DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 01/09/2026 has been entered. Claim 1, 11, and 21 have been amended. Claims 1-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not particularly describe the limitation “Wherein the age data increases as the power voltage supplied to the pixel increases”.
Claims 1, 11, and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. There is no specific description on the claim limitation, “Wherein the age data increases as the power voltage supplied to the pixel increases”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pyun et al (US Pub. 20220319439).
Regarding claim 1, Pyun discloses:
A display device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 22. Describes a display device 100) comprising:
A pixel emitting light based on input image data, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraph 37. Describes the timing controller 140 may calculate an age AGE of the pixel PXL (or the light emitting element in the pixel PXL) based on the image data DATA2 (or input image data DATA1), and may compensate for the image data DATA2 based on the age AGE of the PXL);
An age data calculator configured to generate age data of a light emitting element included in the pixel in consideration of a power voltage supplied to the pixel, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraphs 93, 40. Describes the age calculating block 141 may then calculate the age AGE of the pixel PXL based on the accumulated grayscale value. Also, the age calculating block 141 may update the accumulated grayscale value by reflecting conditions that affect driving amount (e.g., amount of light emitted or deterioration) of the pixel PXL. Examples of conditions that affect driving amount include a current limiting weight (e.g., a ratio of limiting the current flowing through the display unit 110 to reduce power consumption of the display device 100, or a ratio of scaling the grayscale value corresponding thereto) Para. 40, describes: For example, the total current I_VDD may be measured through a current sensor at an output terminal of the power supply 150 from which the first power voltage VDD is output. The sensing control signal CS_S may indicate whether to sense the characteristic of the light emitting element in the pixel PXL and whether to sense the threshold voltage of the driving transistor in the pixel PXL); and
A compensator configured to output age compensation data by determining a grayscale compensation value corresponding to an input grayscale of the input image data based on the age data and applying the grayscale compensation value to the input image data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraphs 38, 100. Describes the timing controller 140 may calculate a second compensation grayscale value (or second grayscale compensation value) or a second compensation ratio based on the age AGE of the pixel PXL, and may compensate for the grayscale value corresponding to the pixel PXL based on the second compensation grayscale value or the second compensation ratio. Information on the age AGE of the pixel PXL (for example, age data, accumulated data) may be stored, for example, in the memory 170. Para. 100, describes: before a change in luminance due to deterioration of the pixel PXL is visually recognized by the user, the characteristic of the light emitting element EL may be sensed, and deterioration of a corresponding pixel PXL may be compensated based on the sensed characteristic).
Wherein the age data increases as the power voltage supplied to the pixel increases, (at least refer to fig. 6C, 7 and paragraphs 40-41, 45, 88. Describes for example, the total current I_VDD may be measured through a current sensor at an output terminal of the power supply 150 from which the first power voltage VDD is output. Para. 45, describes: For example, as the age AGE of the pixel PXL increases (e.g., as the pixel PXL deteriorates), the sensing controller 160 may decrease the first reference current value. As the first reference current value decreases, the sensing controller 160 may determine to sense the characteristic of the light emitting element based on a relatively small accumulated current value. Para. 88, describes: Thereafter, when the display device 100 is powered on, the first determination block 162 may initialize the first and second accumulated current values I_ACC1 and I_ACC2, and may update the first and second accumulated current values I_ACC1 and I_ACC2 by accumulating the frame current value I_FRAME)
Regarding claim 2, Pyun discloses:
Wherein the age data calculator comprises: a degradation calculator calculating degradation data based on the age compensation data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraph 93. Describes the age calculating block 141 may periodically scale and accumulate the grayscale value corresponding to the pixel PXL in the image data DATA2 (input image data DATA1 or frame data) to generate or update the accumulated grayscale value (e.g., accumulated data, stress data, or deteriorated data));
An adjustor adjusting the degradation data based on the power voltage and calculating adjusted degradation data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraph 93. Describes the age calculating block 141 may periodically scale and accumulate the grayscale value corresponding to the pixel PXL in the image data DATA2 (input image data DATA1 or frame data) to generate or update the accumulated grayscale value (e.g., accumulated data, stress data, or deteriorated data). Examples of conditions that affect driving amount include a current limiting weight (e.g., a ratio of limiting the current flowing through the display unit 110 to reduce power consumption of the display device 100, or a ratio of scaling the grayscale value corresponding thereto)); and
An accumulator generating the age data by accumulating the adjusted degradation data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraph 93. Describes the age calculating block 141 may then calculate the age AGE of the pixel PXL based on the accumulated grayscale value. Also, the age calculating block 141 may update the accumulated grayscale value by reflecting conditions that affect driving amount (e.g., amount of light emitted or deterioration) of the pixel PXL).
Regarding claim 9, Pyun discloses:
A grayscale scaler configured to generate a scaled grayscale in which the input grayscale is scaled based on a scaling ratio corresponding to the age data in order to prevent the grayscale compensation value from being saturated due to accumulation of the degradation data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraph 93. Describes the age calculating block 141 may then calculate the age AGE of the pixel PXL based on the accumulated grayscale value. Also, the age calculating block 141 may update the accumulated grayscale value by reflecting conditions that affect driving amount (e.g., amount of light emitted or deterioration) of the pixel PXL. Examples of conditions that affect driving amount include a ratio of scaling the grayscale value corresponding thereto, to the grayscale value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyun et al (US Pub. 20220319439) in view of Lee et al (US Pub. 20200111455).
Regarding claim 11, Pyun discloses:
A display device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 22. Describes a display device 100) comprising:
A display panel including a plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraph 94. Describes the age calculating block 141 may divide the display unit 110 into blocks BLK, each including a plurality of pixels PXL);
A scan driver configured to provide a plurality of scan signals to the display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 29-30. Describes the scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal (or scan signals) based on a scan control signal SCS and may sequentially provide the scan signal to the scan lines SL1 to SLn. Para. 30, describes: The scan driver 120 may be formed together with the pixel PXL on the display unit 110);
A data driver configured to provide a plurality of data signals corresponding to the age compensation data to the display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 31. Describes the data driver 130 may generate data signals (or data voltages) based on image data DATA2 and a data control signal DCS from the timing controller 140 and may provide the data signals to the display unit 110 (or pixel PXL) through the data lines DL1 to DLm. Para. 37, describes: the timing controller 140 may calculate an age AGE of the pixel PXL (or the light emitting element in the pixel PXL) based on the image data DATA2 (or input image data DATA1), and may compensate for the image data DATA2 based on the age AGE of the PXL);
A power voltage generator configured to generate a power voltage supplied to the pixel, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 39. Describes the power supply 150 may supply the first power voltage VDD and the second power voltage VSS to the display unit 110); and
A timing controller configured to control driving of the scan driver, the data driver, and the power voltage generator, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 39. Describes the power supply 150 may provide at least one power voltage for driving to at least one of the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, or the timing controller 140)
An age data calculator configured to generate the age data according to the power voltage supplied to the plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraphs 93, 40. Describes the age calculating block 141 may then calculate the age AGE of the pixel PXL based on the accumulated grayscale value. Also, the age calculating block 141 may update the accumulated grayscale value by reflecting conditions that affect driving amount (e.g., amount of light emitted or deterioration) of the pixel PXL. Para. 40, describes: For example, the total current I_VDD may be measured through a current sensor at an output terminal of the power supply 150 from which the first power voltage VDD is output. The sensing control signal CS_S may indicate whether to sense the characteristic of the light emitting element in the pixel PXL and whether to sense the threshold voltage of the driving transistor in the pixel PXL);
Wherein the age data increases as the power voltage supplied to the pixel increases, (at least refer to fig. 6C, 7 and paragraphs 40-41, 45, 88. Describes for example, the total current I_VDD may be measured through a current sensor at an output terminal of the power supply 150 from which the first power voltage VDD is output. Para. 45, describes: For example, as the age AGE of the pixel PXL increases (e.g., as the pixel PXL deteriorates), the sensing controller 160 may decrease the first reference current value. As the first reference current value decreases, the sensing controller 160 may determine to sense the characteristic of the light emitting element based on a relatively small accumulated current value. Para. 88, describes: Thereafter, when the display device 100 is powered on, the first determination block 162 may initialize the first and second accumulated current values I_ACC1 and I_ACC2, and may update the first and second accumulated current values I_ACC1 and I_ACC2 by accumulating the frame current value I_FRAME)
Pyun does not disclose:
An image sticking compensator configured to output age compensation data based on age data and an input grayscale of input image data;
Wherein the image sticking compensator comprises:
A compensator configured to output the age compensation data by determining a grayscale compensation value corresponding to the input grayscale of the input image data based on the age data and applying the grayscale compensation value to the input image data.
Lee teaches:
An image sticking compensator configured to output age compensation data based on age data and an input grayscale of input image data, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 49. Describes the image sticking compensator 200 may output the age compensation data ACDATA based on degradation information and an input grayscale of the input image data IDATA1);
Wherein the image sticking compensator, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 49. Describes an image sticking compensator 200) comprises:
An age data calculator configured to generate the age data, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 59, 62. Describes the degradation calculator 220 may provide degradation data STDATA of a current frame to which the degradation weight value is applied, to the accumulator. Para. 62, describes: the accumulator 230 may generate the age data A_DATA by accumulating the degradation data SITDATA and a grayscale of the age compensation data ACDATA together. The accumulator 230 may continuously accumulate age data A_DATA on which age compensation is performed); and
A compensator configured to output the age compensation data by determining a grayscale compensation value corresponding to the input grayscale of the input image data based on the age data and applying the grayscale compensation value to the input image data, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraph 63. Describes the compensator 240 may determine a grayscale compensation value that corresponds to age data A_DATA and an input grayscale IGRAY. The compensator 240 may output age compensation data ACDATA by applying the grayscale compensation value to the input gray IGRAY or scaled grayscale IGRAY2).
The two references are analogous art because they are related with the same field of invention of a display device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate image sticking compensator as taught by Lee with the display device as disclose by Pyun. The motivation to combine the reference of Lee is to prevent degradation of pixels and minimize image distortion due to pixel shift.
Regarding claim 21, Pyun discloses:
An electronic device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 22. Describes a display device 100) comprising:
A display panel including a plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 94. Describes the age calculating block 141 may divide the display unit 110 into blocks BLK, each including a plurality of pixels PXL);
A scan driver configured to provide a plurality of scan signals to the display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 29-30. Describes the scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal (or scan signals) based on a scan control signal SCS and may sequentially provide the scan signal to the scan lines SL1 to SLn. Para. 30, describes: The scan driver 120 may be formed together with the pixel PXL on the display unit 110);
A data driver configured to provide a plurality of data signals corresponding to the age compensation data to the display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 31. Describes the data driver 130 may generate data signals (or data voltages) based on image data DATA2 and a data control signal DCS from the timing controller 140 and may provide the data signals to the display unit 110 (or pixel PXL) through the data lines DL1 to DLm. Para. 37, describes: the timing controller 140 may calculate an age AGE of the pixel PXL (or the light emitting element in the pixel PXL) based on the image data DATA2 (or input image data DATA1), and may compensate for the image data DATA2 based on the age AGE of the PXL);
A power module configured to generate a power voltage supplied to the pixel, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 39. Describes the power supply 150 may supply the first power voltage VDD and the second power voltage VSS to the display unit 110); and
A controller configured to control driving of the scan driver, the data driver, and the power module, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 39. Describes the power supply 150 may provide at least one power voltage for driving to at least one of the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, or the timing controller 140)
An age data calculator configured to generate the age data according to the power voltage supplied to the plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraphs 93, 40. Describes the age calculating block 141 may then calculate the age AGE of the pixel PXL based on the accumulated grayscale value. Also, the age calculating block 141 may update the accumulated grayscale value by reflecting conditions that affect driving amount (e.g., amount of light emitted or deterioration) of the pixel PXL. Para. 40, describes: For example, the total current I_VDD may be measured through a current sensor at an output terminal of the power supply 150 from which the first power voltage VDD is output. The sensing control signal CS_S may indicate whether to sense the characteristic of the light emitting element in the pixel PXL and whether to sense the threshold voltage of the driving transistor in the pixel PXL);
Wherein the age data increases as the power voltage supplied to the pixel increases, (at least refer to fig. 6C, 7 and paragraphs 40-41, 45, 88. Describes for example, the total current I_VDD may be measured through a current sensor at an output terminal of the power supply 150 from which the first power voltage VDD is output. Para. 45, describes: For example, as the age AGE of the pixel PXL increases (e.g., as the pixel PXL deteriorates), the sensing controller 160 may decrease the first reference current value. As the first reference current value decreases, the sensing controller 160 may determine to sense the characteristic of the light emitting element based on a relatively small accumulated current value. Para. 88, describes: Thereafter, when the display device 100 is powered on, the first determination block 162 may initialize the first and second accumulated current values I_ACC1 and I_ACC2, and may update the first and second accumulated current values I_ACC1 and I_ACC2 by accumulating the frame current value I_FRAME)
Pyun does not disclose:
A data conversion circuit configured to output age compensation data based on age data and an input grayscale of input image data;
Wherein the data conversion circuit comprises:
A compensator configured to output the age compensation data by determining a grayscale compensation value corresponding to the input grayscale of the input image data, based on the age data and applying the grayscale compensation value to the input image data.
Lee teaches:
A data conversion circuit configured to output age compensation data based on age data and an input grayscale of input image data, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 49. Describes the image sticking compensator 200 may output the age compensation data ACDATA based on degradation information and an input grayscale of the input image data IDATA1);
Wherein the data conversion circuit, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 49. Describes an image sticking compensator 200) comprises:
An age data calculator configured to generate the age data, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraphs 59, 62. Describes the degradation calculator 220 may provide degradation data STDATA of a current frame to which the degradation weight value is applied, to the accumulator. Para. 62, describes: the accumulator 230 may generate the age data A_DATA by accumulating the degradation data SITDATA and a grayscale of the age compensation data ACDATA together. The accumulator 230 may continuously accumulate age data A_DATA on which age compensation is performed); and
A compensator configured to output the age compensation data by determining a grayscale compensation value corresponding to the input grayscale of the input image data, based on the age data and applying the grayscale compensation value to the input image data, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraph 63. Describes the compensator 240 may determine a grayscale compensation value that corresponds to age data A_DATA and an input grayscale IGRAY. The compensator 240 may output age compensation data ACDATA by applying the grayscale compensation value to the input gray IGRAY or scaled grayscale IGRAY2).
Regarding the rejection of claim 21, refer to the motivation of claim 11.
Regarding claim 10, Pyun does not disclose:
Wherein the compensator comprises: a memory including a plurality of lookup tables in which a plurality of preset age values corresponding to the age data and compensation values respectively corresponding to display grayscales that may be implemented by a display panel are set; a compensation value determiner determining the grayscale compensation value corresponding to the age data and the scaled grayscale using the plurality of lookup tables; and a compensation data output unit outputting the age compensation data by applying the grayscale compensation value to the scaled grayscale data.
Lee teaches:
Wherein the compensator comprises: a memory including a plurality of lookup tables in which a plurality of preset age values corresponding to the age data and compensation values respectively corresponding to display grayscales that may be implemented by a display panel are set, (at least refer to fig. 8-10 and paragraph 93. Describes the memory 242 may include a plurality of lookup tables having a plurality of pre-determined age values corresponding to the age data and compensation values that correspond to display grayscales which may be realized by the display panel 100. A single lookup table may include respective age values and compensation values that simultaneously correspond to the respective grayscales);
A compensation value determiner determining the grayscale compensation value corresponding to the age data and the scaled grayscale using the plurality of lookup tables, (at least refer to fig. 8-10 and paragraph 94. Describes the compensation value determiner 244 may determine grayscale compensation data GCOMP that corresponds to the age data A_DATA and the scaled grayscale IGRAY2 from the lookup tables); and
A compensation data output unit outputting the age compensation data by applying the grayscale compensation value to the scaled grayscale data, (at least refer to fig. 8-10 and paragraph 95. Describes the compensation data output component 246 may output age compensation data ACDATA by applying the grayscale compensation data GCOMP and the scaled grayscale IGRAY2).
Regarding the rejection of claim 10, refer to the motivation of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Pyun discloses:
Wherein the timing controller generates a voltage control signal that controls the power voltage generator to change the power voltage, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraph 64. Describes The first power voltage generating block 151 may be included in the power supply 150 (e.g., described with reference to FIG. 2) to generate the first power voltage VDD. For example, the first power voltage generating block 151 may generate the first power voltage VDD suitable for driving the display unit 110 based on an external power. For example, the first power voltage VDD may change over time. The first power voltage VDD may be provided to the display unit 110. The first power voltage generating block 151 may be implemented as a power converter such as a boost converter.) and
Wherein the age data calculator comprises: a degradation calculator calculating degradation data based on the age compensation data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraph 93. Describes the age calculating block 141 may periodically scale and accumulate the grayscale value corresponding to the pixel PXL in the image data DATA2 (input image data DATA1 or frame data) to generate or update the accumulated grayscale value (e.g., accumulated data, stress data, or deteriorated data));
An adjustor adjusting the degradation data in response to the voltage control signal and calculating adjusted degradation data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraph 93. Describes the age calculating block 141 may periodically scale and accumulate the grayscale value corresponding to the pixel PXL in the image data DATA2 (input image data DATA1 or frame data) to generate or update the accumulated grayscale value (e.g., accumulated data, stress data, or deteriorated data). Examples of conditions that affect driving amount include a current limiting weight (e.g., a ratio of limiting the current flowing through the display unit 110 to reduce power consumption of the display device 100, or a ratio of scaling the grayscale value corresponding thereto)); and
An accumulator generating the age data by accumulating the adjusted degradation data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraph 93. Describes the age calculating block 141 may then calculate the age AGE of the pixel PXL based on the accumulated grayscale value. Also, the age calculating block 141 may update the accumulated grayscale value by reflecting conditions that affect driving amount (e.g., amount of light emitted or deterioration) of the pixel PXL).
Regarding claim 19, Pyun discloses:
A grayscale scaler configured to generate a grayscale in which the input grayscale is scaled based on a scaling ratio corresponding to the age data in order to prevent the grayscale compensation value from being saturated due to accumulation of the degradation data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 7 and paragraph 93. Describes the age calculating block 141 may then calculate the age AGE of the pixel PXL based on the accumulated grayscale value. Also, the age calculating block 141 may update the accumulated grayscale value by reflecting conditions that affect driving amount (e.g., amount of light emitted or deterioration) of the pixel PXL. Examples of conditions that affect driving amount include a ratio of scaling the grayscale value corresponding thereto, to the grayscale value).
Regarding claim 20, Pyun does not disclose:
Wherein the compensator comprises: a memory including a plurality of lookup tables in which a plurality of preset age values corresponding to the age data and compensation values respectively corresponding to display grayscales that may be implemented by a display panel are set; a compensation value determiner determining the grayscale compensation value corresponding to the age data and the scaled grayscale using the plurality of lookup tables; and a compensation data output unit outputting the age compensation data by applying the grayscale compensation value to the scaled grayscale data.
Lee teaches:
Wherein the compensator comprises: a memory including a plurality of lookup tables in which a plurality of preset age values corresponding to the age data and compensation values respectively corresponding to display grayscales that may be implemented by a display panel are set, (at least refer to fig. 8-10 and paragraph 93. Describes the memory 242 may include a plurality of lookup tables having a plurality of pre-determined age values corresponding to the age data and compensation values that correspond to display grayscales which may be realized by the display panel 100. A single lookup table may include respective age values and compensation values that simultaneously correspond to the respective grayscales);
A compensation value determiner determining the grayscale compensation value corresponding to the age data and the scaled grayscale using the plurality of lookup tables, (at least refer to fig. 8-10 and paragraph 94. Describes the compensation value determiner 244 may determine grayscale compensation data GCOMP that corresponds to the age data A_DATA and the scaled grayscale IGRAY2 from the lookup tables); and
A compensation data output unit outputting the age compensation data by applying the grayscale compensation value to the scaled grayscale data, (at least refer to fig. 8-10 and paragraph 95. Describes the compensation data output component 246 may output age compensation data ACDATA by applying the grayscale compensation data GCOMP and the scaled grayscale IGRAY2).
Regarding the rejection of claim 20, refer to the motivation of claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IFEDAYO B ILUYOMADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 02/23/2026