Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Zimmerman fails to teach any specific actual physical circuits on the PCB.
However, according to 2111, during patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
Further, it is improper to import claim limitation from the specification. “Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad Inc., 358 F.3d 898, 906, 69 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (discussing recent cases wherein the court expressly rejected the contention that if a patent describes only a single embodiment, the claims of the patent must be construed as being limited to that embodiment); E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“Interpretation of descriptive statements in a patent’s written description is a difficult task, as an inherent tension exists as to whether a statement is a clear lexicographic definition or a description of a preferred embodiment. The problem is to interpret claims ‘in view of the specification’ without unnecessarily importing limitations from the specification into the claims.”); Altiris Inc. v. Symantec Corp., 318 F.3d 1363, 1371, 65 USPQ2d 1865, 1869-70 (Fed. Cir. 2003)
Applicant argues that Zimmerman further fails to teach the multiplexer extend towards any specific direction.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown above, Zimmerman clearly shows the directions of the signal ends, to and from the multiplexer.
Applicant asserts that changing the extending direction of the ends is not simply routine skill in the art, but a substantial technical achievement that solves wiring difficulties and maintains electrical characteristics.
However, the claims and the specification fail to explain and illustrate any substantial technical achievement benefited from specific directions of the ends.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zimmerman (2020/0044345).
Regarding Claim 1, Zimmerman (2020/0044345) discloses a multiplexer (multiplexer) applied in an array antenna module (Fig. 3A), the array antenna module (Fig. 3A) comprising
an array antenna (242, paragraph [0081], Fig. 3A; “array of radiating elements”, abstract), and
a beamforming module (BFN 260, Fig. 3A),
the multiplexer (multiplexer, Fig. 3A) comprising:
a first end (one output to 242, Fig. 3A), and
at least two second ends (inputs to the multiplexer, Fig. 3A) towards the first end (other two inputs are going towards the multiplexer’s output, e.g. output to 242, Fig. 3A);
wherein the first end (line directed to subarrays 242) is connected to the array antenna (242), the other end such as two second ends (another line from BFN that could comprise more than one inputs to the multiplexer) are connected to the beamforming module (BFN, Fig. 3A), the first end and the second end are configured to conduct signals (signals from BFN to antenna 242) between the array antenna (242) and the beamforming module (BFN 260, Fig. 3A).
Further, since the fundamental functionality of a multiplexer is to allow multiple inputs to share a single output line (Fig. 3A of Zimmerman is system diagram that illustrates flow charts), therefore the connections between BFN and multiplexer are not limited to one. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have provided two second ends (e.g. terminals, inputs, number of wires, etc.) to the multiplexer in order to generate more input signals to the multiple arrays of antenna since Zimmerman also teaches more than one array of antenna (labeled as “X”, in 242, fig. 3A).
In addition, altering the direction or position of the wiring without unexpected result and improvement does not change the functionality of a multiplexer and other circuit components. Since it has been held that arranging the position merely involves routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided two second ends (wires) extending towards the first end (wire) in Zimmerman in order to save space and fit the electrical components on a compact PCB as a matter of design choice. In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.).
Claim 9 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 7, Zimmerman discloses the multiplexer of claim 1, wherein when the at least two second ends (as discussed in the preceding rejection for Claim 1) are connected to receiving antennas of the array antenna (242), the first end (as discussed in the preceding rejection in Claim 1) is connected to the beamforming module (BFN), the multiplexer serves as a power combiner (power divider 270 feed power to multiplexer) to receive the signal of the array antenna through the at least two second ends and conduct the signal to the beamforming module (BFN) through the first end (Fig. 3A).
Claim 15 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (2020/0044345).
Regarding Claim 3, as discussed above, Zimmerman essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the multiplexer of claim 1, further comprising a first connecting portion, wherein the first connecting portion is connected to the first end and is coplanar with the first end.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a connecting portion such as connection pin or connector to connect the first end and is coplanar with the first end in order to conduct the electricity.
Claim 11 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 5, as discussed above, Zimmerman essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the multiplexer of claim 1, further comprising a resistor, wherein the resistor contacts the at least two second ends.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a resistor in any electronic path including Zimmerman in order to obtain the desired voltage or current that fits the circuitry.
Claim 13 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 6, as discussed above, Zimmerman essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the multiplexer of claim 5, wherein the resistor and the at least two second ends are in a same layer.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a resistor with the second ends on the same layer in order to obtain the desired voltage or current that fits the electrical operation in the circuitry.
Claim 14 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 7, Zimmerman discloses the multiplexer of claim 1, wherein when the at least two second ends (as discussed in the preceding rejection for Claim 1) are connected to receiving antennas of the array antenna (242), the first end (as discussed in the preceding rejection in Claim 1) is connected to the beamforming module (BFN), the multiplexer serves as a power combiner (power divider 270 feed power to multiplexer) to receive the signal of the array antenna through the at least two second ends and conduct the signal to the beamforming module (BFN) through the first end (Fig. 3A).
Claim 15 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 8, Zimmerman discloses the multiplexer of claim 1, wherein when the at least two second ends (as discussed in the preceding rejection for Claim 1) are connected to transmitting antennas of the array antenna (242), the first end is connected to the beamforming module (BFN), the multiplexer serves as a power divider (draw power from power divider network and feed the antenna, Fig. 3A) to receive the signal of the beamforming module (BFN) through the first end and conduct the signal to the array antenna (242) through the at least two second ends (as discussed in the preceding rejection for Claim 1).
Claim 16 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 10, 12, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (2020/0044345) in view of Ghassemiparvin et al, (12,567,673)
Regarding Claim 2, as discussed above, Zimmerman essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the multiplexer of claim 1, wherein the first end and the at least two second ends are in different layers.
However, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have fabricated the system on an integrated circuit chip that contains the first and the two second ends in different layers of the chip to fit the circuit components into a compact chip in order to prevent inadvertent electric connection between the ends. For example, Ghassemiparvin et al, (12,567,673) teaches millimeter/centimeter wave transceiver circuitry 38 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits (e.g., multiple integrated circuits mounted on a common printed circuit in a system-in-package device, one or more integrated circuits mounted on different substrates, etc.) (Col. 8, lines 38-42). Ghassemparvin teaches one or more ICs can be mounted different substrates (layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have fabricated the first and two second ends on different substrates in order to prevent inadvertent electric conduction between the ends since each end is connected to different modules.
Claim 10 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 4, as discussed above, Zimmerman essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the multiplexer of claim 1, further comprising at least two second connecting portions, wherein one end of each of the at least two second connecting portions is connected to an end of the first connecting portion away from the first end, and the other end of the at least two second connecting portions are connected to the at least two second ends, respectively, the at least two second connecting portions connect the layer where the first end is located and the layer where the at least two second ends are located.
However, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have fabricated the system on an integrated circuit chip that contains two second connecting portions, wherein one end of each of the at least two second connecting portions is connected to an end of the first connecting portion away from the first end, and the other end of the at least two second connecting portions are connected to the at least two second ends, respectively, the at least two second connecting portions connect the layer where the first end is located and the layer where the at least two second ends are located in order to establish electric conductivity between circuit components. For example, Ghassemiparvin et al, (12,567,673) teaches millimeter/centimeter wave transceiver circuitry 38 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits (e.g., multiple integrated circuits mounted on a common printed circuit in a system-in-package device, one or more integrated circuits mounted on different substrates, etc.) (Col. 8, lines 38-42). Ghassemparvin teaches one or more ICs can be mounted different substrates (layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have fabricated the first and two second ends with connecting portions on the layers in order to establish electric conductivity.
Claim 12 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 19, as discussed above, Zimmerman essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the array antenna module of claim 10, further comprising a first ground layer, wherein the first ground layer is located between the layer where the first end is located and the layer where the at least two second ends are located.
However, Ghassemiparvin et al, (12,567,673) discloses ground layer (82) between the layers (fig. 6, Col. 19, lines 25-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a first ground layer, wherein the first ground layer is located between the layer where the first end is located and the layer where the at least two second ends are located in Zimmerman in order to provide ground connection for the circuit on the different layers.
Regarding Claim 20, as discussed above, Zimmerman essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the array antenna module of claim 19, further comprising a second ground layer, wherein the second ground layer is located between the layer where the first end is located and the layer where the array antenna is located.
However, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have fabricated the system on an integrated circuit chip that contains a second ground layer, wherein the second ground layer is located between the layer where the first end is located and the layer where the array antenna is locate in order to fit the circuitry components into a system-in-package device. For example, Ghassemiparvin et al, (12,567,673) teaches millimeter/centimeter wave transceiver circuitry 38 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits (e.g., multiple integrated circuits mounted on a common printed circuit in a system-in-package device, one or more integrated circuits mounted on different substrates, etc.) (Col. 8, lines 38-42). Ghassemparvin teaches one or more ICs can be mounted different substrates (layers). It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have fabricated the system on an integrated circuit chip that contains a second ground layer, wherein the second ground layer is located between the layer where the first end is located and the layer where the array antenna is locate in order to fit the circuitry components into a system-in-package device.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (2020/0044345) in view of Mohamadi (7,610,064).
Regarding Claim 17, as discussed above, Zimmerman essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the array antenna module of claim 9, further comprising a low noise amplifier (LNA), wherein one end of the LNA is connected to the array antenna, the other end of the LNA is connected to the at least two second ends.
However, Mohamadi (7,610,064) discloses low noise amplifier (220) connected to the antenna (Fig. 2b, Col. 3, line 56 to Col. 4, line 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a low noise amplifier in Zimmerman to amplify the low power signal from the antenna to the microprocessor in order to meet the sufficient value to be processed as taught by Mohamadi.
Allowable subject matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845