DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on November 29, 2024 and March 2, 2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sumitomo (H07-75234; cited in the IDS)
Regarding claim 1, Sumitomo discloses a protector (see figure 3) attached to an electric wire bundle to protect the electric wire bundle, the protector (see figure 3) comprising: a main body (1) in which side walls (3a;3b; see figure 3) are erected on both side edges of a bottom wall (4) and a housing portion for housing the electric wire bundle is formed (see figure 3); a cover (2) pivotally connected to an edge of any one of the side walls (3a) constituting the main body (1) and configured to be disposed in an open state in which the housing portion is opened or a closed state in which the housing portion is closed (see figure 3); and a hinge (5a) configured to pivotally connect the cover (2) to the side walls (3), wherein the cover (2) is pivotally connected to the main body (1) by the hinge (5a) about a pivot axis inclined with respect to an extending direction of the main body in a plan view (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Sumitomo discloses the protector (see figure 3), wherein the main body (1) includes an attachment portion (12) to be attached to an attached portion of a vehicle on a side opposite to a side where the cover (2) is connected by the hinge (5a).
Regarding claim 4, Sumitomo discloses a wire harness comprising: the protector (1); and an electric wire bundle to which the protector is attached (see figure 3).
4. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yazaki (JP 2023-084746; cited in the IDS)
Regarding claim 1, Yazaki discloses a protector (1; see figure 3) attached to an electric wire bundle to protect the electric wire bundle, the protector (see figure 3) comprising: a main body (10) in which side walls (12,13) are erected on both side edges of a bottom wall (11) and a housing portion (15) for housing the electric wire bundle is formed (see figure 1); a cover (20) pivotally connected to an edge of any one of the side walls (12) constituting the main body (10) and configured to be disposed in an open state in which the housing portion (15) is opened or a closed state in which the housing portion is closed (see figure 1); and a hinge (30) configured to pivotally connect the cover (20) to the side walls (12), wherein the cover (20) is pivotally connected to the main body (10) by the hinge (30) about a pivot axis inclined with respect to an extending direction of the main body in a plan view (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Yazaki discloses the protector (1; see figure 3), wherein the hinge (30) includes a pair of support plates (30a) extending in a direction orthogonal to the side walls (12,13) of the main body (10) in the open state of the cover (20), and a pivot portion provided between the support plates (30a; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Yazaki discloses the protector (1; see figure 3), wherein the main body (10) includes an attachment portion (part of 10; connector) to be attached to an attached portion of a vehicle on a side opposite to a side where the cover (20) is connected by the hinge (30).
Regarding claim 4, Yazaki discloses a wire harness (see figure 3) comprising: the protector (1); and an electric wire bundle to which the protector is attached (see figure 3; paragraph 0012).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Agusa (US 8,575,487), Yamao et al (US 10,293,764), Ono et al (US 4,891,471), Takahashi et al (US 6,878,879), Arai et al (US 7,038,133) and Suzuki (US 7,964,796 and US 8,188,368) disclose a protector.
August 5, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841