DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/961,567, filed 11/27/2024.
Claims 1-18 have been examined and are pending. Claims 1, 7, and 13 are independent claims. This Action is made non-FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,288,346. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-18 of the instant application are encompassed by limitations recited in claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,288,346 (see table below).
Instant Application 18/961,567
U.S. Patent No. 11,288,346
1. A computer-implemented method of operating a server to grant a user of a user device a feature among a plurality of features available for an account associated with the user, comprising:
receiving, from the user device, a request to provide the feature from among the plurality of features;
collecting passive authentication information from the user device and/or the user, the passive authentication information being usable to passively authenticate the user device and/or the user with the server without interaction with the user;
computing, by a hardware computer processor coupled to a computer memory, a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information;
comparing the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information;
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to the comparing determining that the user is authentic from the passive authentication information; and
in response to the comparing being unable to determine the user is authentic from the passive authentication information, requesting and receiving, from the user, active authentication information associated with at least one selected active authentication technique from among a plurality of active authentication techniques by,
ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques,
determining one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques that would satisfy the threshold while minimizing a total of the inconvenience scores for the one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques to determine the at least one selected active authentication technique,
collecting the active authentication information associated with the at least one selected active authentication technique through interaction with the user, and
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to determining that the user is authentic from the at least one selected active authentication technique.
1. A computer-implemented method of providing a feature to a user, comprising:
receiving, for each of a plurality of different combinations of: A) at least one of a plurality of features or feature types and B) at least one of a plurality of devices or device types, a different at least one selected from a set comprising at least one formula, at least one set of weights and at least one threshold;
receiving from the user a request to provide the feature by the user using a device;
collecting passive authentication information from the user device and/or the user;
computing, by a hardware computer processor coupled to a computer memory, a component score for each of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information;
selecting at least one of the at least one set of weights, at least one formula and at least one threshold responsive to, for any given feature, at least one of: A) a type of the device, and B) the device;
comparing a combination of the plurality of component scores to a threshold, wherein at least one of: A) the combination is responsive to the formula and/or the set of weights selected, and B) the threshold is the threshold selected; responsive to the comparing indicating the user is authentic, providing the feature; and
responsive to the comparing not indicating the user is authentic, requesting and receiving active authentication information from the user, wherein the active authentication information does not comprise a password.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,182,235. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-18 of the instant application are encompassed by limitations recited in claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,182,235 (see table below).
Instant Application 18/961,567
U.S. Patent No. 12,182,235
1. A computer-implemented method of operating a server to grant a user of a user device a feature among a plurality of features available for an account associated with the user, comprising:
receiving, from the user device, a request to provide the feature from among the plurality of features;
collecting passive authentication information from the user device and/or the user, the passive authentication information being usable to passively authenticate the user device and/or the user with the server without interaction with the user;
computing, by a hardware computer processor coupled to a computer memory, a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information;
comparing the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information;
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to the comparing determining that the user is authentic from the passive authentication information; and
in response to the comparing being unable to determine the user is authentic from the passive authentication information, requesting and receiving, from the user, active authentication information associated with at least one selected active authentication technique from among a plurality of active authentication techniques by,
ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques,
determining one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques that would satisfy the threshold while minimizing a total of the inconvenience scores for the one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques to determine the at least one selected active authentication technique,
collecting the active authentication information associated with the at least one selected active authentication technique through interaction with the user, and
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to determining that the user is authentic from the at least one selected active authentication technique.
1. A computer-implemented method of operating a server to grant a user of a user device a feature among a plurality of features available for an account associated with the user, comprising:
receiving variables for each of a plurality of different combinations of: A) the plurality of features and B) a plurality of devices, the variables including at least one formula, at least one set of weights or at least one threshold that are each associated with respective ones of the different combinations; receiving, from the user device, a request to provide the feature from among the plurality of features;
collecting passive authentication information from the user device and/or the user, the passive authentication information being usable to passively authenticate the user device and/or the user with the server without interaction with the user;
computing, by a hardware computer processor coupled to a computer memory, a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information;
selecting at least one of the at least one set of weights, at least one formula and at least one threshold based on a requested one of the plurality of features and at least one of: A) a type of the device, and B) the device such that, for at least one of the plurality of features, a different one of the at least one threshold is required to allow the at least one of the plurality of features to be provided to same one of the user on different ones of the plurality of devices;
comparing the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information, wherein at least one of: A) the combination is responsive to the at least one formula and/or the at least one set of weights selected, and B) the threshold comprises at least one of the at least one threshold selected;
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to the comparing determining that the user is authentic from the passive authentication information; and
in response to the comparing being unable to determine the user is authentic from the passive authentication information, requesting and receiving, from the user, active authentication information associated with at least one selected active authentication technique from among a plurality of active authentication techniques by,
ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on stored inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques,
determining one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques that would satisfy the threshold while minimizing a total of the inconvenience scores for the one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques to determine the at least one selected active authentication technique,
collecting the active authentication information associated with the at least one selected active authentication technique through interaction with the user, and
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to determining that the user is authentic from the at least one selected active authentication technique.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US20120167170), filed December 28, 2010, in view of Chang (US8285656), filed March 28, 2008.
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses a computer-implemented method of operating a server to grant a user of a user device a feature among a plurality of features available for an account associated with the user, comprising:
receiving, from the user device, a request to provide the feature from among the plurality of features; (Shi, paragraph 0060, request for accessing private data, user);
collecting passive authentication information from the user device and/or the user, the passive authentication information being usable to passively authenticate the user device and/or the user with the server without interaction with the user; (Shi, paragraph 0009, aggregating biometric classification processes conducted in the background operation of the device; paragraph 0054, data from sensors employed by host domain to perform multi-modal passive user identification);
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to the comparing determining that the user is authentic from the passive authentication information; and (Shi, paragraph 0060, request for accessing private data, user);
in response to the comparing being unable to determine the user is authentic from the passive authentication information, requesting and receiving, from the user, active authentication information associated with at least one selected active authentication technique from among a plurality of active authentication techniques by, (Shi, FIG. 4, 200-206, passive authentication, 210-212, active authentication);
determining one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques that would satisfy the threshold while minimizing a total of the inconvenience scores for the one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques to determine the at least one selected active authentication technique, (Shi, paragraph 0064, selectively implementing an active authentication process; paragraph 0065, selectively implementing an active authentication process);
collecting the active authentication information associated with the at least one selected active authentication technique through interaction with the user, and (Shi, paragraph 0065, requiring manual user entry of authentication information);
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to determining that the user is authentic from the at least one selected active authentication technique. (Shi, paragraph 0027, provide data to user).
Shi does not explicitly disclose computing, by a hardware computer processor coupled to a computer memory, a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information; comparing the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information; ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques.
However, in an analogous art, Chang discloses computing, by a hardware computer processor coupled to a computer memory, a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information (Chang, col. 12, lines 4-20, compare the accuracy of the data verification methods and rank the methods, check the accuracy of data verification methods, dynamically rank);
comparing the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information (Chang, col. 12, lines 4-20, compare the accuracy of the data verification methods and rank the methods, check the accuracy of data verification methods, dynamically rank);
ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques (Chang, col. 6, lines 50-65, trustworthiness ranking).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chang with the method/ server/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Shi, to include computing, by a hardware computer processor coupled to a computer memory, a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information; comparing the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information; ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques, to provide users with the benefits of verifying the integrity and quality of data relating to existing or potential customers (Chang: col. 1, lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 2, Shi and Chang disclose the method of claim 1. Shi and Chang disclose wherein the providing provides the feature to the user of the user device, in response to the determining that the user is authentic based on a combination of the passive authentication information and the active authentication information (Shi, FIG. 4, 200-206, passive authentication, 210-212, active authentication).
Regarding claim 3, Shi and Chang disclose the method of claim 2. Shi and Chang disclose additionally comprising: selecting the at least one active authentication technique based on the threshold (Shi, FIG. 4, 200-206, passive authentication, 210-212, active authentication).
Regarding claim 4, Shi and Chang disclose the method of claim 2. Shi and Chang disclose wherein the active authentication information does not comprise a password (Shi, paragraph 0058, user may authenticate by doing a fingerprint scan, answering certain security questions).
Regarding claim 7, Shi discloses a server for granting a user of a user device a feature among a plurality of features available for an account associated with the user, the server comprising:
a memory; and
processing circuitry configured to execute instructions stored in the memory to configure the server to (Shi, paragraph 0021, memories, server, processors, computer program products, software);
collect passive authentication information from the user device and/or the user, the passive authentication information being usable to passively authenticate the user device and/or the user with the server without interaction with the user (Shi, paragraph 0009, aggregating biometric classification processes conducted in the background operation of the device; paragraph 0054, data from sensors employed by host domain to perform multi-modal passive user identification);
provide the feature to the user of the user device, in response to determining that the user is authentic from the passive authentication information (Shi, paragraph 0060, request for accessing private data, user);
in response to the server being unable to determine the user is authentic from the passive authentication information, requesting and receiving, from the user, active authentication information associated with at least one selected active authentication technique from among a plurality of active authentication techniques by (Shi, FIG. 4, 200-206, passive authentication, 210-212, active authentication);
determining one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques that would satisfy the threshold while minimizing a total of the inconvenience scores for the one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques to determine the at least one selected active authentication technique (Shi, paragraph 0064, selectively implementing an active authentication process; paragraph 0065, selectively implementing an active authentication process);
collecting the active authentication information associated with the at least one selected active authentication technique through interaction with the user (Shi, paragraph 0065, requiring manual user entry of authentication information);
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to determining that the user is authentic from the at least one selected active authentication technique (Shi, paragraph 0027, provide data to user).
Shi does not explicitly disclose compute a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information, compare a combination of the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information, ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques.
However, in an analogous art, Chang discloses compute a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information (Chang, col. 12, lines 4-20, compare the accuracy of the data verification methods and rank the methods, check the accuracy of data verification methods, dynamically rank);
compare a combination of the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information (Chang, col. 12, lines 4-20, compare the accuracy of the data verification methods and rank the methods, check the accuracy of data verification methods, dynamically rank);
ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques (Chang, col. 6, lines 50-65, trustworthiness ranking).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chang with the method/ server/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Shi, to include compute a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information, compare a combination of the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information, ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques, to provide users with the benefits of verifying the integrity and quality of data relating to existing or potential customers (Chang: col. 1, lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 8, Shi and Chang disclose the server of claim 7. Shi and Chang disclose wherein the providing provides the feature to the user of the user device, in response to determining that the user is authentic based on a combination of the passive authentication information and the active authentication information (Shi, FIG. 4, 200-206, passive authentication, 210-212, active authentication)
Regarding claim 9, Shi and Chang disclose the server of claim 8. Shi and Chang disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select the at least one active authentication technique based on the threshold. (Shi, FIG. 4, 200-206, passive authentication, 210-212, active authentication)
Regarding claim 10, Shi and Chang disclose the server of claim 8. Shi and Chang disclose wherein the active authentication information does not comprise a password. (Shi, paragraph 0058, user may authenticate by doing a fingerprint scan, answering certain security questions)
Regarding claim 13, Shi discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having computer readable program code embodied therein that, when executed by a server, configures the server to grant a user of a user device a feature among a plurality of features available for an account associated with the user by (Shi, paragraph 0021, memories, server, processors, computer program products, software):
receiving, from the user device, a request to provide the feature from among the plurality of features (Shi, paragraph 0060, request for accessing private data, user);
collecting passive authentication information from the user device and/or the user, the passive authentication information being usable to passively authenticate the user device and/or the user with the server without interaction with the user (Shi, paragraph 0009, aggregating biometric classification processes conducted in the background operation of the device; paragraph 0054, data from sensors employed by host domain to perform multi-modal passive user identification);
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to the comparing determining that the user is authentic from the passive authentication information (Shi, paragraph 0060, request for accessing private data, user);
in response to the comparing being unable to determine the user is authentic from the passive authentication information, requesting and receiving, from the user, active authentication information associated with at least one selected active authentication technique from among a plurality of active authentication techniques by (Shi, FIG. 4, 200-206, passive authentication, 210-212, active authentication);
determining one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques that would satisfy the threshold while minimizing a total of the inconvenience scores for the one or more of the plurality of active authentication techniques to determine the at least one selected active authentication technique (Shi, paragraph 0064, selectively implementing an active authentication process; paragraph 0065, selectively implementing an active authentication process);
collecting the active authentication information associated with the at least one selected active authentication technique through interaction with the user (Shi, paragraph 0065, requiring manual user entry of authentication information);
providing the feature to the user of the user device, in response to determining that the user is authentic from the at least one selected active authentication technique (Shi, paragraph 0027, provide data to user).
Shi does not explicitly disclose computing a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information; comparing a combination of the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information; ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques.
However, in an analogous art, Chang discloses computing a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information (Chang, col. 12, lines 4-20, compare the accuracy of the data verification methods and rank the methods, check the accuracy of data verification methods, dynamically rank);
comparing a combination of the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information (Chang, col. 12, lines 4-20, compare the accuracy of the data verification methods and rank the methods, check the accuracy of data verification methods, dynamically rank);
ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques (Chang, col. 6, lines 50-65, trustworthiness ranking).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chang with the method/ server/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Shi, to include computing a plurality of component scores for respective ones of a plurality of authentication techniques, responsive to the passive authentication information; comparing a combination of the plurality of component scores to a threshold to determine whether the user is authentic from the passive authentication information; ranking the plurality of active authentication techniques in an order based on inconvenience scores each indicating an amount of the interaction with the user for respective ones of the plurality of active authentication techniques, to provide users with the benefits of verifying the integrity and quality of data relating to existing or potential customers (Chang: col. 1, lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 14, Shi and Chang disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13. Shi and Chang disclose wherein the providing provides the feature to the user of the user device, in response to determining that the user is authentic based on a combination of the passive authentication information and the active authentication information (Shi, FIG. 4, 200-206, passive authentication, 210-212, active authentication).
Regarding claim 15, Shi and Chang disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14. Shi and Chang disclose additionally comprising, computer readable program code configured to cause the server to select the at least one active authentication technique based on the threshold (Shi, FIG. 4, 200-206, passive authentication, 210-212, active authentication).
Regarding claim 16, Shi and Chang disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14. Shi and Chang disclose wherein the active authentication information does not comprise a password (Shi, paragraph 0058, user may authenticate by doing a fingerprint scan, answering certain security questions).
Claims 5, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US20120167170), filed December 28, 2010, in view of Chang (US8285656), filed March 28, 2008.
Regarding claim 5, Shi and Chang disclose the method of claim 2.
Shi and Chang do not explicitly disclose wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure.
However, in an analogous art, Yokoi discloses wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure (Yokoi, paragraph 0012,biometric authentication, lowers a false rejection rate, probability of mistakenly rejecting a person when an input password matches a registered password).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yokoi with the method/ server/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Shi and Chang, to include wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure, to provide users with the benefits of automatic, highly precise, and valid identification (Yokoi, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 11, Shi and Chang disclose the server of claim 8.
Shi and Chang do not explicitly disclose wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure.
However, in an analogous art, Yokoi discloses wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure (Yokoi, paragraph 0012,biometric authentication, lowers a false rejection rate, probability of mistakenly rejecting a person when an input password matches a registered password).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yokoi with the method/ server/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Shi and Chang, to include wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure, to provide users with the benefits of automatic, highly precise, and valid identification (Yokoi, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 17, Shi and Chang disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14.
Shi and Chang do not explicitly disclose wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure.
However, in an analogous art, Yokoi discloses wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure (Yokoi, paragraph 0012,biometric authentication, lowers a false rejection rate, probability of mistakenly rejecting a person when an input password matches a registered password).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yokoi with the method/ server/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Shi and Chang, to include wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure, to provide users with the benefits of automatic, highly precise, and valid identification (Yokoi, paragraph 0003).
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US20120167170), filed December 28, 2010, in view of Chang (US8285656), filed March 28, 2008, and further in view of Ross (US20100280955), filed April 30, 2009.
Regarding claim 6, Shi and Chang disclose the method of claim 1.
Shi and Chang do not explicitly disclose wherein all of the at least wherein the plurality of features include at least low security features and high security features such that, for a same one of the at least one of a plurality of devices, the high security features require a higher threshold for the user than the low security features, the high security features including features facilitating a transferring of assets out of the account associated with the user.
However, in an analogous art, Ross discloses wherein all of the at least wherein the plurality of features include at least low security features and high security features such that, for a same one of the at least one of a plurality of devices, the high security features require a higher threshold for the user than the low security features, the high security features including features facilitating a transferring of assets out of the account associated with the user (Ross, paragraph 0011, bank withdrawal, paragraph 0013, certain low security transaction s may be associated with a low threshold confidence level, while high security transactions may be associated with a higher threshold confidence level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ross with the method/ server/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Shi and Chang, to include wherein all of the at least one active authentication technique does not have a binary outcome comprising success or failure, to provide users with the benefits of approving or disapproving transactions automatically (Ross; paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 12, Shi and Chang disclose the server of claim 7.
Shi and Chang do not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of features include at least low security features and high security features such that, for a same one of the at least one of a plurality of devices, the high security features require a higher threshold for the user than the low security features, the high security features including features facilitating a transferring of assets out of the account associated with the user.
However, in an analogous art, Ross discloses wherein the plurality of features include at least low security features and high security features such that, for a same one of the at least one of a plurality of devices, the high security features require a higher threshold for the user than the low security features, the high security features including features facilitating a transferring of assets out of the account associated with the user (Ross, paragraph 0011, bank withdrawal, paragraph 0013, certain low security transaction s may be associated with a low threshold confidence level, while high security transactions may be associated with a higher threshold confidence level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ross with the method/ server/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Shi and Chang, to include wherein the plurality of features include at least low security features and high security features such that, for a same one of the at least one of a plurality of devices, the high security features require a higher threshold for the user than the low security features, the high security features including features facilitating a transferring of assets out of the account associated with the user, to provide users with the benefits of approving or disapproving transactions automatically (Ross; paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 18, Shi and Chang disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13.
Shi and Chang do not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of features include at least low security features and high security features such that, for a same one of the at least one of a plurality of devices, the high security features require a higher threshold for the user than the low security features, the high security features including features facilitating a transferring of assets out of the account associated with the user.
However, in an analogous art, Ross discloses wherein the plurality of features include at least low security features and high security features such that, for a same one of the at least one of a plurality of devices, the high security features require a higher threshold for the user than the low security features, the high security features including features facilitating a transferring of assets out of the account associated with the user (Ross, paragraph 0011, bank withdrawal, paragraph 0013, certain low security transaction s may be associated with a low threshold confidence level, while high security transactions may be associated with a higher threshold confidence level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ross with the method/ server/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Shi and Chang, to include wherein the plurality of features include at least low security features and high security features such that, for a same one of the at least one of a plurality of devices, the high security features require a higher threshold for the user than the low security features, the high security features including features facilitating a transferring of assets out of the account associated with the user, to provide users with the benefits of approving or disapproving transactions automatically (Ross; paragraph 0013).
Conclusion
/W.J.M/ Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439