DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/29/2024 and 02/13/2026 have been made record of and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "114" (see FIG. 15) and "113" (see [0105], [0185]) have both been used to designate the protrusion bottom of the adapter piece. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
For the sake of completeness, the Examiner notes that #201, 203, and 205 of FIG. 1 are not included in the list of reference numerals, see [0101]-[0109].
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the protrusion,” although there is no previous recitation of a protrusion in claims 5, 4, or 1. The examiner respectfully recommends aligning the language of claim 6 with the “a protrusion” language of claim 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image recognition unit” and “liquid leakage detection unit” in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the same site." There is no previous recitation of a “same site.” It is unclear to the examiner if “the same site” refers to positions of the adapter piece and the top cover. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13 is similarly rejected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 17 is directed towards a “computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program.” Computer programs, per se, are not, in and of themselves, methods or machines, nor are they physical products of manufacture or compositions of matter. Therefore, such programs do not fall into any of the categories of eligible subject matter defined in 35 US C 101 are not, by themselves, eligible for patent protection. Such programs can be eligible for patent protection if claims as embodied on or in a computer-readable storage device or medium, but only if the claim clearly and unambiguously excludes transitory, propagating signals from the full scope of the claimed subject matter, as such signals are not eligible under 35 USC 101. It is suggested that amending the claim language to define the computer program embodied on a "non-transitory computer-readable storage medium" would satisfy these requirements and would limit the claimed invention to eligible subject matter.
Claims 1-3 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental processes (concepts performed in a human mind, including as observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion, and/or mathematical concepts and calculations).
Independent claims 1 and 18 recite acquiring an image of an object, in this case a battery; recognizing the adapter piece and the top cover; and determining whether there is liquid leakage in the battery. This is collecting information, analyzing the information, and making an evaluation based on the information. In other words, a person can look at images, write down components and relationships, and visually evaluate whether a leakage has occurred. Further, the claims disclose that the process is performed by a "image acquisition unit,” “image recognition unit,” and “liquid leakage detection unit,” but they do not recite in a technical way how liquid leakage detection is improved. The recited “computer program” merely applies the abstract idea using generic computer technology. The claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely use generic computer components to evaluate whether a leak has occurred. Therefore claims 1-3 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN110793722B), in further view of Tang (CN109860742A), and in further view of Li (CN111426685A).
Consider claims 1 and 18, Xu discloses a liquid leakage detection method/apparatus (¶11; “A non-contact leakage detection method for lead-acid batteries based on machine learning”), comprising:
acquiring a target image of a battery (¶13; “Step 2) Control the infrared camera to acquire multiple images through the image processor. The images include areas of the lead-acid battery that are prone to leakage, such as the positive terminal, safety valve, and negative terminal.”; ¶34);
recognizing the target image to obtain (¶29; “2) The image processor 3 controls the infrared camera 4 to acquire multiple images, including areas of the lead-acid battery 2 such as the positive terminal 7, safety valve 8, and negative terminal 9 that are prone to leakage.”; ¶34; FOV is the outer surface of the wiring terminal); and
determining whether there is liquid leakage in the battery according to (¶15; “Step 4) Identify the leakage area in the image from Step 3).”; ¶16; “Step 5) Mark the leakage area in Step 4). Based on the leakage state calculated in Step 4), find the infrared image with leakage.”).
Xu fails to explicitly disclose recognizing the target image to obtain an adapter piece image and a top cover image.
In related art, Tang also discloses recognizing the target image to obtain (Tang ¶23; “12) In the processing results of steps 10) and 11) above, the black pixel value and the white pixel value represent the battery casing and the positive and negative electrode casing, respectively”; ¶38; “First, the characteristic objects of the outer surface of the battery casing and the positive and negative electrode covers in the image are identified based on color features. Second, the characteristic regions of the outer surface of the battery casing and the positive and negative electrode covers in the image are segmented. Third, the positions of the outer surface of the battery casing and the positive and negative electrode covers in the image are identified using a combination of RGB color features and grayscale features.”);
determining whether there is liquid leakage in the battery according to (Tang ¶24; “13) Based on the image generated in the previous step, if the number of white pixels in each region exceeds 2/50 of the total number of pixels in the region, it indicates that there is a battery electrolyte leak.”; ¶38; “Thus, based on the RGB color feature values and grayscale feature values of the outer surface of the battery casing and the positive and negative electrode covers, it is determined whether there is electrolyte leakage on the outer surface of the substation communication power supply battery casing and the positive and negative electrode covers”).
Xu states, “detecting battery leakage is a very necessary safety precaution (Xu ¶3).” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the leakage detection method of Tang into the leakage detection method of Xu to predictably detect battery leakage.
In related art, Li discloses recognizing the target image to obtain an adapter piece image and a top cover image (Li ¶34-38; “S300: Determine the effective area obtained in S200. If the weld area is within the set range, proceed to the next scanning step; otherwise, determine it as unqualified and use a robotic arm to grab the battery and place it in designated area 1… S400, based on S300, the robotic arm flips the battery 4 so that one side of the cover plate faces the micro-CT unit 3. The micro-CT unit 3 scans the image to determine whether the adapter plate and the battery cover plate are in good actual contact and to determine the effective welding strength.; ¶40; “The micro-CT scanning unit 3 uses a non-destructive 3D imaging technology to clearly understand the internal welding of the battery without damaging it.”); and
determining whether (Li ¶34-38; “S500: The effective welding strength is judged. If the welding strength is within the set range, it is qualified; otherwise, it is unqualified, and the battery is picked up by the robot and placed in designated area two.”; ¶44-49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the adapter plate recognition of Li into the battery surface leakage detection method of Xu, as modified by Tang, to predictably determine whether there is leakage in the battery according to the adapter piece and the top cover (Xu ¶3, 13-16; Tang ¶23-24; Li ¶34-38, 44-49). Li states, “higher requirements have been placed on lithium-ion batteries, demanding that the batteries have stable structures, good consistency, and be safe and reliable (Li ¶5).” Further Li states, “the welding area is more important than the appearance when welding adapter pieces. Therefore, it is more reliable to change the evaluation criterion from the area of the burst point to the effective area of the weld. However, the actual effective area of the weld cannot be determined from the CCD image… a micro-CT scanning unit is added to the traditional laser welding inspection device to use CT to detect whether the battery cover and the adapter plate are in good contact. The larger the actual contact area of the weld, the greater the current carrying capacity and the better the welding effect (Li ¶5, 48).”
Consider claim 2, Xu, as modified by Tang and Li, discloses the claimed invention wherein recognizing the target image to obtain the adapter piece image and the top cover image comprises:
performing grayscale processing on the target image to obtain a grayscale image (Xu ¶20, 32, 37; Tang ¶38, 57; Li ¶20); and
obtaining the adapter piece image and the top cover image according to a grayscale difference between an adapter piece and a top cover in the grayscale image (Xu ¶20, 32, 37; Tang ¶38, 57-74; Li ¶20-21; 44-49).
Consider claim 16, Xu, as modified by Tang and Li, discloses a liquid leakage detection device, comprising:
a memory storing a computer program (Xu ¶8; Tang ¶75); and
a processor configured to execute the computer program (Xu ¶8; Tang ¶75) to implement the claimed liquid leakage detection method of claim 1.
Consider claim 17, Xu, as modified by Tang and Li, discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement (Xu ¶8; Tang ¶75) the liquid leakage detection method of claim 1.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, in further view of Tang and Li, as applied to claims 1-2 and 16-18 above, and further in view of CN113390351A (Inventor Unannounced).
Consider claim 4, Xu, as modified by Tang and Li, discloses the claimed invention wherein determining whether there is liquid leakage in the battery according to the adapter piece image and the top cover image (Xu ¶33-37; Tang ¶8; Li ¶44-49), but fails to explicitly disclose:
obtaining a positional offset between the adapter piece and the top cover according to the adapter piece image and the top cover image; and
determining whether there is liquid leakage in the battery according to the positional offset.
In related art, CN113390351A discloses obtaining a positional offset between the adapter piece and the top cover according to the adapter piece image and the top cover image (CN113390351A ¶19-23, 57, 71).
Li states, “a micro-CT scanning unit is added to the traditional laser welding inspection device to use CT to detect whether the battery cover and the adapter plate are in good contact. The larger the actual contact area of the weld, the greater the current carrying capacity and the better the welding effect (Li ¶8).” CN113390351A further states, “a series of sealing defects may occur during the top-side sealing process, such as substandard indentation offset of the top sealing indentation and non-compliant exposed tab adhesive specifications. These sealing defects may lead to the risk of top sealing leakage in the produced cells, posing a safety hazard. Therefore, it is necessary to inspect the exposed specifications of the tab adhesive and the indentation offset of the top sealing indentation in the top sealing area (CN113390351A ¶71).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the determination of positional offset of CN113390351A into the leakage detection method of Xu, as modified by Tang and Li, to predictably yield determining whether there is liquid leakage in the battery according to the positional offset.
Consider claim 5, Xu, as modified by Tang, Li, and CN113390351A, discloses the claimed invention wherein obtaining the positional offset between the adapter piece and the top cover according to the adapter piece image and the top cover image comprises:
determining a detection region for an adapter piece in the adapter piece image and a detection region for a top cover in the top cover image according to the adapter piece image and the top cover image (Xu ¶33-37; Tang ¶8; Li ¶8, 44-49; CN113390351A ¶19-23, 57, 71); and
acquiring a positional offset between the detection region for the adapter piece in the adapter piece image and the detection region for the top cover in the top cover image to obtain a positional offset between the adapter piece and the top cover (Xu ¶33-37; Tang ¶8; Li ¶8, 44-49; CN113390351A ¶19-23, 57, 71).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN111445462A discloses a storage battery leakage detection method.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY HYTREK/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665