DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 112758837 A).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a transfer apparatus of a battery swap station for transferring batteries (battery swapping robot, figs.1-5, abstract), the transfer apparatus comprising: a foundation (lifting mechanism 42, frame 421 as a foundation, fig.3) including a first matching portion (guide posts 422, fig.3); a drive mechanism (figure 3 shows reels disposed on the bottom of the frame 421 as a drive mechanism for lifting the battery), disposed on the foundation; and a lifting member (figure 3 showing the connection of the hoist 43 and the frame 321 by a hanging rope), connected to the drive mechanism, wherein the drive mechanism is configured to drive the lifting member to ascend and descend (paragraph [0035] describes the ascending and descending movement of the hoist 43, also see figure 5 showing the driving mechanism on the side of the hoist 43), the lifting member includes a second matching portion (sleeves 431, fig.3), the second matching portion and the first matching portion are disposed opposite each other in an ascending and descending direction of the lifting member (fig.3), and the first matching portion and the second matching portion are configured to match together when the lifting member reaches a predetermined position to limit movement of the lifting member in a direction perpendicular to the ascending and descending direction (paragraph [0036] describes the movement when lifting mechanism lifts the spreader to a preset height, the guide post 422 penetrates the guide sleeve and cooperates with the guide sleeve 431 to guide the spreader and the frame).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses wherein one of the first matching portion and the second matching portion comprises a guide post (guide post 422) and a second one of the first matching portion and the second matching portion comprises a sleeve (guide sleeve 431); and wherein the guide post is configured to be inserted into the sleeve when the lifting member reaches the predetermined position (guide post 422 penetrates the guide sleeve and cooperates with the guide sleeve 431, paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses wherein the sleeve comprises a guide hole (hole in the guide sleeve 431 to receive the column 422, fig.3), and the guide hole comprises a limiting section (cylindrical part of the guide sleeve 431, fig.3); and wherein the guide post comprises a main body (main body of column 422, fig.3), and the limiting section is configured to accommodate at least a portion of the main body to limit the main body.
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses wherein the guide hole further comprises a guide section (conical part of the guide sleeve 431, fig.3), the guide section is located on a side of the limiting section facing toward the lifting member, and an aperture of the guide section gradually increases in a direction back away from the limiting section (conical part of guide sleeve 431 has aperture that gradually increases away from the cylindrical part of guide sleeve 431, fig.3).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses wherein a conical head (conical part of the guide sleeve 431, fig.3) is disposed on a side of the main body facing toward the sleeve (fig.3).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses a battery swap station (power changing robot and station, fig.1), comprising: a parking platform (changing area 400, fig.1), supporting an electrical apparatus; a battery compartment, accommodating batteries (batteries 300, fig.1) and charging the batteries (charging area 200); and a transfer apparatus (battery swapping robot, figs.1-5, abstract), the transfer apparatus comprising: a foundation (lifting mechanism 42, frame 421 as a foundation, fig.3) including a first matching portion (guide posts 422, fig.3); a drive mechanism (figure 3 shows reels disposed on the bottom of the frame 421 as a drive mechanism for lifting the battery), disposed on the foundation; and a lifting member (figure 3 showing the connection of the hoist 43 and the frame 321 by a hanging rope), connected to the drive mechanism, wherein the drive mechanism is configured to drive the lifting member to ascend and descend (paragraph [0035] describes the ascending and descending movement of the hoist 43, also see figure 5 showing the driving mechanism on the side of the hoist 43), the lifting member includes a second matching portion (sleeves 431, fig.3), the second matching portion and the first matching portion are disposed opposite each other in an ascending and descending direction of the lifting member (fig.3), and the first matching portion and the second matching portion are configured to match together when the lifting member reaches a predetermined position to limit movement of the lifting member in a direction perpendicular to the ascending and descending direction (paragraph [0036] describes the movement when lifting mechanism lifts the spreader to a preset height, the guide post 422 penetrates the guide sleeve and cooperates with the guide sleeve 431 to guide the spreader and the frame).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses wherein one of the first matching portion and the second matching portion comprises a guide post (guide post 422) and a second one of the first matching portion and the second matching portion comprises a sleeve (guide sleeve 431); and wherein the guide post is configured to be inserted into the sleeve when the lifting member reaches the predetermined position (guide post 422 penetrates the guide sleeve and cooperates with the guide sleeve 431, paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses wherein the sleeve comprises a guide hole (hole in the guide sleeve 431 to receive the column 422, fig.3), and the guide hole comprises a limiting section (cylindrical part of the guide sleeve 431, fig.3); and wherein the guide post comprises a main body (main body of column 422, fig.3), and the limiting section is configured to accommodate at least a portion of the main body to limit the main body.
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses a method, comprising: transferring a battery at a battery swap station (power changing robot and station, fig.1), wherein the battery swap station comprises: comprising: a parking platform (changing area 400, fig.1), supporting an electrical apparatus; a battery compartment, accommodating batteries (batteries 300, fig.1) and charging the batteries (charging area 200); and a transfer apparatus (battery swapping robot, figs.1-5, abstract), the transfer apparatus comprising: a foundation (lifting mechanism 42, frame 421 as a foundation, fig.3) including a first matching portion (guide posts 422, fig.3); a drive mechanism (figure 3 shows reels disposed on the bottom of the frame 421 as a drive mechanism for lifting the battery), disposed on the foundation; and a lifting member (figure 3 showing the connection of the hoist 43 and the frame 321 by a hanging rope), connected to the drive mechanism, wherein the drive mechanism is configured to drive the lifting member to ascend and descend (paragraph [0035] describes the ascending and descending movement of the hoist 43, also see figure 5 showing the driving mechanism on the side of the hoist 43), the lifting member includes a second matching portion (sleeves 431, fig.3), the second matching portion and the first matching portion are disposed opposite each other in an ascending and descending direction of the lifting member (fig.3), and the first matching portion and the second matching portion are configured to match together when the lifting member reaches a predetermined position to limit movement of the lifting member in a direction perpendicular to the ascending and descending direction (paragraph [0036] describes the movement when lifting mechanism lifts the spreader to a preset height, the guide post 422 penetrates the guide sleeve and cooperates with the guide sleeve 431 to guide the spreader and the frame).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112758837 A) in view of In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Li discloses wherein a difference between an aperture of the limiting section and a diameter of the main body (aperture in cylindrical section of guide post 431 receives the guide column 422, fig.3), but fails to disclose the difference is from 0.1 mm to 10 mm. Gardner v. TEC Syst discloses where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the difference from 0.1mm to 10mm to limit the movement and take into account manufacturing tolerances and temperature changes.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112758837 A) in view of Hou (CN 113715679 A).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses wherein the guide hole further comprises an accommodating section (guide sleeve 431 accommodates the guide column 422, fig.3), the accommodating section is located on a side of the limiting section back away from the guide post (fig.3). Li fails to disclose an aperture of the accommodating section is greater in size than an aperture of the limiting section.
However, Hou discloses an aperture of the accommodating section is greater in size than an aperture of the limiting section (aperture of body cavity 3 is greater than inserting hole 4, fig.3).
Li and Hou are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the larger cavity diameter for locking mechanism of Hou with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing storage for the locking mechanism inside the sleeve to make a secure connection between the post and sleeve.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112758837 A) in view of Wu (CN 112607552 B).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the transfer apparatus of claim 5, but fails to disclose a buffer member.
However, Wu discloses wherein the guide post further comprises a base, one end of the main body is connected to the base, a first buffer member (figure 3, paragraphs [0002 and 0017], hoisting mechanism comprising buffer element at the bottom of guiding posts for reducing the impact upon contact with a heavy object) is disposed on a side of the base that is away from the main body, and a side of the first buffer member that is away from the base is detachable from the lifting member.
Li and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of lifting mechanisms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the buffers of Wu with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of reducing impact upon contact with a heavy object.
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses the transfer apparatus of claim 3, but fails to disclose a buffer member.
However, Wu discloses a buffer member (figure 3, paragraphs [0002 and 0017], hoisting mechanism comprising buffer element at the bottom of guiding posts for reducing the impact upon contact with a heavy object).
Li and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of lifting mechanisms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the buffers of Wu with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of reducing impact upon contact with a heavy object.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112758837 A) in view of Wu (CN 112607552 B), and in further view of Li (CN 216190317 U) referred to as Li(2) from hereon.
Regarding claim 11, Li in combination with Wu discloses the transfer apparatus of claim 6, but fails to disclose limiting members.
However, Li(2) discloses wherein the guide post further comprises limiting members disposed in a circumferential direction of the main body (reinforcing members around pin rod 211 as seen in figure 2), and the limiting members are configured to enter the guide section and abut against the limiting section (fig.2).
Li and Li(2) are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery swap station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the reinforcing members on the post of Li(2) with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of providing structural support for the post.
Regarding claim 12, Li(2) discloses wherein the limiting members comprise reinforcing members disposed in the circumferential direction of the main body and connected to the base (reinforcing members around 211 as seen in figure 2 are connected to a base), and a sum of lengths of the reinforcing members and a diameter of the main body is greater than a diameter of the limiting section in a plane perpendicular to an axial direction of the guide post (adding the reinforcing members of Li(2) to the guide posts 422 of Li would be obvious that the combined width to be greater than the diameter of the diameter of the cylindrical part of the guide sleeve, fig.3, In Gardnerv.TEC Syst. discloses where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device ).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112758837 A) in view of Ding (CN 110862008 A).
Regarding claims 13-14, Li discloses the transfer apparatus but fails to disclose sensors.
However, Ding discloses wherein the lifting member includes a first sensor that detects a relative distance between the lifting member and each battery, and wherein the foundation is further includes a second sensor that detects a distance between the foundation and the guide post (battery box position switch 104 for detecting mounting of the batter box 4 is in place, cameras 201 for picking up position of mark point).
Li and Ding are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery swap stations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the camera sensors of Ding with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of the camera being used to know the location of the vehicle and battery so mounting is done correctly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 depends upon claim 6 which is rejected, but claim 9 has the limitation of “wherein the first buffer member includes a plurality of long round holes, and the first buffer member is bolted to the lifting member through the long round holes” The teaching reference of Wu discloses the buffer of claim 6, but does not have the same structure as claimed in claim 9 above. Modifying Wu would be modifying a modifying reference and would be hindsight reconstruction and unreasonable. For the reasons above claim 9 has allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613