DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sealing system comprising a double radial lip seal and a seal bearing isolator of claim 35 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 43 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 43 should be changed to “The sealed, passively cooled motor according to claim 39, wherein the normally closed isolation valve filter apparatus comprises a Pall PFD Reservoir Vent Filter.” to add the period at the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 39 “a normally closed isolation valve system to allow the sealed motor to maintain the internal motor pressure at atmospheric pressure” is new matter.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention if it is normally closed. Applicant added claim 39 after filing the application (claims received 2/25/25 compared to claims filed 11/26/24). Claims 40-43 are rejected since they depend on claim 39.
In claim 40 “a system of drying the incoming air with a desiccant prior to entering the motor” is new matter.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention of a drying system or desiccant. Applicant added claim 40 after filing the application (claims received 2/25/25 compared to claims filed 11/26/24). Claims 41-42 are rejected since they depend on claim 40.
In claim 41 “a micron filter apparatus to filter contaminates and moisture prior to entering the motor” is new matter.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention of a micron filter apparatus. Applicant added claim 41 after filing the application (claims received 2/25/25 compared to claims filed 11/26/24). Claim 42 is rejected since they depend on claim 41.
In claim 42 “a device to indicate that the desiccant is depleted and needs to be replaced” is new matter.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention of a device to indicate that the desiccant is depleted and needs to be replaced. Applicant added claim 42 after filing the application (claims received 2/25/25 compared to claims filed 11/26/24).
In claim 43 “the normally closed isolation valve filter apparatus comprises a Pall PFD Reservoir Vent Filter” is new matter.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention it being normally closed. Applicant added claim 43 after filing the application (claims received 2/25/25 compared to claims filed 11/26/24).
Claims 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 39 “a normally closed isolation valve system to allow the sealed motor to maintain the internal motor pressure at atmospheric pressure” is unclear.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention if it is normally closed. It is unclear if the isolation valve system is normally closed since this is not disclosed in the specification. Also it is not clear if the Pall Reservoir Vent Filter is normally closed or another isolation valve system is normally closed. Claims 40-43 are rejected since they depend on claim 39.
In claim 40 “a system of drying the incoming air with a desiccant prior to entering the motor” is unclear.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention of a drying system or desiccant. It is unclear if there is a drying system with desiccant since it is not disclosed in the specification. Also it is not clear if the Pall Reservoir Vent Filter includes a drying system with desiccant or it is a separate structure. Claims 41-42 are rejected since they depend on claim 40.
In claim 41 “a micron filter apparatus to filter contaminates and moisture prior to entering the motor” is unclear.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention of a micron filter apparatus. It is unclear if there is a micron filter apparatus since it is not disclosed in the specification. Also it is not clear if the Pall Reservoir Vent Filter includes a micron filter apparatus or it is a separate structure. Claim 42 is rejected since they depend on claim 41.
In claim 42 “a device to indicate that the desiccant is depleted and needs to be replaced” is unclear.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention of a device to indicate that the desiccant is depleted and needs to be replaced. It is not clear if there is a device since it is not disclosed in the specification. Also it is not clear if the Pall Reservoir Vent Filter includes the device for indication of desiccant or it is a separate structure.
In claim 43 “the normally closed isolation valve filter apparatus comprises a Pall PFD Reservoir Vent Filter” is new matter.
The specification discloses a Pall Reservoir Vent Filter 700 (fig 13) with an isolation valve system (pgs 20-21, [0077]), but makes no mention it being normally closed. It is unclear if the Pall Reservoir Vent Filter is normally closed since it is not disclosed as normally closed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21, 24-25, 29, 31, 33-35, 37-38 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollins et al. (WO2013059764, “Rollins”) in view of Tsai et al. (US20050134130, “Tsai”), Buehler et al. (US20140239753, “Buehler”), Mock (US20090108702, “Mock”) and Bahr (US20130278088, “Bahr”).
Re claim 21, Rollins discloses a sealed, passively cooled motor, comprising:
a casing 21 (fig 5a, pg 36, lns 22-23) having an interior space (figs 5a & below), an interior wall extending about the interior space (figs 5a & below), a first end and an opposite second end (figs 5a & below);
a stator assembly 32 disposed within the casing 21(fig 5a, pg 37, lns 22-23), wherein the stator assembly 32 further comprises a plurality of slotted laminations disposed radially between the interior wall and a rotor 34 having a plurality of magnets disposed within the interior space of the casing (figs 5a & below, pg 37, lns 22-23, pg 67, lns 17-18; pg 68, lns 12-14; & pg 71, lns 4-5, discloses permanent magnet motor & windings on the stator indicating motor inherently has at least two magnets) and windings inserted through and embedded by the plurality of slotted laminations adjacent to the interior wall and spaced from the rotor 34 (figs 5a & below, discloses coils have end turns & figs shows remainder of coil inside the laminations forming teeth/slots; spaced from the rotor by stator/rotor air gap), the windings having a first plurality of end turns at a first end of the stator assembly 32 (figs 5a & below) and a second plurality of end turns at an opposite second end of the stator assembly 32 (figs 5a & below);
at least one cover 21a (fig 5, pg 35, lns 22-23) attached to the first end of the casing 21 (figs 5a & below);
Rollins discloses claim 21 except for:
the stator assembly potted to the interior wall;
a plurality of deep slotted laminations;
the first cover has an interior portion that is configured to encapsulate and directly contact the first plurality of end turns to provide a conductive heat transfer path adapted to effect transfer of heat from the first plurality of end turns to the first cover, wherein the first cover provides a heat sink for the first plurality of end turns; and
at least one continuous O-ring seal positioned between the first cover and the casing to seal the first cover to the casing.
Tsai discloses at least one continuous O-ring seal 24 positioned between the first cover 23 and the casing 21 to seal the first cover 23 to the casing 21 (figs 2 & 4, [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first cover and the casing of Rollins to include at least one continuous O-ring seal positioned between the first cover and the casing to seal the first cover to the casing, as disclosed by Tsai, in order to make the casing and covers waterproof and isolate noise, as taught by Tsai ([0016]).
Buehler discloses the stator assembly 14 potted to the interior wall 32 (figs 1-3c, [0018] & [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stator assembly of Rollins in view of and Tsai so the stator assembly is potted to the interior wall, as disclosed by Buehler, in order to increase the rate of heat transfer from the stator assembly to the casing and minimize stress on the stator laminations, as taught by Buehler ([0021] & [0023]).
Mock discloses changing stator slots to deep slots (para [0007]-[0008], comparing figs 1 & 2) in order to have faster spin-up (para [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the laminations of Rollins in view of Tsai and Buehler to be deep-slotted laminations, as disclosed by Mock, in order to have a faster spin-up, as taught by Mock (para [0007]).
Bahr discloses the first cover 39 has an interior portion 41 that is configured to encapsulate and directly contact the first plurality of end turns 19 to provide a conductive heat transfer path adapted to effect transfer of heat from the first plurality of end turns 19 to the first cover 39 (fig 3, [0045]-[0050], [0045] says 23 for stator body 3 implying 23 is not specifically for the end turns; [0047] recites 21 & 37 are electrically conductive material which is inherently thermally conductive & heat from 19 transferred to 21 & 37), wherein the first cover 39 provides a heat sink for the plurality of end turns 19 (fig 3, [0046]-[0047], since material thermally conductive at least a portion of heat transferred to air around 21 & 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first cover of Rollins in view of Tsai so the first cover has an interior portion that is configured to encapsulate and directly contact the first plurality of end turns to provide a conductive heat transfer path adapted to effect transfer of heat from the first plurality of end turns to the first cover, wherein the first cover provides a heat sink for the first plurality of end turns, as disclosed by Bahr, in order to provide good heat transfer between the end windings and the housing, as taught by Bahr ([0046]).
Re claim 24, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins further discloses the stator assembly 32 comprises a plurality of lamination sheets stacked together to form a stator stack (fig 5a, pg 68, lns 12-14).
Rollins is silent with respect to a thermally conductive material disposed between the first plurality of end turns and the interior wall and between the second plurality of end turns and the interior wall so as to create a heat dissipation path from the end turns and through the stator stack and to the casing exterior, wherein the thermally conductive material further comprises one or more of the materials selected from the group of materials comprising: a bonding material between the stator lamination sheets; an electrically insulative and thermally conductive potting; a vacuum pressure impregnation of the windings; and a resin disposed over portions of the lamination sheets that are covered by the windings and adjacent to the interior wall of the casing so as to provide a heat path to enhance heat transfer from the windings to the casing.
Buehler further discloses a thermally conductive material 60 (figs 3a-c, [0027]) disposed between the first plurality of end turns 20 and the interior wall 32 and between the second plurality of end turns 20 and the interior wall 32 (figs 3a-c, [0025]) so as to create a heat dissipation path from the end turns and through the stator stack 18 (figs 3a-c, [0019]) and to the casing 34 exterior (figs 3a-c, [0021] & [0029], since the end turns are located next to the axial end laminations, at least some portion of heat produced by the end turns will travel to the laminations & since the laminations conduct heat, then transfer heat to the casing), wherein the thermally conductive material 60 further comprises one or more material selected from the group of materials comprising: the bonding material between the stator lamination sheets; the electrically insulative and thermally conductive potting; the vacuum pressure impregnation of the windings; and a resin disposed over portions of the lamination sheets that are covered by the windings and adjacent to the interior wall of the casing so as to provide a heat path to enhance heat transfer from the windings to the casing ([0021], electrically insulative & thermally conductive potting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the casing of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr to include a thermally conductive material disposed between the first plurality of end turns and the interior wall and between the second plurality of end turns and the interior wall so as to create a heat dissipation path from the end turns and through the stator stack and to the casing exterior, wherein the thermally conductive material further comprises one or more material selected from the group of materials comprising: the bonding material between the stator lamination sheets; the electrically insulative and thermally conductive potting; the vacuum pressure impregnation of the windings; and a resin disposed over portions of the lamination sheets that are covered by the windings and adjacent to the interior wall of the casing so as to provide a heat path to enhance heat transfer from the windings to the casing, as disclosed by Buehler, increase the rate of heat transfer from the stator assembly to the casing and minimize stress on the stator laminations, as taught by Buehler ([0021] & [0023]).
Re claim 25, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins further discloses the stator assembly 32 comprises a plurality of lamination sheets stacked together to form a stator stack (fig 5a, pg 68, lns 12-14).
Rollins is silent with respect to an electrically insulative and thermally conductive potting material between the interior wall of the casing and the lamination sheets.
Buehler further discloses an electrically insulative and thermally conductive potting material 60 (figs 3a-c, [0027]) between the interior wall 32 of the casing 34 (figs 3a-c, [0025]) and the lamination sheets (figs 3a-c, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the casing of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr to include an electrically insulative and thermally conductive potting material between the interior wall of the casing and the lamination sheets, as disclosed by Buehler, in order to increase the rate of heat transfer from the stator assembly to the casing and minimize stress on the stator laminations, as taught by Buehler ([0021] & [0023]).
Re claim 29, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins is silent with respect to the first cover comprises an integral chill block.
Bahr discloses the first cover 39 comprises an integral chill block (figs 3 & below, portion of 39 encapsulating 19, where the chill block is formed w/ the first cover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first cover of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr to comprise an integral chill block, as disclosed by Bahr, in order to provide good heat transfer between the end windings and the housing, as taught by Bahr ([0046]).
Re claim 31, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins is silent with respect to a chill block is attached to the first cover.
Bahr discloses a chill block is attached to the first cover 39 (figs 3 & above for claim 29, since the chill block is formed w/ the first cover 39 it’s attached to the first cover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first cover of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr to have a chill block attached to the first cover, as disclosed by Bahr, in order to provide good heat transfer between the end windings and the housing, as taught by Bahr ([0046]).
Re claims 33 and 34, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins further discloses:
the at least one cover 21a defines an opening through which a rotor shaft 24 of the motor extends (fig 5a), and wherein the passively cooled motor further comprises a sealing device configured to create a seal between the rotor shaft and the first one of the covers 21a (fig 5a, pg 38, ln 19 to pg 39, ln 4); and
the sealing device is configured to exclude moisture and solid contaminants (fig 5a, pg 39, lns 3-4).
Re claim 35, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins further discloses the at least one cover 21a defines an opening through which a rotor shaft 24 of the motor extends (fig 5a) and the motor comprises a sealing system to seal an area where the shaft penetrates the motor housing (fig 5a, pg 38, ln 19 to pg 39 ln 4), the sealing system comprising: a double radial lip seal and a seal bearing isolator mounted immediately outboard of the double radial lip seal (fig 5a, pg 38, ln 19 to pg 39 ln 4).
Re claim 37, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 35 as discussed above. Rollins further discloses the seal bearing isolator comprises an InPro seal (fig 5a, pg 38, ln 19 to pg 39 ln 4).
Re claim 38, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above, Rollins further discloses the at least one cover comprises a second cover 21b attached to an opposite second end of the casing 21 (Rollins, fig 5a, pg 35, lns 22-23).
Rollins is silent with respect to the second cover comprises an interior portion that is configured to encapsulate and directly contact the second plurality of end turns to provide a conductive heat transfer path adapted to effect transfer of heat from the second plurality of end turns to the second cover, wherein the second cover provides a heat sink relative to the second plurality of end turns and a second continuous O-ring seal positioned between the second cover and the casing to seal the second cover to the casing.
Tsai discloses a second continuous O-ring seal 24 positioned between the second cover 22 and the casing 21 to seal the second cover 22 to the casing 21 (figs 2 & 4, [0016])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second cover and the casing of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr to include a second continuous O-ring seal positioned between the second cover and the casing to seal the second cover to the casing, as disclosed by Tsai, in order to make the casing and covers waterproof and isolate noise, as taught by Tsai ([0016]).
Bahr discloses the housing 21 has an interior portion 31 that is configured to encapsulate and directly contact the second plurality of end turns 19 to provide a conductive heat transfer path adapted to effect transfer of heat from the second plurality of end turns 19 to the housing 21 (fig 3, [0045]-[0050], [0045] says 23 for stator body 3; [0047] recites 21 & 37 are electrically conductive material which is inherently thermally conductive & heat from 19 transferred to 21 & 37), wherein the housing 21 provides a heat sink relative to the plurality of end turns 19 (fig 3, [0046]-[0047], since material thermally conductive at least a portion of heat transferred to air around 21 & 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second cover of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr so the second cover has an interior portion that is configured to encapsulate and directly contact the second plurality of end turns to provide a conductive heat transfer path adapted to effect transfer of heat from the second plurality of end turns to the second cover, wherein the second cover provides a heat sink relative to the second plurality of end turns, as disclosed by Bahr for a first cover and housing, in order to provide good heat transfer between the end windings and the housing, as taught by Bahr ([0046]).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr and in further view of Crowell (EP1100182, “Crowell”).
Re claims 22 and 23, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins further discloses a rotor 34 (fig 5a) within the interior space of the casing 21 (fig 5a & above for claim 23), wherein the rotor 34 defines a centerline of the sealed, passively cooled motor 20 (fig 1, axis line of shaft 24).
Rollins discloses claims 22 and 23 except for:
the at least one cover each has an exterior surface that is configured with a plurality of cooling fins that radially extend with respect to the centerline; and
the casing comprises an exterior surface that is configured with a plurality of cooling fins that extend parallel with respect to the centerline.
Crowell discloses the first cover 110 and the second cover 112 each have an exterior surface 120 that is configured with a plurality of cooling fins 122 that radially extend with respect to the centerline (figs 1 & 6-7, [0011]); and
the casing 104 comprises an exterior surface 120 that is configured with a plurality of cooling fins 122 that extend parallel with respect to the centerline (figs 1 & 4a [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the at least one cover and the casing of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr so the at least one cover has an exterior surface that is configured with a plurality of cooling fins that radially extend with respect to the centerline; and the casing comprises an exterior surface that is configured with a plurality of cooling fins that extend parallel with respect to the centerline, as disclosed by Crowell, in order to increase heat dissipation of the motor, as taught by Crowell ([0006]).
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr and in further view of Koyakata (JP2010057211, “Koyakata”).
Re claim 26, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins further discloses the stator assembly 32 comprises a plurality of lamination sheets stacked together to form a stator stack (fig 5a, pg 68, lns 12-14).
Rollins is silent with respect to a resin disposed over portions of the lamination sheets through which the windings are inserted and adjacent to the interior wall of the casing so as to provide a heat path to enhance heat transfer from the windings to the casing.
Koyakata discloses a resin (fig 5, [0033]-[0035], [0047],[0072]-[0073] & [0075], resin of 95, same as resin for 82 & 84 in fig 2) disposed over portions of the lamination sheets through which the windings 2 are inserted (figs 1 & 5, 95 extends partially at axial ends into the stator slot) so as to provide a heat path to enhance heat transfer from the windings 2 to the lamination sheets ([0003] & [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the lamination sheets of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr to include a resin disposed over portions of the lamination sheets through which the windings are inserted so as to provide a heat path to enhance heat transfer from the windings to the lamination sheets, as disclosed by Koyakata, in order to improve heat dissipation, as disclosed by Koyakata ([0073]).
It is pointed out that Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose the resin is adjacent to the interior wall of the casing so as to provide a heat path and enhance heat transfer from the windings to the casing, since Rollins discloses the windings are adjacent to the interior wall of the casing 21 (fig 5a) and the lamination sheets are in contact with the casing 21 (fig 5a), where the laminations are made of magnetic metal and will inherently conduct heat to the casing; and Koyakata discloses the resin of 95 conducts heat between the winding and the laminations ([0003] & [0073]).
Re claim 27, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins further discloses the stator assembly 32 comprises a plurality of lamination sheets stacked together to form a stator stack (fig 5a, pg 68, lns 12-14), the sealed, passively cooled motor further comprising:
a rotor 34 located within the interior space of the casing 21 (figs 5a & above for claim 23) and spaced apart from the stator assembly 32 by a gap (fig 5a), the rotor 34 having a plurality of magnets thereon (pg 39, lns 4-5 & 8).
Rollins is silent with respect to a resin disposed over portions of the lamination sheets that are between the windings and the gap in order to reduce heat transfer from the windings to the magnets.
Koyakata discloses a resin (fig 5, [0033]-[0035], [0047], [0072]-[0073], resin of 96, same as resin for 81 & 83 in fig 2) disposed over portions of the lamination sheets that are between the windings 2 and the gap in order to reduce heat transfer from the windings 2 to the rotor (figs 1 & 5, impedes heat transfer since 96 is made of a material that is not thermally conductive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the lamination sheets of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr to include a resin disposed over portions of the lamination sheets that are between the windings and the gap in order to reduce heat transfer from the windings to the magnets, as disclosed by Koyakata for reducing heat transfer to the rotor, in order to reduce costs, as disclosed by Koyakata ([0034]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr and in further view of Sato et al. (US4153034, “Sato”).
Re claim 28, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above. Rollins is silent with respect to:
a two-way vent filter apparatus mounted to the casing to manage air volume changes that may be caused by temperature and/or pressure changes within the interior space of the casing, wherein the two-way vent filter apparatus filters the incoming air of moisture and particulates so as to maintain the dryness and cleanliness within the interior space of the casing.
Sato discloses a two-way vent filter apparatus 18 (figs 1-3, col 2, lns 19-26 & lns 37-56) mounted to the casing 11 to manage air volume changes that may be caused by temperature and/or pressure changes within the interior space of the casing 11 (figs 1-3, col 2, lns 8-14, lns19-26 & lns 37-56, magneto), wherein the two-way vent filter apparatus filters the incoming air of moisture and particulates to maintain the dryness and cleanliness within the interior space of the casing 11 (figs 2-3, col 2, lns 19-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the casing of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr with a two-way vent filter apparatus mounted to the casing to manage air volume changes that may be caused by temperature and/or pressure changes in the interior space of the casing, wherein the two-way vent filter apparatus filters the incoming air of moisture and particulates to maintain the dryness and cleanliness within the interior space of the casing, as disclosed by Sato, in order to maintain the internal pressure of the housing at the same level as the atmospheric pressure, as taught by Sato (col 2, lns 54-56).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr and in further view of Orlowski et al. (US20070138748, “Orlowski”).
Re claim 36, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 35 as discussed above. Rollins is silent with respect to the seal bearing isolator is grounded.
Orlowski discloses the seal bearing isolator is grounded (fig 2, [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the seal bearing isolator of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr to be grounded, as disclosed by Orlowski, in order to eliminate bearing current and fluting or frosting, as taught by Orlowski (abstract).
Claim 21 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owng et al. (US20110025147, “Owng”) in view of Tsai, Buehler, Applegate (US20060197394, “Applegate”) and Mock.
Re claim 21, Owng discloses a sealed, passively cooled motor, comprising:
a casing 21 having an interior space 210 (figs 1-2, [0022]), an interior wall extending about the interior space 210 (fig 2), a first end 212 and an opposite second end 211 (fig 2, [0022]);
a stator assembly 3 (figs 1-2, [0021] & [0024]) disposed within the casing 21 (fig 2), wherein the stator assembly 3 further comprises a plurality of slots disposed radially between the interior wall and a rotor 1 having a plurality of magnets disposed within the interior space of the casing 21 (figs 1-2, [0024] & [0023], 12 has plurality of magnetic poles-interpreting each pole as a permanent magnet) and windings 33 inserted into the slots (fig 1, [0024], slots formed by stator poles 32), the windings 33 inserted through and embedded by the plurality of slots adjacent to the interior wall and spaced from the rotor (figs 1-2, at least spaced by stator/rotor gap), the windings 33 having a first plurality of end turns 332 at a first end 212 of the stator assembly 3 (fig 2, [0024]) and a second plurality of end turns 331 at an opposite second end of the stator assembly 3 (fig 2, [0024]);
at least one cover 24 attached to the first end 212 of the casing 21 (figs 1-2, [0022]), wherein the first cover 24 has an interior portion that is configured to encapsulate and directly contact the first plurality of end turns 332 (figs 1-2, [0026]-[0027], interior portion includes 4, 7 & 36) to provide a conductive heat transfer path adapted to effect transfer of heat from the first plurality of end turns 332 to the first cover 24 (fig 2, [0027], at least through 4), wherein the first cover provides a heat sink for the first plurality of end turns 332 (fig 2, [0027] & [0029], 24 made of metal & 4 transfer heat to 24).
Owng discloses claim 21 except for:
The stator assembly potted to the interior wall;
The stator assembly comprises deep slotted laminations;
at least one continuous O-ring seal positioned between the first cover and the casing to seal the first cover to the casing.
Tsai discloses at least one continuous O-ring seal 24 positioned between the first cover 23 and the casing 21 to seal the first cover 23 to the casing 21 (figs 2 & 4, [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first cover and the casing of Owng to include at least one continuous O-ring seal positioned between the first cover and the casing to seal the first cover to the casing, as disclosed by Tsai, in order to make the casing and cover waterproof and isolate noise, as taught by Tsai ([0016]).
Buehler discloses the stator assembly 14 potted to the interior wall 32 (figs 1-3c, [0018] & [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stator assembly of Owng in view of and Tsai so the stator assembly is potted to the interior wall, as disclosed by Buehler, in order to increase the rate of heat transfer from the stator assembly to the casing and minimize stress on the stator laminations, as taught by Buehler ([0021] & [0023]).
Applegate discloses the stator assembly 1606 further comprises a plurality of slotted laminations (fig 16a, [0050]) and windings inserted in the plurality of slotted laminations (fig 16a, [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stator assembly of Owng in view of Tsai and Buehler to comprise a plurality of slotted laminations and windings inserted in the plurality of slotted laminations, as disclosed by Applegate, as one of known materials to for stators assemblies from, as taught by Applegate ([0050]), as well as to reduce eddy currents in the stator assembly, as oppose to forming the stator assembly from solid magnetic material.
Mock discloses changing stator slots to deep slots (para [0007]-[0008], comparing figs 1 & 2) in order to have faster spin-up (para [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the laminations of Owng in view of Tsai, Buehler and Applegate to be deep-slotted laminations, as disclosed by Mock, in order to have a faster spin-up, as taught by Mock (para [0007]).
Re claims 29 and 30, Owng in view of Tsai, Buehler, Applegate and Mock disclose claim 21 as discussed above.
Owng further discloses:
the first cover 24 comprises an integral chill block (fig 1, [0026-0027]); and
the chill block comprises at least one internal cooling passage 37 (fig 2, [0026]).
Re claim 32, Owng in view of Tsai, Buehler, Applegate and Mock disclose claim 21 as discussed above.
Owning is silent with respect to a hollow cylindrical member having a rotor interior region, a rotor interior wall extending about the rotor interior region, and a rotor exterior surface, a rotor shaft support structure disposed within the rotor interior region, a rotor shaft attached to the rotor shaft support structure, bearings adapted to locate and support the rotor shaft relative to the housing, and a plurality of magnets disposed on the rotor exterior surface of the hollow cylindrical member.
Applegate discloses the rotor 1604 comprises:
a hollow cylindrical member (figs 16a-b, 17c & below, [0054]) having a rotor interior region (figs 16a-b, 17c & below), a rotor interior wall extending about the rotor interior region (figs 16a-b, 17c & below), and a rotor exterior surface (figs 16a-b, 17c & below, exterior surface surfaces magnets sit on),
a rotor shaft support structure (figs 16a-b, 17a-c, 17e & below, [0050] & [0054]) disposed within the rotor interior region (figs 16a-b & below),
a rotor shaft 1602 (figs 16a-b, [0050]) attached to the rotor shaft support structure (figs 16a-b & below, [0050] & [0054]),
bearings 1622, 1624 (figs 16a-b, [0051]) adapted to locate and support the rotor shaft 1602 relative to the housing (figs 16a-b, [0056]), and
a plurality of magnets 1614 (figs 16a-b, 17a-c & 17e, [0050]) disposed on the rotor exterior surface of the hollow cylindrical member (figs 16a-b & 17a-c, [0050] & [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the rotor of Owng in view of Tsai, Buehler, Applegate and Mock to comprise a hollow cylindrical member having a rotor interior region, a rotor interior wall extending about the rotor interior region, and a rotor exterior surface, a rotor shaft support structure disposed within the rotor interior region, a rotor shaft attached to the rotor shaft support structure, bearings adapted to locate and support the rotor shaft relative to the housing, and a plurality of magnets disposed on the rotor exterior surface of the hollow cylindrical member, as disclosed by Applegate, in order to reduce the weight of the rotor, as well as provide cooling to the rotor (by providing rotor interior region), as demonstrated by Applegate, as opposed to a solid rotor.
Claim 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr and in further view of Turner et al. (GB2450758, “Turner”).
Re claim 39, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr disclose claim 21 as discussed above but are silent with respect to a normally closed isolation valve system to allow the sealed motor to maintain the internal motor pressure at atmospheric pressure.
Turner discloses a normally closed isolation valve system to allow the sealed motor to maintain the internal motor pressure at atmospheric pressure (figs 2-3, pg 4, lns 19-27 & pg 9, lns 13-26, valve system capable of being normally closed since teaches channel w/ desiccant comprises valve that can be opened and closed; also capable of maintaining internal pressure at atmospheric pressure since it capable of allowing air in or out due to temperature change).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock and Bahr to comprise a normally closed isolation valve system to allow the sealed motor to maintain the internal motor pressure at atmospheric pressure, as disclosed by Turner, in order to prevent condensation inside the motor, as taught by Turner (abstract, pg 1, lns 3-6).
Re claim 40, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock, Bahr and Turner disclose claim 39 and further disclose a system of drying the incoming air with a desiccant 36 prior to entering the motor (Turner, figs 2-5, pg 10, lns 11-17).
Re claim 41, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock, Bahr and Turner disclose claim 40 and further disclose a filter apparatus 38 to filter contaminates and moisture prior to entering the motor (Turner, fig 3, pg 10, 25-29).
Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock, Bahr and Turner disclose claim 1 except for the filter apparatus is a micron filter apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the filter apparatus of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock, Bahr and Turner to be a micron filter apparatus, in order to prevent smaller particles from entering for other operational environments.
Re claim 42, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock, Bahr and Turner disclose claim 41 but are silent with respect to a device to indicate that the desiccant is depleted and needs to be replaced.
Turner discloses in another embodiment a device 52 to indicate that the desiccant is depleted and needs to be replaced (fig 4, pg 11, lns 11-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of drying of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock, Bahr and Turner to include a device to indicate that the desiccant is depleted and needs to be replaced, as disclosed by Turner, in order to replace desiccant when it is saturated with moisture, as taught by Turner (pg 11, lns 11-16).
Re claim 43, Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock, Bahr and Turner disclose claim 39 but is silent with respect to the normally closed isolation valve filter apparatus comprises a Pall PFD Reservoir Vent Filter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (the normally closed isolation valve filter apparatus of Rollins in view of Tsai, Buehler, Mock, Bahr and Turner) for another known equivalent element (Pall PFD Reservoir Vent Filter) resulting in the predictable result of maintaining the internal motor pressure at atmospheric pressure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A double patenting rejection can be made to at least claim 21 by US12166404 claim 1.
Couture et al. (WO9401917) discloses device allowing air in or out due to changes in temperature or atmospheric pressure that includes a chamber 121 with desiccant (fig 19, pg 13, indicated text).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834