DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 07/01/2026.
Claims 1-9, 12, 16, and 20 has been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made Final.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for future claim amendments to avoid U.S.C 112(a) issues that can arise. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of analyzing an auto loss report without significantly more.
Examiner has identified claim 12 as the claim that represents the claimed invention presented in independent claims 1, 12, and 20.
Claim 1 is directed to a method which is one of the statutory categories of invention; Claim 12 is directed to a system which is one of the statutory categories of invention; and Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Claim 12 is directed to computing system configured to provide smart auto rental estimatics to a user comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to: train, via the one or more processors, a machine learning model including a plurality of training parameters, the training including: encoding historical claim information as labels in a labeled data set, wherein the historical claim information includes historical user characteristics, historical vehicle characteristics, and at least one of historical shop volume or historical claim volume, and the historical claim information is associated with at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair; initializing the plurality of training parameters to be random values; and iteratively modifying the plurality of training parameters such that at least one of a predicted loss time to repair or a predicted loss cost to repair determined by the machine learning model using the plurality of training parameters and the historical claim information gradually converges to the at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair; receive, via the one or more processors, an auto loss report; extract, via the one or more processors, machine learning parameters from the auto loss report; analyze, via the one or more processors and using the machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair, the volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume, and the loss time to repair indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle; and output, via the one or more processors and by the machine learning model, the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair. These series of steps describe the abstract idea of analyzing an auto loss report (with the exception of the italicized and bolded terms above), which is mitigating risk of improperly preparing vehicle insurance claim estimates by accurately assessing vehicle damage, identifying and communicating repairability issues and vehicle condition on potential total loss claims, communicate repair estimate information to claim leadership, claim handlers, customers, agents, and repair facilities; therefore, corresponding to a fundamental economic principle or practice (including mitigating risk). Hence, a fundamental economic principle or practice (mitigating risk) is a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. The abstract idea is also the processing and determining of a customer’s out-of-pocket costs to repair the customer’s vehicle and rent a vehicle while the vehicle is being repaired, based on the customer’s vehicle insurance coverage, which is a commercial interaction. Therefore, a commercial interaction is also a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. The system limitations, e.g., a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model do not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. Thus, claim 12 is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional limitations of a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model are no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements listed above are all recited at a high level of generality and under their broadest reasonable interpretation comprises a generic computing arrangement. The presence of a generic computer arrangement is nothing more than to implement the claimed invention (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the recitations of additional elements do not meaningfully apply the abstract idea, and hence do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, claim 12 is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO).
Claim 12 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model limitations are recited at a high level of generality in that it results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not amount to add significantly more as these limitations provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment (Step 2B: NO). Thus, claim 12 is not patent eligible.
Similar arguments can be extended to the other independent claims, claims 1 and 20; and hence claims 1 and 20 are rejected on similar grounds as claim 12.
Dependent claims 2-11 and 13-19 are directed to a method and a system, respectively, which perform the steps that describe the abstract idea of analyzing an auto loss report. Furthermore, dependent claims 4, 5, 9, 15, and 19 are directed to a method and a system, respectively, which recite the steps: wherein analyzing the auto loss report to identify the vehicle rental coverage associated with the user includes querying, via the one or more processors, customer insurance policy information in an electronic database; wherein the computer-implemented method is implemented in at least one of (i) a call center computing system accessible by a customer service user and (ii) an application executing in a mobile device of the user; and wherein determining the set of vehicle rental branches includes searching, via the one or more processors, for rental branches via a search interface. These series of steps describe the abstract idea of analyzing an auto loss report (with the exception of the italicized and bolded terms above), which is mitigating risk of improperly preparing vehicle insurance claim estimates by accurately assessing vehicle damage, identifying and communicating repairability issues and vehicle condition on potential total loss claims, communicate repair estimate information to claim leadership, claim handlers, customers, agents, and repair facilities; therefore, corresponding to a fundamental economic principle or practice (including mitigating risk). Hence, a fundamental economic principle or practice (mitigating risk) is a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. The abstract idea is also the processing and determining of a customer’s out-of-pocket costs to repair the customer’s vehicle and rent a vehicle while the vehicle is being repaired, based on the customer’s vehicle insurance coverage, which is a commercial interaction. Therefore, a commercial interaction is also a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Thus, claims 2-11 and 13-19 are directed to an abstract idea. The additional limitations of a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, machine learning model, electronic database, call center computing system, application, mobile device, and search interface are no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. Therefore, the recitations of additional elements do not meaningfully apply the abstract idea, and hence, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, the additional elements: a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, machine learning model, electronic database, call center computing system, application, mobile device, and search interface, do not amount to add significantly more as these limitations provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment.
Dependent claims 2-11 and 13-19 have further defined the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 1, 12, and 20; and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, and hence are abstract in nature for the reason presented above. The dependent claims 2-11 and 13-19 do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, claims 2-11 and 13-19 are directed to an abstract idea.
Thus, claims 1-20 are not patent-eligible.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-9, and 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,710,185 and claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,190,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by patent claims 1-6, 8-9, and 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,710,185 and patent claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,190,388. See chart below:
Instant Application No. 18/962,872
US Patent No. 11,710,185
For ease of comprehension, below contains only relevant and redacted claim language from the allowed patented application.
US Patent No. 12,190,388
For ease of comprehension, below contains only relevant and redacted claim language from the allowed patented application.
Claims 1, 12, and 20:
A computer-implemented method for providing smart auto rental estimatics to a user, the computer-implemented method comprising:
A computing system configured to provide smart auto rental estimatics to a user, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to:
A non-transitory computer readable medium for providing smart auto rental estimatics to a user, the non-transitory computer readable medium containing program instructions that when executed, cause a computer to:
training, via one or more processors, a machine learning model including a plurality of training parameters, the training including:
encoding historical claim information as labels in a labeled data set, wherein the historical claim information includes historical user characteristics, historical vehicle characteristics, and at least one of historical shop volume or historical claim volume, and the historical claim information is associated with at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair;
initializing the plurality of training parameters to be random values; and iteratively modifying the plurality of training parameters such that at least one of a predicted loss time to repair or a predicted loss cost to repair determined by the machine learning model using the plurality of training parameters and the historical claim information gradually converges to the at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair;
receiving, via the one or more processors, an auto loss report;
extracting, via the one or more processors, machine learning parameters from the auto loss report;
analyzing, via the one or more processors and using the machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair, the volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume, and the loss time to repair indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle; and
outputting, via the one or more processors and by the machine learning model, the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair.
Claims 1, 11, and 16:
A computer-implemented method for providing smart auto rental estimatics to a user, the method comprising:
A computing system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to:
A non-transitory computer readable medium containing program instructions that when executed, cause a computer to:
the trained machine learning model associated with a plurality of training parameters
the trained machine learning model associated with a plurality of training parameters and trained to predict a repair time to repair and a cost to repair using historical claim information, including historical user characteristics and historical vehicle characteristics, and one or both of (i) historical shop volume and (ii) historical claim volume, wherein at least a portion of the historical claim information is encoded as labels in a labeled data set that is used to train the machine learning model,
the trained machine learning model associated with a plurality of training parameters and trained to predict a repair time to repair and a cost to repair using historical claim information, including historical user characteristics and historical vehicle characteristics, analyzing, using a trained machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and a volume data to determine a loss time to repair and a loss cost to repair
receiving, via a processor, an auto loss report,
extracting, via one or more processors, machine learning parameters from the auto loss report,
analyzing, using a trained machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and a volume data to determine a loss time to repair and a loss cost to repair, the volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume, and the loss time to repair indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle,
calculating, based on the loss time to repair, the loss cost to repair, and the vehicle rental coverage a set of estimated out-of-pockets; transmitting, via a processor, the set of estimated out-of-pockets
Claims 1, 12, and 20:
A computer-implemented method for providing smart auto rental estimatics to a user, the method comprising:
A computing system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to:
A non-transitory computer readable medium containing program instructions that when executed, cause a computer to:
training, via one or more processors, a machine learning model including a plurality of training parameters, the training including:
encoding historical claim information as labels in a labeled data set, wherein the historical claim information includes historical user characteristics, historical vehicle characteristics, and at least one of historical shop volume or historical claim volume, and the historical claim information is associated with at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair;
initializing the plurality of training parameters to be random values; and iteratively modifying the plurality of training parameters such that at least one of a predicted loss time to repair or a predicted loss cost to repair determined by the machine learning model using the plurality of training parameters and the historical claim information gradually converges to the at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair;
receiving, via one or more processors, an auto loss report;
extracting, via one or more processors, machine learning parameters from the auto loss report,
analyzing, via one or more processors and using the machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair, the volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume, and the loss time to repair indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle
calculating, via one or more processors, based on the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair; transmitting, via one or more processors, the set of estimated out-of-pockets.
Claims 2 and 13:
further comprising: analyzing, via the one or more processors, the machine learning parameters to identify a vehicle rental coverage associated with the user; calculating, via the one or more processors, based on the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair, and the vehicle rental coverage, a set of estimated out-of-pockets each corresponding to a respective vehicle class; and transmitting, via the one or more processors, the set of estimated out-of-pockets.
Claims 1, 11, and 16:
analyzing therepair, and the vehicle rental coverage a set of estimated out-of-pockets each corresponding to a respective vehicle class; and transmitting, via a processor, the set of estimated out-of-pockets.
Claims 1, 12, and 20:
analyzing, via one or more processors, the machine learning parameters to identify a vehicle rental coverage associated with the user; calculating, via one or more processors, based on the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair, and the vehicle rental coverage, a set of estimated out-of- pockets each corresponding to a respective vehicle class; and transmitting, via one or more processors, the set of estimated out-of-pockets.
Claims 3 and 14:
wherein calculating the set of estimated out-of-pockets includes calculating, via the one or more processors, the maximum of zero and a per-day cost, less the vehicle rental coverage associated with the user.
Claims 2, 12, and 17:
wherein calculating set of estimated out-of-pockets each corresponding to a respective vehicle class includes calculating the maximum of zero and a per-day cost, less the customer's rental coverage.
Claims 3 and 14:
wherein calculating set of estimated out-of-pockets includes calculating, via one or more processors, the maximum of zero and a per-day cost, less the vehicle rental coverage.
Claims 4 and 15:
wherein analyzing the auto loss report to identify the vehicle rental coverage associated with the user includes querying, via the one or more processors, customer insurance policy information in an electronic database.
Claims 4, 13, and 18:
wherein analyzing the
Claims 4 and 15:
wherein analyzing the auto loss report to identify the vehicle rental coverage associated with the user includes querying, via one or more processors, customer insurance policy information in an electronic database.
Claim 5:
wherein the computer-implemented method is implemented in at least one of (i) a call center computing system accessible by a customer service user and (ii) an application executing in a mobile device of the user.
Claim 3:
wherein the method is implemented in one or both of (i) a call center computing system accessible by a customer service user and (ii) an application executing in a mobile device of the user.
Claim 5:
wherein the method is implemented in at least one of (i) a call center computing system accessible by a customer service user and (ii) an application executing in a mobile device of the user.
Claims 6 and 16:
further comprising: determining, via the one or more processors, a candidate set of vehicle rental vendors; and receiving, via the one or more processors, an indication of a chosen vehicle rental vendor, the chosen vehicle rental vendor included in the candidate set of vehicle rental vendors.
Claims 1, 11, and 16:
determining, via a processor, a candidate set of vehicle rental vendors, receiving, via a processor, an indication of a chosen vehicle rental vendor, the chosen vendor included in the candidate set of vehicle rental vendors,
Claims 6 and 16:
further comprising: determining, via one or more processors, a candidate set of vehicle rental vendors; and receiving, via one or more processors, an indication of a chosen vehicle rental vendor, the chosen rental vendor included in the candidate set of vehicle rental vendors.
Claims 7 and 17:
the computer-implemented method further comprising: after receiving the indication of the chosen vehicle rental vendor, displaying, via the one or more processors, a default word track to the user.
Claims 5, 14, and 19:
wherein receiving, via a processor, the indication of the chosen vehicle rental vendor, the chosen vendor included in the candidate set of vehicle rental vendors includes displaying a default word track to the user.
Claims 7 and 17:
the method further comprising: after receiving the indication of the chosen vehicle rental vendor, displaying, via one or more processors, a default word track to the user.
Claims 8 and 18:
further comprising: determining, via the one or more processors and based on the chosen vehicle rental vendor and a location of the user, a set of vehicle rental branches; and receiving, via the one or more processors, an indication of a chosen vehicle rental branch, the chosen vehicle rental branch included in the set of vehicle rental branches.
Claims 1, 11, and 16:
determining, based on the chosen vehicle rental vendor and the location of the user, a set of vehicle rental branches, receiving via a processor, an indication of a chosen vehicle rental branch, the chosen vehicle rental branch included in the set of vehicle rental branches,
Claims 8 and 18:
further comprising: determining, via one or more processors and based on the chosen vehicle rental vendor and a location of the user, a set of vehicle rental branches; and receiving, via one or more processors, an indication of a chosen vehicle rental branch, the chosen vehicle rental branch included in the set of vehicle rental branches.
Claims 9 and 19:
wherein determining the set of vehicle rental branches includes searching, via the one or more processors, for rental branches via a search interface.
Claims 6, 15, and 20:
wherein determining, based on the chosen vehicle rental vendor and the location of the user, the set of vehicle rental branches includes searching for rental branches via a search interface.
Claims 9 and 19:
wherein determining the set of vehicle rental branches includes searching, via one or more processors, for rental branches via a search interface.
Claim 10:
wherein the trained machine learning model is trained further using vehicle feature information relating to years, makes, and/or models.
Claim 8:
wherein the trained machine learning model is further trained by analyzing vehicle feature information relating to a year, a make, and/or a model.
Claim 10:
wherein the trained machine learning model is trained further using vehicle feature information relating to years, makes, and/or models.
Claim 11:
wherein the trained machine learning model is trained further using vehicle classes.
Claim 9:
wherein the trained machine learning model is further trained by analyzing the vehicle class.
Claim 11:
wherein the trained machine learning model is trained further using vehicle classes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franke (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0148101 A1 hereinafter “Franke”), in view of Renwick (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2002/0188479 A1; hereinafter “Renwick”).
Regarding Claims 1, 12, and 20:
Franke teaches:
A computer-implemented method for providing smart auto rental estimatics to a user, the computer-implemented method comprising: (Franke, See, Para. 19-21);
A computing system configured to provide smart auto rental estimatics to a user, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to: (Franke, See, Para. 6-11, 96);
A non-transitory computer readable medium for providing smart auto rental estimatics to a user, the non-transitory computer readable medium containing program instructions that when executed, cause a computer to: (Franke, See, Para. 16, 18, 21, 97);
training, via one or more processors, a machine learning model including a plurality of training parameters, (Franke, preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; (See, Para. 8 and 56); a support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm may be trained with training data to recognize damage based on these feature vectors or other descriptors so that dent detection can be automatically performed. (See, Para. 56, 139, 175-176));
the training including: encoding historical claim information as labels in a labeled data set, wherein the historical claim information includes historical user characteristics, historical vehicle characteristics, and at least one of historical shop volume or historical claim volume, and the historical claim information is associated with at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair; (Franke, the models 128 may include currently scanned models such as any of the digital surface representations described above, previously generated models, previously scanned models (See, Para. 8, 83, and 84); with objective data available from one or more vehicles, statistical analysis may also be usefully performed in a variety of different ways regardless of the particular vehicle repair process (historical shop volume and (ii) historical claim volume)(See, Para. 118 and 121); preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; (See, Para. 8, 56, 139, 175-176); This analysis may include a physical inference based on, e.g. a physical model of a vehicle or a statistical or historical inference based on data concerning similar, previous repairs resulting from a particular vehicle condition. (See, Para. 143));
initializing the plurality of training parameters to be random values; (Franke, preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; the report 146 may simply document the condition of a vehicle, regardless of the presence or extent of damage; analyze the various data sets for damage assessment including, e.g., machine vision, machine learning, artificial intelligence, expert systems, rules or heuristics, and so forth, as well as techniques for requesting manual, human intervention under certain circumstances. The report 146 may usefully document the source for any identified damage, such as by identifying the specific digital surface representation, three-dimensional location within the digital surface representation where data indicated a defect or damage, and so forth. (See, Para. 8, 56, 63, 68, 75, 81-83));
and iteratively modifying the plurality of training parameters such that at least one of a predicted loss time to repair or a predicted loss cost to repair determined by the machine learning model using the plurality of training parameters and the historical claim information [gradually converges to the at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair]; (Franke, preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; the report 146 may simply document the condition of a vehicle, regardless of the presence or extent of damage; report 146 may thus include a damage report for a scanned vehicle based on any number of independent digital surface representations, along with vehicle identification information (e.g., a vehicle identification number, model, make, etc.), a scan of a vehicle (which may include multiple independent digital surface representations acquired using different scanning techniques), and an analysis of the scan covering, e.g., locations and sizes of defects. (See, Para. 8, 56, 63); support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm may be trained with training data to recognize damage based on these feature vectors or other descriptors so that dent detection can be automatically performed. (See, Para. 14, 15, 18, 111, 166, 175));
receiving, via the one or more processors, an auto loss report; (Franke, Analyzing the scan may include estimating an impairment to vehicle value and including the impairment to vehicle value in the damage report. (See, Para. 20, 185));
extracting, via the one or more processors, machine learning parameters from the auto loss report; (Franke, preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; the report 146 may simply document the condition of a vehicle, regardless of the presence or extent of damage (See, Para. 8, 56, 63); The item 306 may include one or more panels 320. The panels 320 may generally include sections of an item 306, e.g., sections of a vehicle. The sections may correspond to a particular vehicle type (e.g., automobile) and classification (e.g., sedan, station wagon, sport utility vehicle, convertible, pickup truck, van, and so on); the method 700 may include analyzing the scan to detect defects in each one of the plurality of panels. As described herein, a variety of techniques may be used to computationally extract damage information about a vehicle, such as information characterizing dents or other defects (See, Para.113, 173); a support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm may be trained with training data to recognize damage based on these feature vectors or other descriptors so that dent detection can be automatically performed. (See, Para. 56, 139, 175-176));
analyzing, via the one or more processors and using the machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair, the volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume, and the loss time to repair [indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle]; (Franke, processor may be configured to obtain automatic approval of the estimate by a remote claim processing system. The processor may be configured to automatically determine whether the owner is entitled to a rental during repairs, and wherein the user interface includes an interface for the owner to schedule the rental during repairs. (See, Para. 11); the server 122 may provide a centralized point of contact among various other participating entities (e.g., a user 105, the insurer platform 110, the rental provider platform 112, the repair provider platform 114, other service providers 116, and so on). For example, the user interface 138 may include an interface for an owner of the item being scanned (e.g., a vehicle) to schedule a rental during repairs, e.g., from the rental provider platform; (See, Para. 51); The rental provider platform 112 may be operated by a vehicle rental service or rental car agency that uses the system 100. This may provide an interactive interface for scheduling a car rental while a vehicle is being repaired; (See, Para. 71); preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; the report 146 may simply document the condition of a vehicle, regardless of the presence or extent of damage (See, Para. 8, 56, 63); a support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm may be trained with training data to recognize damage based on these feature vectors or other descriptors so that dent detection can be automatically performed. (See, Para. 56, 139, 175-176));
and outputting, via the one or more processors and by the machine learning model, the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair. (Franke, processor may be configured to obtain automatic approval of the estimate by a remote claim processing system.(See, Para. 11); preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; the report 146 may simply document the condition of a vehicle, regardless of the presence or extent of damage (See, Para. 8, 56, 63); a support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm may be trained with training data to recognize damage based on these feature vectors or other descriptors so that dent detection can be automatically performed. (See, Para. 56, 139, 175-176); The user interface may include an interface for providing status updates to the owner on the damage assessment and repair process (See, Para. 14, 18-21)).
However, Franke does not specifically teach indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle.
Renwick teaches the following limitations:
indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle; (Renwick, A rental vehicle may be pre-arranged by the insurer and picked up by the claimant at the insurer's facility at the same time the damaged vehicle is dropped off. Alternatively, the insurer can drop the rental vehicle off at the claimant's residence (or other location) and pick up the damaged vehicle. A repair estimate is prepared at the insurer's facility by a representative of the insurer. processing vehicle damage claims minimize the involvement and time input required by the claimant during the vehicle repair process. The inputs of the claimant are limited to, for example, the delivery and pickup of the damaged vehicle and rental vehicle at the insurer's facility. (See, Para.15, 37, 41, and 43)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Franke with the features of Renwick’s system because “this system processes vehicle damage claims for use by insurers; a rental vehicle may be pre-arranged by the insurer and picked up by the claimant at the insurer's facility at the same time the damaged vehicle is dropped off; and the vehicle is then repaired at the selected repair facility and returned to the insurer's facility. The insurer inspects the repaired vehicle to confirm that the required repairs have been properly completed.” (Renwick, Para. 15).
Claims 2 and 13:
Franke discloses:
further comprising: analyzing, via the one or more processors, the machine learning parameters to identify a vehicle rental coverage associated with the user; (Franke, preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; the report 146 may simply document the condition of a vehicle, regardless of the presence or extent of damage (See, Para. 8, 56, 63); processor may be configured to obtain automatic approval of the estimate by a remote claim processing system. The processor may be configured to automatically determine whether the owner is entitled to a rental during repairs, and wherein the user interface includes an interface for the owner to schedule the rental during repairs. (See, Para. 11); a support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm may be trained with training data to recognize damage based on these feature vectors or other descriptors so that dent detection can be automatically performed. (See, Para. 56, 139, 175-176)).
However, Franke does not specifically teach calculating, via the one or more processors, based on the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair, and the vehicle rental coverage, a set of estimated out-of-pockets each corresponding to a respective vehicle class; and transmitting, via the one or more processors, the set of estimated out-of-pockets.
Renwick discloses the following limitations:
calculating, via the one or more processors, based on the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair, and the vehicle rental coverage, a set of estimated out-of-pockets each corresponding to a respective vehicle class; (Renwick, A rental vehicle may be pre-arranged by the insurer and picked up by the claimant at the insurer's facility at the same time the damaged vehicle is dropped off. Alternatively, the insurer can drop the rental vehicle off at the claimant's residence (or other location) and pick up the damaged vehicle. A repair estimate is prepared at the insurer's facility by a representative of the insurer. (See, Para.15); Upon selection of the repair facility, the insurance provider representative and the selected repair facility agree [0041] 520 on repair price and time for repair of the vehicle… the insured may be required to pay an insurance deductible or other charges not covered by the insurance policy; (See, Para. 37 and 41));
transmitting, via the one or more processors, the set of estimated out-of-pockets. (Renwick, Upon selection of the repair facility, the insurance provider representative and the selected repair facility agree [0041] 520 on repair price and time for repair of the vehicle… insured may be required to pay an insurance deductible or other charges not covered by the insurance policy; (See, Para. 37, 41); This feature may be usefully augmented by providing concurrent payment processing capabilities for the owner of a vehicle, e.g., to permit receipt of reimbursement from the insurer, or to forward reimbursement to a repair facility, or to pay a deductible or other uninsured costs incurred by the repair service provider; (See, Para. 90)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Franke with the features of Renwick’s system because “this system processes vehicle damage claims for use by insurers; a rental vehicle may be pre-arranged by the insurer and picked up by the claimant at the insurer's facility at the same time the damaged vehicle is dropped off; and the vehicle is then repaired at the selected repair facility and returned to the insurer's facility. The insurer inspects the repaired vehicle to confirm that the required repairs have been properly completed.” (Renwick, Para. 15).
Claims 3 and 14:
Franke teaches:
wherein calculating the set of estimated out-of-pockets includes calculating, via one or more processors, the maximum of zero and a per-day cost, less the vehicle rental coverage associated with the user. (Franke, processor may be configured to obtain automatic approval of the estimate by a remote claim processing system. The processor may be configured to automatically determine whether the owner is entitled to a rental during repairs, and wherein the user interface includes an interface for the owner to schedule the rental during repairs. (See, Para. 11); the server 122 may provide a centralized point of contact among various other participating entities (e.g., a user 105, the insurer platform 110, the rental provider platform 112, the repair provider platform 114, other service providers 116, and so on). For example, the user interface 138 may include an interface for an owner of the item being scanned (e.g., a vehicle) to schedule a rental during repairs, e.g., from the rental provider platform; (See, Para. 51); The rental provider platform 112 may be operated by a vehicle rental service or rental car agency that uses the system 100. This may provide an interactive interface for scheduling a car rental while a vehicle is being repaired; (See, Para. 71); This feature may be usefully augmented by providing concurrent payment processing capabilities for the owner of a vehicle, e.g., to permit receipt of reimbursement from the insurer, or to forward reimbursement to a repair facility, or to pay a deductible or other uninsured costs incurred by the repair service provider; (See, Para. 90)).
Claims 4 and 15:
Franke teaches:
wherein analyzing the auto loss report to identify the vehicle rental coverage associated with the user includes querying, via the one or more processors, customer insurance policy information in an electronic database. (Franke, The data 132 in the database 120 may include without limitation any data referenced herein, including insurance carrier information, adjustment report criteria and formatting, supplier information (e.g., cost of repairs and parts), three-dimensional models for makes and models of vehicles, and so forth. The rules 136 may include any cost estimating rules, insurance policy or coverage rules, damage assessment or analysis rules, approval rules for any participating entities, or any other rules or the like useful for facilitating a damage assessment and repair system; a client 106 may support an API connection or web connection (or any other form of connection) to remote resources such as a database 120 (e.g., a damage assessment costs database), an insurer platform 110 or insurance adjuster, a rental provider platform 112 or leasing companies, and so forth. The system 100 may also or instead support connections between adjusters, estimators, insurer platforms 110, parts databases, and so forth. (See, Para. 38, 50, 74-75, 86)).
Claim 5:
Franke teaches:
wherein the computer-implemented method is implemented in at least one of (i) a call center computing system accessible by a customer service user and (ii) an application executing in a mobile device of the user. (Franke, the user interface 800 provides a platform for case management in an insurance/repair context. In particular, a case manager, may have access to a pool of assignments 802 that have been submitted to the insurer through a customer-facing web site, call center, or other resource or combination of resources. (See, Para. 182)).
Claims 6 and 16:
Franke teaches:
further comprising: determining, via the one or more processors, a candidate set of vehicle rental vendors; and (Franke, the server 122 may provide a centralized point of contact among various other participating entities (e.g., a user 105, the insurer platform 110, the rental provider platform 112, the repair provider platform 114, other service providers 116, and so on). For example, the user interface 138 may include an interface for an owner of the item being scanned (e.g., a vehicle) to schedule a rental during repairs, e.g., from the rental provider platform; (See, Para. 51));
receiving, via the one or more processors, an indication of a chosen vehicle rental vendor, the chosen vehicle rental vendor included in the candidate set of vehicle rental vendors. (Franke, The rental provider platform 112 may be operated by a vehicle rental service or rental car agency that uses the system 100. This may provide an interactive interface for scheduling a car rental while a vehicle is being repaired; (See, Para. 71)).
Claims 7 and 17:
Franke teaches:
the computer-implemented method further comprising: after receiving the indication of the chosen vehicle rental vendor, displaying, via the one or more processors, a default word track to the user. ((Franke, The rental provider platform 112 may be operated by a vehicle rental service or rental car agency that uses the system 100. This may provide an interactive interface for scheduling a car rental while a vehicle is being repaired; (See, Para. 71)).
Claims 8 and 18:
Franke teaches:
further comprising: determining, via the one or more processors and based on the chosen vehicle rental vendor and a location of the user, a set of vehicle rental branches; and (Franke, the server 122 may provide a centralized point of contact among various other participating entities (e.g., a user 105, the insurer platform 110, the rental provider platform 112, the repair provider platform 114, other service providers 116, and so on). For example, the user interface 138 may include an interface for an owner of the item being scanned (e.g., a vehicle) to schedule a rental during repairs, e.g., from the rental provider platform; (See, Para. 51));
receiving, via the one or more processors, an indication of a chosen vehicle rental branch, the chosen vehicle rental branch included in the set of vehicle rental branches. (Franke, the server 122 may provide a centralized point of contact among various other participating entities (e.g., a user 105, the insurer platform 110, the rental provider platform 112, the repair provider platform 114, other service providers 116, and so on). For example, the user interface 138 may include an interface for an owner of the item being scanned (e.g., a vehicle) to schedule a rental during repairs, e.g., from the rental provider platform; (See, Para. 51)); The rental provider platform 112 may be operated by a vehicle rental service or rental car agency that uses the system 100. This may provide an interactive interface for scheduling a car rental while a vehicle is being repaired; (See, Para. 71)).
Claims 9 and 19:
Franke teaches:
wherein determining the set of vehicle rental branches includes searching, via the one or more processors, for rental branches via a search interface. (Franke, The rental provider platform 112 may be operated by a vehicle rental service or rental car agency that uses the system 100. This may provide an interactive interface for scheduling a car rental while a vehicle is being repaired; (See, Para. 71)).
Claim 10:
Franke teaches:
wherein the trained machine learning model is trained further using vehicle feature information relating to years, makes, and/or models. (Franke, report 146 may thus include a damage report for a scanned vehicle based on any number of independent digital surface representations, along with vehicle identification information (e.g., a vehicle identification number, model, make, etc.), a scan of a vehicle (which may include multiple independent digital surface representations acquired using different scanning techniques), and an analysis of the scan covering, e.g., locations and sizes of defects. (See, Para. 8, 56, 139, 175-176)); The item 306 may include one or more panels 320. The panels 320 may generally include sections of an item 306, e.g., sections of a vehicle. The sections may correspond to a particular vehicle type (e.g., automobile) and classification (e.g., sedan, station wagon, sport utility vehicle, convertible, pickup truck, van, and so on) (See, Para.113)).
Claim 11:
Franke teaches:
wherein the trained machine learning model is trained further using vehicle classes. (Franke, The item 306 may include one or more panels 320. The panels 320 may generally include sections of an item 306, e.g., sections of a vehicle. The sections may correspond to a particular vehicle type (e.g., automobile) and classification (e.g., sedan, station wagon, sport utility vehicle, convertible, pickup truck, van, and so on) (See, Para. 56, 113, 139, 175-176)).
Response to Arguments
With respect to the claim objection of claims 1-9, the objection is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed on 07/01/2026.
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/01/2026. have been fully considered, but are not persuasive due to the following reasons:
With respect to the double patenting rejection of Claims 1-20, the claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-9, and 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,710,185 and claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,190,388. (Reference Patents). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-6, 8-9, and 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,710,185 and claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,190,388. A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
With respect to the rejection of 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant arguments are moot in view of the grounds of rejections presented above in this office action. The arguments are addressed to the extent they apply to the amended claims.
Applicant argues that “the pending claims are eligible at least under Prong 2 of Step 2A. Even assuming arguendo that claim 1 recites a judicial exception, claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea because the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exception into a practical application of the exception… claim 1 recites a combination "training . .. a machine learning model," "extracting .. machine learning parameters from the auto loss report," and "analyzing .. using the machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair."….. Applicant respectfully submits that at least the combination of the limitations quoted above amounts to significantly more than any alleged abstract idea. The Present Action alleges that "machine learning model limitations are recited at a high level of generality in that it results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements." Present Action at 6. Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1, at least because of the elements quoted above, does not recite the machine learning model "at a high level of generality." Rather, claim 1 recites the machine learning model with a specific training process including substantial technical details, as discussed above….. the presently claimed invention seeks to provide "smart auto estimatics" with little human involvement, while the same task is conventionally performed by an appraiser who uses, among others, traditional estimating systems and "personal/institutional knowledge of market value." Specification at para. [0003] (emphasis added). Applicant notes that training a machine learning model in a specific manner and analyzing automatically extracted data using the specifically trained machine learning model is a distinct process when compared to conventional, manual processes of providing such data analysis….. Finally, Applicant respectfully submits that the most recently issued patent eligibility examples 43-49 do not set forth any new rules that make claim 1 not patent eligible, nor has the Present Action identified any new rules from these examples that make claim 1 not patent eligible. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections of claim 1, claims 12 and 20 (which recite similar elements), and their respective dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C § 101.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under Step 2A: Prong 1, Examiner respectfully notes that claims 1, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of analyzing an auto loss report; without significantly more. The series of steps recited in claims 1, 12, and 20, as amended, describe the abstract idea of analyzing an auto loss report, which is mitigating risk of improperly preparing vehicle insurance claim estimates by accurately assessing vehicle damage, identifying and communicating repairability issues and vehicle condition on potential total loss claims, communicate repair estimate information to claim leadership, claim handlers, customers, agents, and repair facilities; therefore, corresponding to a fundamental economic principle or practice (including mitigating risk). Hence, a fundamental economic principle or practice (mitigating risk) is a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. The abstract idea is also the processing and determining of a customer’s out-of-pocket costs to repair the customer’s vehicle and rent a vehicle while the vehicle is being repaired, based on the customer’s vehicle insurance coverage, which is a commercial interaction. Therefore, a commercial interaction is also a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Furthermore, the system limitations, e.g., a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model do not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea.
Furthermore, Examiner respectfully notes that the claims are first analyzed in the absence of technology to determine if it recites an abstract idea. The additional limitations of technology are then considered to determine if it restricts the claim from reciting an abstract idea. In this case, and as discussed in the 2019 and updated 2024 Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, it is determined that the additional limitations of technology do not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. Furthermore, Examiner respectfully notes that the recited features in the limitations: “train, via the one or more processors, a machine learning model including a plurality of training parameters, the training including: encoding historical claim information as labels in a labeled data set, wherein the historical claim information includes historical user characteristics, historical vehicle characteristics, and at least one of historical shop volume or historical claim volume, and the historical claim information is associated with at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair; initializing the plurality of training parameters to be random values; and iteratively modifying the plurality of training parameters such that at least one of a predicted loss time to repair or a predicted loss cost to repair determined by the machine learning model using the plurality of training parameters and the historical claim information gradually converges to the at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair; receive, via the one or more processors, an auto loss report; extract, via the one or more processors, machine learning parameters from the auto loss report; analyze, via the one or more processors and using the machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair, the volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume, and the loss time to repair indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle; and output, via the one or more processors and by the machine learning model, the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair” are simply making use of a computer and the computer limitations do not necessarily restrict the claims from reciting an abstract idea as discussed above under Step 2A-Prong 1 of the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
Hence, Examiner has also considered each and every arguments under Step 2A-Prong 1 and concludes that these arguments are not persuasive. For example, under Step 2A-Prong 1, Examiner considers each and every limitation to determine if the claims recite an abstract idea. In this case, it is determined that the claims recite an abstract idea and the additional limitations of a computer device does not necessarily restrict the claims from reciting an abstract idea. The recited steps, as amended, are abstract in nature as there are no technical/technology improvements as a result of these steps. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea. Whether the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application by providing technical/technology improvements are considered under Step 2A-Prong 2.
Under Step 2A: Prong II , Examiner respectfully notes that there is no improved technology in simply training (processing), encoding, initializing, modifying, determining, converging, receiving, extracting, analyzing, and outputting data (i.e., historical claim information, historical vehicle characteristics, historical shop volume data, historical claim data, repair cost and time data, auto loss report data, real-time claim and shop volume, rental vehicle data, and etc.). Unlike Example 47 (claim 3 - eligible) of the 2024 Updated Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, the disclosed invention simply cannot be equated to improvement to technological practices or computers. There is no technical improvement at all. Instead, Applicant recites “train, via the one or more processors, a machine learning model including a plurality of training parameters, the training including: encoding historical claim information as labels in a labeled data set, wherein the historical claim information includes historical user characteristics, historical vehicle characteristics, and at least one of historical shop volume or historical claim volume, and the historical claim information is associated with at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair; initializing the plurality of training parameters to be random values; and iteratively modifying the plurality of training parameters such that at least one of a predicted loss time to repair or a predicted loss cost to repair determined by the machine learning model using the plurality of training parameters and the historical claim information gradually converges to the at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair; receive, via the one or more processors, an auto loss report; extract, via the one or more processors, machine learning parameters from the auto loss report; analyze, via the one or more processors and using the machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair, the volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume, and the loss time to repair indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle; and output, via the one or more processors and by the machine learning model, the at least one of (i) the loss time to repair and (ii) the loss cost to repair.” Similar to 2024 Updated Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility: Example 47 (claim 2- ineligible), the recited features in the limitations of claims 1, 12, and 20 do not result in computer functionality or technical improvement. Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant is simply using a computer/processor to input, process, and output data. The recited features in the limitations does not disclose a technical solution to technical problem, but simply a business solution. Specifically, the recited steps, as amended, are merely managing/processing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)) and does not result in computer functionality or technical improvement. Thus, Applicant has simply provided a business method practice of processing data (historical claim information, historical vehicle characteristics, historical shop volume data, historical claim data, repair cost and time data, auto loss report data, real-time claim and shop volume, rental vehicle data, and etc.), and no technical solution or improvement has been disclosed.
Additionally, similar to 2024 Updated Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility: Example 47 (claim 2- ineligible), there is no technology/technical improvement as a result of implementing the abstract idea. The recited limitations in the pending claims simply amount to the an abstract idea of analyzing an auto loss report; without significantly more. There is no computer functionality improvement or technology improvement. The claim does not provide a technical solution to a technical problem. If there is an improvement, it is to the abstract idea and not to technology. Furthermore, as previously noted, Examiner notes that it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the judicial exception itself (e.g., recited fundamental economic principle or practice and/or commercial interaction) is not an improvement in technology (See, MPEP 2106.05(a)(II)). Thus, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; and these arguments are not persuasive.
Moreover, similar to 2024 Updated Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility: Example 47 (claim 2- ineligible), Examiner respectfully notes that claims 1, 12, and 20, as amended, recite steps at a high level of generality. In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and outputting, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering and output. See MPEP 2106.05. The claim simply makes use of a computer as a tool to apply the abstract idea without transforming the abstract idea into a patent eligible subject matter. Thus, these arguments are not persuasive.
Furthermore, these steps, as amended, are recited as being performed by a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model. Unlike Example 47 (claim 3 - eligible) of the 2024 Updated Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, the additional elements of a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model on the mobile device, and graphical user interface of the mobile device are recited at a high level of generality, and are used as a tool to perform the generic computer function of receiving, processing, and outputting data. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Similar to Example 47 (claim 2- ineligible) and unlike Example 47 (claim 3 - eligible) of the 2024 Updated Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, amended claims 1, 12, and 20 recite a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model, which are simply used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong 1, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, the recitation of “a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model” in the limitations merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception is performed. The claims, as amended, merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment; and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. Hence, Claims 1, 12, and 20 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, these arguments are not persuasive.
Under Step 2B, Examiner respectfully notes that all of Applicant's arguments have been reviewed, and the inventive concept cannot be furnished by a judicial exception. The improvements argued are to the abstract idea and not to technology. The technical limitations are simply utilized as a tool to implement the abstract idea without adding significantly more. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea, and hence these arguments are not persuasive. The presence of a computer does not make the claimed solution necessarily rooted in computer technology. Furthermore, Examiner notes that the courts have determined that processing data is well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Thus, the recited combination of steps in claims 1, 12, and 20 operate in a well-understood, routine, conventional and generic way. As noted above, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model are recited at a high level of generality in that it results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not amount to add significantly more as these limitations provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment.
Applying the 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility here, and as explained with respect to Step 2A, Prong 2, the additional elements: a computing system, one or more processors, one or more memories, and machine learning model, are at best mere instructions to “apply” the abstract idea, which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the claims’ limitations are recited at a high level of generality. These elements simply amount to receiving and outputting data and are well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitation of a computer/processor to perform recited limitations, as amended, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, which do not provide an inventive concept.
Hence, Examiner respectfully declines Applicant’s request to withdraw the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-20.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that “Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Franke in view of Renwick. Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection. a. The cited references do not disclose using at least one of historical shop volume or historical claim volume to train a machine learning model. Applicant respectfully submits that Franke, which is cited in connection with "training ... machine learning model including a plurality of training parameters, the training including: encoding historical claim information as labels in a labeled data set, wherein the historical claim information includes ... at least one of historical shop volume or historical claim volume," does not disclose this feature…. The Present Action appears to map the "support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm" of Franke to the "machine learning model" of claim 1…. Franke does not disclose the training data of Franke including the amount related to a vehicle repair shop and/or the amount of claims, or using such amount(s) as data points for training a machine learning model. Renwick does not remedy these deficiencies of Franke, nor is it cited for this purpose. b. The cited references do not disclose analyzing volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair. Additionally, Applicant respectfully submits that Franke, which is cited in connection with "analyzing .. . volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair, the volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume, and the loss time to repair indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle," does not disclose this feature….. Franke does not disclose that the estimate is prepared by analyzing "volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume," as recited by claim 1…. For at least the reasons above, Applicant respectfully submits that, Franke and Renwick, either alone or in combination, do not disclose or suggest each element recited by claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections of claim 1, claims 12 and 20, which recite similar elements, and their respective dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C § 103.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to Applicant's arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of Claims 1- 20, Examiner respectfully notes, as discussed above in the 103 rejection, Franke in view of Renwick teach “training, via one or more processors, a machine learning model including a plurality of training parameters, the training including: encoding historical claim information as labels in a labeled data set, wherein the historical claim information includes historical user characteristics, historical vehicle characteristics, and at least one of historical shop volume or historical claim volume, and the historical claim information is associated with at least one of known loss time to repair or known loss cost to repair; (Franke; See, Para. 56, 139, 175-176); (Franke, the models 128 may include currently scanned models such as any of the digital surface representations described above, previously generated models, previously scanned models (See, Para. 8, 83, and 84); with objective data available from one or more vehicles, statistical analysis may also be usefully performed in a variety of different ways regardless of the particular vehicle repair process (historical shop volume and (ii) historical claim volume)(See, Para. 118 and 121); preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; (See, Para. 8, 56, 139, 175-176); This analysis may include a physical inference based on, e.g. a physical model of a vehicle or a statistical or historical inference based on data concerning similar, previous repairs resulting from a particular vehicle condition. (See, Para. 143)). Furthermore, Franke teaches iteratively modifying the plurality of training parameters such that at least one of a predicted loss time to repair or a predicted loss cost to repair determined by the machine learning model using the plurality of training parameters and the historical claim information (Franke; See, Para. 8, 14, 15, 18, 56, 111, 166, 175); (Franke, preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; the report 146 may simply document the condition of a vehicle, regardless of the presence or extent of damage; report 146 may thus include a damage report for a scanned vehicle based on any number of independent digital surface representations, along with vehicle identification information (e.g., a vehicle identification number, model, make, etc.), a scan of a vehicle (which may include multiple independent digital surface representations acquired using different scanning techniques), and an analysis of the scan covering, e.g., locations and sizes of defects. (See, Para. 8, 56, 63); support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm may be trained with training data to recognize damage based on these feature vectors or other descriptors so that dent detection can be automatically performed). Furthermore, Franke teaches receiving, via the one or more processors, an auto loss report; extracting, via the one or more processors, machine learning parameters from the auto loss report; (Franke, Analyzing the scan may include estimating an impairment to vehicle value and including the impairment to vehicle value in the damage report. (See, Para. 20, 185); preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; the report 146 may simply document the condition of a vehicle, regardless of the presence or extent of damage (See, Para. 8, 56, 63); The item 306 may include one or more panels 320. The panels 320 may generally include sections of an item 306, e.g., sections of a vehicle. The sections may correspond to a particular vehicle type (e.g., automobile) and classification (e.g., sedan, station wagon, sport utility vehicle, convertible, pickup truck, van, and so on); the method 700 may include analyzing the scan to detect defects in each one of the plurality of panels. As described herein, a variety of techniques may be used to computationally extract damage information about a vehicle, such as information characterizing dents or other defects (See, Para.113, 173); a support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm may be trained with training data to recognize damage based on these feature vectors or other descriptors so that dent detection can be automatically performed. (See, Para. 56, 139, 175-176)). Moreover, Franke teaches analyzing, via the one or more processors and using the machine learning model, the machine learning parameters and volume data to determine at least one of (i) a loss time to repair and (ii) a loss cost to repair, the volume data corresponding to real-time information pertaining to claim volume and/or shop volume, and the loss time to repair. Specifically, Franke recites (Franke, processor may be configured to obtain automatic approval of the estimate by a remote claim processing system. The processor may be configured to automatically determine whether the owner is entitled to a rental during repairs, and wherein the user interface includes an interface for the owner to schedule the rental during repairs. (See, Para. 11); the server 122 may provide a centralized point of contact among various other participating entities (e.g., a user 105, the insurer platform 110, the rental provider platform 112, the repair provider platform 114, other service providers 116, and so on). For example, the user interface 138 may include an interface for an owner of the item being scanned (e.g., a vehicle) to schedule a rental during repairs, e.g., from the rental provider platform; (See, Para. 51); The rental provider platform 112 may be operated by a vehicle rental service or rental car agency that uses the system 100. This may provide an interactive interface for scheduling a car rental while a vehicle is being repaired; (See, Para. 71); preparing an estimate for repairing the item based on the digital surface representation using one or more local cost estimating rules and at least one remote repair cost tool accessible through the data network; the report 146 may simply document the condition of a vehicle, regardless of the presence or extent of damage (See, Para. 8, 56, 63); a support vector machine or other classifier or other algorithm may be trained with training data to recognize damage based on these feature vectors or other descriptors so that dent detection can be automatically performed. (See, Para. 56, 139, 175-176)).
Furthermore, Examiner respectfully notes, as discussed above in the 103 rejection, Franke does not specifically teach indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle; however, Renwick teaches indicating a wait time the user is predicted to require a rental vehicle. Specifically, Renwick recites “A rental vehicle may be pre-arranged by the insurer and picked up by the claimant at the insurer's facility at the same time the damaged vehicle is dropped off. Alternatively, the insurer can drop the rental vehicle off at the claimant's residence (or other location) and pick up the damaged vehicle. A repair estimate is prepared at the insurer's facility by a representative of the insurer. processing vehicle damage claims minimize the involvement and time input required by the claimant during the vehicle repair process. The inputs of the claimant are limited to, for example, the delivery and pickup of the damaged vehicle and rental vehicle at the insurer's facility.” (See, Para.15, 37, 41, and 43). Therefore, Franke and Renwick, either alone or in combination, teach each element recited by claims 1-20. Thus, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franke (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0148101 A1 hereinafter “Franke”), in view of Renwick (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2002/0188479 A1; hereinafter “Renwick”).
Hence, Examiner respectfully declines Applicant’s request to withdraw the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is the following:
Weinstock (U.S. Patent Pub. No. US-2014/0052478-A1) “Method and System for Marketing Vehicles for Sale or Lease to Replace Totaled Vehicles”
Hanson (U.S. Patent No. US-10,354,230-B1) “Automatic determination of rental car term associated with a vehicle collision repair incident”
Ethington (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US-2019/0156298-A1) “Machine learning based repair forecasting”
Hanson (U.S. Patent No. US-10,176,532-B1) “Insurance claim capitation and predictive payment modeling”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED H MUSTAFA/Examiner, Art Unit 3693
/Mike Anderson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3693