DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pandya et al. (U.S. Publication No.2013/0331644 A1; hereinafter “Pandya”).
Regarding claim 29, Pandya discloses an apparatus comprising: a display system configured to display an image of tissue in a user interface; and a control system communicatively coupled to the display system (para.0047), wherein the control system is configured to: display a tissue control point graphical element (displaying a coordinate system in the camera view, as shown in Figure 17a, see also para.0162) over the image of tissue (Figure 17a); receive an input that moves the tissue control point graphical element within the user interface (para.0037); and operate an instrument physically associated with the tissue, based on the received input that moves the tissue control point graphical element, to thereby manipulate the tissue (the user can correspondingly move the master controller in desired X, Y and Z directions, see para.0162).
Regarding claim 30, Pandya further discloses wherein movement of the tissue control point graphical element based on the input comprises at least one of a left translation, a right translation, an upward translation, a downward translation, an inward translation, an outward translation, or a rotation of the tissue control point graphical element (see para.0085 and Figure 7).
Regarding claim 31, Pandya further discloses an input device, wherein the input is received through the input device (para.0037).
Regarding claim 32 Pandya further discloses wherein the input device comprises at least one of a touchscreen, a gesture tracking system, a gaze tracking system, a hand control device, a teleoperated device, or a mouse (para.0037).
Regarding claim 33, Pandya further discloses wherein the control system is further configured to compute a path of movement for the instrument that both corresponds to movement of the tissue control point graphical element and meets predefined criteria (para.0115-0118).
Regarding claim 34, Pandya further discloses wherein movement of the tissue control point graphical element comprises at least one of a translation of the tissue control point graphical element or a rotation of the tissue control point graphical element relative to the image (para.0071 and 0075).
Regarding claim 35, Pandya further discloses wherein manipulation of the tissue comprises at least one of a retraction of the tissue, a translation of the tissue, or a twisting of the tissue (para.0085).
Regarding claim 36, Pandya further discloses wherein the control system is further configured to generate a haptic feedback response in response to operation of the instrument (para.0071-0073).
Regarding claim 37, Pandya further discloses wherein the control system is further configured to compute a path of movement for the instrument that prevents the instrument from having an unintended interaction with another object (para.0115-0118).
Regarding claim 38, Pandya further discloses wherein the tissue control point graphical element is offset from a position of the instrument in the image (para.0115-0118).
Regarding claim 39, Pandya further discloses wherein the control system is further configured to determine an initial location for the tissue control point graphical element based on the input (para.0071-0073).
Regarding claim 40, Pandya further discloses wherein the control system is further configured to receive an initial location input through an input device after a tip of the instrument has engaged the tissue and responsive to receiving the initial location input, determining an initial location for the tissue control point graphical element based on a location at which the tip of the instrument has engaged the tissue (para.0071-0073).
Regarding claim 41, Pandya further discloses wherein the control system is further configured to determine a two-dimensional location for the tissue control point graphical element within the image; and map the two-dimensional location to a three-dimensional location with respect to a field of view of an imaging device that provides the image (para.0140).
Regarding claim 42, Pandya further discloses wherein the instrument is a first instrument and wherein the control system is further configured to activate a selected mode that locks a position of a second instrument with respect to a reference coordinate system and enables the input to be received for the tissue control point graphical element (para.0043).
Regarding claim 43, Pandya further discloses wherein the control system is further configured to receive the input that moves the tissue control point graphical element within the user interface through an input device when the selected mode has been activated, wherein the input device controls movement of the first instrument when the selected mode is activated and controls movement of the second instrument when the selected mode is not activated (para.0043-0044).
Regarding claim 44, Pandya further discloses the instrument (para.0071).
Regarding claim 45, Pandya discloses an apparatus comprising: a display system configured to display an image of tissue in a user interface; and a control system communicatively coupled to the display system (para.0047), wherein the control system is configured to: display a virtual object representing a tissue control point over an image of the tissue in a user interface (para.0072), wherein the virtual object is offset from a position of a first instrument (para.0115-0118); operate a second instrument to move a proxy geometry representing the second instrument into contact with the virtual object and impart a force on the virtual object (para.0043-0044); operate the first instrument based on the force applied to the virtual object to thereby manipulate the tissue (para.0043-0044); and generate a haptic feedback response at the second instrument in response to operation of the first instrument (para.0071-0073).
Regarding claim 46, Pandya further discloses an input device, wherein an input received through the input device operates the second instrument to move the proxy geometry representing the second instrument (para.0037).
Regarding claim 47, Pandya further discloses wherein the input device comprises at least one of a touchscreen, a gesture tracking system, a gaze tracking system, a hand control device, a teleoperated device, or a mouse (para.0037).
Regarding claim 48, Pandya further discloses wherein the haptic feedback response is applied to the input device (para.0071-0073).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Atarot et al. U.S. Patent No.11,547,285 B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Christina Negrelli whose telephone number is 571-270-7389. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, between 8:00am to 4:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, please contact the examiner’s supervisor, Eduardo Robert, at (571) 272-4719. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHRISTINA NEGRELLI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773