Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 3, it appears Applicant intended “the method comprising: a target speed is set…, with at least one sensor at least a distance and a relative speed… is detected, …” to read --the method comprising: setting a target speed …, detecting, with at least one sensor, at least a distance and a relative speed…--. In other words, Applicant is encouraged to recite method steps (a)-(f) in an active voice. Claims 2-5 include similar issues.
In claim 6, line 3, it appears Applicant intended “Means for setting” to read --means for setting--
In claim 6, line 14, it appears Applicant intended “the control” to read --the controller--
In claim 8, line 2, it appears Applicant intended “wherein it comprises” to read --wherein it further comprises--
In claim 9, line 2, it appears Applicant intended “wherein the controller is configured to” to read --wherein the controller is further configured to--
In claim 10, line 3, it appears Applicant intended “wherein the controller is configured to” to read --wherein the controller is further configured to--
In claim 11, line 2, it appears Applicant intended “wherein the controller is configured to” to read --wherein the controller is further configured to--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the object speed" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim(s) 2-5 depend(s) from claim(s) 1, (respectively,) fail(s) to cure said indefiniteness issues, and is/are thereby similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the object speed" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim(s) 7-12 depend(s) from claim(s) 6, (respectively,) fail(s) to cure said indefiniteness issues, and is/are thereby similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US PGPub. No. 2019/0351903) in view of Ahmed-Zaid et al. (US Patent No. 6,968,266).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 12, Zhao teaches a method for adaptive control of a speed of a motor vehicle [Zhao 101] with an aid of an adaptive cruise control system [Zhao 130], the method comprising:
a target speed is set or defined for the motor vehicle (Zhao ¶0002, ¶0030, ¶0034),
with at least one sensor [Zhao 110, 115] at least a distance [Zhao d] and a relative speed with respect to an object [Zhao 100] driving ahead of the motor vehicle is detected (Zhao ¶0002, ¶0032, ¶0034),
the speed in the motor vehicle to be controlled is set according to the object speed of the object if the object speed is smaller than the set speed (Zhao ¶0002, ¶0032, ¶0034),
and
an automatic acceleration of the motor vehicle to be controlled particularly to the target speed is prevented in event of a loss of detection of the object (Zhao ¶0031, ¶0033-0034),
but appears to be silent on the method further comprising a lateral acceleration of the motor vehicle is detected and wherein the automatic acceleration of the motor vehicle to be controlled particularly to the target speed is prevented in case of the detection loss of the object only for those journeys or rides in which the detected lateral acceleration of the motor vehicle corresponds to a non-zero lateral acceleration limit or exceeds this lateral acceleration limit.
Ahmed-Zaid, however, teaches a method for object detection in an adaptive cruise control system, specifically including detecting relative distance and relative speed of a detected object (Ahmed-Zaid Col. 3, lines 47-57) and applying ACC to a preceding vehicle (Ahmed-Zaid Col. 4, lines 14-21) and when an object is dropped, preventing a resumption of a set speed until a lateral acceleration reading falls below a threshold (Ahmed-Zaid Col. 5, lines 13-44). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Zhao in view of Ahmed-Zaid. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to have modified Zhao, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success therein, to include a lateral acceleration of the motor vehicle is detected and wherein the automatic acceleration of the motor vehicle to be controlled particularly to the target speed is prevented in case of the detection loss of the object only for those journeys or rides in which the detected lateral acceleration of the motor vehicle corresponds to a non-zero lateral acceleration limit or exceeds this lateral acceleration limit, as doing so was a known way of suppressing a dangerous resumption of vehicle set speed in a case of a dropped object during high lateral acceleration situations, as recognized by Ahmed-Zaid (Ahmed-Zaid Col. 3, lines 47-57; Col. 4, lines 14-21; Col. 5, lines 13-44).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Zhao in view of Ahmed-Zaid teaches the method according to claims 1 and 6, respectively, wherein the automatic acceleration of the motor vehicle to be controlled particularly to the target speed is prevented, in particular, only within a hold period, which starts with a loss time of the detection loss of the object and ends at an end time which
corresponds to a first end time point at which the lateral acceleration of the motor vehicle has fallen below the lateral acceleration limit (Ahmed-Zaid Col. 5, lines 13-44), or which
corresponds to a second end time point, which is a sum of the first end time point and a predetermined or parameterizable time interval.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao in view of Ahmed-Zaid teaches the method according to claim 2, respectively, wherein the prevention of the automatic acceleration of the motor vehicle particularly to the target speed is cancelled if, within the hold period, a resume actuator of the adaptive cruise control system is actuated, the actuation of which is intended to cause the motor vehicle to resume a last set target speed (Ahmed-Zaid Col. 1, lines 39-44).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Zhao in view of Ahmed-Zaid teaches the method according to claims 2 and 7, respectively, wherein the prevention of automatic acceleration of the motor vehicle particularly to the target speed is continued at least until the end time of the holding period (Zhao ¶0040), even if a resumption actuator of the adaptive cruise control system is actuated within the holding period (Zhao ¶0038), the actuation of which actuator is intended to bring about a resumption of a most recently determined set speed by the motor vehicle.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao in view of Ahmed-Zaid teaches the method according to claim 1, respectively, wherein the target speed is determined depending on
a) an actuation of a set speed actuator of the adaptive cruise control system (Zhao ¶0002, ¶0030, ¶0034; Ahmed-Zaid Col. 3, lines 47-57), and/or depending on
b) the detected lateral acceleration of the motor vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, Zhao in view of Ahmed-Zaid teaches the adaptive cruise control system according to claim 7, wherein it comprises a resume actuator, the actuation of which is intended to cause the motor vehicle to resume a last set target speed (Ahmed-Zaid Col. 1, lines 39-44).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao in view of Ahmed-Zaid teaches the adaptive cruise speed control system according to claim 6, further comprising a target speed actuator, wherein the controller is configured to set the target speed depending on an actuation of the target speed actuator (Zhao ¶0034).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao in view of Ahmed-Zaid teaches the adaptive cruise control system according to claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to define the target speed as a function of the detected lateral acceleration of the motor vehicle (Ahmed-Zaid Col. 5, lines 13-44).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL V KERRIGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664