DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) “performing a change point detection on a time series of data using one or more previously collected time series of data; an identification comprising: identifying one or more non-anomalous blips in the time series of data based on the change point detection; identifying one or more anomalous spikes in the time series of data based on the change point detection; and identifying one or more changes in normal in the time series of data based on the change point detection”, which is essentially comparing a set of data without older sets of data, and identify trends and differences using logical/mathematical algorithms. This can be done by the human mind with the assistance of pen and paper.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claims recite generic computer elements including: “a memory” and “at least one processor”. The generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps of “displaying” the results are well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d)
Similarly, dependent claims recite further details of the abstract idea, such as various parameters of the algorithm, and/or more well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions, such as “displaying” more results from the algorithm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovell (pub #US 20230077454 A1) in view of Huo (pub #US 20230110377 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lovell discloses a computer-implemented method for processing live streaming data (method of using the system in figure 2), the method comprising: performing a change point detection on a time series of data using one or more previously collected time series of data (using a comparator on data and previous data, paragraph 33); an identification comprising: identifying one or more anomalous spikes in the time series of data based on the change point detection (detecting anomaly using statistical analysis, paragraph 33); and identifying one or more changes in normal in the time series of data based on the change point detection (whether the data is within historical average, range, or maximum/minimums, paragraph 33);
Lovell does not disclose explicitly identifying blips. However, Huo discloses identifying one or more non-anomalous blips in the time series of data based on the change point detection (identifying errors in the data by comparing ECC data). Furthermore, teachings of Lovell and Huo are from the same field of error detection and correction in data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine teachings of Huo with Lovell by using ECC in the data transmission for the benefit of detecting errors in the data after transmission (paragraph 109).
The above combination discloses display devices in the system (for example, paragraph 61, Lovell), but does not disclose explicitly displaying the specific results of the comparison. However, examiner notes it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to display the various results, including “displaying the one or more changes in normal from the time series of data based on the identification; and displaying the one or more anomalous spikes from the time series of data based on the identification”, for the benefit of making the results comparison to a human user of the system.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, examiner notes that these claims are substantially similar to claim 1 above. The same grounds of rejection are applied.
Conclusion
/SCOTT C SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181