DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office Action is in response to initial filing on 12/23/2025.
Claims 1-41 were previously cancelled.
Claims 42-60 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/26/2024. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Notice of Allowance on 10/21/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
NOTE: Upon considering the IDS submitted, reconsidering previous prior art and upon updating search and carefully re-examining the claims, the Examiner presents the following office action as the previous cited art reads on current claim limitations as presented. Please see discussion bellow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant’s submission of prior art Peirong et al (CN 112243243) in view of Hongmei et al (CN 112153719).
Regarding claim 42, Peirong discloses a user equipment (Figure 34, user equipment) comprising:
at least one processor (Figure 4, processor 42); and at least one memory (Figure 4, memory 41) storing instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform:
receiving first information of a network slice that is to be made available to the user equipment on a temporary basis, the first information comprising an identifier of the network slice ([0051], “Step 16 shows the AMF entity initiating configuration update process.” [0052], “The AMF entity initiates an update request configuration to the user matching temporary network slice, which carries allowed access network slice identification information including temporary network slice identification information, i.e., the updated allowed NSSAI that includes the S-NSSAI (Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information); the network slice selection policy (NSSP) that characterizes the correspondence between the temporary network slice and its matching application, that is, the NSSP is generated according to the application information matching the temporary network slice; …;” Figure 1, step 16and Figure 2, step 28);
receiving second information of the network slice, the second information comprising [timing information indicating time of availability] of the network slice ([0003], ll. 4-5, [0004], state that “URSP contains several NSSPs (Network Slice Selection Policy), and each NSSP is the correspondence between an application and a network slice. The user equipment will select which network slice to use for the application based on the NSSP in the URSP; and
accessing the network slice in accordance with the [timing information indicating the time of availability] of the network slice ([0003] and [0004], UE receiving a configuration request form and Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, which comprises an NSSAI, an S-NSSAI and Network Slice Selection Policy, NSSP and that temporary network slices corresponding to temporality activities; [0052] further states that “the AMF entity initiates a configuration update request to the user matching the temporary network slice, which carries the network slide identification information allowed to access including the temporary network slide identification information …”).
Peirong does not expressly disclose receiving timing information indicating time of availability.
However, Hongmei [0010] discloses that the temporary network slice when the duration of the temporary network slice exceed a predetermined time, wherein the start time of the temporary network slice is earlier than the start time of the activity duration (i.e., “timing information indicating time”) and the end time of the temporary network slice is later than the end time of the activity duration; Hongmei [0011] according to the number of users that may be within the active site within the duration of activity, and the type of service that may be used by the user in the active venue within the duration of activity; and, Hongmei [0039] the 5G terminal accesses the temporary network slice, sending an identifier of the temporary network slice to the 5G terminal so that the 5G terminal displays that it has accessed the temporary network slice.
Thus, receiving timing information (e.g., duration of the temporary network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanism of Peirong with the mechanisms of Hongmei to include information indicating timing information as taught by Hongmei for the purpose of adjusting the resources dedicated or available to the network slice and therefore guaranteeing efficient resource distribution among different slices and applications.
Regarding claim 43, in the obvious combination, Peirong discloses the user equipment according to claim 42, wherein the first information comprises single network slice selection assistance information ([0052], “… allowed to access including the temporary network slice identification information, that is S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 44, in the obvious combination, Hongmei discloses the user equipment according to claim 42, wherein the timing information comprises a validity time of the network slice (Hongmei, [0010] discloses that the temporary network slice when the duration of the temporary network slice exceed a predetermined time, wherein the start time of the temporary network slice is earlier than the start time of the activity duration and the end time of the temporary network slice is alter than the end time of the activity duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanism of Peirong with the mechanisms of Hongmei to include information indicating timing information as taught by Hongmei for the purpose of adjusting the resources dedicated or available to the network slice and therefore guaranteeing efficient resource distribution among different slices and applications.
Regarding claim 45, in the obvious combination, Hongmei discloses the user equipment according to claim 44, wherein the validity time is in the form of at least one of: an absolute time interval; a time interval relative to a reference time; or a periodic time interval slice (Hongmei, [0010] discloses that the temporary network slice when the duration of the temporary network slice exceed a predetermined time, wherein the start time of the temporary network slice is earlier than the start time of the activity duration and the end time of the temporary network slice is alter than the end time of the activity duration. Thus, a validity time).
Regarding claim 46, in the obvious combination, Hongmei discloses the user equipment according to claim 44, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment to perform: automatically considering the network slice as rejected when the validity time expires (Hongmei, [0010] discloses that the temporary network slice when the duration of the temporary network slice exceed a predetermined time, wherein the start time of the temporary network slice is earlier than the start time of the activity duration and the end time of the temporary network slice is later than the end time of the activity duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanism of Peirong with the mechanisms of Hongmei to include stopping packet data unit session as taught by Hongmei for the purpose of saving resources of temporary network slices the time of availability of network slice has expired.
Regarding claim 47, in the obvious combination, Hongmei discloses the user equipment according to claim 44, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment to perform:
stopping a packet data unit session when the validity time expires (Hongmei [0046], “when the duration of the temporary network slice exceeds a predetermined time, the temporary network slice can be dismantled to release network resource in time,, thus in order to avoid waste of resources of network slices”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanism of Peirong with the mechanisms of Hongmei to include stopping packet data unit session as taught by Hongmei for the purpose of saving resources of temporary network slices the time of availability of network slice has expired.
Regarding claim 48, Peirong discloses the user equipment according to claim 44, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment to perform: when the validity time expires, enabling any ongoing packet data unit sessions associated with the network slice to be completed ([0047], “after instantiating a temporary network slice, a timer may be started; [0046], “in order to avoid waste of resources of temporary network slices, if the duration of the temporary network slice exceeds a predetermined time, the temporary network slice can be dismantled to release network resources in time”); and preventing any new packet data unit sessions associated with the network slice from being started ([0047], “when the timer expires, the temporary network slice can be removed”) .
Regarding claim 49, Peirong discloses the user equipment according to claim 42, wherein the timing information comprises at least one of: a first validity time comprising a deployment time of the network slice; or a second validity time comprising a time for which the apparatus is allowed to use the network slice ([0047] states that “after instantiating a temporary network slice, a timer (e.g., “validity time allowed to use network slice”) may be started).
Claim 50 contains subject matter similar to claim 42, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Peirong, “computer readable storage having a computer program stored, and processor …”, (claim 11)).
Claim 51 contains subject matter similar to claim 43, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 52 contains subject matter similar to claim 44, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 53 contains subject matter similar to claim 45, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 54 contains subject matter similar to claim 46, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 55 contains subject matter similar to claim 47, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 56 contains subject matter similar to claim 48, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 57 contains subject matter similar to claim 49, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 58 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Peirong, Figure 3, “user equipment”).
Claim 59 contains subject matter similar to claim 43, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 60 contains subject matter similar to claim 45, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 61 contains subject matter similar to claim 49, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12219356 to Faccin et al: Enable access and use of network slices by user equipment devices connected to a network (e.g., 5G or New Radio network) via network components associated with a service provider by generating an allowed network slice selection assistance information.
CN 111165025 to Deng et al: Relating to the technical field of communication, which can slice resource slice by the terminal application terminal information corresponding to the terminal slice function and network slice function synergy working.
US 20230156583 to Murray et al: systems, or devices may assist in performing slice-based cell selection and reselection, offloading of initial access attempts for a given slice to a specific frequency layer, performing slice-aware PLMN selection, performing slice-based barring, performing slice-based Random Access.
US 20230053127 Sugawara: PDU session establishment request message including an S-NSSAI and a PDU session ID, and receives a PDU session establishment accept message including the S-NSSAI, the PDU session ID, a first cause value, a first back-off timer value, a first Session-AMBR IE, and a second Session-AMBR IE.
/JULIO R PEREZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644