DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application repeats a substantial portion of prior Application No. 15/266,624, filed 6/9/2016 and Application No. 116/046,075, filed 9/15/2016, and adds disclosure not presented in the prior application. Because this application names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application, it may constitute a continuation-in-part of the prior application. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Applicant is advised that the instant claims recite “the second precursor mixture consists primarily of a organosilicon” in line 14 of claim 21 and line 14 of claim 32 which is not present in the original disclosure of either parent application and, as discussed below, one of ordinary skill would not reasonably be able to ascertain the metes and bounds from the disclosure of the present or instant application and thus “consists primarily” is not supported.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21 & 32: Claims 21 & 32 recite the limitation recite “the…precursor mixture consists primarily of” multiple times in each claim which renders the claim indefinite because one of ordinary skill would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of the limitation primarily. The Examiner notes that disclosure provides a discussion regarding “consisting essentially of” and presents that the phrase includes greater than or equal to 95%, or greater than or equal to 99%, of the components that materially affect the essential characteristics of the resulting film (¶ 25) but there is no discussion of the transitional phrase “consists primarily” which renders the claim indefinite. The term primarily does not have an art recognized meaning and can include “majority”, a greater amount relative to other individual components, or something in between depending if it is related to the average composition and thus includes something greater than 1% wherein the components are the primary components and every other component is less than 1% to a situation where the primary components are the only components.
Claims 22-31: Claims 22-31 are rejected as indefinite because they depend from claim 21 and do not remedy the issues of claim 21.
Claim 32: Claim 32 recites the limitation “the third precursor mixture consists primarily of…a fluorine-containing gas, and contain substantially no reactive…gas” which renders the claim indefinite because fluorine-containing gas is a reactive gas yet the claim requires that the precursor mixture contain no reactive gas and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aresta et al. (US PG Pub 2017/0094810; hereafter ‘810).
Claims 21-32: ‘810 discloses the entirety of the claimed subject matter and explicitly teaches that the second precursor mixture primarily of organosilicon as well as containing a reactive and/or non-reactive gas as claimed (see ¶s 112-120).
As noted above, though ‘810 does not disclose “consisting primarily”, it does teach that each layer is formed with precursor and gas mixtures consisting the claimed components which anticipates consisting of primarily.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-27, 30, & 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohto et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0183162; hereafter ‘162) in view of Hein et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0076837; hereafter ‘837).
Claims 21, 24, 25, : ‘162 is directed towards a method of forming a coating of a semiconductor device with wiring assemblies (i.e. a coating on an electrical assembly; see title & abstract) which has a multi-layer conformal coating on at least one surface of the electrical assembly (as evidenced by Figs. 2A-2F, the coatings are conformal), wherein the electrical assembly comprises a plurality of conductive tracks and electrical components present on the surface (wiring and wiring pattern, abstract), wherein the multi-layer conformal coating is deposited by PECVD (see ¶ 12) and obtained by:
forming by PECVD a multilayer structure comprising SiCNH (78, Figs. 8A-8H) | SiOCNH (80, Figs. 8A-8H) | SiOCH (A) (82, Figs. 8A-8H) | SiOCH (B) (84, Figs. 8A-8H) | SiO2 (86, Figs. 8A-8H) (see ¶s 135-154) which are applied as conformal coatings (see Figs. 8A-8H; applied by PECVD, ¶s 135-154) and are repeated at least twice (see Figs 8A-8J & ¶s 135-163) and thus produces a multilayer structure comprising SiOCH (A) | SiOCH (B) | SiO2 | SiCNH | SiOCNH | SiOCH (A) | SiOCH (B),
wherein the CH is representative of hydrocarbon moieties (¶ 12) and SiOCH (A) has a higher carbon content than SiOCH (B) (¶ 147), the SiOCH layer is capable of absorbing residual moisture (¶ 15) and clearly adheres because it is present, the SiOCNH layer has a lower hydrocarbon content than the SiOCH layer, a top layer comprising SiOCH is formed.
Though ‘162 does not explicitly state that the SiOCH layer is hydrophobic with a water contact angle of 100-115º it is reasonable to presume that the SiOCH layer will have these properties because SiOCH is an art recognized hydrophobic material and the burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977).
‘162 does not teach the use of organosilicons as the precursors.
However, ‘837, which is directed towards PECVD of SiOCH layers (abstract) discloses various organosilicon precursors for producing SiOCH layers by PECVD (see ¶ 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a different organosilicon precursor for each layer because they are art recognized precursors which would have predictably been suitable and he species claim is anticipated (rendered obvious) no matter how many other species are additionally named (Ex parte A 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990)) and a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
Claim 26: ‘837 teaches that power is a result effective variable based on the desired results (see ¶ 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the power to obtain the desired layers because result effective variables are prima facie obvious to optimize.
Claim 27: The SiOCH layer that reads on the first layer is 20 nm (¶ 147, ‘162).
Claim 30: ‘162 teaches He as a non-reactive gas (¶ 138) and N2O as a reactive gas (¶ 150).
Claim 31: The multilayer conformal coating covers the plurality of conductive tracks, the at least one electrical component and the surface of the substrate one which the plurality of conductive tracks and the at least one electrical component are located on the electrical assembly.
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759