DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7 April 2026.
Applicant’s argument that there is overlap between claims 1 and 9 is not persuasive.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “114” has been used to designate two different components in FIG. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Ridder (U.S. Patent 6,746,240).
Regarding claim 1, De Ridder discloses a support sleeve 100 for supporting a process vessel 10/12 comprising a ledge 11 protruding from an outer surface of the process vessel (FIG. 2) and a base surface (bottom of 12) for sealing the process vessel in a furnace 5 for semiconductor processing, the support sleeve comprising:
an interior surface 106 and an exterior surface 104;
a top surface 108 constructed and arranged to engage with and support the process vessel at the ledge;
a bottom surface 102; and
a shoulder (angled portion of 100 at reference arrow for 106 in FIG. 5B) including an intermediate surface (interior surface of angled portion of 100 at reference arrow for 106 in FIG. 5B) disposed between the top surface and the bottom surface, the intermediate surface extending from the interior surface and constructed and arranged to form a portion of a diffusion barrier channel 17/13 between the intermediate surface of the shoulder and the base surface of the process vessel (FIG. 1-5C; Col. 6 ln 54-Col. 7 ln 8, Col. 7 ln 20-52, Col. 8 ln 1-35).
Regarding claim 6, De Ridder discloses a circumferential channel 120 disposed within the support sleeve and in fluid communication with a gas inlet channel 110 (FIG. 4-5C; Col. 7 ln 20-52).
Regarding claim 7, De Ridder discloses a plurality of feed channels 122/124 disposed within the support sleeve, each feed channel having a first end in fluid communication with the circumferential channel and a second end in fluid communication with a gas injection aperture 134 (FIG. 4-5C; Col. 7 ln 53-Col. 8 ln 10).
Regarding claim 8, De Ridder discloses each of the gas injection apertures extend from the second end of the feed channel through the interior surface of the support sleeve (FIG. 4-5C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Ridder in view of Kluz (U.S. Patent 10,302,224).
Regarding claim 2, De Ridder discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
De Ridder is silent regarding the support sleeve is fabricated from a single piece of material.
However, Kluz teaches making three dimensional valve components having complex passages as a single piece (Claim 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify De Ridder by making the support sleeve as a single piece of material, as taught by Kluz, since it has been held that use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Regarding claim 3, De Ridder, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 2.
De Ridder further discloses the top surface is an annular top surface extending between the exterior surface of the support sleeve and the interior surface of the support sleeve (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 4, De Ridder, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3.
De Ridder further discloses the shoulder comprises an annular shoulder (FIG. 4-5C).
Regarding claim 5, De Ridder, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 4.
De Ridder further discloses the intermediate surface comprises an annular surface (FIG. 4-5C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753