DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 8/27/2026, which amended claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 16, 17, and 20 and added new claims 21-23. Claims 1-23 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,347,154 in view of Schriever (US PGPub 2009/0014027) in view of Bykanov et al. (US PGPub 2009/0154642, Bykanov hereinafter) and Baek (US PGPub 2017/0215265).
Regarding claim 1, claim 19 of patent 154 recites a radiation source (claim 9, col. 35, lines 14-17) comprising:
a vessel having at least one optical component (claim 9, col. 35, lines 17-23);
configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (claim 19);
a gas into the vessel (claim 9, col. 35, lines 24-38, a material that is transformed into a plasma state); and
a cleaning apparatus positioned in the vessel, wherein a conductor of the cleaning apparatus to generate electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric of the cleaning apparatus, thereby transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species are configured to selectively react with debris on the at least one optical component to form a compound (claim 9, col. 35, lines 24-42). Claim 19 of patent 154 does not appear to recite at least one liner, an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel, a power source coupled to the conductor, the power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz), a flow supply configured to introduce the gas, a compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus.
Schriever discloses a vessel having at least one optical component (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0032], [0035]-[0036], [0044]-[0045], [0053], EUV radiation source includes a vacuum chamber comprising collector optics 1);
an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0021], [0053], [0063], a vacuum pump connected to the vacuum chamber);
a power source configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0016], [0021], [0045], [0050], [0055]-[0057], AC voltage source 2 connects to electrodes 21 or electrodes 21 and 23 and operates in a range up to 100 kHz);
a flow supply configured to introduce a gas into the vessel (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0020], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], hydrogen gas is introduced by a necessary supply to produce a continuous gas flow 3); and
a cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], dielectric barrier layer 22, dielectric alternating layer system 14, electrodes 21, 23, 25, 26, AC voltage source 2, gas flow 3) positioned in the vessel (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], dielectric barrier layer 22, dielectric alternating layer system 14, 13, electrodes 21, 23, 25, 26, AC voltage source 2, gas flow 3 are in vacuum chamber), wherein a conductor of the cleaning apparatus is coupled to the power source to generate electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric of the cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0063]-[0065], electrodes 21, 23, or electrodes 25, 26 are coupled to AC voltage source 2 to generate waves along the surface of dielectric barrier layer 22 or dielectric alternating layer system 14 produce a plasma from the introduced gas supply), thereby transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species are configured to selectively react with debris on the at least one optical component to form a compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], a plasma is produced from the reaction of the introduced gas in the gas flow 3 to the applied frequency from the AC voltage source 2 to the electrodes. The plasma includes reactive species that react with contamination deposits to clean the mirror surface 11 by forming reaction products that are removed by the vacuum pumps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at least one liner, an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel; a power source coupled to the conductor, a dielectric, and the compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus as taught by Schriever in the radiation source as recited by claim 19 of patent 154 since including at least one liner, an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel; a power source coupled to the conductor, a dielectric, and the compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus is commonly used to generate a homogeneous cold plasma in gas flow to continuously clean optical surfaces (Schriever, paras. [0016], [0021]).
Claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever does not appear to explicitly describe at least one liner and operation at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz).
Bykanov discloses a vessel having at least one liner and at least one optical component (Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0116]-[0118], [0131]-[0136], [0144]-[0151], the radiation source 20 includes optic 30 and body 1022, 1022A, 1022C, 1022E, 1022F and shroud 1048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the vessel having at least one liner as taught by Bykanov in the radiation source as recited by claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever since including the vessel having at least one liner is commonly used to restrict gas flow into an attached exposure apparatus to improve EUV light transmission (Bykanov, paras. [0008]-[0011], [0043], [0090], [0093]).
Claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever in view of Bykanov does not appear to explicitly describe operation at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz).
Baek discloses a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], the signal source is operated in a range of tens of kHz to up to 10 GHz, or a signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz or from several kHz to up to hundreds of MHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) as taught by Baek in the radiation source as recited by claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov since including a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) is commonly used to create a hydrogen plasma containing hydrogen radicals to clean target material deposits in situ (Baek, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100]).
Regarding claim 2, although claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov recites continuously generating plasma (Schriever, paras. [0016], [0021], [0050]), claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov does not appear to recite wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source.
Baek discloses wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0006], [0091]-[0100], cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source as taught by Baek in the radiation source as recited by claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov since including wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source is commonly performed to enhance optical performance of the EUV collector (Baek, paras. [0004]-[0006]) while improving efficiency and throughput.
Regarding claim 3, although claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov recites continuously generating plasma (Schriever, paras. [0016], [0021], [0050]), claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov does not appear to recite wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without changing a pressure of the radiation source.
Baek discloses wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without changing a pressure of the radiation source (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0006], [0091]-[0100], cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously in the same pressure environment with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without changing a pressure of the radiation source as taught by Baek in the radiation source as recited by claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov since including wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without changing a pressure of the radiation source is commonly performed to enhance optical performance of the EUV collector (Baek, paras. [0004]-[0006]) while improving efficiency and throughput.
Regarding claim 4, claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites wherein the power source is configured to electromagnetically induce electric current in the conductor of the cleaning apparatus at microwave frequencies or radio frequency (RF) frequencies (claim 19 as modified by Schriever).
Regarding claim 5, claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites comprising a fluid flow within the vessel configured to sweep or push the reactive species toward the at least one liner or the at least one optical component (Schriever, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0020], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], hydrogen gas produces a continuous gas flow 3 that directs hydrogen radicals to the surfaces of mirrors 11, and as modified by Bykanov, Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0116]-[0118], [0131]-[0135], the radiation source 20 includes optic 30 and body 1022, 1022A, 1022C, 1022E, shroud 1048).
Regarding claim 6, claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites wherein the dielectric of the cleaning apparatus is positioned proximate to the at least one liner or the at least one optical component (Schriever, Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0063], dielectric barrier layer 22 is located on the rear of mirror surface 11, or dielectric alternating layer system 14 is located on multilayer mirror 12, and as modified by Bykanov, Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0116]-[0118], [0131]-[0135], the radiation source 20 includes optic 30 and body 1022, 1022A, 1022C, 1022E, shroud 1048).
Regarding claim 7, claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites wherein the reactive species includes at least one of radicals and ions generated from the gas (claim 9, col. 35, lines 30-38).
Regarding claim 8, claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever does not appear to explicitly recite wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus.
Bykanov discloses describe wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1-2, 8-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0111], [0116]-[0118], [0128], [0133]-[0136], [0144]-[0151], the walls of body 1022 are conductive and/or electrodes 1120, 1122, and temperature control system 110 cools the inner surface of body 1022 by circulating fluid within internal passageways to cool the walls and/or electrodes 1120, 1122 to a temperature at which contaminants condense on the walls).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus as taught by Bykanov in the radiation source as recited by claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever since including wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus is commonly used to cool surfaces to below a preselected temperature that condenses a contaminant species to prevent the contaminant from entering the exposure device (Bykanov, paras. [0008]-[0011], [0043], [0134]).
Regarding claim 21, claim 19 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites wherein the power source is configured to operate at another frequency in a range of 100 Hertz (Hz) to 200 kHz (Baek, Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], a second signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz).
Claims 9, 10, 12, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,347,154 in view of Schriever (US PGPub 2009/0014027).
Regarding claim 9, claim 8 of patent 154 recites a method of cleaning a surface of an optical component in a radiation source (claim 8, col. 34, lines 57-59) comprising:
introducing a gas into a vessel of the radiation source (claim 8, col. 34, lines 60-63, col. 35, lines 1-10, a material is transformed to a plasma state within the chamber of the EUV source);
generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric of a cleaning apparatus including electromagnetically inducing electric current alternatingly at a first frequency and a second frequency, the first frequency being different from the second frequency (claim 8, col. 34, lines 63-66, col. 35, lines 1-10);
transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species (claim 8, col. 34, lines 63-66, col. 35, lines 1-10);
selectively reacting the reactive species with debris on the surface of the optical component to form a compound (claim 8, col. 35, lines 1-14, the plasma particles pass over the structure surface to remove debris). Claim 8 of patent 154 does not appear to recite using a power source operating in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range and exhausting the compound from the vessel through an exhaust apparatus.
Schriever discloses introducing a gas into a vessel of the radiation source (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0020]-[0021], [0032], [0035]-[0036 [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], hydrogen gas is introduced in a vacuum chamber to produce a continuous gas flow 3 in the radiation source);
generating, using a power source operating in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0016], [0021], [0045], [0050], [0055]-[0057], AC voltage source 2 connects to electrodes 21 or electrodes 21 and 23 and operates in a range up to 100 kHz), electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric of a cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0063]-[0065], electrodes 21, 23, or electrodes 25, 26 are coupled to AC voltage source 2 to generate waves along the surface of dielectric barrier layer 22 or dielectric alternating layer system 14 produce a plasma from the introduced gas supply);
transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], a plasma is produced from the reaction of the introduced gas in the gas flow 3 to the applied frequency from the AC voltage source 2 to the electrodes. The plasma includes reactive species);
selectively reacting the reactive species with debris on the surface of the optical component to form a compound (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], the generated plasma includes reactive species that react with contamination deposits to clean the mirror surface 11 by forming reaction products); and
exhausting the compound from the vessel through an exhaust apparatus (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], the plasma includes reactive species that react with contamination deposits to clean the mirror surface 11 by forming reaction products that are removed by the vacuum pumps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included using a power source operating in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range and exhausting the compound from the vessel through an exhaust apparatus as taught by Schiever in the method as recited by claim 4 of patent 154 since including using a power source operating in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range and exhausting the compound from the vessel through an exhaust apparatus in the method is commonly used to generate a homogeneous cold plasma in gas flow to continuously clean optical surfaces (Schriever, paras. [0016], [0021]).
Regarding claim 10, claim 8 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever recites wherein generating electromagnetic waves includes electromagnetically inducing electric current in a conductor of the cleaning apparatus at microwave frequencies or radio frequency (RF) frequencies (Schriever, Figs. 1-5, paras. [0016], [0021], [0045], [0050], [0055]-[0057], AC voltage source 2 connects to electrodes 21 or electrodes 21 and 23 and operates in a range up to 100 kHz).
Regarding claim 12, claim 8 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever recites wherein introducing the gas into the vessel includes introducing hydrogen molecules adjacent to a plasma-generation region of the radiation source (Schriever, Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], the introduced gas is H2 gas, and the gas is introduced in a space between mirror surfaces 11 or electrode 26 and mirror 12, and the plasma is generated from the hydrogen gas).
Regarding claim 15, claim 4 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever recites further comprising: carrying the reactive species and a new material to the surface of the optical component through a fluid flow pattern (Schriever, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0020], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], hydrogen gas produces a continuous gas flow 3 that directs hydrogen radicals and reaction products).
Claims 11, 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,347,154 as modified by Schriever and further in view of Baek (US PGPub 2017/0215265).
Regarding claim 11, claim 8 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first frequency is in a range of 500 kHz to 3 GHz and the second frequency is below 500 kHz.
Baek discloses wherein the first frequency is in a range of 500 kHz to 3 GHz and the second frequency is below 500 kHz (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], a first signal source is an RF signal in a range of 10s of kHz to about 10 GHz, and a second signal source operates in a range from 0 Hz up to tens of MHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first frequency is in a range of 500 kHz to 3 GHz and the second frequency is below 500 kHz as taught by Baek in the method as recited by patent 154 as modified by Schriever since including wherein the first frequency is in a range of 500 kHz to 3 GHz and the second frequency is below 500 kHz is commonly used to create a hydrogen plasma containing hydrogen radicals to clean target material deposits in situ (Baek, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100]).
Regarding claim 13, although claim 8 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever discloses continuously generating plasma (Schriever, paras. [0016], [0021], [0050]), claim 8 of patent 154 as modified by Schriever does not appear to explicitly recite wherein selectively reacting the reactive species with the debris is performed without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source.
Baek discloses wherein selectively reacting the reactive species with the debris is performed without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0006], [0091]-[0100], cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein selectively reacting the reactive species with the debris is performed without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source as taught by Baek in the method as recited by patent 154 as modified by Schriever since including wherein selectively reacting the reactive species with the debris is performed without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source is commonly performed to enhance optical performance of the EUV collector (Baek, paras. [0004]-[0006]) while improving efficiency and throughput.
Claim 14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,347,154 as modified by Schriever and further in view of Bykanov et al. (US PGPub 2009/0154642, Bykanov hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14, patent 154 as modified by Schriever does not appear to recite further comprising: maintain a temperature of the dielectric or the cleaning apparatus below a threshold temperature using fluid cooling.
Bykanov discloses maintaining a temperature of the dielectric or the cleaning apparatus below a threshold temperature using fluid cooling (Figs. 1-2, 8-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0111], [0116]-[0118], [0128], [0133]-[0136], [0144]-[0151], the temperature control system 110 cools the inner surface of non-conductive body 1022 by circulating fluid within internal passageways to cool the walls and/or electrodes 1120, 1122 to a below a preselected temperature at which contaminants condense on the walls).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included maintaining a temperature of the dielectric or the cleaning apparatus below a threshold temperature using fluid cooling as taught by Bykanov in the method as recited by patent 154 as modified by Schriever since including maintaining a temperature of the dielectric or the cleaning apparatus below a threshold temperature using fluid cooling is commonly used to cool surfaces to below a preselected temperature that condenses a contaminant species to prevent the contaminant from entering the exposure device (Bykanov, paras. [0008]-[0011], [0043], [0134]).
Claims 16-17 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,347,154 in view of Baek (US PGPub 2017/0215265).
Regarding claim 16, claim 15 of patent 154 recites a clean apparatus (claim 15, col. 36, lines 34-54) comprising:
a conductor (claim 15, col. 36, lines 34-46);
a dielectric coupled to and in contact with the conductor, electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric, the electromagnetic waves transform a gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species pass over a surface of a component in a radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the component without etching the component (claim 15, col. 36, lines 38-54). Claim 51 of patent 154 does not appear to recite a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric, and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component.
Baek discloses a conductor coupled to a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070]-[0071], [0080]-[0084], [0100], conductive layer 1120 is coupled to signal source 212C, 1212, and radical generator 211 is coupled to signal source 212, and the signal source is operated in a range of tens of kHz to up to 10 GHz, or a signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz or from several kHz to up to hundreds of MHz); and
a dielectric coupled to and in contact with the conductor (Figs. 11-15, paras. [0071], [0080]-[0084], conductive layer 1120 is coupled to glass or quartz layer 1122, radical generator 211 is coupled to ceramic insulator 220), wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric (Figs. 11-15, paras. [0071], [0077]-[0078], [0080]-[0084], the hydrogen plasma is produced using the frequency produced by the signal source), the electromagnetic waves transform a gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species pass over a surface of a component in a radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the component without etching the component and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component (Figs. 11-15, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0077]-[0079], [0080]-[0084], [0091]-[0100], the plasma creates hydrogen radicals to remove debris deposits. The cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric, and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component as taught by Baek in the clean apparatus as recited by patent 154 since including a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric, and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component is commonly used to enhance optical performance of the EUV collector by effectively removing contamination (Baek, paras. [0004]-[0006]) while improving efficiency and throughput.
Regarding claim 17, claim 15 of patent 154 recites a clean apparatus (claim 15, col. 36, lines 34-54) comprising:
a conductor (claim 15, col. 36, lines 34-46);
a dielectric coupled to the conductor, electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric, the electromagnetic waves transform a gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species pass over a surface of a component in a radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the component without etching the component (claim 15, col. 36, lines 38-54),
wherein the clean apparatus is a shroud configured to define a pathway for target material projected from a target delivery system of the radiation source vessel (claim 15, col. 36, lines 25-31, 51-54). Claim 15 of patent 154 does not appear to recite a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric, and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component.
Baek discloses a conductor coupled to a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (Figs. 8-10, paras. [0009], [0076]-[0079], [0090], a coil 804, 1004 is coupled to a signal source 212 that supplies a signal with a frequency to the coil having a frequency in the range of kHz to MHz); and
a dielectric coupled to the conductor (Fig. 10, paras. [0079], a ceramic window 1007 is coupled to the coil 1004), wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric (Fig. 10, paras. [0009], [0076]-[0079], an inductively coupled hydrogen plasma is produced using the signal from the signal source), the electromagnetic waves transform a gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species pass over a surface of a component in a radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the component without etching the component and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component (Figs. 10 and 15, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0079], [0091]-[0100], the inductively coupled hydrogen plasma creates hydrogen radicals to remove debris deposits. The cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, , thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric, and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component as taught by Baek in the clean apparatus as recited by patent 154 since including a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric, and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component is commonly used to enhance optical performance of the EUV collector by effectively removing contamination (Baek, paras. [0004]-[0006]) while improving efficiency and throughput.
Regarding claim 23, claim 15 of patent 154 as modified by Baek recites wherein the power source is configured to operate at another frequency in a range of 100 Hertz (Hz) to 200 kHz (Baek, Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], a second signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz).
Claims 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,347,154 as modified by Baek and further in view of Schriever.
Regarding claim 18, claim 15 of patent 154 as modified by Baek does not appear to recite wherein the dielectric is a ring-shaped structure positioned around a circumference of a reflective surface of a collector mirror, and the conductor is a ring-shaped structure embedded in the dielectric
Schriever discloses wherein the dielectric is a ring-shaped structure positioned around a circumference of a reflective surface of a collector mirror, and the conductor is a ring-shaped structure embedded in the dielectric (Schriever, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], dielectric barrier layer 22 is annular around the circumference of mirror surfaces 11 of a collector 1, and the electrodes 21 are ring-shaped in the dielectric barrier layers 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the dielectric is a ring-shaped structure positioned around a circumference of a reflective surface of a collector mirror, and the conductor is a ring-shaped structure embedded in the dielectric as taught by Schriever in the clean apparatus as recited by patent 154 as modified by Baek since including wherein the dielectric is a ring-shaped structure positioned around a circumference of a reflective surface of a collector mirror, and the conductor is a ring-shaped structure embedded in the dielectric is commonly used to generate a homogeneous cold plasma in gas flow to continuously clean optical surfaces for nested mirror surfaces (Schriever, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0021], [0023]-[0024]) in a compact arrangement.
Regarding claim 19, claim 15 of patent 154 as modified by Baek as modified by Schriever recites wherein an opening is defined between the dielectric and the collector mirror, the gas is flowed through the opening toward the reflective surface of the collector mirror, and the reactive species are generated proximate to an edge of the collector mirror (Schriever, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], a continuous gas flow 3 is provided between the dielectric barrier layers 22 and the mirror surfaces 11 to generate hydrogen radicals).
Regarding claim 20, claim 15 of patent 154 as modified by Baek as modified by Schriever discloses wherein the reactive species pass over a surface of a liner in the radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the liner without etching the liner and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the liner (Baek, Figs. 11-15, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0071], [0077]-[0079], [0080]-[0084], [0091]-[0100], the hydrogen plasma creates hydrogen radicals from the hydrogen gas supplied to remove debris deposits surfaces including ceramic insulator. The cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
Claims 1-8 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,189,313 in view of Schriever (US PGPub 2009/0014027) in view of Bykanov et al. (US PGPub 2009/0154642, Bykanov hereinafter) and Baek.
Regarding claim 1, claim 12 of patent 313 recites a radiation source (claim 12, col. 36, lines 12) comprising:
a vessel having at least one optical component (claim 12, col. 36, lines 13-17);
configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (claim 12, col. 36, lines 18-33, microwave radiation is produced);
a flow supply configured to introduce a gas into the vessel (claim 12, col. 36, lines 18-38); and
a cleaning apparatus, wherein a conductor of the cleaning apparatus is to generate electromagnetic waves propagating along a structure of the cleaning apparatus, thereby transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species are configured to selectively react with debris on the at least one optical component to form a compound (claim 12, col. 36, lines 18-38). Claim 12 of patent 313 does not appear to recite at least one liner, an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel; a power source coupled to the conductor configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz), a dielectric, and the compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus.
Schriever discloses a vessel having at least one optical component (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0032], [0035]-[0036], [0044]-[0045], [0053], EUV radiation source includes a vacuum chamber comprising collector optics 1);
an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0021], [0053], [0063], a vacuum pump connected to the vacuum chamber);
a power source configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0016], [0021], [0045], [0050], [0055]-[0057], AC voltage source 2 connects to electrodes 21 or electrodes 21 and 23 and operates in a range up to 100 kHz);
a flow supply configured to introduce a gas into the vessel (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0020], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], hydrogen gas is introduced by a necessary supply to produce a continuous gas flow 3); and
a cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], dielectric barrier layer 22, dielectric alternating layer system 14, electrodes 21, 23, 25, 26, AC voltage source 2, gas flow 3) positioned in the vessel (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], dielectric barrier layer 22, dielectric alternating layer system 14, 13, electrodes 21, 23, 25, 26, AC voltage source 2, gas flow 3 are in vacuum chamber), wherein a conductor of the cleaning apparatus is coupled to the power source to generate electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric of the cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0063]-[0065], electrodes 21, 23, or electrodes 25, 26 are coupled to AC voltage source 2 to generate waves along the surface of dielectric barrier layer 22 or dielectric alternating layer system 14 produce a plasma from the introduced gas supply), thereby transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species are configured to selectively react with debris on the at least one optical component to form a compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], a plasma is produced from the reaction of the introduced gas in the gas flow 3 to the applied frequency from the AC voltage source 2 to the electrodes. The plasma includes reactive species that react with contamination deposits to clean the mirror surface 11 by forming reaction products that are removed by the vacuum pumps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at least one liner, an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel; a power source coupled to the conductor, a dielectric, and the compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus as taught by Schriever in the radiation source as recited by claim 12 of patent 313 since including at least one liner, an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel; a power source coupled to the conductor, a dielectric, and the compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus is commonly used to generate a homogeneous cold plasma in gas flow to continuously clean optical surfaces (Schriever, paras. [0016], [0021]).
Claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever does not appear to explicitly describe at least one liner.
Bykanov discloses a vessel having at least one liner and at least one optical component (Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0116]-[0118], [0131]-[0136], [0144]-[0151], the radiation source 20 includes optic 30 and body 1022, 1022A, 1022C, 1022E, 1022F and shroud 1048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the vessel having at least one liner as taught by Bykanov in the radiation source as recited by claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever since including the vessel having at least one liner is commonly used to restrict gas flow into an attached exposure apparatus to improve EUV light transmission (Bykanov, paras. [0008]-[0011], [0043], [0090], [0093]).
Claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever in view of Bykanov does not appear to explicitly describe operation at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz).
Baek discloses a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], the signal source is operated in a range of tens of kHz to up to 10 GHz, or a signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz or from several kHz to up to hundreds of MHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) as taught by Baek in the radiation source as recited by claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov since including a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) is commonly used to create a hydrogen plasma containing hydrogen radicals to clean target material deposits in situ (Baek, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100]).
Regarding claim 2, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever in view of Bykanov and Baek recites wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source (claim 12, col. 36, lines 34-38).
Regarding claim 3, although claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov recites continuously generating plasma (Schriever, paras. [0016], [0021], [0050]), claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov does not appear to recite wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without changing a pressure of the radiation source.
Baek discloses wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without changing a pressure of the radiation source (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0006], [0091]-[0100], cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously in the same pressure environment with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without changing a pressure of the radiation source as taught by Baek in the radiation source as recited by claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov since including wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without changing a pressure of the radiation source is commonly performed to enhance optical performance of the EUV collector (Baek, paras. [0004]-[0006]) while improving efficiency and throughput.
Regarding claim 4, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites wherein the power source is configured to electromagnetically induce electric current in the conductor of the cleaning apparatus at microwave frequencies or radio frequency (RF) frequencies (claim 12, col. 36, lines 22-33 as modified by Schriever).
Regarding claim 5, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites comprising a fluid flow within the vessel configured to sweep or push the reactive species toward the at least one liner or the at least one optical component (Schriever, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0020], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], hydrogen gas produces a continuous gas flow 3 that directs hydrogen radicals to the surfaces of mirrors 11, and as modified by Bykanov, Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0116]-[0118], [0131]-[0135], the radiation source 20 includes optic 30 and body 1022, 1022A, 1022C, 1022E, shroud 1048).
Regarding claim 6, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites wherein the dielectric of the cleaning apparatus is positioned proximate to the at least one liner or the at least one optical component (Schriever, Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0063], dielectric barrier layer 22 is located on the rear of mirror surface 11, or dielectric alternating layer system 14 is located on multilayer mirror 12, and as modified by Bykanov, Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0116]-[0118], [0131]-[0135], the radiation source 20 includes optic 30 and body 1022, 1022A, 1022C, 1022E, shroud 1048).
Regarding claim 7, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites wherein the reactive species includes at least one of radicals and ions generated from the gas (claim 12, col. 36, lines 22-33).
Regarding claim 8, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever does not appear to explicitly recite wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus.
Bykanov discloses describe wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1-2, 8-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0111], [0116]-[0118], [0128], [0133]-[0136], [0144]-[0151], the walls of body 1022 are conductive and/or electrodes 1120, 1122, and temperature control system 110 cools the inner surface of body 1022 by circulating fluid within internal passageways to cool the walls and/or electrodes 1120, 1122 to a temperature at which contaminants condense on the walls).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus as taught by Bykanov in the radiation source as recited by claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever since including wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus is commonly used to cool surfaces to below a preselected temperature that condenses a contaminant species to prevent the contaminant from entering the exposure device (Bykanov, paras. [0008]-[0011], [0043], [0134]).
Regarding claim 21, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov and Baek recites wherein the power source is configured to operate at another frequency in a range of 100 Hertz (Hz) to 200 kHz (Baek, Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], a second signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz).
Claims 9-13, 15-16, 18 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,189,313 in view of Schriever (US PGPub 2009/0014027).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 of patent 313 recites a method of cleaning a surface of an optical component in a radiation source (claim 9, col. 35, lines 4-6) comprising:
introducing a gas into a vessel of the radiation source (claim 9, col. 35, lines 7-22, a first material is transformed to a plasma state within the EUV light source);
generating, electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric structure of a cleaning apparatus including electromagnetically inducing electric current alternatingly at a first frequency and a second frequency, the first frequency being different from the second frequency (claim 9, col. 35, lines 10-32);
transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species (claim 9, col. 35, lines 7-22);
selectively reacting the reactive species with debris on the surface of the optical component to form a compound (claim 9, col. 35, lines 10-22). Claim 1 of patent 313 does not appear to recite a power source operating in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, and exhausting the compound from the vessel through an exhaust apparatus.
Schriever discloses introducing a gas into a vessel of the radiation source (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0020]-[0021], [0032], [0035]-[0036 [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], hydrogen gas is introduced in a vacuum chamber to produce a continuous gas flow 3 in the radiation source);
generating, using a power source operating in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0016], [0021], [0045], [0050], [0055]-[0057], AC voltage source 2 connects to electrodes 21 or electrodes 21 and 23 and operates in a range up to 100 kHz), electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric of a cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0063]-[0065], electrodes 21, 23, or electrodes 25, 26 are coupled to AC voltage source 2 to generate waves along the surface of dielectric barrier layer 22 or dielectric alternating layer system 14 produce a plasma from the introduced gas supply);
transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], a plasma is produced from the reaction of the introduced gas in the gas flow 3 to the applied frequency from the AC voltage source 2 to the electrodes. The plasma includes reactive species);
selectively reacting the reactive species with debris on the surface of the optical component to form a compound (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], the generated plasma includes reactive species that react with contamination deposits to clean the mirror surface 11 by forming reaction products); and
exhausting the compound from the vessel through an exhaust apparatus (Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], the plasma includes reactive species that react with contamination deposits to clean the mirror surface 11 by forming reaction products that are removed by the vacuum pumps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included using a power source operating in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, and exhausting the compound from the vessel through an exhaust apparatus as taught by Schriever in the method as recited by claim 9 of patent 313 since including using a power source operating in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, and exhausting the compound from the vessel through an exhaust apparatus is commonly used to generate a homogeneous cold plasma in gas flow to continuously clean optical surfaces (Schriever, paras. [0016], [0021]).
Regarding claim 10, claim 9 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever recites wherein generating electromagnetic waves includes electromagnetically inducing electric current in a conductor of the cleaning apparatus at microwave frequencies or radio frequency (RF) frequencies (Schriever, Figs. 1-5, paras. [0016], [0021], [0045], [0050], [0055]-[0057], AC voltage source 2 connects to electrodes 21 or electrodes 21 and 23 and operates in a range up to 100 kHz).
Regarding claim 12, claim 9 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever recites wherein introducing the gas into the vessel includes introducing hydrogen molecules adjacent to a plasma-generation region of the radiation source (Schriever, Figs. 1-5, abstract, paras. [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0054], [0063]-[0065], the introduced gas is H2 gas, and the gas is introduced in a space between mirror surfaces 11 or electrode 26 and mirror 12, and the plasma is generated from the hydrogen gas).
Regarding claim 13, claim 9 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever recites wherein selectively reacting the reactive species with the debris is performed without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source (claim 9, col. 35, lines 18-23).
Regarding claim 15, claim 9 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever recites further comprising:
carrying the reactive species and a new material to the surface of the optical component through a fluid flow pattern (Schriever, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0020], [0044]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], hydrogen gas produces a continuous gas flow 3 that directs hydrogen radicals and reaction products).
Claim 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,189,313 as modified by Schriever and further in view of Baek.
Regarding claim 11, claim 9 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first frequency is in a range of 500 kHz to 3 GHz and the second frequency is below 500 kHz.
Baek discloses wherein the first frequency is in a range of 500 kHz to 3 GHz and the second frequency is below 500 kHz (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], a first signal source is an RF signal in a range of 10s of kHz to about 10 GHz, and a second signal source operates in a range from 0 Hz up to tens of MHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first frequency is in a range of 500 kHz to 3 GHz and the second frequency is below 500 kHz as taught by Baek in the method as recited by patent 313 as modified by Schriever since including wherein the first frequency is in a range of 500 kHz to 3 GHz and the second frequency is below 500 kHz is commonly used to create a hydrogen plasma containing hydrogen radicals to clean target material deposits in situ (Baek, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100]).
Claim 14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,189,313 as modified by Schriever and further in view of Bykanov et al. (US PGPub 2009/0154642, Bykanov hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14, patent 313 as modified by Schriever does not appear to recite further comprising: maintain a temperature of the dielectric or the cleaning apparatus below a threshold temperature using fluid cooling.
Bykanov discloses maintaining a temperature of the dielectric or the cleaning apparatus below a threshold temperature using fluid cooling (Figs. 1-2, 8-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0111], [0116]-[0118], [0128], [0133]-[0136], [0144]-[0151], the temperature control system 110 cools the inner surface of non-conductive body 1022 by circulating fluid within internal passageways to cool the walls and/or electrodes 1120, 1122 to a below a preselected temperature at which contaminants condense on the walls).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included maintaining a temperature of the dielectric or the cleaning apparatus below a threshold temperature using fluid cooling as taught by Bykanov in the method as recited by patent 313 as modified by Schriever since including maintaining a temperature of the dielectric or the cleaning apparatus below a threshold temperature using fluid cooling is commonly used to cool surfaces to below a preselected temperature that condenses a contaminant species to prevent the contaminant from entering the exposure device (Bykanov, paras. [0008]-[0011], [0043], [0134]).
Claims 16, 18-20, and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,189,313 in view of Schriever (US PGPub 2009/0014027) and Baek.
Regarding claim 16, claim 12 of patent 12,189,313 recites a clean apparatus (claim 12, col. 36, line 12) comprising:
a conductor, wherein the power source is configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (claim 12, col. 36, lines 18-33, microwave radiation is produced); and
a structure coupled to and in contact with the conductor, wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the structure, the electromagnetic waves transform a gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species pass over a surface of a component in a radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the component without etching the component and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component (claim 12, col. 36, lines 19-39). Patent 313 does not appear to explicitly recite a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) and a dielectric.
Schriever discloses a conductor coupled to a power source configured to operate in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0016], [0021], [0045], [0050], [0055]-[0057], AC voltage source 2 connects to electrodes 21 or electrodes 21 and 23);
a dielectric coupled to the conductor (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0044]-[0045], [0053], [0063]-[0065], dielectric barrier layer 22 is coupled to electrodes 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a power source and a dielectric as taught by Schriever in the clean apparatus as recited by patent 313 since including a power source and a dielectric coupled to the conductor is commonly used to generate a homogeneous cold plasma in gas flow to continuously clean optical surfaces (Schriever, paras. [0016], [0021]).
Patent 313 as modified by Schriever does not appear to recite power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz).
Baek discloses a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], the signal source is operated in a range of tens of kHz to up to 10 GHz, or a signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz or from several kHz to up to hundreds of MHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) as taught by Baek in the clean apparatus as recited by patent 313 as modified by Schriever as modified by Bykanov since including a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range or 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) is commonly used to create a hydrogen plasma containing hydrogen radicals to clean target material deposits in situ (Baek, paras. [0006]-[0007], [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100]).
Regarding claim 18, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever in view of Baek recites wherein the dielectric is a ring-shaped structure positioned around a circumference of a reflective surface of a collector mirror, and the conductor is a ring-shaped structure embedded in the dielectric (Schriever, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], dielectric barrier layer 22 is annular around the circumference of mirror surfaces 11 of a collector 1, and the electrodes 21 are ring-shaped in the dielectric barrier layers 22).
Regarding claim 19, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever and Baek recites wherein an opening is defined between the dielectric and the collector mirror, the gas is flowed through the opening toward the reflective surface of the collector mirror, and the reactive species are generated proximate to an edge of the collector mirror (Schriever, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], a continuous gas flow 3 is provided between the dielectric barrier layers 22 and the mirror surfaces 11 to generate hydrogen radicals).
Regarding claim 20, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever in view of Baek discloses wherein the reactive species pass over a surface of a liner in the radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the liner without etching the liner and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the liner (Baek, Figs. 11-15, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0071], [0077]-[0079], [0080]-[0084], [0091]-[0100], the hydrogen plasma creates hydrogen radicals from the hydrogen gas supplied to remove debris deposits surfaces including ceramic insulator. The cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
Regarding claim 23, claim 12 of patent 313 as modified by Schriever and Baek recites wherein the power source is configured to operate at another frequency in a range of 100 Hertz (Hz) to 200 kHz (Baek, Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], a second signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Baek (US PGPub 2017/0215265).
Regarding claim 16, Baek discloses a clean apparatus (Figs. 1-15, paras. [0076]-[0079], [0091]-[0100]) comprising:
a conductor coupled to a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070]-[0071], [0080]-[0084], [0100], conductive layer 1120 is coupled to signal source 212C, 1212, and radical generator 211 is coupled to signal source 212, and the signal source is operated in a range of tens of kHz to up to 10 GHz, or a signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz or from several kHz to up to hundreds of MHz); and
a dielectric coupled to and in contact with the conductor (Figs. 11-15, paras. [0071], [0080]-[0084], conductive layer 1120 is coupled to and in contact with glass or quartz layer 1122, radical generator 211 is coupled to, and contacts, ceramic insulator 220), wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric (Figs. 11-15, paras. [0071], [0077]-[0078], [0080]-[0084], the hydrogen plasma is produced using the frequency produced by the signal source), the electromagnetic waves transform a gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species pass over a surface of a component in a radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the component without etching the component and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component (Figs. 11-15, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0077]-[0079], [0080]-[0084], [0091]-[0100], the plasma creates hydrogen radicals to remove debris deposits. The cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
Regarding claim 23, Baek discloses wherein the power source is configured to operate at another frequency in a range of 100 Hertz (Hz) to 200 kHz (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], a second signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek (US PGPub 2017/0215265) in view of Bykanov et al. (US PGPub 2009/0154642, Bykanov hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Baek discloses a radiation source (Figs. 1-15, abstract, paras. [0042], [0076]-[0079], [0083]-[0084], [0091]-[0100], EUV light source 20) comprising:
a vessel having at least one optical component (Figs. 1-15, abstract, paras. [0042], [0049], EUV light source includes an EUV vessel 26 comprising collector 30);
a power source configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0080], [0083]-[0084], [0100], the signal source is operated in a range of tens of kHz to up to 10 GHz, or a signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz or from several kHz to up to hundreds of MHz);
a flow supply configured to introduce a gas into the vessel (Figs. 2 and 11-15, paras. [0066], [0068]-[0069], [0076]-[0078], [0080], [0082]-[0084], [0090]-[0100], hydrogen gas source 290, hydrogen nozzles 802 supplies hydrogen gas into the vessel through aperture 32, hydrogen nozzles 802, outlet 205); and
a cleaning apparatus positioned in the vessel (Figs. 2, 11-12, 14-15, abstract, paras. [0065]-[0067], [0076]-[0078], [0080], [0082]-[0084], [0090]-[0100], the radical generator 1100, 1200 is arranged in the vessel to perform in situ cleaning), wherein a conductor of the cleaning apparatus is coupled to the power source to generate electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric of the cleaning apparatus (Figs. 2, 11-12, 14-15, abstract, paras. [0065]-[0067], [0070]-[0071], [0076]-[0078], [0080]-[0084], [0090]-[0100], conductive layer 1120 is coupled to signal source 212C, 1212, and radical generator 211 is coupled to signal source 212 to generate electromagnetic waves propagating along glass or quartz layer 1122 and ceramic 220), thereby transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species are configured to selectively react with debris on the at least one optical component to form a compound to be exhausted from the vessel (Figs. 2, 11-12, 14-15, paras. [0065]-[0067], [0069]-[0071], [0076]-[0078], [0080]-[0084], [0090]-[0100], the signal source excites the hydrogen gas to generate hydrogen plasma with hydrogen radicals to selectively remove debris deposits from the collector 30. The resulting volatile tin compounds are purged through purge outlet 296). Baek does not appear to explicitly describe at least one liner and an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel.
Bykanov discloses a vessel having at least one liner and at least one optical component (Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0116]-[0118], [0131]-[0136], [0144]-[0151], the radiation source 20 includes optic 30 and body 1022, 1022A, 1022C, 1022E, 1022F and shroud 1048);
an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel, and a compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus (Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0046], [0093]-[0095], [0104]-[0105], [0110]-[0113], [0121]-[0122], [0126], [0129], [0133], [0140]-[0144], [0149]-[0150pump 41, 1042 removes gas and contaminants from the chambers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the vessel having at least one liner and an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel, and a compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus as taught by Bykanov in the radiation source as taught by Baek since including the vessel having at least one liner an exhaust apparatus coupled to the vessel, and a compound to be exhausted from the vessel through the exhaust apparatus is commonly used to restrict gas flow into an attached exposure apparatus to improve EUV light transmission (Bykanov, paras. [0008]-[0011], [0043], [0090], [0093]).
Regarding claim 2, Baek as modified by Bykanov discloses wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0006], [0091]-[0100], cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
Regarding claim 3, Baek as modified by Bykanov discloses wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to generate reactive species selectively reacting with the debris without changing a pressure of the radiation source (Baek, Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0006], [0091]-[0100], cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously in the same pressure environment with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
Regarding claim 4, Baek as modified by Bykanov discloses wherein the power source is configured to electromagnetically induce electric current in the conductor of the cleaning apparatus at microwave frequencies or radio frequency (RF) frequencies (Baek, Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0080], [0083]-[0084], [0100], the signal source is operated in a range of tens of kHz to up to 10 GHz, or a signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz or from several kHz to up to hundreds of MHz).
Regarding claim 5, Baek as modified by Bykanov discloses further comprising a fluid flow within the vessel configured to sweep or push the reactive species toward the at least one liner or the at least one optical component (Baek, Figs. 2 and 11-15, paras. [0066], [0068]-[0069], [0076]-[0078], [0080], [0082]-[0084], [0090]-[0100], hydrogen gas source 290, hydrogen nozzles 802 supplies hydrogen gas into the vessel through aperture 32, hydrogen nozzles 802, outlet 205 to produce plasma with hydrogen radicals toward the collector 30, and as modified by Bykanov, Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0116]-[0118], [0131]-[0135], the radiation source 20 includes optic 30 and body 1022, 1022A, 1022C, 1022E, shroud 1048).
Regarding claim 6, Baek as modified by Bykanov discloses wherein the dielectric of the cleaning apparatus is positioned proximate to the at least one liner or the at least one optical component (Baek, Figs. 2, 11-12, 14-15, abstract, paras. [0065]-[0067], [0070]-[0071], [0076]-[0078], [0080]-[0084], [0090]-[0100], collector 30 includes glass or quartz layer 1122 and ceramic 220 in proximity to collector 30, and as modified by Bykanov, Figs. 1-2, 5-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0116]-[0118], [0131]-[0135], the radiation source 20 includes optic 30 and body 1022, 1022A, 1022C, 1022E, shroud 1048).
Regarding claim 7, Baek as modified by Bykanov discloses wherein the reactive species includes at least one of radicals and ions generated from the gas (Baek, Figs. 2, 11-12, 14-15, paras. [0065]-[0067], [0069]-[0071], [0076]-[0078], [0080]-[0084], [0090]-[0100], the signal source excites the hydrogen gas to generate hydrogen plasma with hydrogen radicals).
Regarding claim 8, Baek does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus.
Bykanov discloses describe wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1-2, 8-12, paras. [0051]-[0052], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0102]-[0103], [0111], [0116]-[0118], [0128], [0133]-[0136], [0144]-[0151], the walls of body 1022 are conductive and/or electrodes 1120, 1122, and temperature control system 110 cools the inner surface of body 1022 by circulating fluid within internal passageways to cool the walls and/or electrodes 1120, 1122 to a temperature at which contaminants condense on the walls).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus as taught by Bykanov in the radiation source as taught by Baek since including wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a temperature control system having a cooling fluid configured to flow adjacent to a surface of the conductor of the cleaning apparatus is commonly used to cool surfaces to below a preselected temperature that condenses a contaminant species to prevent the contaminant from entering the exposure device (Bykanov, paras. [0008]-[0011], [0043], [0134]).
Regarding claim 21, Baek as modified by Bykanov discloses wherein the power source is configured to operate at another frequency in a range of 100 Hertz (Hz) to 200 kHz (Baek, Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], a second signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Schriever (US PGPub 2009/0014027)
Regarding claim 18, Baek does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the dielectric is a ring-shaped structure positioned around a circumference of a reflective surface of a collector mirror, and the conductor is a ring-shaped structure embedded in the dielectric
Schriever discloses wherein the dielectric is a ring-shaped structure positioned around a circumference of a reflective surface of a collector mirror, and the conductor is a ring-shaped structure embedded in the dielectric (Schriever, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], dielectric barrier layer 22 is annular around the circumference of mirror surfaces 11 of a collector 1, and the electrodes 21 are ring-shaped in the dielectric barrier layers 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the dielectric is a ring-shaped structure positioned around a circumference of a reflective surface of a collector mirror, and the conductor is a ring-shaped structure embedded in the dielectric as taught by Schriever in the clean apparatus as taught by Baek since including wherein the dielectric is a ring-shaped structure positioned around a circumference of a reflective surface of a collector mirror, and the conductor is a ring-shaped structure embedded in the dielectric is commonly used to generate plasma homogeneously to continuously clean optical surfaces for nested mirror surfaces for grazing incidence mirrors (Schriever, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0021], [0023]-[0024]) in a compact arrangement.
Regarding claim 19, Baek as modified by Schriever discloses wherein an opening is defined between the dielectric and the collector mirror, the gas is flowed through the opening toward the reflective surface of the collector mirror, and the reactive species are generated proximate to an edge of the collector mirror (Schriever, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0044]-[0050], [0053], [0055], [0063]-[0065], a continuous gas flow 3 is provided between the dielectric barrier layers 22 and the mirror surfaces 11 to generate hydrogen radicals).
Regarding claim 20, Baek as modified by Schriever discloses wherein the reactive species pass over a surface of a liner in the radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the liner without etching the liner and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the liner (Baek, Figs. 11-15, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0071], [0077]-[0079], [0080]-[0084], [0091]-[0100], the hydrogen plasma creates hydrogen radicals from the hydrogen gas supplied to remove debris deposits surfaces including ceramic insulator. The cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejections set forth in this Office action or if a proper Terminal Disclaimer is filed.
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious generating, using a power source operating in a kilohertz (kHz) to gigahertz (GHz) frequency range, electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric of a cleaning apparatus including electromagnetically inducing electric current alternatingly at a first frequency and a second frequency, the first frequency being different from the second frequency; transforming the gas into a plasma state including reactive species; selectively reacting the reactive species with debris on the surface of the optical component to form a compound; and exhausting the compound from the vessel through an exhaust apparatus. These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claim 9 render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
The dependent claims are likewise allowable by virtue of their dependency upon an allowable independent claim as stated above.
Schriever discloses wherein the power source is configured to electromagnetically induce electric current in the conductor of the cleaning apparatus at microwave frequencies or radio frequency (RF) frequencies (Schriever, Figs. 1-5, paras. [0016], [0021], [0045], [0050], [0055]-[0057], AC voltage source 2 connects to electrodes 21 or electrodes 21 and 23 and operates in a range up to 100 kHz), but Schriever does not describe or render obvious generating electromagnetic waves includes electromagnetically inducing electric current alternatingly at a first frequency and a second frequency, and the first frequency is different from the second frequency.
Baek discloses wherein a first frequency is in a range of 500 kHz to 3 GHz and a second frequency is below 500 kHz (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070], [0083]-[0084], [0100], a first signal source is an RF signal in a range of 10s of kHz to about 10 GHz, and a second signal source operates in a range from 0 Hz up to tens of MHz). However, Baek fails to describe or render obvious electromagnetic waves propagating along a dielectric of a cleaning apparatus including electromagnetically inducing electric current alternatingly at a first frequency and a second frequency, the first frequency being different from the second frequency.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious a dielectric coupled to the conductor, wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric, the electromagnetic waves transform a gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species pass over a surface of a component in a radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the component without etching the component and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component, wherein the clean apparatus is a shroud configured to define a pathway for target material projected from a target delivery system of the radiation source vessel. These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claim 17 render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Baek discloses a dielectric coupled to the conductor (Fig. 10, paras. [0079], a ceramic window 1007 is coupled to the coil 1004), wherein the power source electromagnetically induces electric current, thereby producing a time-varying magnetic field and generating electromagnetic waves propagating along a surface of the dielectric (Fig. 10, paras. [0009], [0076]-[0079], an inductively coupled hydrogen plasma is produced using the signal from the signal source), the electromagnetic waves transform a gas into a plasma state including reactive species, and the reactive species pass over a surface of a component in a radiation source vessel to remove debris from the surface of the component without etching the component and without halting or shutting down operation of the radiation source vessel by propagating the reactive species along the surface of the component (Figs. 10 and 15, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0079], [0091]-[0100], the inductively coupled hydrogen plasma creates hydrogen radicals to remove debris deposits from the EUV collector. The cleaning operations 1507, 1512, 1517, 1522 generate hydrogen radicals to selectively react with target debris and remove volatile compounds simultaneously with production of EUV light in the radiation source), but Baek does not describe or render obvious wherein the clean apparatus is a shroud configured to define a pathway for target material projected from a target delivery system of the radiation source vessel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 8/27/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 9 as being anticipated by Schriever (US PGPub 2009/0014027) have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendment to claim 9. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that the nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claims 1-20 should be withdrawn in view of the submission of the Terminal Disclaimer. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It does not appear that a proper Terminal Disclaimer was filed in the 8/27/2026 response. Applicant’s arguments on this point have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 that Baek fails to describe or suggest a dielectric coupled to and in contact with a conductor that is coupled to a power source of a clean apparatus as recited in claim 16. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Upon further consideration, Baek discloses a conductor coupled to a power source, wherein the power source is configured to operate at a frequency in a range of 500 kilohertz (kHz) to 3 gigahertz (GHz) (Figs. 1A, 2-15, paras. [0070]-[0071], [0080]-[0084], [0100], conductive layer 1120 is coupled to signal source 212C, 1212, and radical generator 211 is coupled to signal source 212, and the signal source is operated in a range of tens of kHz to up to 10 GHz, or a signal source operates in a range up to tens of MHz or from several kHz to up to hundreds of MHz); and a dielectric coupled to and in contact with the conductor (Figs. 11-15, paras. [0071], [0080]-[0084], conductive layer 1120 is coupled to glass or quartz layer 1122, radical generator 211 is coupled to ceramic insulator 220). That is, at least Figs. 11 and 12 describe a dielectric coupled to and in contact with a conductor that is coupled to a power source of a clean apparatus as recited in claim 16 as currently drafted. Applicant’s arguments on this point have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882