DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 & 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schroeder (US 2016/0241017).
With regard to claims 11 and 14-16, Schroeder, in Figures 3 & 4, discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (122) storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (120), causes the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving first voltage or current values associated with a first location (Outlet A); receiving second voltage or current values associated with a second location (Outlet B); determining whether an electrical arcing condition is occurring at the first location or is occurring at the second location by analyzing the first voltage or current values and the second voltage or current values (paragraphs 0019-0023); and performing one or more remedial actions in response to determining that the electrical arcing condition is occurring at the first location (paragraph 0023) (re claim 11), wherein the first voltage values are associated with a line-to-line voltage or a line to neutral voltage (as seen in Fig. 4, the voltage measurement is taken across the power and neutral line) (re claim 14), wherein the first voltage or current values include measurements of voltage or current at the first location during a plurality of power cycles (the device continuously detects for an arc fault which would necessarily be across a plurality of power cycles) (re claim 15), wherein the one or more remedial actions comprises at least one of: disconnecting an electrical circuit at the first location from an electrical utility; transmitting the first voltage or current readings to a central office or an edge device; transmitting a message indicating that the electrical arcing condition is occurring at the first location to the central office or the edge device; or generating an alert to inform a user associated with the first location that the electrical arcing condition is occurring at the first location (paragraph 0023 teaches disconnecting the electrical circuit from the utility) (re claim 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder in view of Nicolescu (US 2015/0381111).
With regard to claim 13, Schroeder teaches the computer-readable media of claim 11.
Schroeder does not teach that analyzing the first voltage or current values comprises: determining a frequency spectrum of the first voltage or current values; and determining that the electrical arcing is occurring in response to determining that one or more portions of the frequency spectrum have an energy level greater than a threshold energy level.
Nicolescu, in Figure 1, teaches a device for providing arc detection by analyzing a first voltage or current value wherein analyzing the first voltage or current values comprises: determining a frequency spectrum of the first voltage or current values; and determining that the electrical arcing is occurring in response to determining that one or more portions of the frequency spectrum have an energy level greater than a threshold energy level (paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schroeder with Nicolescu, by using the frequency analysis of Nicolescu to detect the arcing, for the purpose of providing an arc detetion method that is less likely to trip falsely.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 1-10 & 17-20 are allowed.
Claim 1 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a method comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with determining, by the network device, whether an electrical arcing condition is associated with the first site or the second site by comparing the first voltage or current readings with the second voltage or current readings; and performing, by the network device, a remedial operation in response to determining that the electrical arcing condition is associated with the first site.
Claims 2-10 are allowable as they depend from claim 1, which is also allowable.
Claim 17 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a utility monitoring device comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with determining, based on a comparison of the first voltage or current measurements with the second voltage or current measurements, whether electrical arcing is occurring in a first electrical circuit powered by the first power line or electrical arcing is occurring in a second electrical circuit powered by the second power line; and performing a remedial action in response to determining that there is electrical arcing occurring in the first electrical circuit.
Claims 18-20 are allowable as they depend from claim 17, which is also allowable.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with determining whether an electrical arcing condition is occurring at the first location or is occurring at the second location by analyzing the first voltage or current values and the second voltage or current values; and performing one or more remedial actions in response to determining that the electrical arcing condition is occurring at the first location.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Behrends (US 2014/0119072) and Pettissalo (US 2020/0341006) both teach methods of detecting arcing faults in power systems with similarities to Applicant’s invention.
/Scott Bauer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838