DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The previous grounds of rejection have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al. (JP 2004-339579) in view of Sakaki (US 2003/0153185).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 10, Mishima discloses an electrolytic processing apparatus (page 1) (= an electrolytic cell) comprising:
An electrolytic processing unit (60) including a diaphragm (70) fixed to a housing (74) configured to flow plating solution (pages 17-18) (= an electrochemical reactor including an electrically conductive sieve fixed mounted within a chamber and configured to direct jets of electrolyte toward a workpiece), the diaphragm is rotated as needed (page 18) (= that is configured to rotate within the chamber, such that the electrically conductive sieve manipulates flow paths of the electrolyte but not an electric field in the chamber). The diaphragm of Mishima includes a water-permeable material such as a woven or nonwoven fabric or a plate having pores. Mishima is silent as to the specific material of the diaphragm therefore one or ordinary skill in the art would look to the related art for materials of diaphragms.
In the same or similar field, Sakaki discloses a plating apparatus comprising a diaphragm (70) permitting energization between electrodes through the plating solution and is made of woven fabrics of polypropylene filaments, ion exchange membranes including fluoroplastics-containing ion exchange membranes or non-woven fabrics [0065].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce the diaphragm of Mishima as an ion exchange membrane since Sakaki discloses wherein a plating device comprises a diaphragm that is formed of woven fabric or as an ion exchange membrane. According to Applicant’s instant specification and claim 2, a perforated ionic membrane reads on the claimed electrically conductive sieve [0025]-[0026]. The diaphragm would necessarily manipulate the flow path of the electrolyte but not an electric field in the chamber since the diaphragm is the same as claimed.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Mishima discloses wherein the diaphragm is arranged parallel to and spaced away from the workpiece (W) (Figure 2).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, given the circular semiconductor wafer processing device of Mishima, the diaphragm is necessarily disk shaped. Sakaki discloses a cylindrical shape of the plating tank [0025].
Regarding claim 16, Mishima discloses the diaphragm mounted in a plating unit (60) (Figure 2).
Claim(s) 3-4, 11-12 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al. (JP 2004-339579), in view of Sakaki (US 2003/0153185) and in further view of Otzlinger et al. (US 2023/0313407).
Regarding claims 3-4, 11-12 and 17-18, Mishima and Sakaki fail to disclose wherein the perforations of the perforated membrane are different sizes or shapes.
In the same or similar field of an electrolytic apparatus, Otzlinger discloses a deposition chamber [0010] comprising a shield body (2) which is mounted in a chamber to direct process fluid flow through openings (2a). Otzlinger discloses wherein the openings comprise different sizes and shapes [0013]. Otzlinger discloses wherein the number, position, size and shape of the openings are selected based to correspond to the surface elements of the substrate [0014].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a diaphragm or membrane comprising openings with different sizes and shapes openings because Otzlinger discloses that the size and shape of openings are selected based on the substrate being treated.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al. (JP 2004-339579), in view of Sakaki (US 2003/0153185) and in further view of Dinneen et al. (US 2015/0122638).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 14-15, Mishima in view of Sakaki fails to disclose a support for the diaphragm between the diaphragm as claimed.
In the same or similar field, Dinneen discloses an electroplating cell (200) (title) [0056] (= an electrolytic cell) comprising a chamber (= an electrochemical reactor including a housing defining a chamber) and a membrane (247) [0056], [0102] mounted with chamber frame (249) [0056] configured to flow plating solution [0056] toward a wafer (not pictured) which is configured to rotate [0133], [0137]. Dinneen discloses chamber frame (249) (= support grate, Figures 2A-2B) which supports the membrane. Dinneen appears to depict the chamber frame (29) above the membrane (247) and the cathode chamber which would include the substrate above the frame (Figure 2B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a cell comprising a support because Dinneen discloses that objects within a chamber may be supported by a frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 November 2025 have been fully considered. The remarks on pages 5-6 are directed towards the previous grounds of rejection which are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and therefore will not be specifically addressed at this time. New grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795