DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 11/30/2023 and 11/27/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2023-202367 and 2024-205915 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2025 and 02/25/2025 are considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Lassalle-Balier et al. (US 20200116800), hereinafter ‘Lassalle-Balier’.
Regarding Claims 1 and 18, Lassalle-Balier discloses a magnetic sensor (Para [0009] magnetic field sensor) comprising: a substrate (Para [0009] the magnetic field sensing element and the other circuits can be integrated upon a common substrate, for example, a semiconductor substrate; thus Fig. 1 showing integrated TMR elements which are upon a substrate) installed on a conductor (Fig. 1, magnetic field sensing elements 104-110 on substrate installed on conductor 102; and of Claim 18 Para [0078] current sensor having current carrying conductor), where a plurality of blocks including a first block and a second block positioned near and far from a center line of the conductor (Fig. 1, 104 and 106; Fig. 1 center line approx. vertical line along curve in center of conductor), respectively, relative to each other in a plan view are arranged on one surface (Fig. 1); and a plurality of magnetoresistance elements disposed on the substrate (Para [0009, 0078]), wherein a part of the plurality of magnetoresistance elements is disposed in the first block and another part is disposed in the second block (Para [0078] each TMR element 104 and 106 having a plurality of pillars), wherein each of the first block and the second block includes a first subblock in which magnetoresistance elements having magnetic sensing directions that are directions identical to each other are disposed (Fig. 4, showing first subblock of first block as pillar on which 402 is formed with up to three subblocks to left of element 408 and first subblock of second block as pillar on which 404 is formed with up to three subblocks to right of element 408; Para [0095] TMR elements 400 are the same as TMR elements 104, 106 or TMR elements 108, 110 of FIG. 1, but here shown in expanded form to better show the coils 406, 408; Fig. 5, showing direction 503a in a direction identical across both 504 and 506), and a magnetoresistance element in the first subblock of the first block (Fig. 4, TMR element 402 on first subblock) and a magnetoresistance element in the first subblock of the second block are connected in series to form a first resistor side (Para [0164] FIGS. 12-15 show the signal magnetoresistance element, it should be understood that, in other embodiments, the single magnetoresistance element can be replaced by a plurality of magnetoresistance elements coupled in series or in parallel or any combination of series and parallel).
Regarding Claim 2, Lassalle-Balier further discloses wherein each of the first block and the second block further includes a second subblock in which magnetoresistance elements having magnetic sensing directions that are directions identical to each other and are directions opposite to those of the magnetoresistance elements in the first subblock are disposed (see annotation of Fig. 5 below), and a magnetoresistance element in the second subblock of the first block and a magnetoresistance element in the second subblock of the second block are connected in series to form a second resistor side, and the first resistor side and the second resistor side are connected in series (Para [0164] FIGS. 12-15 show the signal magnetoresistance element, it should be understood that, in other embodiments, the single magnetoresistance element can be replaced by a plurality of magnetoresistance elements coupled in series or in parallel or any combination of series and parallel).
Regarding Claim 3, Lassalle-Balier further discloses (see annotation of Fig. 5 below) wherein each of the first block and the second block further includes a third subblock in which magnetoresistance elements having magnetic sensing directions that are directions identical to each other and are directions identical to those of magnetoresistance elements in the first subblock are disposed and a fourth subblock in which magnetoresistance elements having magnetic sensing directions that are directions identical to each other and are directions opposite to those of the magnetoresistance elements in the first subblock are disposed, a magnetoresistance element in the third subblock of the first block and a magnetoresistance element in the third subblock of the second block are connected in series to form a third resistor side, and a magnetoresistance element in the fourth subblock of the first block and a magnetoresistance element in the fourth subblock of the second block are connected in series to form a fourth resistor side, and the third resistor side and the fourth resistor side are connected in series to each other and are connected in parallel to the first resistor side and the second resistor side to be assembled into a Wheatstone bridge circuit (Para [0008]) together with the first resistor side and the second resistor side.
Regarding Claim 10, Lassalle-Balier further discloses wherein the first block and the second block are arrayed in a direction intersecting an energization direction of the conductor (Fig. 5, showing direction of energization I, Ip-, Ip+ of conductor 502 and blocks 504/506 arrayed in a direction intersecting energization; Para [0078] current conductor can be formed as an open loop for which current travels in two different directions).
Regarding Claim 11, Lassalle-Balier further discloses wherein the plurality of magnetoresistance elements are tunnel magnetoresistance elements (TMR) or giant magnetoresistance elements (GMR) (Para [0012-0013, 0020-0025]).
Regarding Claim 12, Lassalle-Balier further discloses wherein at least one magnetoresistance element among the plurality of magnetoresistance elements has a free layer to which a bias magnetic field is applied (Para [0084]).
Regarding Claim 13, Lassalle-Balier further discloses wherein the bias magnetic field is applied by any of magnetic coupling of an antiferromagnetic material to the free layer, magnetic coupling through synthetic ferrimagnetic structure, which is a tri-layer structure of a ferromagnetic material/a non-magnetic material/a ferromagnetic material, to the free layer, which is a ferromagnetic material, arrangement of a magnet near the free layer, and arrangement of coil wiring near the free layer (Para [0084] The layers 306, 308 are collectively referred to bias layers. At zero external magnetic field, the free layers 312, 314 take on a magnetic alignment parallel to the layers 306, 308, with direction (ferromagnetic or antiferromagnetic coupling) determined by thickness and material of the spacer layer 310; Fig. 3, arrangement of layers 306-314).
Regarding Claim 15, Lassalle-Balier further discloses wherein the conductor has a U-shape (Fig. 1, 102), a right-angle U-shape, a n-shape, or a V-shape including two arms that are symmetrical or approximately symmetrical with respect to a reference line, and the first block and the second block are each arranged on one of the two arms in a symmetrical manner with respect to the reference line (Fig. 1, 104 and 106 on conductor 102).
Regarding Claim 16, Lassalle-Balier further discloses wherein the conductor has a U-shape (Fig. 1, 102), a right-angle U-shape, a n-shape, or a V-shape including two arms that are symmetrical or approximately symmetrical with respect to a reference line, and the first block and the second block are each arranged on one of the two arms in a symmetrical manner with respect to the reference line (Fig. 1, 104 and 106 on conductor 102), and the second block is arranged on a side of the reference line with respect to the first block (see annotation of Fig. 1 below).
Regarding Claim 17, Lassalle-Balier further discloses a signal processing circuit that is disposed on the substrate (Para [0104] circuit disposed on substrate) and processes a detection signal of a resistance variation of the first resistor side (Para [0004; 0194-0209]; Figs. 17-19).
Regarding Claim 19, Lassalle-Balier further discloses wherein the conductor includes a first arm, a second arm spaced apart from the first arm in a width direction, and a joining portion that joins the first arm and the second arm, and the first arm and the second arm extend on a same side as the joining portion (Fig. 1, showing conducting 102 with first arm of 102 on left, second arm of 102 on right, curved portion of 102 as joining portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lassalle-Balier et al. (US 20200116800), hereinafter ‘Lassalle-Balier’ as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Belin et al. (US 20200057120), hereinafter ‘Belin’.
Regarding claim 4, Lassalle-Balier fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of blocks further include at least one extension block that is arranged on one surface of the substrate and is spaced apart from the first block and the second block, yet another part of the plurality of magnetoresistance elements is disposed in the at least one extension block, the at least one extension block includes a first subblock in which magnetoresistance elements having magnetic sensing directions that are directions identical to each other and are directions identical to those of magnetoresistance elements in the first subblock of the first block are disposed, and the first resistor side includes a magnetoresistance element in the first subblock of the extension block, which is connected in series to a magnetoresistance element in the first subblock of the first block and a magnetoresistance element in the first subblock of the second block.
Belin discloses wherein a plurality of blocks (Fig. 3, sensor arrangements 302 and 304 comprising sensing elements 302a/b and 304a/b) further include at least one extension block that is arranged on one surface of the substrate and is spaced apart from the first block and the second block (Fig. 3, sensor arrangements 302 and 304 comprising sensing elements 302c/d and 304c/d on surface 308), yet another part of the plurality of magnetoresistance elements is disposed in the at least one extension block (Fig. 3, sensor arrangements 302 and 304 comprising sensing elements; Para [0070-0072]) for the benefit of providing multiple, different sensitivity ranges depending on a magnetic field intensity.
Thus the combination of Lassalle-Balier in view of Belin discloses the at least one extension block (as described in Belin in Fig. 3) includes a first subblock in which magnetoresistance elements having magnetic sensing directions that are directions identical to each other and are directions identical to those of magnetoresistance elements in the first subblock of the first block are disposed (Lassalle-Balier in Fig. 4, showing first subblock of first block as pillar on which 402 is formed with up to three subblocks to left of element 408 and first subblock of second block as pillar on which 404 is formed with up to three subblocks to right of element 408; Para [0095] TMR elements 400 are the same as TMR elements 104, 106 or TMR elements 108, 110 of FIG. 1, but here shown in expanded form to better show the coils 406, 408; Fig. 5, showing direction 503a in a direction identical across both 504 and 506), and the first resistor side includes a magnetoresistance element in the first subblock of the extension block, which is connected in series to a magnetoresistance element in the first subblock of the first block and a magnetoresistance element in the first subblock of the second block (Lassalle-Balier in Para [0164] FIGS. 12-15 show the signal magnetoresistance element, it should be understood that, in other embodiments, the single magnetoresistance element can be replaced by a plurality of magnetoresistance elements coupled in series or in parallel or any combination of series and parallel).
Further Lassalle-Balier discloses the claimed invention except for the extension block. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to duplicate the parts as described by Lassalle-Balier in Claim 1 to further extend to provide an increased sensitivity range, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Benis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Lassalle-Balier in view of Belin in combination further disclose and would be obvious in disclosing wherein each of the first block, the second block (Lassalle-Balier as described in Claim 1 above), and the at least one extension block (Belin in Fig. 3) further includes a second subblock in which magnetoresistance elements having magnetic sensing directions that are directions identical to each other and are directions opposite to those of magnetoresistance elements in the first subblock are disposed (Lassalle-Balier disclosing second subblock and sensing directions as described above Claim 1, in view of Belin describing the extension block), and a magnetoresistance element in the second subblock of the first block, a magnetoresistance element in the second subblock of the second block, and a magnetoresistance element in the second subblock of the at least one extension block are connected in series to form a second resistor side and the first resistor side and the second resistor side are connected in series (Lassalle-Balier in Para [0164] FIGS. 12-15).
Further Lassalle-Balier in view of Belin discloses the claimed invention as described above. As to Claims 5 and 6, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to duplicate the parts as described by Lassalle-Balier in Claim 1 in combination with Belin, as further disclosed by Claim 6, to further extend to provide an increased sensitivity range, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Benis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claims 7-9, Lassalle-Balier further discloses wherein at least a part of the first block is positioned on the conductor in a plan view (Fig. 1, 104 on conductor 102) and of Claim 9 wherein the first block is positioned on the conductor in a plan view (Fig. 1, 104 on conductor 102).
Lassalle-Balier fails to disclose and the second block is positioned outside the conductor in a plan view and of Claim 8 and the second block is positioned outside the conductor in a plan view and of Claim 9 at least a part of the second block is positioned on the conductor in a plan view.
Belin discloses a current sensor having multiple sensitivity ranges wherein at least a part of the first block is positioned on the conductor in a plan view (Fig. 4, 302a and 302b positioned on conductor 306 as described in Para [0069]; Fig. 4, 402c and 402d positioned on conductor 412 per Para [0072]), and the second block is positioned outside the conductor in a plan view (Fig. 4, 302c and 302d positioned outside edge 312 of conductor 306 as described in Para [0069]; Fig. 4, 402a and 402b positioned outside conductor 412 per Para [0076]), and of Claim 8 and the second block is positioned outside the conductor in a plan view (Fig. 4, 302c and 302d positioned outside edge 312 of conductor 306 as described in Para [0069]; Fig. 4, 402a and 402b positioned outside conductor 412 per Para [0076]), and of Claim 9 at least a part of the second block is positioned on the conductor in a plan view (Fig. 4, 302c and 302d positioned outside edge 312 of conductor 306 as described in Para [0069]; Fig. 4, 402a and 402b positioned outside conductor 412 per Para [0076]) for the benefit of measuring a range of different current ranges of a current through the conductor (Para [0007, 0069-0079]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine and provide an alternative arrangement of elements wherein at least a part of the first block is positioned on the conductor in a plan view, and the second block is positioned outside the conductor in a plan view for the benefit of providing multiple, different sensitivity ranges depending on a magnetic field intensity as taught by Belin in Para [0007, 0069-0079] and in Figs. 3 and 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 14, the closest prior art fails to disclose nor would it be obvious to combine “wherein magnetoresistance elements disposed in at least two blocks among the plurality of blocks have free layers to which the bias magnetic field is applied, magnetoresistance elements disposed in at least two blocks among the plurality of blocks have free layers to which the bias magnetic field is not applied, and among the plurality of blocks, a block in which a magnetoresistance element having a free layer to which the bias magnetic field is not applied is disposed is arranged far from the conductor relative to a block in which a magnetoresistance element having a free layer to which the bias magnetic field is applied is disposed” in combination with all other limitations of the claim and respective dependencies renders the claim allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/ALESA ALLGOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858