DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the amendments filed on 04/29/2026, wherein, claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMRAKS, filed 04/29/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC § 112(b), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore the previous rejections, under 35 USC § 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20, under 35 USC § 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections, under 35 USC § 103 are maintained.
However, Takamatsu fails to render obvious the features of Claim 1, because Takamatsu fails to describe or suggest, "executing an artificial intelligence (AI) model on the data, spatial relationship information that defines positions of the plurality of display devices within the vehicle, and the context related to the data to determine a placement location of the data on the selected display device."
Takamatsu generally describes a vehicle display control system in which multiple display devices in a vehicle are used in coordination to present information based on driving conditions and system states of the vehicle. The system receives vehicle-related data and determines what information should be presented and on which display, such as prioritizing driving-related warnings over non-driving information. The coordination is based on predefined control logic.
However, Takamatsu fails to determine a placement location of the data on a selected display device, let alone, using an AI model. Takamatsu also fails to use spatial relationship information among multiple display devices as an input to determining the placement location of the data on the selected display device. Instead, Takamatsu uses a predefined display control rules without any learning-based or spatially-aware placement determination. Therefore, Takamatsu has significant deficiencies with respect to Claim 1.
The Examiner disagrees that the coordination is based on predefined control logic. While some examples have been provided that may be interpreted as predefined control logic, Takamatsu states “The technical scope of the present invention is not limited to the above-described embodiment. The above-described embodiment may be modified or improved variously within the technical scope of the present invention.” (¶ [0116]) Thus, even if the assertion that Takamatsu only operates based on predefined control logic, this would not prevent Takamatsu from being modified to include the machine learning models and systems of Kruzick or other similar art.
As provided in the previous office action, Takamatsu does not explicitly state the usage of AI models to perform its functions. However, the method of Takamatsu does “determine a placement location of the data on a selected display device” and uses “spatial relationship information among multiple display devices as an input to determine the placement location of the data on the selected display device.”
As provided above by the Applicant, “Takamatsu generally describes a vehicle display control system in which multiple display devices in a vehicle are used in coordination to present information based on driving conditions and system states of the vehicle. The system receives vehicle-related data and determines what information should be presented and on which display…” Given the above description, the Applicant illustrates that Takamatsu has multiple displays in the vehicle and coordinates the displays based on data received, i.e., determine a placement location of the data on a selected display device. Further, the coordination of the displays also utilizes a spatial relationship, i.e., a relationship within a vehicle cabin to one another. If the system did not identify the spatial relationship of the multiple displays to one another, they would not be able to coordinate the display of information based between the displays.
Meanwhile, Kruzick describes a system that uses a machine learning model to recommend and arrange content items within a graphical user interface. The model evaluates factors such as recency of use to generate ranked recommendations, which are then displayed in designated regions of a user interface layout. But the system of Kruzick is designed to improve user interaction by predicting which items a user is likely to select and organizing those items within a display environment. See, paragraphs [0008]-[0010].
However, Kruzick fails to cure the deficiencies of Takamatsu with respect to Claim 1 because Kruzick does not execute an AI model using spatial relationship information defining positions of a plurality of display devices within a vehicle to determine a placement location of data on a selected display device.
Instead, the machine learning model of Kruzick is configured to select and rank content items for presentation without any consideration of a placement location within a selected display device.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the previous office action, Kruzick is provided as teaching: executing a an artificial intelligence model on data and the context related to the data to predict a placement location of the data on the selected display device. Here, Kruzick determines, via machine learn models, location placements of data on a display. While, Kruzick was not used to teach the use of multiple displays, its disclosure does teach such an embodiment. “It should be understood that while the illustrated example of FIG. 1B depicts snapping items in an organized grid within a single display device, the snap assist interface can utilize multiple display devices. For instance, in a multi-display configuration, a first item can be snapped to fill a first region in a first display device and a second item can be snapped to fill a second region in a second display device. In addition, while the illustrated example of FIG. 1B shows a side-by-side format, the arrangement and number of items in an organized layout can be automatically configured by the system or modified by the user to create a custom preferred grid.” (¶ [0041])
Therefore, the combination of Takamatsu, Embien, and Kruzick discloses the entirety of amended claim 1 and the Examiner finds the above arguments unpersuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Furthermore, the combination of Embien, Huh, and Lee fails to cure the deficiencies of Takamatsu and Kruzick with respect to Claim 1.
As provided above, there are no deficiencies for Huh and Lee to cure. Therefore, the Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 10, 11, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu et al. (US 2016/0075235 A1, “Takamatsu”) in view of Embien (A Comprehensive Guide on the Automotive Electronic Control Unit – ECU, “Embien”) and in further view of Kruzick et al. (US 2022/0334685 A1, “Kruzick”).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Takamatsu discloses in-vehicle display apparatus and instrument panel and teaches:
A system, comprising: (FIG. 5 is a view showing the hardware structure centering on a controller 52 that controls the various kinds of display devices 30 arranged on the instrument panel 20. The controller 52 is formed of an ECU (Electronic Control Unit). To the controller 52, not only the above-mentioned various kinds of display devices 30 are connected but also a speed sensor 56, an inter-vehicle distance sensor 57, a navigation device 58, a speaker 59, an operation switch (SW) 53, a camera 51 and the like are connected – See at least ¶ [0074])
[]
at least one processor, (The controller 52 is formed of an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) – See at least ¶ [0074]) [] the at least one processor configured to:
receive, by a vehicle, data related to the vehicle as the vehicle is traveling on a route (To the controller 52, not only the above-mentioned various kinds of display devices 30 are connected but also a speed sensor 56, an inter-vehicle distance sensor 57, a navigation device 58, a speaker 59, an operation switch (SW) 53, a camera 51 and the like are connected. 0075. The speed sensor 56 detects the speed of the vehicle. The inter-vehicle distance sensor 57 measures the distance from an object by transmitting and receiving infrared rays and detects the approach to the own vehicle. It may have a structure where the approach to the own vehicle is detected by analyzing an image taken by a camera. Moreover, the inter vehicle distance sensor 57 may be provided more than one in number in order that the approach of an object to the own vehicle can be detected not only with respect to the front and the back of the vehicle but also with respect to the right and the left. The navigation device 58 is provided with GPS (Global Positioning System) and map data, and has the function of guiding the own vehicle to a destination – See at least ¶ [0074]-[0076]) and context related to the data, (Next, a display operation by the controller 52 using the display unit 32 will be described. FIGS. 6A, 6B, 7A and 7B show display examples when a plurality of display devices are operated in coordination with one another. FIG. 6A shows a display example when overspeeding occurs. When the speed of the vehicle detected by the speed sensor 56 is higher than the legal speed or the like, the controller 52 lights the display unit 32 in red – See at least ¶ [0078]; FIG. 6B shows a display example when a warning of the approach of a vehicle is provided. When the approach to the own vehicle detected by the inter-vehicle distance sensor 57 is not more than a predetermined distance so that the collision risk increases, on the display unit 32, the controller 52 moves an arrow mark a representative of the direction of the approach of the vehicle from the side of the windshield 10 in the direction of the front surface of the instrument panel 20 – See at least ¶ [0081] Examiner notes that the system is receiving data from various sensors and based on the type of data, i.e., the context, different functions are performed.) select, by the vehicle, a display device from among a plurality of display devices distributed within the vehicle to present the data based on the context related to the data, (FIGS. 11A and 11B show other display examples when a plurality of display devices are operated in coordination with one another. FIG. 11A shows a display example when the approach to the own vehicle is detected. When detecting the approach to the own vehicle from images taken by the camera 51, the controller 52 lights the display unit 32A in yellow. Simultaneously with this display operation, the controller 52 displays the image of the left side taken by the camera 51 on the liquid crystal display 36 on the left side, and displays the image of the right side taken by the camera 51 on the liquid crystal display 38 on the right side – See at least ¶ [0107]) execute [] on the data, spatial relationship information that defines positions of the plurality of display devices within the vehicle, and the context related to the data to determine a placement location of the data on the selected display device (As described above, since various pieces of information are displayed by the display unit incorporated in the instrument panel forming the inside of the cabin, a sense of unity of the displayed driving information and the vehicle can be felt. As a result, it is expected that the efficiency of information transmission to the passengers including the driver improves. Consequently, the drivers interest level increases, and contribution to safe driving is expected. Moreover, the display unit 32 incorporated in the Surface of the instrument panel 20 on the passenger seat side is capable of changing its display variously together with other display devices such as the liquid crystal display 36 and the line illumination 39 and displaying information (specific information) Such as driving information, danger notification information and entertainment information in coordination. Consequently, specific information can be dis played in coordination in a position suitable for the role of the display and the information conveyed to the passengers can be made easy-to-understand. Further, since display is provided by this display unit and other display devices in coordination with one another, display with a sense of dynamism can be provided in the cabin. Moreover, since the display unit is incorporated in the instrument panel on the passenger seat side, information not directly related to driving such as entertainment information is displayed on the display unit, so that it is also possible to display information directly necessary for driving and information not necessary for driving can be displayed in such a manner as to be distinguished from each other – See at least ¶ [0088]-[0091])
display the data at the placement location on the display device. (When the display unit 32A is lit in yellow, by viewing the left and right liquid crystal displays 36 and 38, the driver can grasp the condition outside the vehicle in the horizontal direction without wagging his/her head and can avoid collision. Moreover, since the image of the left side is dis played on the liquid crystal display 36 on the left side and the image of the right side is displayed on the liquid crystal display 38 on the right side, images can be displayed in positions suitable for the role of the display, so that the directions of the taken images can be understood intuitively – See at least ¶ [0108])
Takamatsu does not explicitly teach a memory; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor and the memory are communicably coupled. However, Embien discloses a comprehensive guide on the automotive electronic control unit and teaches:
A system, comprising: (The world of automotive technology is a rapidly evolving one where timely innovation are welcomed and embraced. One such innovation that has revolutionized the automotive industry is the Electronic Control Unit (ECU). This component has become an integral part of modern vehicles, driving innovation in unimaginable ways. In simple terms, an ECU is the brain of a car (technically - one of the brains). It controls the various systems and functions that make a vehicle operate smoothly and efficiently. This includes everything from engine management and transmission control to infotainment systems and advanced driver-assistance systems (ADAS). It not only ensures smooth functioning but also enhances vehicle safety and performance. With the advent of autonomous driving and electric vehicles, the role of the ECU has become even more critical – See at least pg. 1)
a memory; and (Each electronic control unit in car has a microcontroller (the ECU's brain), memory modules for storing data, and peripheral interfaces for connecting with other systems – See at least pg. 2)
at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor and the memory are communicably coupled, the at least one processor configured to: (The ECU's microcontroller executes the software that controls the vehicle's subsystems. This software is often written in high-level programming languages like C or C++, sometimes leveraging model-based development. Volatile memory is used to store temporary data (like sensor readings) and non-volatile (EEPROM, NAND Flash etc) permanent data (like calibration parameters) and diagnostic log that has record of faults or errors that occur – See at least pg. 2)
In summary, Takamatsu discloses the use of an ECU. Takamatsu does not explicitly teach that the ECU contains a memory communicably coupled to the processor. However, Embien discloses a comprehensive guide on the automotive electronic control unit and teaches that ECUs contain a processor, memory, and software in order to perform their various vehicle functions and data gathering.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the ECU of Takamatsu to provide for the processor coupled to the memory, as taught in Embien, because ECUs are an integral part of modern vehicles and they operate using processors, memory, and software. (At Embien pg. 1-2)
The combination of Takamatsu and Embien does not explicitly teach execute, by the vehicle, an artificial intelligence (AI) model on the data and the context related to the data to predict a placement location of the data on the selected display device. However, Kruzick discloses intelligent snap assist recommendation model and teaches:
execute, by the vehicle, an artificial intelligence (AI) model on the data spatial relationship information that defines positions of the plurality of display devices within the vehicle, (It should be understood that while the illustrated example of FIG. 1B depicts snapping items in an organized grid within a single display device, the snap assist interface can utilize multiple display devices. For instance, in a multi-display configuration, a first item can be snapped to fill a first region in a first display device and a second item can be snapped to fill a second region in a second display device. In addition, while the illustrated example of FIG. 1B shows a side-by-side format, the arrangement and number of items in an organized layout can be automatically configured by the system or modified by the user to create a custom preferred grid – See at least ¶ [0041]) and the context related to the data to determine a placement location of the data on the selected display device, (Turning now to FIG.2, the machine learning model 202 (e.g., machine learning model 110) that enables the generation of intelligent snap assist recommendations will be explained. To generate snap assist recommendations, the machine learning model 202 receives a plurality of items 204. As discussed above, an item can be a standalone application, a file, a website, a contact, an activity within an application and so forth. In contrast to existing solutions, the items provided to the machine learning model 202 are not limited to items that are open and currently displayed – See at least ¶ [0042]; Furthermore, the machine learning model 202 can receive a set of factor weights 208 that serve to emphasize or deemphasize individual factors. The weights 208 can be predetermined values that serve to favor certain factors over others. For instance, the factor indicating that an item is frequently snapped alongside the first item may be more heavily weighted as compared to the factor relating similar titles or keywords. The factor weights 208 can also be adjusted by the machine learning model 202 using user activity data 210 which defines various activity such as certain habits in application use, different contexts in which the snap assist UI is invoked (e.g., productivity, leisure, entertainment) and so forth – See at least ¶ [0044])
In summary, Takamatsu teaches and ECU for controlling the dynamic data displayed on various displays in the cabin of the a vehicle. Embien teaches that the ECUs in the vehicle may provide functions leveraging model-based development. The combination of Takamatsu Embein does not explicitly teach the use of artificial intelligence on the data and the context related to the data to predict a placement location of the data on the selected display device. However, Kruzick discloses an intelligent snap assist recommendation model and teaches using machine learning to create a dynamic data placement on display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the in-vehicle display apparatus and instrument panel of Takamatsu and Embien to provide for the intelligent snap assist recommendation model, as taught in Kruzick, to streamline the user experience by providing layouts that intuitively present the snap assist recommendations in a visual hierarchy that draws the user's attention to highly ranked items. (At Kruzick ¶ [0034])
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Takamatsu further teaches:
further comprising determining a most urgent data type among a plurality of data types in the data and a greatest priority display device among the plurality of display devices for displaying the most urgent data type. (Moreover, since the display unit is incorporated in the instrument panel on the passenger seat side, information not directly related to driving such as entertainment information is displayed on the display unit, so that it is also possible to display information directly necessary for driving and information not necessary for driving can be displayed in such a manner as to be distinguished from each other – See at least ¶ [0091]; Here, the system is distinguishing between at least two rankings for data to be displayed. The first being data not necessary for driving and the second being data necessary for driving. The data necessary for driving is more urgent than the data not necessary for drive. Further, the system identifies data within these two sets which have different urgencies. For example, danger notifications, location based notifications, and entertainment notifications – See at least ¶ [0085] and [0089])
The combination of Takamatsu and Embien does not explicitly teach, but Kruzick further teaches:
the at least one processor is configured to execute the AI model on a plurality of data types within the data and the context related to the data to determine a most urgent data type among the plurality of data types and a greatest priority display device among the plurality of display devices for displaying the most urgent data type. (In addition, by utilizing a machine learning model and various factor weightings, the snap recommendations described herein can improve over time and lead to a personalized experience for individual users. The disclosed techniques further streamline the user experience by providing layouts that intuitively present the snap assist recommendations in a visual hierarchy that draws the user's attention to highly ranked items – See at least ¶ [0034])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the in-vehicle display apparatus and instrument panel of Takamatsu and Embien to provide for the intelligent snap assist recommendation model, as taught in Kruzick, to streamline the user experience by providing layouts that intuitively present the snap assist recommendations in a visual hierarchy that draws the user's attention to highly ranked items. (At Kruzick ¶ [0034])
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, the combination of Takamatsu and Embien doesn’t explicitly teach, but Kruzick further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to dynamically determine, by the AI model, a pixel size of the data to be displayed based on the data and the context related to the data, and display the data at the placement location with the dynamically determined pixel size. (Subsequently at operation 1008, the system generates a recommendation layout to intuitively present the ranked list of recommended items. The recommendation layout is organized in a visual hierarchy to prominently display items that are ranked highly within the list of recommended items. Prominence within the recommendation layout can include a position in the display environment, a size of the displayed item and so forth. In this way, the user's attention is drawn to items with high confidence scores – See at least ¶ [0088])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the in-vehicle display apparatus and instrument panel of Takamatsu and Embien to provide for the processor coupled to the memory, as taught in Kruzick, to streamline the user experience by providing layouts that intuitively present the snap assist recommendations in a visual hierarchy that draws the user's attention to highly ranked items. (At Kruzick ¶ [0034])
Claim(s) 2, 5, 9, 12, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu in view of Embien and Kruzick, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, and in further view of Huh (US 2022/0402477 A1, “Huh”).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, the combination of Takmatsu, Embien, and Kruzick does not explicitly teach wherein the receiving the data comprises receiving at least one of a current state of charge (SOC) of a battery of the vehicle, global positioning system (GPS) coordinates of the vehicle, and sensor data captured by sensors on the vehicle, and the receiving the context related to the data comprises receiving a geographic location of at least one charging station nearest the vehicle, display preferences of an occupant of the vehicle, and available display devices within the vehicle. However, Huh discloses driving control method of hybrid vehicle, and vehicle system performing the same and teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive at least one of a current state of charge (SOC) of a battery of the vehicle, (The battery system 40 may include a battery 41 that provides electrical energy to the drive motor 50 of the vehicle, and a battery controller (e.g., a battery management system (BMS) 42 for managing the battery 41. The battery controller 42 may control charging and discharging of the battery 41, cell balancing, etc. The battery controller 42 may determine information on a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery 41 based on the battery state information (a voltage, a current, a temperature, etc. – See at least ¶ [0053]) detected from the battery 41 – See at least ¶ [0053]) global positioning system (GPS) coordinates of the vehicle, (The navigation device 20 may detect current position information of the vehicle through a global positioning system (GPS) detector or the like. The navigation device 20 may search for a movement path from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the destination information input by the vehicle user - See at least ¶ [0049]) and sensor data captured by sensors on the vehicle, (The driving state detection device 10 may include at least one detector to be provided in the vehicle, and it is possible to detect the driving state information of the vehicle through them. For example, the vehicle state detection device 10 may detect the driving speed of the vehicle (hereinafter, referred to as “a vehicle speed”) through the vehicle speed detector – See at least ¶ [0048]) and receive a geographic location of at least one charging station nearest the vehicle, (The navigation device 20 may store a map data used for the path search in an internal memory for the path search…The map data may further include point of interest (POI) information including position information of major restaurants, gas stations, electric vehicle charging stations, and the like – See at least ¶ [0050]) display preferences of an occupant of the vehicle, (The display device 30 may display various information and data processed in the vehicle system 1. For example, the display device 30 may display the path guide information for the movement path searched through the navigation device 20 – See at least ¶ [0054]; Examiner notes that the movement path is based on the user input for their trip, i.e., preferences of an occupant – See at least ¶ [0049]) and available display devices within the vehicle. (As the display device 30, Audio, Video, and Navigation (AVN) of the vehicle, a cluster, an HUD (Head Up Display), etc. may be used – See at least ¶ [0054])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the in-vehicle display apparatus and instrument panel of Takamatsu, Embien, and Kruzick to provide for the driving control method of hybrid vehicles, and vehicle system performing the same, as taught in Huh, to provide a navigation device that may store a map data used for the path search in an internal memory for the path search the map data including points of interest. (At Huh ¶ [0050])
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Takamatsu discloses providing different data within different displays, e.g., alert in one display and navigation in a separate display. These displays include head-up display, a high mount display, and liquid crystal displays in view of both the driver and passenger. The combination of Takamatsu, Embien, and Kruzick does not explicitly teach wherein the data comprises a state of charge of a battery of the vehicle, and the context related to the data comprises a location of a nearest charging station. However, Huh further teaches:
wherein the data comprises a state of charge of a battery of the vehicle, (The driving control method may further include displaying the available SOC through a display device – See at least ¶ [0027]) and the context related to the data comprises a location of a nearest charging station, (The map data may further include point of interest (POI) information including position information of major restaurants, gas stations, electric vehicle charging stations, and the like – See at least ¶ [0050]) the at least one processor is configured to select a heads-up display (HUD) within the vehicle for displaying the state of charge and select an infotainment system for display instructions for travelling to the nearest charging station. (As the display device 30, Audio, Video, and Navigation (AVN) of the vehicle, a cluster, an HUD (Head Up Display), etc. may be used – See at least ¶ [0054])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the in-vehicle display apparatus and instrument panel of Takamatsu, Embien, and Kruzick to provide for the driving control method of hybrid vehicles, and vehicle system performing the same, as taught in Huh, to provide a navigation device that may store a map data used for the path search in an internal memory for the path search the map data including points of interest. (At Huh ¶ [0050])
Claim(s) 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu in view of Embien, Kruzick, and Huh, as applied to claims 5 and 12, and in further view of Lee et a. (US 2023/0400321 A1, “Lee”).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the combination of Takamatsu, Embien, Kruzick, and Huh does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to automatically replace navigation data being displayed on the infotainment system with the instructions for travelling to the nearest charging station in response to at least one of the state of charge of the battery of the vehicle being below a predetermined threshold and a lack of other charging stations available to the vehicle. However, Lee discloses AR display for vehicle and method for operating the same and teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to automatically replace navigation data being displayed on the infotainment system with the instructions for travelling to the nearest charging station in response to at least one of the state of charge of the battery of the vehicle being below a predetermined threshold and a lack of other charging stations available to the vehicle. (When the vehicle needs to be recharged according to the low battery condition, that is, when it is impossible to travel up to a charging station on a guidance route by a remaining battery level, the processor 820 sets an adjacent charging station, which is suitable for the vehicle condition, as a new destination Pl. A previously set destination is canceled. Thereafter, while the first AR object 1820 displays the current driving state of the vehicle, the separated second AR object guides the new destination Pl through a plurality of fragments – See at least ¶ [0359])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the in-vehicle display apparatus and instrument panel of Takamatsu, Embien, Kruzick, and Huh to provide for the AR display for vehicle and method for operating the same, as taught in Lee, to not only displays a guide for the predicted context but also provides a corresponding guide for safe driving in the predicted context. (At Lee ¶ [0017])
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu in view of Embien, and Kruzick, as applied to claims 1 and 8, and in further view of Lee.
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, the combination of Takamatsu, Embien, and Kruzick does not explicitly teach, but Lee further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to detect the vehicle modifying the route to an alternate route after displaying the data, and in response, dynamically select a different display device within the vehicle and display additional data related to the alternate route on the different display device. (At this time, the reason for changing to the new destination Pl, namely, the low battery condition, and warning notification information may be output together through the separated second AR object. When the location of the vehicle (or the location of the first AR object) approaches the new destination Pl within a predetermined distance, the separated second AR object moves to the location of the new destination Pl. The moved second AR object 1810a is displayed along with additional information 1810b (e.g., 'Charge here!') suggesting battery charging – See at least ¶ [0360]-[0361])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the in-vehicle display apparatus and instrument panel of Takamatsu, Embien, and Kruzick to provide for the AR display for vehicle and method for operating the same, as taught in Lee, to not only displays a guide for the predicted context but also provides a corresponding guide for safe driving in the predicted context. (At Lee ¶ [0017])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662