Status of Claims
Claims 1-40 are pending. Claims 14-40 are withdrawn. Claims 1-13 are examined below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species IA and IIA, in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the angle to be measured between the bracket and stile must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-13, claim 1 recites “a support bracket that is angled relative to a stilt at an angle corresponding to an average incline angle of the installation surface”. Applicant’s specification identifies “304” as the bracket. See markup of figs. 3C and 5A. Applicant does not define what surface is to be used of the bracket to define the angle. Claims 2-13 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 recites “a support bracket that is angled relative to a stilt at an angle corresponding to an average incline angle of the installation surface”, requiring a specific angle of installation. Claim 3 recites “a support bracket and a stilt receiver pivotally connected to the support bracket”, resulting in the bracket being pivotally connected to the stilt. It is unclear how the bracket can be installed at a specific angle, and yet be rotating.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 recites the bracket installed at a specific angle in relation to the stilt, while claim 3, depending from claim 1, recites the bracket rotating in relation to the stilt receiver, which results in rotating in relation to the stilt. The claim limitations apply to the installed device. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Beck et al. (US 2014/0261642).
Regarding claim 1, Beck discloses a solar energy support system (holding system for mounting a photovoltaic module, see abstract) comprising:
one or more stilt (2/2a) assemblies configured to be installed onto an installation surface in a grid pattern, each stilt assembly including stilts extending different heights above the installation surface (shown in fig. 1, see para [0053]), and
wherein the stilts within the stilt assemblies are arranged so as to alternate heights within the grid pattern (shown in fig. 1, see para [0053]); and
one or more module support assemblies (bearing head 4/4a) each configured to be installed onto a column of one of the stilts (2/2a) so as to be substantially co-planar (first bearing head 4a coplanar with second bearing head 4a, first bearing head 4 coplanar with second bearing head 4) with one or more other installed module support assemblies (shown in fig. 1, see abstract and para [0053]-[0055]),
wherein each module support assembly (bearing head 4/4a) includes a securing mechanism (module clamps 16) configured to secure a solar energy module [0059]-[0064]); and
a support bracket (4) that is angled relative to a stilt at an angle corresponding to an average incline angle of the installation surface (see markup of fig. 3 below) (see para [0058]-[0062]). The examiner has elected to define the angel as between the center surface of 4 and the stile.
Note: 4 and 4a are referred to bearing head in abstract and bearing plate in para [0053]-[0055], (in addition to 14, 14a, 14’, 14’a also referred to as bearing plate). Examiner has elected to use the term bearing head for 4 and 4a to prevent confusion when/if referring to bearing surface 28/28a and surfaces 14, 14a, 14’ and 14’a.
Regarding claim 6, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, wherein all stilts in the stilt assemblies have a same length (i.e., it is “possible to have bars (stilts) of equal length wherein, in this case, the ground support of the pair is driven deeper into the ground than the other ground support of the pair”, see para [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, wherein the different heights of the stilts are based on being installed at different depths relative to the installation surface (see discussion of claim 6, shown in fig. 8, see para [0025]).
Regarding claim 8, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, wherein the stilt assemblies are configured to be positioned at a distance apart to achieve a desired module tilt angle of the solar energy module relative to a horizon (see para [0012]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 10, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, wherein the alternating heights of stilts in the stilt assemblies allows for a solar energy module secured to a first and second column of the stilt assemblies to face a different direction than a solar energy module secured to a second and third column of the stilt assemblies (shown in fig. 1, see para [0053]-[0055]).
The court has held drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. See In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). See also MPEP § 2125.
Regarding claim 13, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, further comprising a ground brace (28/28a, bearing surface) configured to be installed onto the stilt so as to abut the installation surface (see fig. 8, see abstract and para [0053]-[0055], [0068]).
The court has held drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. See In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). See also MPEP § 2125.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further as follows:
Regarding claim 2, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein heights of the substantially co-planar module support assemblies are within 100 mm of each other. Beck does disclose “the ground supports are provided and set up such that, in the mounted state, the bearing plates of a ground support pair are spaced apart from each other vertically in relation to the base and from each other horizontally in adjustment to the preferably framed photovoltaic module and that they are aligned with each other at least in essence”, disclosing the alignment as a variable to be optimized (see para [0007]).
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable, [i.e. alignment (100 mm of each other)], for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, wherein a distal end of a first stilt in a column of stilt assemblies height (row 10 or row 10a) is aligned in essence above the installation surface with a distal end of a last stilt in the same column of stilt assemblies (see abstract and para [0007]).
Beck does not disclose the distal ends are co-planar within 100 mm.
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable, [i.e. alignment of distal ends (100 mm of each other)], for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the stilts is positioned at a corner of the solar energy module (see figs. 1, 1a, 2a, 3, para [0053]-[0064]).
The court has held drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. See In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). See also MPEP § 2125.
Beck does not disclose that at the corner as shown in figs. 1, 1a, 2a, and 3) is within 500 mm of a corner.
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable, [i.e. at a corner (within 500 mm of a corner)], for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Beck discloses a system of claim 8, but does not disclose wherein the module tilt angle is less than 20 degrees relative to the horizon.
Beck discloses the tilt angle can be optimized in relation to the sun and/or to ensure that the modules are self-cleaned by rain and that, if necessary, a snow layer slips off (see para [0015] and [0054]), and therefore discloses the tilt as a result effective variable.
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable, [i.e. at a corner (within 500 mm of a corner)], for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Careless (US 2024/0305239).
Regarding claim 3, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, wherein each of the module support assemblies includes a support bracket (4 bearing head, bearing surfaces 14 and14’, plus 16/16a, clamp) and a stilt receiver (aperture in 4/4a) connected to the support bracket (shown in figs. 3 and 4, see para [0058]-[0064]).
Beck does not disclose the bracket (4 bearing head, bearing surfaces 14 and14’, plus 16/16a, clamp) is pivotally connected to the stilt receiver (4/4a).
Careless is analogous art to Beck as Careless is directed to a system to mount solar modules (see abstract). Careless discloses a system to mount tilted solar modules that comprises a post (25) and a support assembly (30, sub-assembly and 20 sub-assembly) (see fig. 1, para [0069]). Careless discloses the support assembly comprises a support bracket (support assembly 30, including elongated member 120, which meets angle requirement of claim 1, i.e., bracket to stile, extrusion 150, panel support member) and a stilt receiver (sub-assembly 20) (see para [0070] and [0079]-[0083]). Careless discloses the support bracket (150 and sub-assembly 30) is rotatably connected to the stilt receiver (sub-assembly 20) through male portion (140, part of 120) and female portion (155, part of 150) to form a ball and socket connection (see para [0080]-[0083]). Careless discloses the rotating connection allows rotation of the solar panel, allowing the tilt (see para [0083]).
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known device (i.e., the support assembly comprising a support bracket rotatably connected to the stilt receiver as disclosed by Careless) for another known device (i.e., the support assembly comprising a support bracket and stilt receiver of Beck), wherein the result is predictable (i.e., the rotation allowing the tilt of the solar modules).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Delgado-Nanez (US 2023/0235923) (Nanez) and Scott et al. (US 2013/0335956).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Beck discloses a system of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the stilt is made of a flexible material that accommodates a distal end of the stilt being at a different location in an x-y plane than a location of penetration into the installation surface by the stilt after one or more solar energy modules are installed onto the module support assemblies (claim 11), wherein the offset allowance in an x-y plane is at least 10 mm (0.4 inch).
Nanez is analogous art to Beck as Nanez discloses that stilts (i.e., posts, poles, ground supports, etc.) of a solar cell module array deflect due to load of the mounted solar cell modules and as evidenced by Scott, applied wind loads (see Nanez fig. 9, para [0021], [0057]-[0058] and Scott para [0008]-[0009]). As stilts, piers, posts, ground supports, etc. are known to deflect, the stilts, piers, posts used in solar module arrays are flexible as used in the instant application. Further, Scott discloses those skilled in the art are able to calculated according to known methods the expected loads, the expected deflection, impact of stilt, pier, post, ground support, etc. height and design accordingly (see para [0009]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stilt (ground support) of Beck to be flexible, meaning to deflect due to load, because the design of a solar module array must structurally account for the weight and environmental loads of the installation.
Modified Beck does not disclose the designed ability to deflect is at least 10 mm (0.4 inch). Nanez and Scott disclose the amount of designed-in deflection to be a result effective variable.
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable, [i.e. designed for deflection], for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the specific portion of the cited prior art reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner notes that applicant claims structure, but defines structure by function rather than specific structural elements. As applicant adds function limitations, that modifies what part of the prior art reads on the recited limitation. Therefore, applicant’s amendment to the functions of the parts necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kitano et al. (US 2015/0144580) (discloses independent claim, offset post, aluminum post), Kim (US 2024/0322748) (discloses stilts with frame).
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721