DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HUGHS et al. (US 20230298880 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HUGHS discloses a quantum information processing (QIP) system [0002] comprising:
a vacuum housing (figs. 1a-1b, 100) defining a chamber (130);
an ion trap (140) positioned within the chamber; and
at least one optical viewport (160) coupled [0025-0027] to the vacuum housing and configured to provide optical access to the chamber, the at least one optical viewport including a glass portion [0026] including an aluminosilicate glass (ASG) material [0026] and a metal frame [0027]
(figs. 1a-1b; vacuum housing 100 with walls 110, 120; ion trap 140; optical viewport 160; metal frame of walls 110, 120)
[0014]
[0025-0027].
Regarding claim 8, HUGHS discloses an optical viewport (160) for use with a vacuum housing (figs. 1a-1b, 100), the optical viewport comprising:
a glass portion [0026] including an aluminosilicate glass (ASG) material [0026] bonded to a metal frame [0027]
(figs. 1a-1b; vacuum housing 100 with walls 110, 120; ion trap 140; optical viewport 160; metal frame of walls 110, 120)
[0014]
[0024-0027].
Regarding claims 4 and 11, HUGHS discloses that the ASG material [0026] is directly bonded to the metal frame [0027] in a hermetic seal [0024] (reference’s claim 7 and 13)
Regarding claims 6 and 13, HUGHS discloses that the QIP system is operable at room temperature [0026 Note operational temperature range(s) may include 0° C.-300° C].
Regarding claims 7 and 14, HUGHS discloses that the metal frame [0027] includes at least one of titanium [0027],
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 2-3 AND 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over HUGHS et al. (US 20230298880 A1) in view of HUGHS et al. (US 20120258022 A1); hereinafter HUGHS2.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, HUGHS discloses that the ASG material (160) [0026] includes
Regarding claims 3 and 10, HUGHS discloses that the ASG material (160) [0026] includes
But HUGHS fails to disclose that the ASG material includes approximately 15% alumina by weight; and
that the ASG material includes at least 15% alumina by weight.
HUGHS2, however, discloses a vacuum chamber with viewing window made from aluminosilicate material [0039] and that the
that the ASG material includes approximately 15% alumina by weight (reference’s claims 1 and 3); and
that the ASG material includes at least 15% alumina by weight (reference’s claims 1 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of HUGHS, with ASG material includes approximately 15% alumina o0r ASG material includes at least 15% alumina, as taught by HUGHS2, to use window material having low helium permeability (abstract) for improved vacuum conditions.
2. Claim(s) 5 AND 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over HUGHS et al. (US 20230298880 A1) in view of CANTY et al. (US 6359742 B1).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, HUGHS discloses that the metal frame [0027] is fixed to the vacuum housing (walls 110 or 120) [0027] in a hermetic seal [0024] (reference’s claim 7 and 13)
But HUGHS fails to disclose the metal frame is welded to the vacuum housing.
CANTY, however, discloses a window on a metal frame and that the metal frame is welded to a vacuum housing (abstract) (col. 2, lines 15-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of HUGHS, with a metal frame is welded to the vacuum housing, as taught by CANTY, to use as a substitution of one known fusing type (i.e. welded) for another to obtain predictable fusing results for window metal frame sealing to vacuum chamber .
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878