by claims 1-25 of the Patent, respectively.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 1-2, 12-14 and 22-25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “on the basis of” recited in claims 1-2 must be replaced by the phrase “based on” to render the claims affirmative.
In claim 1, lines 4-5, the phrase “physical downlink control channel, PDCCH” must be written as “Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)” the first time it is recited in the claim.
The acronym OFDM recited in claims 12-13 must be written as “Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM)” in the claims.
In claim 14, line 1, the phrase “base station, BS” must be written as “base station (BS)” the first time it is recited in the claim.
In claim 14, line 1, the phrase “physical downlink control channel, PDCCH” must be written as “Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)” the first time it is recited in the claim.
The acronym OFDM recited in claims 22-23 must be written as “Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM)” in the claims.
In claim 24, line 1, the phrase “user equipment, UE” must be written as “user equipment (UE)” the first time it is recited in the claim.
In claim 24, lines 8-9, the phrase “physical downlink control channel, PDCCH” must be written as “Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)” the first time it is recited in the claim.
In claim 25, line 1, the phrase “base station, BS” must be written as “base station (BS)” the first time it is recited in the claim.
In claim 25, line 8, the phrase “physical downlink control channel, PDCCH” must be written as “Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)” the first time it is recited in the claim.
The phrase “or vice versa” recited in claims 14 and 25 must be deleted to render the claims affirmative.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 14-16, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vajapeyam et al. (US 2011/0222491 A1).
For claims 1 and 24, Vajapeyam discloses a method implemented in a user equipment, UE, comprising: receiving system information ([0053] a control bit or flag is broadcast on a broadcast channel (PBCH) to indicate the control and data regions to the UE) indicating a current numerology of a control region with configurable numerology ([0046-0047] the eNB signals the control information for the PDCCH in 1, 2, 4, or 8 CCEs in common search space or UE-specific search space); and
decoding the control region in accordance with a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, mapping which is selected from PDCCH mappings on the basis of the current numerology ([0046-0047] the UE performs a blind decode based on the number of PDCCH candidates in the control region (Fig 4)).
For claim 2, Vajapeyam discloses comparing a numerology of a data region and said current numerology of the control region, wherein the PDCCH mapping is selected on the basis of an outcome of the comparison ([0046-0047] UE compares PDCCH (control) region with R-PDDCH (data region) to select the PDCCH mapping [0056]).
For claim 3, Vajapeyam discloses receiving an indication of the numerology of the data region ([0046] eNB signals to the UE the K locations of the R-PDCCH data region [0056]).
For claim 4, Vajapeyam discloses the comparison pertains to numerologies of a data region and a control region of a same slot (Fig 2, data region and control region of same slot (period of 14 symbols).
For claim 5, Vajapeyam discloses the system information is received on a broadcast channel ([0053] a control bit or flag is broadcast on a broadcast channel (PBCH) to indicate the control and data regions to the UE).
For claim 6, Vajapeyam discloses the control region comprises a common portion and a UE-specific portion, wherein a numerology of one of the portions is configurable independently of a numerology of the other one of the portions; and said comparison pertains to numerologies of the data region and a common portion of the control region ([0046] control information may be signaled in a common search space or UE-specific search space).
For claims 14 and 25, Vajapeyam discloses a method implemented in a base station, BS ([0046] eNB), comprising: transmitting system information indicating a current numerology of a control region with configurable numerology ([0053] a control bit or flag is broadcast on a broadcast channel (PBCH) to indicate the control region to the UE; [0046-0047] the eNB signals the control information for the PDCCH in 1, 2, 4, or 8 CCEs in common search space or UE-specific search space);
generating a signal using a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, mapping selected from PDCCH mappings; and transmitting the generated signal in the control region, wherein the PDCCH mapping is selected on the basis of the current numerology of the control region or vice versa ([0046-0047] the eNB signals/transmits the control information for the PDCCH in 1, 2, 4, or 8 CCEs in common search space or UE-specific search space, and the UE performs a blind decode based on the number of PDCCH candidates in the control region (Fig 4));
For claim 15, Vajapeyam discloses transmitting an indication of a numerology of a data region ([0053] a control bit or flag is broadcast on a broadcast channel (PBCH) to indicate the data region to the UE).
For claim 16, Vajapeyam discloses the system information is transmitted on a broadcast channel ([0053] a control bit or flag is broadcast (system information) on a broadcast channel (PBCH) to indicate the control and data regions to the UE).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 7-13 and 17-23 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims 1 and 14 but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471