DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiroyasu (US 2021/0261372 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hiroyasu discloses A winding and unwinding system, comprising:
at least two winding rollers (Fig. 1; Pg. 2, ¶26, first and second support shafts 11, 12); a roll-changing device, configured to drive the at least two winding rollers to sequentially move to a set position, wherein a winding roller located at the set position is able to wind a strip material (Fig. 1; Pg. 2, ¶26, rotary member 17, corresponding to a roll-changing device, having first and second support shafts 11, 12 which further holds first and second rolls R1, R2; Pg. 3, ¶29, depicting set positions of the rotary member 17); a sensing device, configured to emit an in-place signal when the winding roller located at the set position rotates one circle (Pg. 4, ¶44, radius detector 21); a measuring device, configured to measure a traveling length of the strip material (Pg. 4, ¶39, position detection sensor 34); and a controller, connected to the sensing device, the measuring device, and the roll-changing device, wherein the controller is configured to (Pg. 4, ¶40, controller 80): in response to receiving the in-place signal, determine a winding radius of the winding roller located at the set position based on the traveling length measured by the measuring device (Pg. 4, ¶39); and send a roll-changing signal to the roll-changing device when the winding radius reaches a preset threshold (Pg. 4, ¶44, radius detector 21); wherein the roll-changing device is further configured to, upon receiving the roll-changing signal, drive another winding roller to move to the set position and get in contact with the strip material, so that the strip material winds onto the another winding roller (Pg. 4, ¶44, describing an adhesive connection between the wound and unwound material which corresponds to the contact of the strip material).
Regarding claim 4, Hiroyasu discloses wherein the sensing device is a slot-type photoelectric switch or a through-beam photoelectric switch (Fig. 1; Pg. 3, ¶35, the radius detector 21 being a laser sensor corresponding to a photoelectric switch).
Regarding claim 5, Hiroyasu discloses further comprising: a traction mechanism, wherein the traction mechanism is located upstream of the winding roller in a conveying direction of the strip material to pull the strip material and convey the strip material to the winding roller located at the set position (Fig. 1; Pg. 4, ¶38, tension adjusting mechanism 30).
Regarding claim 6, Hiroyasu discloses wherein: the traction mechanism comprises a traction motor, a driving traction roller, and a driven traction roller, wherein the driving traction roller is drivingly connected to the traction motor, and the strip material passes between the driving traction roller and the driven traction roller (Fig. 1; Pg. 3-4, ¶¶37-38, depicting the driving rollers 72, controlled by a roller driving source 71, working with the rollers 31, 32, 33 to provide traction); and the measuring device is configured to determine the traveling length of the strip material by measuring a rotation angle or a rotation displacement of the driving traction roller or the driven traction roller (Pg. 5, ¶51).
Regarding claim 8, Hiroyasu discloses further comprising: a driving device connected to the controller (Fig. 2; Pg. 3, ¶28, driving source 18) and a roll-changing pressing roller drivingly connected to the driving device (Fig. 2; Pg. 3, ¶30, pressing roller 24); wherein the controller is further configured to send a roll-pressing signal to the driving device when the winding radius reaches the preset threshold, and the driving device is configured to, upon receiving the roll-pressing signal, drive the roll-changing pressing roller to move close to the set position, so that the roll-changing pressing roller gets in contact with the strip material (Fig. 2; Pg. 7, ¶¶66-67).
Regarding claim 9, Hiroyasu discloses wherein the driving device comprises an oscillating arm and a servo motor, wherein one end of the oscillating arm is connected to the roll-changing pressing roller, and another end of the oscillating arm is drivingly connected to the servo motor, the servo motor being connected to the controller (Fig. 1; Pg. 3, ¶¶32-33, pressing roller 24 being controlled by a servomotor capable and having an axis that allows and oscillation of the roller).
Regarding claim 12, Hiroyasu discloses a winding and unwinding control method comprising: obtaining the in-place signal (Pg. 5, ¶51); determining, in response to receiving the in-place signal, the winding radius of the winding roller located at the set position based on the traveling length measured by the measuring device (Pg. 5, ¶52); and sending the roll-changing signal to the roll-changing device when the winding radius reaches the preset threshold to control the roll-changing device to drive the another winding roller to move to the set position and get in contact with the strip material, so that the strip material winds onto the another winding roller (Pg. 5-6, ¶¶54-56).
Regarding claim 13, Hiroyasu discloses further comprising, after determining the winding radius of the winding roller located at the set position based on the traveling length measured by the measuring device (Pg. 6, ¶57): sending a roll-pressing signal to the driving device when the winding radius reaches the preset threshold to control the driving device to drive the roll-changing pressing roller to move close to the set position, so that the roll-changing pressing roller gets in contact with the strip material (Pg. 6, ¶58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroyasu (US 2021/0261372 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 8-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Wu (CN 112591525 A).
Regarding claim 2, Hiroyasu discloses the claimed invention except for the sensing device having both a light-emitter and a receiver. However, Wu teaches wherein the sensing device comprises a light-emitting device and a receiving device, wherein the light-emitting device is configured to emit a photoelectric signal, and the receiving device is configured to receive the photoelectric signal, wherein when the winding roller located at the set position rotates one circle, a state of reception of the photoelectric signal by the receiving device changes and the receiving device emits the in-place signal (¶53, the photoelectric sensor 50 comprising a transmitter and receiver). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a light-emitting device and a receiving device to the sensing device as it is known to provide an advantage due to their ability to detect objects without interference while minimizing any need for maintenances. Such sensors further offer high sensitivity and precision for exact measurements.
Regarding claim 3, Hiroyasu discloses the claimed invention except for the relationship between the light emitter, receiver, and a blocker. However, Wu teaches wherein the light-emitting device and the receiving device are fixed and are disposed opposite each other, and the winding roller located at the set position is mounted with a light-blocking member, wherein the light-blocking member is able to rotate with the winding roller to a position between the light-emitting device and the receiving device and block the photoelectric signal (¶53, the transmitter and receiver being blocked by the thickened film 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a blocking source between the light emitter and receiver as it is an essential component for providing a signal or lack thereof.
Regarding claim 10, Hiroyasu discloses wherein the assembly is configured to unwind the strip material, and the unwinding roller is located upstream of the winding roller in the conveying direction of the strip material (Fig. 1; Pg. 3-4, ¶37), but fails to necessarily point out an unwinding roller. However, Wu teaches further comprising an unwinding roller (¶54, passing roller 60). While Hiroyasu does not necessarily disclose an unwinding roller at the end of the system, it is known to be provided at the end of the assembly as clearly taught by Wu. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an unwinding roller at the end of the winding and unwinding system as it is an essential component for the drawing of the material from one roll to another.
Regarding claim 11, Hiroyasu discloses the claimed invention except for the specific material the sheet or film is made of. However, Wu teaches the winding and unwinding system being a part of a preparation device for a battery electrode sheet (¶45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as it is known that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, as Hiroyasu is, then the simple substitution of intended material meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 II, citing In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroyasu (US 2021/0261372 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 8-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Hayashi (EP 1,500,729 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Hiroyasu discloses the claimed invention except for the measuring device being a meter wheel. However, Hayashi teaches wherein the measuring device is a meter wheel, and the meter wheel is in contact with a surface of the driving traction roller or the driven traction roller (Fig. 1; Col. 4, ¶¶12-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a meter wheel to the measuring device as it provides high accuracy in measuring rotational properties for better tension and traction adjustments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art references refer to a winding and unwinding system comprising similar sensors and methods of use to that of the claimed invention.
ERMIA E. MELIKA
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654