DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Yapp is silent regarding the additional amended limitations of claims 1 and 14, but does not provide further rationale. The examiner presents an interpretation of Yapp in the 35 U.S.C 102 rejections below that finds these limitations are anticipated by Yapp.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,781,549 and 12,168,981 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims of each of the prior patents substantially include all of the limitations of the claims of the instant application as well as having additional limitations. It is noted the examiner finds the amended limitations in claims 1 and 14 of the rotation of the vane cover relative to the static base results in the at least one choke point passing over the plurality of vanes to be implicit to the claims of the prior patents. Additionally, the prior patents also have substantially identical dependent claims (except for the instant application’s claim 2 and 15 with regard to 12,168,981). The prior patents therefore anticipate the instant application’s claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8, 14, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yapp et al. (U.S Patent 5,489,186) hereinafter Yapp.
Regarding claim 1, Yapp discloses:
A device comprising:
a plurality of vanes coupled to a static base {Figure 5A (61) are vanes coupled to a static base (58)/(60)/(65)};
a vane cover rotatably coupled to the static base {Figure 5A (54)/(55)/(56)},
wherein the vane cover comprises:
at least one air inlet {Annotated Figure 1 (I)};
at least one air duct extending from the vane cover {Annotated Figure 1, air ducts are defined between circumferentially spaced instances of (54) starting from (II) and extend from the vane cover},
wherein the at least one air duct comprises an inlet and an outlet {Annotated Figure 1, each air duct defined by the radially inner shroud, radially outer shroud (55), and circumferentially spaced instances of (54) has an inlet (II) and an outlet at the right side of the figure},
wherein the outlet is configured to direct an airflow {Figure 5A, the outlet is the rightmost end of the air duct and directs the flow axially by its geometry that extends in the axial direction}; and
at least one choke point disposed in the vane cover {Figure 5A, the cross sectional area within (55) decreases along the axial direction such that the surface where (III) is has the smallest cross-sectional area. This decreased cross-sectional area region is considered at least one choke point},
wherein the at least one choke point is configured to increase a pressure of the airflow {Figure 5, the choke point described above increases the pressure of the as it part of fan blade (54) which imparts energy to the airflow}
wherein rotation of the vane cover relative to the static base results in the at least one choke point passing over the plurality of vanes {Annotated Figure 1 (III) is considered to pass over the plurality of vanes as the vane cover rotates}.
Regarding claim 5, Yapp further discloses:
wherein: the at least one air inlet comprises three air inlets configured to act as air intakes for the airflow {Figure 5A, each duct defined by circumferentially adjacent blades of (54) and inner and outer shrouds may be considered one of the three air inlets and act as air intakes for airflow; see implicit disclosure MPEP 2112};
the at least one air duct comprises three air ducts extending from the vane cover and configured to direct the airflow {Figure 5A, each duct defined by circumferentially adjacent blades of (54) and inner and outer shrouds extends from the vane cover as it is defined by the vane cover and directs airflow axially}; and
the at least one choke point comprises three choke points disposed in the vane cover adjacent to the vanes and configured to increase the pressure of the airflow {Figure 5A, the choke point discussed in claim 1 is a radial position in which (56) extends radially inward, this radial position continues along a circumferential line such that each of the air ducts discussed above may be considered to have their own respective choke point. Each of these choke points increases the pressure of the airflow as discussed in claim 1}
Regarding claim 6, Yapp further discloses:
wherein the three air ducts comprise a first air duct and a second air duct, each having a first cross-sectional area {Figure 5A, there are numerous blades (54) that are circumferentially spaced forming multiple air ducts with the inner and outer shroud; each air duct has the same cross-sectional area}, and
a third air duct having a second cross-sectional area {Figure 5A, there is a third air duct as described above with the same cross-sectional area. It is noted that the second cross-sectional area does not have to be different than the first cross-sectional area as claimed}.
Regarding claim 7, Yapp further discloses:
wherein the vane cover at least partially encloses the plurality of vanes {Figure 5A, (56) and (54) of the vane cover partially encloses the plurality of vanes (61)}.
Regarding claim 8, Yapp further discloses:
wherein the vane cover is coupled to an electronic spinning assembly and configured to rotate with the electronic spinning assembly {Figure 5A, the vane cover is coupled to the rotor/shaft of the motor (65) to spin. The rotor/shaft of the motor is considered the electronic spinning assembly}.
Regarding claim 14, Yapp discloses:
A system comprising:
a vehicle {Column 2 lines 52-58, automobile}
wherein the static base is mounted to the vehicle {Column 2 lines 52-58, the radiator and associated base of an automobile is mounted to the automobile, the static base is static as it does not rotate}
a vane cover rotatably coupled to the static base {Figure 5A (54)/(55)/(56)},
wherein the vane cover comprises:
at least one air inlet {Annotated Figure 1 (I)};
at least one air duct extending from the vane cover {Annotated Figure 1, air ducts are defined between circumferentially spaced instances of (54) starting from (II) and extend from the vane cover},
wherein the at least one air duct comprises an inlet and an outlet {Annotated Figure 1, each air duct defined by the radially inner shroud, radially outer shroud (55), and circumferentially spaced instances of (54) has an inlet (II) and an outlet at the right side of the figure},
wherein the outlet is configured to direct an airflow {Figure 5A, the outlet is the rightmost end of the air duct and directs the flow axially by its geometry that extends in the axial direction}; and
at least one choke point disposed in the vane cover {Figure 5A, the cross sectional area within (55) decreases along the axial direction such that the surface where (III) is has the smallest cross-sectional area. This decreased cross-sectional area region is considered at least one choke point},
wherein the at least one choke point is configured to increase a pressure of the airflow {Figure 5, the choke point described above increases the pressure of the as it part of fan blade (54) which imparts energy to the airflow}
wherein rotation of the vane cover relative to the static base results in the at least one choke point and at least one inlet of the at least one air duct passing over the plurality of vanes {Annotated Figure 1 (III) and (II) are considered to pass over the plurality of vanes as the vane cover rotates which includes (54) and (56)}.
Claims 18-19 are substantially identical to claims 5 and 6 respectively. For purposes of brevity and clarity, these rejections are not repeated. Please see the rejections of claims 5 and 6 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapp et al. (U.S Patent 5,489,186) hereinafter Yapp in view of Takeuchi et al. (U.S Patent 5,947,189).
Regarding claim 12, Yapp discloses the device of claim 8, but is silent regarding:
wherein the electronic spinning assembly comprises at least one sensor.
Takeuchi pertains to fans / airflow generating devices. Takeuchi teaches:
wherein the electronic spinning assembly comprises at least one sensor {Column 5 lines 47-55}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a sensor in the electronic spinning assembly of Yapp as taught by Takeuchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as controlling a motor is advantageously done based on the conditions of the system / requirements {Takeuchi Column 5 lines 47-55}.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapp et al. (U.S Patent 5,489,186) hereinafter Yapp in view of Loercher et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20250084867) hereinafter Loercher.
Regarding claim 20, Yapp discloses the system of claim 14, but does not teach:
wherein the plurality of vanes comprise a curved shape.
Loercher pertains to fan which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention as those by add energy to air. Loercher teaches:
wherein the plurality of vanes comprise a curved shape {Figures 8 (3) are vanes / guide blades that are curved, additionally see MPEP 2144.01 as the vane implicitly has some degree of a curved shape}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have vanes that support the motor of Yapp be curved as taught by Loercher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as guide blades / vanes are typically curved and can positively influence airflow {Loercher [0032]}.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745