DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanai (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0199823).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 1, Kanai discloses an exterior member comprising: a tube (1) that is configured for passing a wire (W/H) therethrough, wherein: the tube includes: a first bellows portion (2, Figures 1 and 2) in which first ridge portions and first valley portions are alternately arranged in an axial direction of the tube; and a second bellows portion (7, Figure 1) in which second ridge portions and second valley portions are alternately arranged in a peripheral direction of the tube, and the tube is made of an elastic material (the grommet 1 is integrally molded from a rubber or an elastomer, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Kanai discloses wherein: the tube includes a first tube portion having a quadrate transverse section, the first tube portion includes a pair of first walls and a pair of second walls via which the pair of first walls are coupled, the pair of first walls are provided with the first bellows portion, and the pair of second walls are provided with the second bellows portion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kanai discloses wherein: the second bellows portion is provided at an intermediate portion in each of the pair of second walls, and the first bellows portion extends to an end of each of the pair of second walls located on an exterior side with respect to the second bellows portion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kanai discloses wherein ends of the first valley portions join to the second valley portions (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kanai discloses wherein ends of the first ridge portions join to the second ridge portions (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kanai discloses wherein the tube includes a second tube portion provided with only the second bellows portion out of the first bellows portion and the second bellows portion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kanai discloses wherein the second bellows portion is provided throughout the entire tube in an axial direction (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kanai discloses a wire harness comprising: the exterior member according to claim 1; a wire passed through the tube; and a connector provided at an end of the wire (Figure 1).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847