DETAILED ACTION
[1] Remarks
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
II. The amendment filed on 09/25/2026 has entered and made of record.
III. Claims 1-14 are pending and have been examined, where claims 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected, claim 6 and 11-14 is/are objected. Explanations will be provided below.
IV. Inventor and/or assignee search were performed and determined no double patenting rejection(s) is/are necessary.
V. Patent eligibility (updated in 2019) shown by the following: Claims 1-14 pass patent eligibility test because there is/are no limitation or a combination of limitations amounting to an abstract idea. Also, the following limitation or the combinations of the limitations: “wherein the image information results from a variety of image sensor sources in order to show the surroundings with different views in the image information for the representation of the respective scene; training the machine learning model based on the provided training data to ascertain semantic scene information, for which purpose a depiction is evaluated in accordance with the different views; and providing the trained machine learning model” effects a transformation or a reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing / adds a specific limitation(s) other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field, or adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application and providing improvements to the technical field of deep learning, which recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amounting significant more.
[2] Response to Arguments
The arguments presented by the applicant have been considered and are found unconvincing.
I. The applicant stated:
The examiner disagrees. Dal Mutto discloses a method for training a machine learning model for semantic scene understanding, comprising the following steps:
providing training data, wherein the training data include image information that represents a respective scene of the surroundings, wherein the image information results from a variety of image sensor sources in order to show the surroundings with different views in the image information for the representation of the respective scene (see figure 6 illustration below, the 1st, 2nd and 3rd views show different view of the object which show the surrounding, where 100a, 100b and 100c are image sensor sources):
.
II. The applicant also stated:
The examiner disagrees. The object is included within the scene, which is read as the semantic scene understanding. In any scene with at least one object includes both foreground and background which is read as a scene. The examiner suggests adding definitions and clarifications to the meaning “semantic scene understanding.”
Dal Mutto discloses training the machine learning model based on the provided training data to ascertain semantic scene information, for which purpose a depiction is evaluated in accordance with the different views (see figure 22, 2220 and 2230 and figure 17, the scene can also include single object and / or plurality of objects, where the object are placed in different containers, which is read as the scene):
.
For reasons above the examiner will repeat the same prior art rejections.
[3] Claim Interpretation
Use of the word “means” (or “step for”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim element is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is invoked is rebutted when the function is recited with sufficient structure, material, or acts within the claim itself to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step for”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim element is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is not invoked is rebutted when the claim element recites function but fails to recite sufficiently definite structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim(s) 9 are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA U.S.C. 112 6th paragraph because of the following reason(s): limitations are modified by sufficient structure or material for performing the claimed function.
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 do not require 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA U.S.C. 112 6th paragraph interpretation because they are method claims and / or they are CRM claims.
Upon examination of the specification and claims, the examiner has determined, under the best understanding of the scope of the claim(s), rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)/(b) is not necessitated because of the following reasons: sufficient support are provided in the written description / drawings of the invention.
[4] Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 Conditions for patentability; novelty.
[Editor Note: Applicable to any patent application subject to the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA (see 35 U.S.C. 100 (note) ). See 35 U.S.C. 102 (pre-AIA ) for the law otherwise applicable.]
(a) NOVELTY; PRIOR ART.—A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; or
(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151 , or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b) , in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
(b) EXCEPTIONS.—
(1) DISCLOSURES MADE 1 YEAR OR LESS BEFORE THE EFFECTIVE FILING DATE OF THE CLAIMED INVENTION.—A disclosure made 1 year or less before the effective filing date of a claimed invention shall not be prior art to the claimed invention under subsection (a)(1) if—
(A) the disclosure was made by the inventor or joint inventor or by another who obtained the subject matter disclosed directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor; or
(B) the subject matter disclosed had, before such disclosure, been publicly disclosed by the inventor or a joint inventor or another who obtained the subject matter disclosed directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor.
(2) DISCLOSURES APPEARING IN APPLICATIONS AND PATENTS.—A disclosure shall not be prior art to a claimed invention under subsection (a)(2) if—
(A) the subject matter disclosed was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor;
(B) the subject matter disclosed had, before such subject matter was effectively filed under subsection (a)(2), been publicly disclosed by the inventor or a joint inventor or another who obtained the subject matter disclosed directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor; or
(C) the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person.
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1) as being anticipated by Dal Mutto (US 20190108396).
Regarding claim 1, Dal Mutto discloses a method for training a machine learning model for semantic scene understanding, comprising the following steps:
providing training data, wherein the training data include image information that represents a respective scene of the surroundings, wherein the image information results from a variety of image sensor sources in order to show the surroundings with different views in the image information for the representation of the respective scene (see figure 6 illustration below, the 1st, 2nd and 3rd views show different view of the object which show the surrounding):
training the machine learning model based on the provided training data to ascertain semantic scene information, for which purpose a depiction is evaluated in accordance with the different views (see figure 22, 2220 and 2230 and figure 17, the scene can also include single object and / or plurality of objects, where the object are placed in different containers, which is read as the scene):
.
providing the trained machine learning model (see figure 22 last section):
.
Regarding claim 2, Dal Mutto discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the image information is specifically for:
(i) acquisition of the different views of the surroundings using different image sensors, the different image sensors including cameras (see figure 6, 100d and 100e are read as the cameras placed at different views) and/or
(ii) results from acquisition by the different image sensor sources in the form of the different image sensors, so that different images with different views of the same surroundings are provided as the image information to represent the same scene and used for the training (see figure 6 below, the background of the images captured are read as the scene).
Regarding claim 3, Dal Mutto discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the image information includes different images in which the views of the same surroundings differ in that an image angle and/or a viewing angle are different (see figure 12 illustration below differ angles):
.
Regarding claims 8-10 see the rationale and rejection for claim 1. In addition, see figure 1B 400 which includes a processor and memory requiring code instructions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dal Mutto (US 20190108396) in view of Zhou (US 20130293683).
Regarding claim 4, Dal Mutto discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but is silent in disclosing the method according to claim 1, wherein the image sensor sources include: at least one wide-angle front camera of a vehicle and/or at least one telephoto front camera of the vehicle and/or at least one side camera of the vehicle and/or at least one rear camera of the vehicle, in order to provide at least one and/or different zoom sections and/or image sections and/or overlaps for representing the scene in the image information.
Zhou ‘683 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the image sensor sources include: at least one wide-angle front camera of a vehicle and/or at least one telephoto front camera of the vehicle and/or at least one side camera of the vehicle and/or at least one rear camera of the vehicle, in order to provide at least one and/or different zoom sections and/or image sections and/or overlaps for representing the scene in the image information (see figure 7A):
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include camera in multiple directions in order to eliminate blind spots, this technology facilitates driver assisted systems that enhance passenger safety.
3. Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dal Mutto (US 20190108396) in view of Zhou (US 20180260651).
Regarding claim 5, Dal Mutto discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but is silent in disclosing the method according to claim 1, wherein the image sensor sources are embodied as cameras of a vehicle so that the image information for representing the respective scene is provided in the form of a traffic scene. Zhou ‘651 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the image sensor sources are embodied as cameras of a vehicle so that the image information for representing the respective scene is provided in the form of a traffic scene (see paragraph 32, and one or more cameras or image capture devices).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the image sensor sources are embodied as cameras of a vehicle so that the image information for representing the respective scene is provided in the form of a traffic scene in order to provide the visual context required by machine learning models to detect lane markers, traffic signs, and surrounding obstacles, for preventing traffic accidents.
4. Claims 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dal Mutto (US 20190108396) in view of MA (US 20180060684).
Regarding claim 7, Dal Mutto discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but is silent in disclosing the method according to claim 1, wherein the machine learning model includes at least or exactly two sub-models in parallel paths and is configured with a teacher-student architecture and/or as a Siamese network, wherein the training of the machine learning model includes: feeding image information resulting from acquisition by a first camera type including a wide-angle front camera, and/or augmentations of the image information into a first model of the machine learning model including a teacher model, feeding image information resulting from: (i) acquisition by a second camera type including a telephoto, or side, or rear camera, and/or (ii) augmentations of the image information into a second model of the machine learning model including a student model.
MA discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the machine learning model includes at least or exactly two sub-models in parallel paths and is configured with a teacher-student architecture and/or as a Siamese network, wherein the training of the machine learning model includes: feeding image information resulting from acquisition by a first camera type including a wide-angle front camera, and/or augmentations of the image information into a first model of the machine learning model including a teacher model (see paragraph 275, license plate features of the first image and each of the third images are determined with a Siamese neural network model instead of a traditional vehicle recognition device, such that the vehicle searching device provided by the present application is not limited by application scenes, which leads to an improved vehicle searching speed while reducing requirements of hardware such as cameras that collect images of a vehicle, also see figure 4 illustration below),
feeding image information resulting from: (i) acquisition by a second camera type including a telephoto, or side, or rear camera, and/or (ii) augmentations of the image information into a second model of the machine learning model including a student model (see paragraph 32, Ci is read as the first camera and Cj is read as second camera, where the combination of Ci and Cj as a whole is read as wide-angle front camera):
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Siamese network because it is designed to measure similarity rather than relying on direct classification, where the traffic data overwhelmingly consists of "normal" behavior learning the core signature of normal traffic and flagging deviations.
[5] Claim Objections
Claim(s) 6 and 11-14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the examiner cannot find any applicable prior art providing teachings for the following limitation(s): “the method according to claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is trained to ascertain and classify the semantic scene information based on image points including pixels of the image information in order to obtain a description of the surroundings from the image information, relating to a context and/or weather conditions and/or a time of day and/or a traffic situation, wherein the depiction is evaluated in accordance with the different views by aligning the depictions at the feature level, by minimizing a distance calculation in order to ascertain the semantic scene information” in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 1.
Zhou ‘651 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is trained to ascertain and classify the semantic scene information based on image points including pixels of the image information in order to obtain a description of the surroundings from the image information, relating to a context and/or weather conditions and/or a time of day and/or a traffic situation, wherein the depiction is evaluated in accordance with the different views by aligning the depictions at the feature level
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are objected as well because it is dependent on a claim with allowable subject matter.
This action is made final. Applicant(s) is/are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire three months from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within two months of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the three-month shorten statutory period, then the shorten statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however will the statutory period for reply expire later than six months from the mailing date of the final action.
CONTACT INFORMATION
/ALEX KOK S LIEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674 Telephone: 571-272-8623
Date: 11/9/26