Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shelton IV et al. (US 20220104910 A1).
Re claim 1, Shelton discloses a system for image navigation using on-demand deep learning based segmentation, the system comprising:
an exoscope configured to capture image data from a field of view (Shelton: paragraph [0007], Scopes include, but are not limited to, arthroscopes, angioscopes, bronchoscopes, choledochoscopes, colonoscopes, cystoscopes, duodenoscopes, enteroscopes, esophagogastro-duodenoscopes (gastroscopes), endoscopes, laryngoscopes, nasopharyngo-neproscopes, sigmoidoscopes, thoracoscopes, ureteroscopes, and exoscopes);
an image segmentation module (Shelton: paragraphs [0279]-[0286]);
an intent recognition module to capture a user's intent (Shelton: paragraph [0472], the surgeon may give instruct the personal interface 3406 to adjust the livestream or select a destination for the livestream using one or more of a gesture, a hand motion, a voice command, a head motion, and the like);
one or more robotic arms configured to move the exoscope (Shelton: paragraph [0508]);
a processor (Shelton: paragraphs [0008]-[0029], The surgical hub and/or medical instrument may comprise a memory and a processor); and
memory storing computer-executable instructions (Shelton: paragraphs [0008]-[0029], The surgical hub and/or medical instrument may comprise a memory and a processor)
that, when executed by the processor, causes the system to:
receive, via the exoscope, image data relating to an image or a video stream of a surgical site (Shelton: paragraphs [0279]-[0286]);
generate, via the image segmentation module, an augmented image comprising a plurality of labeled regions overlaying the surgical site (Shelton: paragraph [0274], overlaying or augmenting images and/or text from multiple image/text sources to present composite images on one or more displays);
receive, via the intent recognition module, a voice command selecting a labeled region of the plurality of labeled regions (Shelton: paragraph [0472]); and
cause, via the one or more robotic arms, a movement of the exoscope so that the selected labeled region is within the field of view of the exoscope after the movement (Shelton: paragraph [0508], the control scheme allows for a clinician to reposition a robotic arm).
Re claim 2, Shelton discloses that the plurality of labeled regions comprises one or both of:
a plurality of color coded regions; or
a plurality of textually labeled regions (Shelton: paragraph [0274], overlaying or augmenting images and/or text from multiple image/text sources to present composite images on one or more displays).
Re claim 3, Shelton discloses that the one or more robotic arms include at least one of a pneumatic arm and a hydraulic arm (Shelton: paragraph [0508], the control scheme allows for a clinician to reposition a robotic arm).
Re claim 4, Shelton discloses an instrument control module configured to receive a command signal caused by a tapping gesture on a surgical instrument while the surgical instrument is pointed towards a labeled region of the plurality of labeled region (Shelton: Fig. 23B; paragraphs [0060] and [0337]).
Re claim 5, Shelton discloses that the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to:
receive, via the instrument control module, an instrument command selecting a second labeled region of the plurality of labeled regions (Shelton: paragraph [0472]); and
cause, via the one or more robotic arms, a second movement of the exoscope so that the second selected labeled region is within the field of view of the exoscope (Shelton: paragraph [0508], the control scheme allows for a clinician to reposition a robotic arm).
Re claim 6, Shelton discloses the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the system to generate the augmented image by: segmenting, using a deep learning model, the image of the surgical site into a plurality of regions (Shelton: paragraph [0237], Using pattern recognition or machine learning techniques, for example, the situational awareness system can be trained to recognize the positioning of the medical imaging device according to the visualization of the patient's anatomy).
Re claim 7, Shelton discloses a display configured to output the augmented image (Shelton: paragraph [0274]).
Re claim 8, Shelton discloses the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to: train the deep learning model using training data comprising a plurality of reference image data having a plurality of recognized regions associated with the reference image data (Shelton: paragraph [0237], Using pattern recognition or machine learning techniques, for example, the situational awareness system can be trained to recognize the positioning of the medical imaging device according to the visualization of the patient's anatomy).
Re claim 9, Shelton discloses the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the system to: employ deep learning methods to associate each pixel of the image with a corresponding anatomical structure (Shelton: paragraph [0237], Using pattern recognition or machine learning techniques, for example, the situational awareness system can be trained to recognize the positioning of the medical imaging device according to the visualization of the patient's anatomy).
Re claim 10, Shelton discloses that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the system to segment, using the deep learning model, the image of the surgical site into the plurality of regions by at least one of:
clustering regions of the image of the surgical site based at least upon one of threshold intensity values for pixels;
using seed points of the image for growing regions based on similarity criteria; and
applying edge detection, watershed segmentation, or active contour detection (Shelton: paragraph [0765], In an aspect, the physical characteristic may be determined by processing the captured images to detect the edges of the objects in the images and comparing the detected images to a template of the body part being evaluated).
Claim 11 recites the corresponding method for implementation by the system of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 11. Accordingly, claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Re claim 12, Shelton discloses that the user input is one or both of:
a voice command selecting a labeled region of the plurality of labeled regions (Shelton: paragraphs [0023]-[0026], voice command; paragraph [0299], voice activation); or
a tapping gesture on a surgical instrument while the surgical instrument is pointed towards a labeled region of the plurality of labeled regions (Shelton: Fig. 23B; paragraphs [0060] and [0337]).
Re claim 13, Shelton disclose, prior to generating the augmented image: receiving a first user input to initiate segmentation, wherein the augmented image is generated responsive to the first user input (Shelton: paragraph [0472]).
Claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 6 above.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 7 above.
Claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 8 above.
Claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 9 above.
Claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 10 above.
Claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 2 above.
Claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 3 above.
Contact
/CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482