Detailed Action
This is a first action on the merits (FAOM) in which claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 11 and 16 are independent and claims 2-10, 12-15 and 17-20 are dependent.
Independent claim 1 is directed to a method for NMR measurement of a subsurface formation in a well system. NMR measurement for subsurface formation is a well-known practice. Claim contains other limiting factors and the limiting factor being a combination of a step of determination of amplitude of NMR echo signal being below a threshold or zero and step of measuring ringing noise associated with NMR pulses for cases where the amplitude of the NMR echo signal being below a threshold or being zero.
Thorough and targeted prior art searches are performed by this Examiner on behalf of the Office. Examiner’s search identified a reference, Sun (US-6,121,774), which appears to meet at least one of the instant independent claims for which the application cannot be allowed at this first action on the merits, see claim rejections below.
Claim Rejection under 35 USC §102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (US-6,212,774-A).
Item matchings between the claimed features and features of Sun are detailed in the table below.
Claim No
Claim feature
Prior art
Sun (US-6,121,774)
1
A method for obtaining nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) measurements of a subsurface formation in a well system, comprising:
Sun discloses a method for obtaining nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) measurements of a subsurface formation in a well system, see abstract in Sun.
generating one or more NMR pulses downhole using an NMR tool of the well system;
Sun meets this claim feature as it discloses NMR measurement using a “wire tool” placed in the “borehole”.
determining whether an amplitude of an NMR echo signal is less than or equal to a threshold level or the NMR echo signal is not present; and
Sun meets this claim feature as it discloses determining a section of pulse sequence where NMR signal is absent (i.e., eliminated) but not the ringing noise, see the abstract.
measuring ringing noise associated with the one or more NMR pulses when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level or the NMR echo signal is not present.
Sun meets this claim feature as it discloses determining a section of pulse sequence where NMR signal is absent (i.e., eliminated) but not the ringing noise, see the abstract.
11, 16
As to independent claims 11 and 16, these claims are also met by Sun as each of these claims contains inventive subject matter identical to that of claim 1.
As to well system of claim 11, Sun discloses a well system.
As to non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, Sun is understood to have this features as all NMR measurement involved a computer programmed to carry out steps of NMR measurement and computer programs are stored in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
2
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include an excitation pulse and a plurality of refocusing pulses of an NMR echo train, further comprising: detecting the NMR echo signal of the NMR echo train; determining when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level; and measuring the ringing noise associated with the NMR echo train when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level.
Sun meets claim 2 as it discloses the determination of a section of pulse sequence where NMR signal (spin echo) is eliminated. The claim does define a threshold but not a range of amplitude, therefore, amplitude of zero echo signal is understood to be fall below any arbitrary threshold set in the claim.
4
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include a nullification pulse, an excitation pulse and a plurality of refocusing pulses of an NMR echo train, further comprising: detecting the NMR echo signal of the NMR echo train, the NMR echo train including the nullification pulse; determining when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level; and measuring the ringing noise associated with the NMR echo train when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level.
Sun meets claim 4 as it applies a nullification pulse, i.e., a pulse that eliminates spin echoes1, see col 6 lines 30-51.
7
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include a nullification pulse and a plurality of refocusing pulses, further comprising: determining that the NMR echo signal is not present; and measuring the ringing noise associated with one or more of the plurality of refocusing pulses after the nullification pulse in response to determining the NMR echo signal is not present.
Sun meets claim 7, as it discloses a section of pulse sequence where the NMR signa i.e., spin echo is eliminated by application of a nullification pulse, see col 6, lines 30-51..
8
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include a plurality of refocusing pulses, further comprising: determining that the NMR echo signal is not present; and measuring the ringing noise associated with one or more of the plurality of refocusing pulses in response to determining the NMR echo signal is not present.
Sun meets claim 8, see Fig. 2 that shows application of plurality of refocusing pulses (14, 14’).
9
The method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a plurality of measurements of the ringing noise; and averaging the plurality of measurements to obtain an average ringing noise measurement.
Sun meets claim 9 as it discloses determination of average singing amplitude, see col 5, lines 51-53.
10
The method of claim 1, further comprising: cancelling the ringing noise from the NMR measurements; and determining properties of the subsurface formation from the NMR measurements after cancelling the ringing noise.
Sun meets claim 10 as it eliminates ringing.
12
The well system of claim 11, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include an excitation pulse and a plurality of refocusing pulses of an NMR echo train, further comprising instructions that cause the well system to: detect the NMR echo signal of the NMR echo train; determine when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level; and measure the ringing noise associated with the NMR echo train when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level.
Sun meets claim 12. Inventive subject matter of claim 12 is like that of claim 2, see treatment of claim 2 above for claim 12.
13
The well system of claim 11, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include a nullification pulse, an excitation pulse and a plurality of refocusing pulses of an NMR echo train, further comprising instructions that cause the well system to: detect the NMR echo signal of the NMR echo train, the NMR echo train including the nullification pulse; determine when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level; and measure the ringing noise associated with the NMR echo train when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level.
Sun meets claim 13, see col. 6 lines 30-51.
14
The well system of claim 11, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include a nullification pulse and a plurality of refocusing pulses, further comprising instructions that cause the well system to: determine that the NMR echo signal is not present; and measure the ringing noise associated with one or more of the plurality of refocusing pulses after the nullification pulse in response to determining the NMR echo signal is not present.
Sun meets claim 14. See treatment claim 7 for similar inventive feature.
15
The well system of claim 11, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include a plurality of refocusing pulses, further comprising instructions that cause the well system to: determine that the NMR echo signal is not present; and measure the ringing noise associated with one or more of the plurality of refocusing pulses in response to determining the NMR echo signal is not present.
Sun meets claim 15, see Fig. 2 in Sun.
17
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include an excitation pulse and a plurality of refocusing pulses of an NMR echo train, further comprising: instructions for detecting the NMR echo signal of the NMR echo train; instructions for determining when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level; and instructions for measuring the ringing noise associated with the NMR echo train when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level.
Sun meets claim 17, see treatment of claim 2 above.
18
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include a nullification pulse, an excitation pulse and a plurality of refocusing pulses of an NMR echo train, further comprising: instructions for detecting the NMR echo signal of the NMR echo train, the NMR echo train including the nullification pulse; instructions for determining when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level; and instructions for measuring the ringing noise associated with the NMR echo train when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than or equal to the threshold level.
Sun meets claim 18, see col 6, lin. 30-51.
19
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include a nullification pulse and a plurality of refocusing pulses, further comprising: instructions for determining that the NMR echo signal is not present; and instructions for measuring the ringing noise associated with one or more of the plurality of refocusing pulses after the nullification pulse in response to determining the NMR echo signal is not present.
Sun meets claim 19, see Fig. 2 in Sun.
20
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more NMR pulses include a plurality of refocusing pulses, further comprising: instructions for determining that the NMR echo signal is not present; and instructions for measuring the ringing noise associated with one or more of the plurality of refocusing pulses in response to determining the NMR echo signal is not present.
Sun meets claim 20, see Fig. 2 and see also see col 6 and lines 30-51.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, and 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 3, the claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests the method of claim 2, wherein: the threshold level is a noise level; the threshold level is a signal level when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than an amplitude of the ringing noise; or the threshold level is a signal level representing the NMR echo signal decaying towards a zero amplitude according to a decay curve.
As to claim 5, the claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests the method of claim 4, wherein: the threshold level is a noise level; the threshold level is a signal level when the amplitude of the NMR echo signal is less than an amplitude of the ringing noise; or the threshold level is a signal level representing the NMR echo signal decaying towards a zero amplitude according to a decay curve.
As to claim 6, the claim depends from claim 5, the claim would be allowable if claim 5 is written in independent form.
Contact Information
G.M. HYDER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/G.M. A HYDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
1 Nuclear magnetic resonance measurements respond well to the Missing 180.degree. Pulse spoiling method where the sample has a relatively fast longitudinal relaxation time (T.sub.1). For samples having a slower T.sub.1, stimulated echoes are produced due to the inhomogeneities in the RF magnetic field. The stimulated echoes are eliminated using various spoiling techniques. During the single CPMG sequence, the stimulated echoes are eliminated by repeatedly applying a short pulse of .theta. degrees followed by a short time delay, t.sub.delay. Repeating this sequence randomizes the spins and spoils the stimulated echoes as well as spin-echoes.
(18)
Alternatively, the stimulated echoes are eliminated using a phase alternating 180.degree. pulse sequence. During the single CPMG sequence, the stimulated echoes are eliminated by applying a 180.degree. pulse in the (+y) direction followed by a time delay, t.sub.delay, then application of a 180.degree. pulse in the (-y) direction. Repeating this sequence randomizes the spins and spoils the stimulated echoes as well as spin-echoes. The RingKiller Approach is not limited to the aforementioned spoiling techniques. Other approaches that eliminate the spin-echoes but not the undesired effects are contemplated by this invention.