DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-14, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO2024037292) further in view of Jain (Pub No 20260230170)
Regarding claim 1,
Wang teaches a non-terrestrial core network entity for a communication network, the non-terrestrial core network entity comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the terrestrial core network entity, cause the terrestrial core network entity to perform operations, the operations comprising at least: (processor memory para [0146])
receiving data from a user equipment, wherein the data comprises Control Plane (CP) data or Non-Internet Protocol Delivery (NIDD) data; and (interpreted as the first UPF can then forward the user-facing data of the terminal stored when the connection is disconnected to the second UPF. For example, a satellite UPF can temporarily cache data uploaded by the terminal, see para [0020]. Control plane para [0097]))
buffering the data during a time period in which the non-terrestrial core network entity is not connected to a terrestrial core network entity; (interpreted as the first UPF can then forward the user-facing data of the terminal stored when the connection is disconnected to the second UPF. For example, a satellite UPF can temporarily cache data uploaded by the terminal, see para [0020]. The first UPF uses the held N9 core network tunnel information to forward the stored target user plane data to the second UPF, see para [0013])
when the non-terrestrial core network entity is connected to the terrestrial network entity, sending the data to the terrestrial core network entity. (interpreted as after connection restoration, the data uploaded by the terminal is forwarded to the ground, see para [0020])
However, Wang does not teach the non-terrestrial including a core network.
Jain teaches the non-terrestrial including a core network. (interpreted as satellite communication in the Fifth Generation (5G) Core Network (5GC), see para [0045])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the satellite taught by Wang with the satellite including a core network taught by Jain with the motivation being to provide communication in the NR architecture.
Regarding claim 11 and 21,
Wang teaches a terrestrial core network entity for a non-terrestrial network of a communication network, the terrestrial core network entity comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the terrestrial core network entity, cause the terrestrial core network entity to perform operations, the operations comprising at least: (processor memory para [0146])
connecting to a non-terrestrial core network entity; and after connecting to the non-terrestrial core network entity, receiving data from the non-terrestrial core network entity that was buffered at the non-terrestrial core network entity during a time period in which the terrestrial core network entity was not connected to the non-terrestrial core network entity, wherein the data was received at the non-terrestrial core network entity from a user equipment, and wherein the data comprises Control Plane (CP) data or Non-Internet Protocol Delivery (NIDD) data. (Interpreted as the first UPF can then forward the user-facing data of the terminal stored when the connection is disconnected to the second UPF. For example, a satellite UPF can temporarily cache data uploaded by the terminal, and after connection restoration, the data uploaded by the terminal is forwarded to the ground, see para [0020]. Control plane para [0097])
However, Wang does not teach the non-terrestrial including a core network.
Jain teaches the non-terrestrial including a core network. (interpreted as satellite communication in the Fifth Generation (5G) Core Network (5GC), see para [0045])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the satellite taught by Wang with the satellite including a core network taught by Jain with the motivation being to provide communication in the NR architecture.
Regarding claim 2,
Wang teaches the non-terrestrial core network entity according to claim 1, wherein the buffering comprises: buffering the data when user equipment context for the user equipment comprises an indication that the non-terrestrial core network entity is to store and forward data received from the user equipment. (interpreted as session policy requests sent by SMFs (session management function) corresponding to terminals, and tolerates service based on IoT latency contracts signed by the terminals, see para [0006]. S604 and SMF send N4 Session Establishment Request messages to the satellite UPF… Store and Forward Parameters= {UpLink Parameters={Active=True, see para [0124])
Regarding claim 3 and 14,
Wang teaches the non-terrestrial core network entity according to claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise: detecting the indication based on at least one of configuration of the non-terrestrial core network entity, subscriber information for a subscriber associated with the equipment, location information for the apparatus and an access and mobility policy; and storing, at the non-terrestrial core network entity, the indication in the user equipment context. (interpreted as session policy requests sent by SMFs (session management function) corresponding to terminals, and tolerates service based on IoT latency contracts signed by the terminals, see para [0006]. S604 and SMF send N4 Session Establishment Request messages to the satellite UPF… Store and Forward Parameters= {Uplink Parameters= {Active=True, see para [0124])
Regarding claim 7,
Wang teaches the non-terrestrial core network entity according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the operations further comprise: sending, in response to receiving the data from the user equipment, an acknowledgement message to the user equipment, wherein the acknowledgement message comprises a Non-Access-Stratum protocol message.
Jain teaches wherein the operations further comprise: sending, in response to receiving the data from the user equipment, an acknowledgement message to the user equipment, wherein the acknowledgement message comprises a Non-Access-Stratum protocol message. (interpreted as the term ACK (or acknowledgment) may refer to NAS/Access Stratum (AS) messages, see para [0141])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Wang with acknowledgement taught by Jain with the motivation being to confirm the data was received.
Regarding claim 9 and 19,
Wang teaches the non-terrestrial core network entity according to claim 1, wherein the terrestrial core network entity comprises an AMF. (interpreted as ground AMF 105 para [0034])
However, Wang does not teach the non-terrestrial core network entity comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF).
Jain teaches the non-terrestrial core network entity comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF). (interpreted as the satellite communication in the Fifth Generation (5G) Core Network (5GC). As illustrated in FIG. 4, the satellite 400 comprises at least one NF (on-board the satellite). Examples of the NF can be, but are not limited to, an Evolved Node (eNodeB), a Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a Home Subscriber Server (HSS), a Mobility Management Entity (MME), a Serving Gateway (S-GW), a Service Capability Exposure Function (SCEF), a Packet Data Network Gateway (P-GW), a Policy Control Function (PCF), a Data Network (DN), an Application Function (AF), a Policy and Charging Rules Function (PCRF), and any other NF, which are present in terrestrial networks, see para [0045])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the satellite taught by Wang with the satellite including a core network taught by Jain with the motivation being to provide communication in the NR architecture.
Regarding claim 10 and 20,
Wang teaches the non-terrestrial core network entity according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the non-terrestrial core network entity comprises a Mobility Management Entity (MME) and the terrestrial core network entity comprises an MME.
Jain teaches wherein the non-terrestrial core network entity comprises a Mobility Management Entity (MME) and the terrestrial core network entity comprises an MME. (interpreted as the satellite communication in the Fifth Generation (5G) Core Network (5GC). As illustrated in FIG. 4, the satellite 400 comprises at least one NF (on-board the satellite). Examples of the NF can be, but are not limited to, an Evolved Node (eNodeB), a Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a Home Subscriber Server (HSS), a Mobility Management Entity (MME), a Serving Gateway (S-GW), a Service Capability Exposure Function (SCEF), a Packet Data Network Gateway (P-GW), a Policy Control Function (PCF), a Data Network (DN), an Application Function (AF), a Policy and Charging Rules Function (PCRF), and any other NF, which are present in terrestrial networks, see para [0045])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the satellite taught by Wang with the satellite including a core network taught by Jain with the motivation being to provide communication in the NR architecture.
Regarding claim 12,
Wang teaches the terrestrial core network entity according to claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from a network entity and at a first time, second data for sending to the user equipment; determining that a second non-terrestrial core network entity will be configured to connect to the user equipment and the terrestrial core network entity at a second time, wherein the second time is after the first time; (interpreted as SMF selects the satellite where the terminal is located in the access base station based on the data storage and forwarding policy and access vehicle parameters. The UPF supporting storage and forwarding functions is the relay UPF, see para [0069])
buffering the second data at the terrestrial core network entity until the second time; and at or after the second time and while the second non-terrestrial core network entity is connected to the user equipment and the terrestrial core network entity, sending the second data to the second non-terrestrial core network entity. (interpreted as the ground UPF can temporarily cache data transmitted to the terminal, and after connection restoration, the data transmitted to the terminal is uploaded to the satellite and forwarded to the terminal, see para [0020])
Regarding claim 13,
Wang teaches the terrestrial core network entity according to claim 12, wherein the buffering comprises: buffering the second data when an indication is present in a user equipment context for the user equipment. (interpreted as session policy requests sent by SMFs (session management function) corresponding to terminals, and tolerates service based on IoT latency contracts signed by the terminals, see para [0006]. S604 and SMF send N4 Session Establishment Request messages to the satellite UPF… Store and Forward Parameters= {Uplink Parameters= {Active=True, see para [0124])
Regarding claim 18,
Wang teaches the terrestrial core network entity according to claim 17, wherein the operations comprise further comprise: sending the payload to a third the non-terrestrial core network entity with connectivity to the terrestrial core network entity. (Interpreted as SMF selects the satellite where the terminal is located in the access base station based on the data storage and forwarding policy and access vehicle parameters. The UPF supporting storage and forwarding functions is the relay UPF, see para [0069])
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO2024037292) further in view of Jain (Pub No 20260230170) and Wang (Pub No 20160295504)
Regarding claim 5,
Wang teaches the non-terrestrial core network entity according to claim 2, however does not teach wherein the operations further comprise: determining a user equipment reachability of the user equipment based on the presence of the indication in the user equipment context, wherein when the indication is present in the user equipment context the user equipment is determined as reachable via a store-and-forward operation.
Wang’04 teaches wherein the operations further comprise determining a user equipment reachability of the user equipment based on the presence of the indication in the user equipment context, wherein when the indication is present in the user equipment context the user equipment is determined as reachable via a store-and-forward operation. (interpreted as This example mechanism may use a “Store and Forward” (S&F) function, which may reside with the SCEF for example, and when there is a downlink data delivery request, the SCEF/S&F function may send requests for monitoring WTRU reachability (e.g. one-time or continuously) to the MME/SGSN. When the WTRU becomes reachable, a “WTRU reachable” monitoring event may be triggered, and the report may be sent to the SCEF/S&F function, see para [0069])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the satellite taught by Wang with the reachability taught by Wang’04 with the motivation being to perform transmissions when devices are in range.
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO2024037292) further in view of Jain (Pub No 20260230170) and Peng (CN 118803744 A)
Regarding claim 8 and 17,
Wang teaches the non-terrestrial core network entity according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the data sent to the terrestrial core network entity is secured in a Non-Access-Stratum container, wherein the terrestrial core network entity is configured to decipher the Non-Access-Stratum container using a security context of the user equipment.
Peng teaches wherein the data sent to the terrestrial core network entity is secured in a Non-Access-Stratum container, wherein the terrestrial core network entity is configured to decipher the Non-Access-Stratum container using a security context of the user equipment. (interpreted as sending the second response message to the target AMF when the security context of the terminal exists locally, and the NAS integrity verification of the initial NAS message is successful, and the source AMF does not change the first KAMF, the second response message carries the SPUI of the terminal and the first KAMF, the SPUI is used for indicating the target AMF to receive the security context of the terminal, the first KAMF is used for decoding the complete initial NAS message in the NAS container, see pg. 12 paragraph 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the data taught by Wang with the NAS message taught by Peng with the motivation to provide secure transmission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 6, 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4 and 15,
The prior art does not teach the non-terrestrial core network entity according to claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a periodic update timer value for the user equipment for at least one of a periodic registration update and a tracking area update, wherein when the indication is present in the context information for the user equipment, the periodic update timer value is increased relative to when the indication is not present in the context information for the user equipment.
Regarding claim 6 and 16,
The prior art does not teach the non-terrestrial core network entity according to claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a timer value for the user equipment for detaching from a network when not connected to the terrestrial network function, wherein when the indication is present in the context information for the user equipment, the timer value is increased relative to when the indication is not present in the context information for the user equipment.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461