Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “S501” as described in [0051] and “S502” as described in [0058]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 11647885), in view of Kim et al. (US 20240237114).
In regards to claim 1, Han teaches a computer-implemented method for partition cleaning planning of a cleaning robot, the method comprising: (Fig 2, 3, 8, 11, 15, 19.)
obtaining a first position of the cleaning robot at a current cleaning moment, and a second position at a previous cleaning moment previous to the current cleaning moment; (Col 20 lines 10-14, processor may recognize position of cleaning robot, Col 6 lines 24-45, route may be planned and robot may be controlled to follow route providing a current position on the route and a second position on the route before the current position.)
determining a partition to which the first position of the cleaning robot belongs; (Col 5 lines 42-53, Col 7 lines 23-59, a region may be designated as a region to be cleaned, and the robot may be controlled to travel to and clean the region, where the regions are determined from imaging and map information, and are, for example, kitchen, living room, main room, and the like. Col 20 lines 10-14, processor may recognize position of cleaning robot, Col 6 lines 24-45, route may be planned and robot may be controlled to follow route providing a current position on the route, which maps the position of the robot and route to the regions, determining which region the robot and route are within.)
determining an uncleaned area within the partition to which the first position belongs, and performing path planning based on the uncleaned area; (Col 9 lines 4-40, route may be planned for robot to clean region by traveling through area that the robot has not yet cleaned and the robot may be controlled to follow planned route. Col 12 lines 43-50, Col 13 lines 15-19, robot may divide each region into sub-regions based on cleaning parameters, when the robot determines priority of a first sub-region to be higher, the robot is controlled to clean the first sub-region and then travel to a second sub-region once cleaning of the first sub-region is complete. This determines that cleaning has been completed within the first sub-region and plans cleaning within further sub-regions that are uncleaned.) and
controlling the cleaning robot according to a result of the path planning. (Col 9 lines 4-40, route may be planned for robot to clean region by traveling through area that the robot has not yet cleaned and the robot may be controlled to follow planned route.)
Han does not teach:
in response to a distance between the first position and the second position is greater than a predetermined distance threshold,
However, Kim teaches determining that the position at a current position of a vehicle or robot is greater than a threshold distance from a previous position, at which point a message is sent ([0174]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the cleaning robot control method of Han, by incorporating the teachings of Kim, such that a determination of the distance between the current position and a previous position is determined and checked against a threshold, and when above the threshold used to send a message indicating to perform further actions, including reperforming the operations of Han, including that the cleaning robot of Park is located within a region and further controlled.
The motivation to do so is that as acknowledged by Kim, this allows for improved power consumption by requiring fewer processing operations ([0035]).
In regards to claim 2, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the uncleaned area within the partition to which the first position belongs comprises:
obtaining a cleaning path in a cleaning record for the partition to which the first position belongs; (Col 9 lines 4-40, route may be planned for robot to clean region by traveling through area that the robot has not yet cleaned. Col 12 lines 43-50, Col 13 lines 15-19, robot may divide each region into sub-regions based on cleaning parameters, when the robot determines priority of a first sub-region to be higher, the robot is controlled to clean the first sub-region and then travel to a second sub-region once cleaning of the first sub-region is complete. This determines that cleaning has been completed within the first sub-region and plans cleaning within further sub-regions that are uncleaned by obtaining a stored cleaning path for the particular region the robot is positioned within.) and
performing dilation on the cleaning path based on a predetermined dilation radius to obtain a cleaned area in the partition, and determining the uncleaned area in the partition based on the cleaned area. (Col 6 lines 46-67, cleaned area is determined based on cleaning range of robot, which is a dilation radius, where the cleaned area is the area that the robot has traveled over, and the uncleaned area is the area the robot has not yet traveled over.)
In regards to claim 3, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the method of claim 2, wherein performing path planning based on the uncleaned area comprises:
determining an unisolated area and an isolated area in the uncleaned area in the partition, wherein the isolated area is an area surrounded by the cleaned area, and the unisolated area is an area not surrounded by the cleaned area; (Col 12 lines 43-50, Col 13 lines 15-19, robot may divide each region into sub-regions based on cleaning parameters, when the robot determines priority of a first sub-region to be higher, the robot is controlled to clean the first sub-region and then travel to a second sub-region once cleaning of the first sub-region is complete. This determines that cleaning has been completed within the first sub-region and plans cleaning within further sub-regions that are uncleaned. Col 14 lines 49-56, Col 15 lines 6-12, a circular sub-region is extracted and spiral path planned to spiral inwards through the circular sub-region. When the circular sub-region is the prioritized region, it is cleaned first before any other sub-region, and after one full revolution around the circular region, the not yet cleaned area is an isolated area surrounded by a cleaned area and the area outside the revolution and in other sub-regions of the region is an unisolated area not surrounded by the cleaned area.)
planning a first cleaning path in the unisolated area, and planning a second cleaning path in the isolated area; (Col 14 lines 49-56, Col 15 lines 6-12, a circular sub-region is extracted and spiral path planned to spiral inwards through the circular sub-region, which plans a second cleaning path in the isolated area. Col 12 lines 43-50, Col 13 lines 15-19, robot may divide each region into sub-regions based on cleaning parameters, when the robot determines priority of a first sub-region to be higher, the robot is controlled to clean the first sub-region and then travel to a second sub-region once cleaning of the first sub-region is complete and Col 9 lines 4-40, route may be planned for robot to clean region by traveling through area that the robot has not yet cleaned, which plans a path through the remaining area, which includes the unisolated area.) and
performing path planning on the uncleaned area according to the first cleaning path and the second cleaning path. (Col 9 lines 4-40, Col 15 lines 6-12, route may be planned for robot to clean region by traveling through area that the robot has not yet cleaned including each and every area.)
In regards to claim 4, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising, after performing path planning on the uncleaned area according to the first cleaning path and the second cleaning path,
determining a third position of an end of the first cleaning path and a fourth position of an end of the second cleaning path; (Fig 13, Col 15 lines 6-12, spiraling inward route is planned which starts at point 1302 and ends at point 1301, both of which may be ends of this route. Fig 1, Col 8 lines 58-63, Col 9 lines 4-40, route for remaining sub-regions may be determined from start point to end point, both of which may be ends of this route.) and
determining a cleaning order for the first cleaning path and the second cleaning path according to a distance from the third position to the uncleaned area and a distance from the fourth position to the uncleaned area. (Col 12 lines 63-67, Col 13 lines 1-7, priority of each region is determined based on which distance to the cleanable region is closer from the current position or finishing position of a particular sub-region. This orders the routes of the robot based on prioritizing a closer subsequent sub-region.)
In regards to claim 5, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the first position of the cleaning robot at the current cleaning moment, and the second position at the previous cleaning moment previous to the current cleaning moment comprises:
in response to detection of the cleaning robot being currently in a state of cleaning a floor, determining a current moment as the current cleaning moment, and determining a current position of the cleaning robot as the first position; (Col 20 lines 10-14, processor may recognize position of cleaning robot, Col 6 lines 24-45, route may be planned and robot may be controlled to follow route providing a current position on the route, where the robot cleans while traveling along the route. This determines a first position on the route at least in part in response to the robot performing cleaning.) and
obtaining, before the current moment, a previous adjacent moment when the cleaning robot was detected to start to be in a state of cleaning the floor, and determining a position of the cleaning robot at the moment as the second position. (Col 20 lines 10-14, processor may recognize position of cleaning robot, Col 6 lines 24-45, route may be planned and robot may be controlled to follow route providing a current position on the route and a second position on the route before the current position, where the robot cleans while traveling along the route. This determines a second position on the route at least in part in response to the robot performing cleaning.)
In regards to claim 8, Han teaches a cleaning robot comprising: (Figs 1, 20-23.)
one or more processors; (Col 19 lines 17-24, processor performs operations.) and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory storing programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause performance of operations comprising: (Col 19 lines 17-24, Col 21 lines 14-19, processor performs operations stored in memory.)
obtaining a first position of the cleaning robot at a current cleaning moment, and a second position at a previous cleaning moment previous to the current cleaning moment; (Col 20 lines 10-14, processor may recognize position of cleaning robot, Col 6 lines 24-45, route may be planned and robot may be controlled to follow route providing a current position on the route and a second position on the route before the current position.)
determining a partition to which the first position of the cleaning robot belongs; (Col 5 lines 42-53, Col 7 lines 23-59, a region may be designated as a region to be cleaned, and the robot may be controlled to travel to and clean the region, where the regions are determined from imaging and map information, and are, for example, kitchen, living room, main room, and the like. Col 20 lines 10-14, processor may recognize position of cleaning robot, Col 6 lines 24-45, route may be planned and robot may be controlled to follow route providing a current position on the route, which maps the position of the robot and route to the regions, determining which region the robot and route are within.)
determining an uncleaned area within the partition to which the first position belongs, and performing path planning based on the uncleaned area; (Col 9 lines 4-40, route may be planned for robot to clean region by traveling through area that the robot has not yet cleaned and the robot may be controlled to follow planned route. Col 12 lines 43-50, Col 13 lines 15-19, robot may divide each region into sub-regions based on cleaning parameters, when the robot determines priority of a first sub-region to be higher, the robot is controlled to clean the first sub-region and then travel to a second sub-region once cleaning of the first sub-region is complete. This determines that cleaning has been completed within the first sub-region and plans cleaning within further sub-regions that are uncleaned.) and
controlling the cleaning robot according to a result of the path planning. (Col 9 lines 4-40, route may be planned for robot to clean region by traveling through area that the robot has not yet cleaned and the robot may be controlled to follow planned route.)
Han does not teach:
in response to a distance between the first position and the second position is greater than a predetermined distance threshold,
However, Kim teaches determining that the position at a current position of a vehicle or robot is greater than a threshold distance from a previous position, at which point a message is sent ([0174]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the cleaning robot of Han, by incorporating the teachings of Kim, such that a determination of the distance between the current position and a previous position is determined and checked against a threshold, and when above the threshold used to send a message indicating to perform further actions, including reperforming the operations of Han, including that the cleaning robot of Park is located within a region and further controlled.
The motivation to do so is that as acknowledged by Kim, this allows for improved power consumption by requiring fewer processing operations ([0035]).
In regards to claim 9, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the cleaning robot of claim 8.
Claim 9 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 2 above, therefore claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
In regards to claim 10, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the cleaning robot of claim 9.
Claim 10 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
In regards to claim 11, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the cleaning robot of claim 10.
Claim 11 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
In regards to claim 12, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the cleaning robot of claim 8.
Claim 12 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 5 above, therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
In regards to claim 15, Han teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a cleaning robot, cause the at least one processor to perform a method, the method comprising: (Col 19 lines 17-24, Col 21 lines 14-19, processor performs operations stored in memory.)
obtaining a first position of the cleaning robot at a current cleaning moment, and a second position at a previous cleaning moment previous to the current cleaning moment; (Col 20 lines 10-14, processor may recognize position of cleaning robot, Col 6 lines 24-45, route may be planned and robot may be controlled to follow route providing a current position on the route and a second position on the route before the current position.)
determining a partition to which the first position of the cleaning robot belongs; (Col 5 lines 42-53, Col 7 lines 23-59, a region may be designated as a region to be cleaned, and the robot may be controlled to travel to and clean the region, where the regions are determined from imaging and map information, and are, for example, kitchen, living room, main room, and the like. Col 20 lines 10-14, processor may recognize position of cleaning robot, Col 6 lines 24-45, route may be planned and robot may be controlled to follow route providing a current position on the route, which maps the position of the robot and route to the regions, determining which region the robot and route are within.)
determining an uncleaned area within the partition to which the first position belongs, and performing path planning based on the uncleaned area; (Col 9 lines 4-40, route may be planned for robot to clean region by traveling through area that the robot has not yet cleaned and the robot may be controlled to follow planned route. Col 12 lines 43-50, Col 13 lines 15-19, robot may divide each region into sub-regions based on cleaning parameters, when the robot determines priority of a first sub-region to be higher, the robot is controlled to clean the first sub-region and then travel to a second sub-region once cleaning of the first sub-region is complete. This determines that cleaning has been completed within the first sub-region and plans cleaning within further sub-regions that are uncleaned.) and
controlling the cleaning robot according to a result of the path planning. (Col 9 lines 4-40, route may be planned for robot to clean region by traveling through area that the robot has not yet cleaned and the robot may be controlled to follow planned route.)
Han does not teach:
in response to a distance between the first position and the second position is greater than a predetermined distance threshold,
However, Kim teaches determining that the position at a current position of a vehicle or robot is greater than a threshold distance from a previous position, at which point a message is sent ([0174]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the cleaning robot control instructions of Han, by incorporating the teachings of Kim, such that a determination of the distance between the current position and a previous position is determined and checked against a threshold, and when above the threshold used to send a message indicating to perform further actions, including reperforming the operations of Han, including that the cleaning robot of Park is located within a region and further controlled.
The motivation to do so is that as acknowledged by Kim, this allows for improved power consumption by requiring fewer processing operations ([0035]).
In regards to claim 16, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Claim 16 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having substantially the same features of claim 2 above, therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
In regards to claim 17, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16.
Claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
In regards to claim 18, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17.
Claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
In regards to claim 19, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having substantially the same features of claim 5 above, therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, in view of Kim, in further view of Sun et al. (US 20250315062).
In regards to claim 6, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the method of claim 1.
Han, as modified by Kim, does not teach: wherein performing path planning based on the uncleaned area comprises:
planning a closed path based on the uncleaned area; and
performing path planning for a closed area determined by the closed path.
However, Sun teaches determining a first cleaning action for a cleaning robot by forming a closed loop route around an area to be cleaned and then a second cleaning action of filling in the area within the closed loop ([0283]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the cleaning robot control method of Han, as already modified by Kim, by incorporating the teachings of Sun, such that a closed path is determined based on the uncleaned area and path planning for the closed area is determined for the robot of Park.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Sun, this allows for improved cleaning coverage ([0003]).
In regards to claim 7, Han, as modified by Kim and Sun, teaches the method of claim 6, wherein planning the closed path based on the uncleaned area comprises:
during a closed path planning process, in response to a planning point being on a partition boundary, an area outside a partition where the planning point is located being an area to be cleaned, and no partition existing in the area to be cleaned, expanding a new partition according to a partition size and the area to be cleaned. (Col 7 lines 22-48, Col 14 lines 3-25, when cleaning of a particular sub-region is completed, the robot is controlled to move to the next sub-region, which includes moving into the next cleanable region, thereby expanding a new partition according to size and area of the partition to be cleaned. Fig 1, Col 8 lines 58-63, cleaning route includes start and end points, where particularly, as shown in figures end point may be on the boundary of a particular sub-region.)
In regards to claim 13, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the cleaning robot of claim 8.
Claim 13 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 6 above, therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
In regards to claim 14, Han, as modified by Kim and Sun, teaches the cleaning robot of claim 13.
Claim 14 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 7 above, therefore claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
In regards to claim 20, Han, as modified by Kim, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having substantially the same features of claim 7 above, therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xie (US 20190011923) teaches determining a route for a cleaning robot within a region either based on the region or based on following a user’s device.
So et al. (US 20200253445) teaches determining the moving distance of a robot cleaner against a threshold, and when above the threshold, determining the cleaning zone has a soft floor.
Lee et al. (US 20100070125) teaches determining localization of a mobile robot.
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661