DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “displaying the color grading dataset under selecting among the plurality of color grading dataset” appears to include a grammatical error which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear and confusing what the limitation refers to.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “the image data processed on image processing to apply the determined color grading dataset” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “the predetermined shooting mode is to apply the color grading dataset in the selection screen for the color grading dataset and the second live view screen” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear and confusing whether the color grading dataset is applied to the second live view screen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (US 2025/0080862).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao discloses:
an image sensor that captures a subject image to generate image data (see para [110]-[111] and fig 3(a), a camera that captures images);
a memory that stores a plurality of color grading datasets each defining a correspondence before and after color information in an image is converted (see para [102], [108], and [119], a memory that stores a plurality of LUTs each defining a correspondence between RGB values before and after adjustment);
a display that displays a first live view screen based on the image data (see para [110] and fig 3(a), a display that displays a preview image 303 captured by the camera; and see para [161], the preview image 303 is real time image);
a user interface including a first operation member (see para [110]-[111] and fig 3(a), a user interface including option 302); and
a controller that controls the display according to a user operation on the user interface, wherein the controller causes the display to transition from the first live view screen to a selection screen for a color grading dataset, in response to a first operation input to the first operation member with the display showing the first live view screen (see para [111], [119], and fig 3(a)-3(b), a processor that controls the display according to a user tap on the user interface, wherein the processor causes the display to transition from the preview image 303 to a selection screen 304 for selecting an LUT, in response to the user tap on the option 302 while the display is showing the preview image 303),
the selection screen for the color grading dataset displaying the color grading dataset under selecting among the plurality of color grading datasets according to a user selection on the user interface (see fig 3(b), the selection screen 304 displaying the plurality LUTs to be selected according to a user tap).
Regarding claim 2, Xiao further discloses: wherein the controller causes the display to transition from the selection screen for the color grading dataset to a second live view screen, in response to an instruction input to the user interface, for determining the color grading dataset under selecting, with the display showing the selection screen for the color grading dataset, the second live view screen displaying a live view image corresponding to the image data processed on image processing to apply the determined color grading dataset (see para [113] and fig 3(b)-3(c), the processor controls the display to transition from the selection screen 304 to a second preview image 306, in response to a second user tap on the user interface selecting a particular LUT while the display is showing the selection screen 304, the second preview image 306 displaying the second preview image 306 with the selected particular LUT applied; and see para [161], the second preview image is a real time image).
Regarding claim 3, Xiao further discloses: wherein the controller causes the display to transition from the second live view screen to the selection screen for the color grading dataset, in response to the first operation input to the first operation member with the display showing the second live view screen (see fig 3(c), the processor controls the display to transition from the second preview image 306 to the selection screen 304, in response to the user tap on the option 302 while the display is showing the second preview image 306).
Regarding claim 4, Xiao further discloses:
wherein the controller has a plurality of shooting modes including a predetermined shooting mode, the predetermined shooting mode is to apply the color grading dataset in the selection screen for the color grading dataset and the second live view screen (see para [111] and fig 3(b), the plurality of LUTs each refer to one of a plurality of pre-configured shooting modes to be selected and applied), and
the first live view screen displays another live view image provided in a different shooting mode from the predetermined shooting mode in the plurality of shooting modes (see fig 3(b)-3(c), the display transitions to a third preview image of a different pre-configured shooting mode selected from the plurality of pre-configured shooting modes).
Regarding claim 5, Xiao further discloses:
wherein the user interface further includes a second operation member different from the first operation member (see fig 3(b), an option “Original image”), and
the controller causes the display to transition to the selection screen for the color grading dataset to switch to the predetermined shooting mode, in response to the first operation input to the first operation member in the different shooting mode from the predetermined shooting mode in the plurality of shooting modes (see fig 3(b)-3(c), the processor controls the display to transition to the selection screen 304 for selecting one of the pre-configured shooting modes, in response to the user tap on the option 302 while the display is showing the second preview image 306 processed with one of the pre-configured shooting modes), and
causes the display to transition to the first live view screen in a previous shooting mode, in response to the second operation input to the second operation member with the display showing the selection screen for the color grading dataset, the previous shooting mode being set before switching to the predetermined shooting mode (see fig 3(a)-3(b), the processor controls the display to transition to the first preview image 303, in response to a user tap on the option “Original image” shooting mode while the display is showing the selection screen 304).
Regarding claim 6, Xiao does not discloses:
wherein the controller causes the display to transition to one live view screen of the first or second live view screen, in response to a third operation input to the user interface with the display showing the selection screen for the color grading dataset, the one live view screen being shown before transition to the selection screen for the color grading dataset (see fig 3(b)-3(c), the processor causing the display to transition to the second preview image 306 in response to a user tap on the option “## style” while the display is showing the selection screen 304, the second preview image 306 being shown before transition back to the selection screen 304 via the option 302)
the third operation being different from the second operation (see fig 3(b)-3(c), the user tap on the option “## style” is different from the user tap on the option “Original image”).
Regarding claim 8, Xiao further discloses: wherein the selection screen for the color grading dataset includes a live view image corresponding to the image data processed on image processing to apply the color grading dataset under selecting (see fig 3(b), the selection screen includes “Original image” to which LUTs are applied to).
Regarding claim 9, Xiao further discloses: an image processor that performs image processing to apply the color grading dataset to the image data (see rejection of claims 1 and 8, the processor applying the LUTs).
Allowable Subject Matter
The prior art of record does not disclose the subject matter recited in claim 7, however, claim 7 is rejected under112(b) as stated above. Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and further amended to overcome the 112(b) rejection. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, Xiao does not disclose: wherein the controller causes the display to display operational information prompting the second operation, when the display is transitioned from the first live view screen to the selection screen for the color grading dataset, and does not cause the display to display the operational information for the second operation on the display, when the display is transitioned from a predetermined menu screen to the selection screen for the color grading dataset (i.e., Xiao does not disclose varying the selection screen 304 based on previous operational information).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang et al. (US 2023/0217098), Yim (US 2016/0142649), Xi et al. (US 2024/0144451) each discloses a camera interface for applying different image LUTs/filters/effects. Yamasaki et al. (US 12,047,669) and Yamasaki et al. (US 12,739,496) each discloses utilizing adaptable LUTs.
/SJ Park/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675