DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gaps” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 18 recite the limitation “a gap is formed between opposing surfaces of the first reef module and the second reef module”. This limitation renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear as to what component of the invention is intended to be claimed, as there can by may “gaps” between opposing surfaces of adjacent modules.
Claims 2-12 and 19 are similarly rejected for being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Birbeck (US 2020/0149238).
Regarding claims 1-4, 13, 14 and 20, Birbeck discloses a customizable artificial reef structure and method of installing them underwater [Paragraph 1] comprising a plurality of reef modules [Figures 6A & 6B] having holes and male/female keying features on opposing sides [Figure 14 embodiment]; a gap formed between opposing surfaces of adjacent modules [between top surfaces, gaps in dovetail seats, gaps between holes/features of the crushed shellfish in the concrete block; Paragraphs 57, 83 & 84]; wherein the modules are positioned in a berm and spur configuration [via block configuration 60 in Figure 12, should the dovetails be connected with, this configuration would be achieved].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-12 and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birbeck (US 2020/0149238) alone.
Regarding claims 5-12 and 21-26, although Birbeck is silent as to the specific combinations of the module configurations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct them with multiple spurs, and with crests [smaller modules at the apex of larger modules best seen in Figure 3A] between said spurs, depending on a number of factors including module size, wave velocity and tidal ranges, length of the berm etc, to increase rigidity, water dispersion, and habitats for plant life on said module configuration. Furthermore, Birbeck discloses the modules can be utilized for multiple purposes and be positioned in any imagined configuration [Paragraphs 54-56 & Paragraphs 76-87].
Specifically regarding the height/width, wave reduction percentage, and fractal dimension requirements of claims 7, 9, 23 and 25, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to construct them in such a manner for the reasons noted above. Additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Klenert (US 2017/0268191) discloses an artificial shell reef comprising berms and spurs like those of the claimed invention. Lee et al. (KR 101329554 B1) discloses an artificial reef comprising a berm and a crest behind it like those of the claimed invention. Lim (KR 20200052158 A) discloses an artificial reef comprising m/f “key features” like those of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619